Camera Review of the Week

4

This week’s camera review on spotlight is an obvious choice, but don’t let that distract you. The classic Canon shooter has been a crowd favorite for a reason. Let our featured camera reviewer for this week tell and show you why!

Being a popular choice for tough and reliable film SLR cameras, there’s no doubt why the Canon AE-1 is a heavyweight champ to our featured lomographer, lighttomysoul. The AE-1 is certainly a looker, coveted by many analogue lovers for its classic look, even if it’s not as handy and light as the LC-A+.

In her honest review, she gave some insights on why this classic Canon camera is worth shooting with, but also a little downside that may or may not bothersome. We’ll let you read for yourself what our lomographer thinks in her full review, but we’ll let these photos she has taken show you why it’s worth lugging around such a heavyweight shooter:

Credits: lighttomysoul

While she confesses that she does not “give the Canon as much love as it deserves because it’s a lot bigger and heaver to drag around,” our lady lomographer nevertheless remains impressed with it, as it never disappoints whenever she decides to take it with her.

Congratulations, lighttomysoul, for penning the latest Camera Review of the Week! Your Canon AE-1 is indeed a champion shooter, and we hope you’ll continue snapping stunning photos with it!

The next snapshooter who will bag the next Camera Review of the Week distinction could be you! Submit your camera review and wow us with your beautiful photos and helpful insights. In case yours isn’t on the list, feel free to let me know!

written by plasticpopsicle on 2012-03-23 #gear #review #camera-review-of-the-week #film-slr #camera-review #canon-ae-1 #lomography #slr-camera #user-review

4 Comments

  1. welland
    welland ·

    Its a great camera but very unfair to draw comparision with the LCA! This is an SLR and the LCA is a compact camera. Two completely different cameras! Would be interesting to compare it with a Nikon F3 or a OM1.

  2. plasticpopsicle
    plasticpopsicle ·

    Hello @welland! I think our review author here was only saying that the AE-1 is obviously not your choice when you're looking for something light and compact to shoot with, but still worth the trouble of lugging a heavier and bulkier camera. And I believe the difference between the two camera types is certainly obvious, the comparison based only on convenience. :)

  3. weaver
    weaver ·

    i love my ae-1 and am glad to see it being featured :D

  4. sweetoblivion
    sweetoblivion ·

    Great piece! My dream camera - my dad had this when I was growing up and it has a special place in my heart! I have yet to find my own one though ;)

More Interesting Articles

  • Photo Stories: Street Photography in Riga by pogl

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-07-31
    Photo Stories: Street Photography in Riga by pogl

    On the streets you see all sorts of sights and people going about their respective businesses. It's exactly this reason why pogl has a particular fondness for street photography.

    1
  • Stunning Silhouettes Courtesy of the Diana F+

    written by lomography on 2015-11-08 #news #gear
    Stunning Silhouettes Courtesy of the Diana F+

    For this week's selection, we put the spotlight on the lovely silhouettes captured by our community members with their Diana F+ cameras. Have a look and, while you're at it, learn how you can earn piggies and have your own photos be featured on the Online Shop!

    2
  • Quick News - The "Be An Explorer" Campaign Has Been Launched! Go Behind the Scenes: LomoWall

    written by sanamiii on 2016-07-21 #news #places
    Quick News - The "Be An Explorer" Campaign Has Been Launched! Go Behind the Scenes: LomoWall

    We have been waiting for so long ... But today, Lomography x Fashion Walk - Be An Explorer has finally launched! Let us show you one of the biggest attractions - the 80m long LomoWall!

  • Shop News

    The Lomography Bazaar

    The Lomography Bazaar

    We constantly search far and wide, meticulously seek out, hunt down, and hand-pick some of the most experimental and alternative gear out there - and we've now gathered them all in one easy to browse shop category, ready for the picking! In the Lomo-Bazaar, you canalso be part of our process of collecting fresh new products, rare treasures, and crowd-funded creations to sell on the shop - after all, they’re all for you! Get in touch with us to share your suggestions for amazing gear - go on, we’re all ears!

  • Rozette Rago: What's In Your Bag?

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-07-20 #news #people
    Rozette Rago: What's In Your Bag?

    You can tell a lot about a person just by looking through the contents of his/her bag. But we don't recommend rummaging through someone's bag for this reason! Luckily, some photographers granted us access for our WIYB series. Here's a peek into LA-based photographer Rozette Rago's gear.

  • Lomo takes ONA on the Road

    written by Samantha Norman on 2015-07-29 #news
    Lomo takes ONA on the Road

    Lomography has been home to a family of handcrafted photography and art tools for decades. That’s why we’re so excited to team up with a line of premium, handcrafted camera bags: ONA, a company making the perfect bag to stow your camera and little mementos.

    6
  • December 24th Advent Offer: Last Call for Holiday Savings! (Online Code: LASTCALL10)

    written by Lomography on 2015-12-24 #news #gear
    December 24th Advent Offer: Last Call for Holiday Savings! (Online Code: LASTCALL10)

    The Advent deals are almost over, but don't let that keep you from celebrating with us! Our final deal of the day gives you 10% off orders from the Online Shop and Gallery Stores. Whether you're looking for a new camera or accessories, don't wait until it's too late to score this awesome deal!

  • Shop News

    Check the New Super Sampler Black Panther!

    Check the New Super Sampler Black Panther!

    The ultra-lightweight, low-maintenance 35mm camera that fits perfectly in your hand for some wild and spontaneous shooting!

  • The Lomo’Instant Wide "Share The News" Rumble

    written by Lomography on 2015-10-21 #videos #gear #news
    The Lomo’Instant Wide "Share The News" Rumble

    If you’ve been living on Neptune for the past week (wait, how the hell did you get there?), you might have missed the memo – The brand new Lomo’Instant Wide has landed! Pre-orders are flying in for the world’s most creative wide format instant camera and lens system and we’ve decided to launch a competition to spice up the fun even further.

    8
  • Lomography X FOTO HITS Medium Format Rumble

    written by Lomography on 2015-11-26 #news
    Lomography X FOTO HITS Medium Format Rumble

    With an expanded field of view and its ability to produce high quality images and capture minute detail, medium format photography has become the top choice of many photographers. Lomography is working hard to make sure that it keeps going with the continued production of medium format film and cameras. The current issue of German magazine FOTO HITS focuses on medium format photography. And with this rumble, we want to prove why medium format photography is king. Take your Diana F+, Holga 120, Lubitel 166+ or the new Lomo LC-A 120 and show us your best square shots!

    2
  • New Information Microsite for Jupiter 3+ Art Lens Now Available

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-01-28 #news #gear
    New Information Microsite for Jupiter 3+ Art Lens Now Available

    Lomography welcomes another classic gear to its Art Lens lineup. The rebooted Jupiter 3+ is now compatible with mirrorless digital cameras, all Leica L39, and Leica M mount range-finders. Get expert focusing or some bokeh furnishes—let your mood take you. As for the technical nitty-gritty, a comprehensive microsite awaits.

  • Shop News

    LomoLab Europe has moved!

    LomoLab Europe has moved!

    The LomoLab EU has moved and is now open for business! Analogue lovers from Austria, Germany, Spain, Netherlands, Belgium, Luxenbourg, and the rest of Europe can send their films to: Lomographische AG LomoLAB Kaiserstrasse 34/12 1070 WIen Austria However, if you're based in Germany - and you don't mind a longer waiting time, you can still send your rolls for processing to: Lifesmyle Store Berlin - LomoLAB Friedrichstraße 133 10117 Berlin Germany

  • December 7th Advent Offer: Get the Lomo LC-A 120 and Other Premium Lomography Cameras at 20% Off! (Online Code: PREMIUMPACKAGE20)

    written by Lomography on 2015-12-07 #news #gear
    December 7th Advent Offer: Get the Lomo LC-A 120 and Other Premium Lomography Cameras at 20% Off!  (Online Code: PREMIUMPACKAGE20)

    Looking for an incredible gift for someone, or waiting for the perfect opportunity to grab a camera you've been dying to buy? Today is the perfect day to do it, because Lomography Premium Cameras are all 20% off! This festive deal will let you spend the holidays shooting like a pro!

    3
  • 3 Tumblrs We Loved This Week: The Electric Head, Disposable Camera Journal and Occasionally Punny Animals

    written by anamartaml on 2015-08-09
    3 Tumblrs We Loved This Week: The Electric Head, Disposable Camera Journal and Occasionally Punny Animals

    Admit it, you've been waiting impatiently for this moment to arrive. Well, the suspense is over, the announcement of the 3 Tumblrs We Loved This Week is finally here! We got lightpainting, we got puns, we got disposable cameras and - as always - blogs that will blow you away!

  • Ethereal Landscapes Captured with the Efke IR820 (35mm)

    written by lomography on 2015-11-01 #news #gear
    Ethereal Landscapes Captured with the Efke IR820 (35mm)

    Marvel at this week's handpicked selection of beautiful landscape photographs captured by our community members with the Efke IR820 for 35mm cameras. While you're at it, find out how you can earn piggies and have your own photos be featured on the Online Shop!