Join the race for amazing prizes and everlasting glory and submit your finest photos to our ongoing competitions such as Road to Photokina 2016 - Soul Searching. Good luck!

Expired Kodak VS Film: A Glowing Blue Review

2012-04-04 1

I recently purchased a pack of expired Kodak E100VS 120 film from the Toronto Lomography Store. If you are a fan of blue, this is a film for you.

Credits: stevebarberoffice

Kodak has recently announced that it will no longer produce ektachrome film! So I wandered down to the Toronto Lomography store to see what I could find. Turns out they had a box of 120 Kodak E100VS film, so I snapped it up and headed to Kensington Market to snap some shots with my Diana F+ and 55mm wide-angle lens.

Credits: stevebarberoffice

With tons of sunlight, this film showed some great blues and greens. Some great vignetting too!

Credits: stevebarberoffice

Great yellows and solid contrast!

Credits: stevebarberoffice

I did notice that shots directly into the sun looked a bit more washed out than I am used to.

I peeled open another roll and slapped on the Close-up adaptor for the Diana F+ 55mm wide-angle lens and my Ringflash and headed over to Trinity Bellwoods Park. Knowing that Kodak films often drift blue when cross-processed, I put the blue gel on the ringflash to give it a boost!

Credits: stevebarberoffice

Some turned out a bit over-exposed, but not sure if that was the expired film or my shutter setting.

I have always loved Kodak Ektachrome films, and now that they are no longer in production we may all be settling for expired rolls soon. But worry not, these expired films, if stored with care, will continue to bring spectacular colour and contrast to your shots.

written by stevebarberoffice on 2012-04-04 #gear #55mm #market #diana-f #kodak-vs #expired #afternoon #kensington #wide-angle-lens #sunny #toronto #review

One Comment

  1. emilios
    emilios ·

    Indeed its a great film. Used it alot! Great pictures

More Interesting Articles

  • Vintage Camera Reviews: Kodak Autographic

    written by Mark Hannah on 2016-07-01 #gear
    Vintage Camera Reviews: Kodak Autographic

    The Kodak Autographic is the first really old camera I bought. I didn’t really know how it worked and had no idea that this nearly century-old camera would kick off a passion for collecting, fixing, and shooting with vintage cameras.

    2016-07-01 1
  • Vintage Camera Reviews: Kodak Flash 620

    written by Mark Hannah on 2016-06-18 #gear
    Vintage Camera Reviews: Kodak Flash 620

    I love shooting with vintage cameras for the retro look and the feel of film but I also enjoy their simplicity. Here’s a beautiful camera that’s just about as basic as it gets.

    2016-06-18 6
  • A Round-up of Lomography Events Around the World in September

    written by dop on 2015-09-03 #news
    A Round-up of Lomography Events Around the World in September

    If you are looking for some lomographic entertainment this month in your home city or if you are traveling the world and want some insider tips from our lomography teams, here’s a selection of what is going on in Lomography Gallery and Embassy Stores around the world.

    2015-09-03
  • Shop News

    Get 20% Off on your favorite Lomo Instant Mini camera!

    Get 20% Off on your favorite Lomo Instant Mini camera!

    Start instantly immortalizing every memorable moment in your life with your very own Lomo Instant Mini camera now! Get 20% off on the Lomo Instant Mini edition of your choice! **The Lomo’Instant Milano Edition and all Lomo’Instant Wide editions are exempt from this offer.

  • LomoGuru Faaabii Reviews New Jupiter 3+ Lens

    written by Fabian Schreiter on 2016-03-16 #gear
    LomoGuru Faaabii Reviews New Jupiter 3+ Lens

    Russia and space? Most of you will probably think of Yuri Gagarin. Maybe I would, too, if it weren’t for the fact that, a little while ago, Lomography came up with something pretty great.

    2016-03-16 1
  • Fresh Lomo LC-A 120 Picks From the Community

    written by lomography on 2015-12-07 #gear
    Fresh Lomo LC-A 120 Picks From the Community

    A year and a few months since it was introduced, the Lomo LC-A 120 continues its exciting journey around the world—from busy streets to scenic far-flung places and everywhere else in between. Here are just some of the many places and faces encountered by this trusty, compact medium format camera (and their adventurous owners, of course!) in recent months, in photographs.

    2015-12-07 3
  • Blue for Hue: Day and Night Visions on Kono! Donau Film

    written by Lomography on 2015-10-19 #news #gear
    Blue for Hue: Day and Night Visions on Kono! Donau Film

    Not all photographs are meant to be seen in vibrant, saturated colors, and neither are they always suitable for in black and white. Lomography welcomes yet another innovation from KONO! The Reanimated Film. Without diminishing the aesthetic value of images, KONO! Donau 35mm Film casts a distinct blue tone to photos. It is ultra-low ISO film that is best used for long exposure shots. Check out this fine selection of uniquely tinted images.

    2015-10-19
  • Shop News

    Say Aloha to the Lomo'Instant Honolulu!

    Say Aloha to the Lomo'Instant Honolulu!

    Ride the wave of infinite creative possibility with the Lomo'Instant Honolulu! Sway with the palm trees, dig your toes in the sand, and start snapping amazing instant photos!

  • Street Photography When You Live In The Boonies

    written by Lorraine Healy on 2015-10-05
    Street Photography When You Live In The Boonies

    An Argentinean writer and photographer living in the Pacific Northwest, Lorraine Healy is a long-time fan of plastic cameras and is the author of "Tricks With A Plastic Wonder," a manual for achieving better results with a Holga camera, available as an eBook from Amazon.com. In this article, Healy explains how you can find ways to do street photography even if you live in a rural area.

    2015-10-05 4
  • J.J. Abrams and Dan Mindel shot 'Star Wars: Force Awakens' on Kodak film

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-12-17 #news
    J.J. Abrams and Dan Mindel shot 'Star Wars: Force Awakens' on Kodak film

    This year's most awaited movie is part of a collective effort to save film manufacturer Kodak from bankruptcy. Here's why film still photographers should be thankful.

    2015-12-17 2
  • Tipster: DIY X-Pro Redscale

    written by rancliffhasenza on 2015-09-27 #gear #tutorials
    Tipster: DIY X-Pro Redscale

    Browsing through the Lomography website, you can find a lot of redscale shots, which are all done on color negative films. I asked myself if it’s possible to redscale a slide or chrome film and then cross process it. (And yes, it is.) In this tipster I’m going to teach you how to create the bloodiest homemade redscale film I've ever come across.

    2015-09-27 10
  • Shop News

    The New Petzval 58 Bokeh Control Art Lens now ready to ship!

    The New Petzval 58 Bokeh Control Art Lens now ready to ship!

    Great news! Our previous KickStarter success, the Petzval 58 Bokeh Control Art Lens, is now in stock and ready to ship! What are you waiting for? Go to the shop and grab yours now!

  • The Free Life: Skate Stories by Hannah Bailey

    written by lomographysoholondon on 2016-05-30 #news
    The Free Life: Skate Stories by Hannah Bailey

    Hannah Bailey is a true analogue fan. She uses a range of film cameras to capture women in sports and takes a keen interest in skaters and surfers. Join us for the opening night of her new photography exhibition at the Lomography Gallery Store Soho on June 9th from 6-9pm.

    2016-05-30 1
  • Germany in Analog - Show fotoforum and Lomography your Hometown on Film

    written by zonderbar on 2015-12-18 #news
    Germany in Analog - Show fotoforum and Lomography your Hometown on Film

    North or South, East or West - in every corner of Germany you can find analog photography lovers. Lomography brings them together and shows their pictures to a worldwide community. With this rumble we want to get to know you a little better. Show Lomography and fotoforum where you come from, capture your hometown on film and win a one-year subscription of fotoforum magazine as well as a Lomo LC-A 120 camera. Please note: This competition is only for users from Germany, Austria or Switzerland.

    2015-12-18
  • Paint the Town Purple: A Psychedelic Series of Street Photographs Taken with LomoChrome Purple

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-01-13 #news
    Paint the Town Purple: A Psychedelic Series of Street Photographs Taken with LomoChrome Purple

    The enticing energy of street photography has been a big subject of admiration for the community - especially when combined with the pleasing purple palette of Lomochrome Purple! Here is a round up of some recent vibrant and voyeuristic street photographs from the Lomography Community Site taken with this magical film!