Reviews on Rewind: LomoKino

2012-05-18 2

Since its release last year, the LomoKino has been opening doors to countless creative opportunities for many lomographers and film photographers across the globe. With that, it’s about time for us to have a dedicated Reviews on Rewind installment on Lomography’s very own astonishing analogue moviemaker!

One of the coolest things you can do with a roll of 35mm film is make a nice movie out of it. Mini movies shot using multi-lensed cameras like the SuperSampler are fun, but if you’re yearning for some more action out of your roll, then you should definitely grab a LomoKino and start shooting. Lomography’s very own gloriously analogue moviemaking camera certainly brings out the inner filmmakers in all of us—the lomographers who have gotten their hands on one tells us how and why!

LomoKino: Reinventing Amateur Filmmaking! by antoniodezner

The LomoKino is a camera you shouldn’t miss if you love photography and cinema! This camera allows you to actually film something! You decide what you want to put into moving pictures, and you’ve got no limits other than yourself!

LomoKino: Rolling! by goonies

…the LomoKino is not your average analogue videocamera because the end result is not run off the mill footage. It’s more of a retro tinged affair: a cross between cinema of the 1930s and stop-motion.

LomoKino: The SUPER 35mm Movie Camera by weechonghooi

The first thing I did, as with every Lomography product I bought, I smelled the camera. I like how the LomoKino was designed: the overall of the camera is small and easy to bring around, the view finder is really impressive as it pops up, the winder is retractable, and the analogue classical “CLICKING” sound, which is my favorite.

Reviews on Rewind is a monthly series where we feature some of the best reviews on selected films, cameras, and accessories previously published in the Magazine. If you’re on the lookout for some films or analogue gear to try, or just curious about what people have to share about their own experience, this series can be of help to you!

written by plasticpopsicle on 2012-05-18 #videos #gear #review #moviemaker #reviews-on-rewind #user-review #lomokino #lomography #film-camera

2 Comments

  1. djramsay
    djramsay ·

    i love my lomokino

  2. saidseni
    saidseni ·

    I'm saving piggies for one so I shall read the articles later, I want to know everything about it! :))

More Interesting Articles

  • Top Shoutbox Users of 2015

    written by lomography on 2015-12-28 #news
    Top Shoutbox Users of 2015

    The shoutbox is an open space for lomographers to interact with fellows from across the globe, air their honest opinions and suggestions, share interesting news, and promote their work (especially with the photo-sharing feature introduced last year!). And keeping it filled with entertaining conversations are these chatty lomographers. Meet the top shoutbox users of 2015.

    2015-12-28 1
  • Lomo'Instant Love on Instagram

    written by lomography on 2015-10-28
    Lomo'Instant Love on Instagram

    It has been more than a year since we introduced the Lomo'Instant camera to the film photography world via Kickstarter. Since then, the world's most creative instant camera system has earned a permanent place on the camera collections (not to mention social media pages!) of many instant photography enthusiasts all over the world.

    2015-10-28
  • Lomo LC-A Moments (Part 2)

    written by Eunice Abique on 2016-06-20
    Lomo LC-A Moments (Part 2)

    Over the years, the LC-A evolved into a quiet witness to touching moments. A constant companion on life-changing events. A trusty keeper of once-in-a-lifetime memories. For its 32nd birthday, lomographers from across the globe narrate how this analog wonder became a part of their own history.

    2016-06-20 9
  • Shop News

    Up to 50% off on Lomography Bags!

    Up to 50% off on Lomography Bags!

    Need something to keep your gear safe in and share your pride with the world? An amazing selection of Lomography bags are currently on sale! Don't lose the moment and get your favorite one!

  • HELLO AMERICA: Where We've Been

    written by Lomography NYC on 2016-01-08 #people
    HELLO AMERICA: Where We've Been

    It's been a while since we last heard from Hello America, the photographic storytelling platform created by Kristen Blanton and her partner, Matt Jozwiak. .Blanton and Jozwiak travel American roads together and document their tales strictly on film. The two have been very busy, and recently went on a road trip from Florida to California. Kristen shares the story behind their recent adventure.

    2016-01-08 4
  • LomoAmigo: Courtney Barnett

    written by Lomography on 2015-10-14 #people
    LomoAmigo: Courtney Barnett

    Australian singer-songwriter Courtney Barnett sings about the frustrations, disappointments and the mundane aspects of life in her own animated and sometimes Dylan-esque style. Her debut album "Sometimes I Sit and Think and Sometimes I Just Sit" was released this year and has been getting positive reviews. We tweeted about her new album and she responded to say that she loved Lomography. It was the perfect opportunity for a shoot and an interview.

    2015-10-14 5
  • This Week on Lomography

    written by Lomography on 2016-09-25 #news
    This Week on Lomography

    Need a quick refresher on the LomoHomes and photographs that were on the spotlight this week? Curious as to what your fellow Lomographers have been up to on the Shoutbox? Or want the latest scoop on the most exciting Competitions? Find all these and more in this weekly recap!

    2016-09-25
  • Shop News

    Additional Member of Diana F+ Family is Here!

    Additional Member of Diana F+ Family is Here!

    Snap your happy memories with the medium format Diana F+ Cortina! This special edition camera is a nod to fun winter holidays: snow-capped mountains, skiing and good times with friends and family!

  • How Catherine Opie Started Her Journey with Photography

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-09-25 #people #videos
    How Catherine Opie Started Her Journey with Photography

    One of the most celebrated contemporary fine art photographers today began her love for photography while writing a school report on the iconic documentary photographer Lewis Hine.

    2016-09-25
  • Early Modern America Through the Colorful Lens of Jack Delano

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-09-25 #culture
    Early Modern America Through the Colorful Lens of Jack Delano

    Majority of American photographer Jack Delano's photographs are in color -- and they paint vivid ideas on what life was like in mid-century America.

    2016-09-25
  • The Kamra-e-Faoree with Leicester Lo-Fi Photography

    written by lomographysoholondon on 2016-09-25 #people
     The Kamra-e-Faoree with Leicester Lo-Fi Photography

    The Leicester Lo-Fi Photography are a UK based collective who run film photography workshops, have an exhibition space and their own darkroom space. In this article they explain the history of Kamra-e-Faoree and give a step-by-step guide to recreating this fascinating form of instant photography.

    2016-09-25
  • Shop News

    The New Daguerreotype Achromat 2.9/64 Art Lens now available for pre-order in Shop!

    The New Daguerreotype Achromat 2.9/64 Art Lens now available for pre-order in Shop!

    We're grateful for the overwhelming support from all our KickStarter backers. For those who were late to the party, we're happy to let you know that the Daguerreotype Achromat 2.9/64 Art Lens is now available for pre-order in the shop! Estimated delivery date slated for January 2017!

  • What's New? Recently Acquitted Enigmatic Photos of the Getty Museum

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-09-25 #news
    What's New? Recently Acquitted Enigmatic Photos of the Getty Museum

    Looking for fresh art photographs? Drop by the Getty Museum and view their newly-acquired photographs filled with enigmatic, fragmanted narratives and stories.

    2016-09-25
  • Stephen Dowling Takes the LC-A 120 to New Zealand

    written by lomographysoholondon on 2016-09-24 #people
    Stephen Dowling Takes the LC-A 120 to New Zealand

    Lomography stalwart and terminal traveller Stephen Dowling took the trusty LC-A 120 to his hometown of New Zealand and explained a bit about why he loves this medium format camera so much.

    2016-09-24 2
  • From a Distance: Art of the Long-Shot

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-09-24 #culture
    From a Distance: Art of the Long-Shot

    Often used in cinema, the long-shot style in photography adds drama and emphasis to your images.

    2016-09-24