Film Review of the Week

We lomographers are always on the hunt for new films to try, whether they be rare, expired, or simply new to us. Our featured film reviewer for this week calls the attention of his fellow lomographers to try a recently discontinued brand of films. Find out which film after the jump!

In his short but sweet review of the Esselunga films, lomographer sirio174 mentioned right away why his fellow snapshooters should try these recently discontinued films. Available in 100, 200, and 400 ISO variants, he found that the Esselunga films produce a dominant brown/amber tone that creates a pleasing effect on photos, especially when shot with Russian and former East Germany lenses.

Since photos are said to paint a thousand words, we thought it’s best to let some of our featured lomographer’s snaps using the Esselunga films do the talking:

Our film reviewer of the week advises everyone to go ahead and try the Esselunga films out if they ever come across some rolls outside of Italy. The photos above do look nice with the retro-looking amber cast, don’t you think?

Don’t forget to check out his full review to see more of his shots using this film!

Congratulations, sirio174, for penning this week’s featured film review! Keep shooting with this lovely film and share with us more of these vintage-looking snaps!

The next snapshooter who will bag the next Film Review of the Week distinction could be you! Submit your film review and wow us with your beautiful photos and helpful insights. In case yours isn’t on the list, feel free to let me know!

written by plasticpopsicle on 2012-05-12 #gear #film-review-of-the-week #lomography #review #user-review #esselunga #reviews #film-review

More Interesting Articles

  • LomoMission: Optical Illusion Winners

    written by lomography on 2016-05-26 #news
    LomoMission: Optical Illusion Winners

    Things are not always what they seem. Try to uncover the truth behind these illusive photographs taken by your fellow lomographers.

    13
  • Photo of the Day by sharpwaveripple

    written by lomography on 2015-11-02 #news
    Photo of the Day by sharpwaveripple

    Trying a new emulsion for the first time always thrills an ardent lomographer. And even more so if the said film roll produced exhibit-worthy photographs.

    6
  • Newcomer of the Week: Kana Fujisaki (gara0802)

    written by lomography on 2016-04-24
    Newcomer of the Week: Kana Fujisaki (gara0802)

    We're always on the lookout for inspiring content from our community newcomers. This week, Kana Fujisaki grabbed our attention with her evocative photo series featuring young lovers by the sea. In this quick chat, our featured Lomographer from Japan opens up about her humble beginnings and the inspirations behind her intimate imagery.

    5
  • Shop News

    Say Aloha to the Lomo'Instant Honolulu!

    Say Aloha to the Lomo'Instant Honolulu!

    Ride the wave of infinite creative possibility with the Lomo'Instant Honolulu! Sway with the palm trees, dig your toes in the sand, and start snapping amazing instant photos!

  • Lomography Camera Hunter! A Rumble With Japan Camera Hunter

    written by Lomography on 2016-06-12 #gear #people
    Lomography Camera Hunter! A Rumble With Japan Camera Hunter

    For this new rumble, Lomography is teaming up with guest judge Bellamy Hunt of Japan Camera Hunter to give everyone the chance to show off the cameras they love!

    6
  • Jake Cunningham's Konstruktor Shots for Tom Williams

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-08-21 #people
    Jake Cunningham's Konstruktor Shots for Tom Williams

    After recently announcing the release of a new double album called “New Guitar/New House,” Tom Williams and photographer Jake Cunningham revisit using a Lomography Konstruktor to shoot the vinyl gatefold image for the band's previous album, “Easy Fantastic.”

  • Top Shoutbox Users of 2015

    written by lomography on 2015-12-28 #news
    Top Shoutbox Users of 2015

    The shoutbox is an open space for lomographers to interact with fellows from across the globe, air their honest opinions and suggestions, share interesting news, and promote their work (especially with the photo-sharing feature introduced last year!). And keeping it filled with entertaining conversations are these chatty lomographers. Meet the top shoutbox users of 2015.

    1
  • Shop News

    Save 15% on Lomography Film when bought with the Lubitel!

    Save 15% on Lomography Film when bought with the Lubitel!

    This beautiful camera features such ability to let users choose and switch between 35mm or 120 formats! Shoot more, save more! Get this Lubitel camera and get 15% discounts with Lomography Films!

  • A Compilation of Lomo'Instant Stories

    written by Jill Tan Radovan on 2015-08-04 #news #gear
    A Compilation of Lomo'Instant Stories

    There are many possible reasons for taking pictures. It could be to document an event, to capture breathtaking scenery, to preserve a fond memory, or simply, to have a snapshot of someone close to your heart. Whatever the reason, there's almost always a story behind a picture, no matter how significant or trivial it may be. And for lomographers, nothing beats the feeling of having that story unfold in your hand, in the form of a print. If you want a quick keepsake from that treasured moment or a snapshot of that special someone though, you can have it instantly, through Lomo'Instant Stories!

    2
  • Blue for Hue: Day and Night Visions on Kono! Donau Film

    written by Lomography on 2015-10-19 #news #gear
    Blue for Hue: Day and Night Visions on Kono! Donau Film

    Not all photographs are meant to be seen in vibrant, saturated colors, and neither are they always suitable for in black and white. Lomography welcomes yet another innovation from KONO! The Reanimated Film. Without diminishing the aesthetic value of images, KONO! Donau 35mm Film casts a distinct blue tone to photos. It is ultra-low ISO film that is best used for long exposure shots. Check out this fine selection of uniquely tinted images.

  • Motion Pictures: LomoKino Films by UNT New Media

    written by katphip on 2016-07-22 #gear #culture #people #places
    Motion Pictures: LomoKino Films by UNT New Media

    12 New Media students from the University of Texas, all armed with Lomography cameras, travelled to New York City for an advanced studio art course in May 2016. They each shot one roll of film in a LomoKino per day, and the results were exciting and diverse. Read more here.

  • Shop News

    Explore the New Jupiter 3+

    Explore the New Jupiter 3+

    A resurrection from the zenith of Russian premium optics, get the same elegance and classic compact design as its predecessor. — available in small quantities on a first-come, first-served basis.

  • KONO! Donau 35mm Film: Another Exceptional Film Exclusively Available From Lomography

    written by Lomography on 2015-10-19 #news #gear
    KONO! Donau 35mm Film: Another Exceptional Film Exclusively Available From Lomography

    Lomography is always on the lookout for experimental and creative film, because we want to keep the love for analogue alive! We’re devoted to continually adding new and exciting films to our ever-expanding collection of photography products, both from our own production line and partnering together with likeminded companies. So in our ongoing quest to do so, we have teamed up with our friends at KONO! The Reanimated Film to share a totally new and exciting film with you — KONO! Donau 35mm Film!

  • My New York City Bike Ride Through Purple Eyes

    written by cecilialeitinger on 2015-08-14 #news
    My New York City Bike Ride Through Purple Eyes

    What do you do when you don't have much time in a city like New York but you want to see everything, feel the vibe and be part of the community, even for a short time? Jump on a bike and enjoy what trains, buses and cabs can never give you: be part of the city. Take a camera with you to capture the moments and sights you don't want to forget. I did this with my LC-A 120 and LomoChrome Purple film.

  • Top Photo Uploaders of July 2016

    written by lomography on 2016-07-30 #news
    Top Photo Uploaders of July 2016

    A shared love of photography keeps the Lomography community together. Fueling this passion are the beautiful photographs we see everyday. And so we want to thank these dedicated lomographers for filling up the community with wonderful images all throughout the month.

    2