Rollei Retro (120, 400 iso) User-Review

2009-08-29 5

The best B&W film I have used! Some of the most awesome blacks and stunning contrast I saw!

Lately, I have been experimenting with different black and whites and without a doubt, The Rollei Retro 400 is my absolute favorite! It even makes trivial images interesting and catches one’s attention immediately.

I think we need to learn to see the world with different eyes, Just like Colorsplashing, black and whites makes you appreciate different things, that at first glance may be not worth noticing. A Holga is the perfect enhancer by the way. Or maybe I am just nostalgic :-)

You can get these lovely Retro 400 rolls here at the Lomo Filmshop or maybe you can scour eBay if you’re on a budget. Give it a shot yourself and be wonderfully amazed by the sharp contrast, deep blacks and stunning whites ( especially if the sun is reflected on metal)!

written by vimalakirti on 2009-08-29 #gear #rollei-retro #120 #review #iso-400 #holga #contrast #b-w

5 Comments

  1. leela_dark
    leela_dark ·

    amazing gallery! want to try this film...

  2. adi_totp
    adi_totp ·

    love the eiffel tower shot!

  3. severin
    severin ·

    shot #3 is really good, it's not easy to capture the atmosphere of statues on photographs but this is really well done

  4. stouf
    stouf ·

    Simply wonderful !

  5. druid
    druid ·

    great stuff - just ordered 10 rolls in 35mm and 120 - got to try this - thanks for the images!

More Interesting Articles

  • Vintage Camera Reviews: Kodak Flash 620

    written by Mark Hannah on 2016-06-18 #gear
    Vintage Camera Reviews: Kodak Flash 620

    I love shooting with vintage cameras for the retro look and the feel of film but I also enjoy their simplicity. Here’s a beautiful camera that’s just about as basic as it gets.

    2016-06-18 6
  • Wilson Lee Explores Hong Kong with the New Russar+

    written by Lomography on 2015-10-24 #gear #places #people
    Wilson Lee Explores Hong Kong with the New Russar+

    Wilson Lee is not new to Lomography. He has taken photos using the Petzval Lens, and produced stunning results. Before going back to London to finish his master's degree, he used the New Russar+ lens and Lomography Lady Grey film to preserve his memories of his hometown, Hong Kong, in black and white.

    2015-10-24
  • My First Time with the LC-Wide: danika

    written by Lomography on 2015-10-16 #news #gear
    My First Time with the LC-Wide: danika

    The LC-Wide is definitely one of Lomography's must-have cameras. Its Minigon 1 Ultra-Wide-Angle lens adds a different flavor to your shots, on top of the stunning vignettes, intense colors and breathtaking saturation and contrast LC-A cameras are known for. The Lomography Team is no stranger to the LC-Wide's creative potential, and has proven it capable of the most captivating images. First on the list is danika, from the Lomography Headquarters in Vienna.

    2015-10-16
  • Shop News

    the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

     the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

    Let your loved one pick the gift of their dreams. Lomography Online Shop Gift Certificates are the perfect present for every analogue devotee on your gift list

  • LC-A 120 and Pinhole Film Swap with Toby Mason and Mike McLean

    written by Lomography London on 2015-11-20 #tutorials
    LC-A 120 and Pinhole Film Swap with Toby Mason and Mike McLean

    Film photography fanatics Toby Mason and Mike McLean worked together on their latest project, a film swap using the LC-A 120 and a 120 pinhole camera. Read their step-by-step guide to getting excellent alignment and see the stunning results.

    2015-11-20 8
  • LomoGuru Faaabii Reviews New Jupiter 3+ Lens

    written by Fabian Schreiter on 2016-03-16 #gear
    LomoGuru Faaabii Reviews New Jupiter 3+ Lens

    Russia and space? Most of you will probably think of Yuri Gagarin. Maybe I would, too, if it weren’t for the fact that, a little while ago, Lomography came up with something pretty great.

    2016-03-16 1
  • Feathered and Diaphanous Exposures with the Efke IR820

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-05-25 #gear #culture
    Feathered and Diaphanous Exposures with the Efke IR820

    See how community members use the Efke IR820 film for the most ethereal and sensational effects in black and white photography.

    2016-05-25 4
  • Shop News

    Introducing the Lomo'Instant Milano

    Introducing the Lomo'Instant Milano

    Named for the Italian city situated in the Lombardy region, overflowing with art and culture, say hello to the colorful aesthetics of the new Lomo'Instant Milano, the latest member of the Lomo'Instant family!

  • Trending LomoHomes of September 2015

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-10-03 #news
    Trending LomoHomes of September 2015

    Most of us have probably commented, liked, and drooled over their stunning snapshots. These are the legendary lomographers who made September's pool of photographs even more exciting!

    2015-10-03 12
  • Film Format Fun: 126 Instamatic Film

    written by Maaike van Stratum (@stratski) on 2016-03-23 #gear #tutorials
    Film Format Fun: 126 Instamatic Film

    We all know about 35mm and 120 film, right? And since Lomography re-introduced 110 film, we have another film format to play with. But in the years past, many more film formats were in use. Let me introduce you to a few golden oldies and tell you about my experiences with them. Here's how I revived my Instamatic cameras.

    2016-03-23 8
  • A Salute to the Masters: Ice Skating (A Tribute to Monte Fresco)

    written by sirio174 on 2016-01-09
    A Salute to the Masters: Ice Skating (A Tribute to Monte Fresco)

    This article is dedicated to one of the finest British sport photographers, Monte Fresco. In his 30 years of reportage for the Daily Mirror, he took some of the most iconic photographs in sporting history. He covered football, tennis, and boxing. But it is his ice skating pictures that I am most fascinated with. Using my own lens, I give him a modern tribute.

    2016-01-09
  • Shop News

    Get 20% Off on your favorite Lomo Instant Mini camera!

    Get 20% Off on your favorite Lomo Instant Mini camera!

    Start instantly immortalizing every memorable moment in your life with your very own Lomo Instant Mini camera now! Get 20% off on the Lomo Instant Mini edition of your choice! **The Lomo’Instant Milano Edition and all Lomo’Instant Wide editions are exempt from this offer.

  • Trending Albums of March 2016

    written by lomography on 2016-03-26 #news
    Trending Albums of March 2016

    Most of us organize our photo albums according to events or places. Some prefer to classify their photographs according to film or technique, while others compile their best shots. Have a look at this month's most noteworthy albums and learn how to tell your stories through visual organization.

    2016-03-26 2
  • Trending Albums of February 2016

    written by lomography on 2016-02-27 #news
    Trending Albums of February 2016

    Most of us organize our photo albums according to events or places. Some prefer to classify their photographs according to film or technique, while others compile their best shots. Have a look at this month's most noteworthy albums and learn how to tell your stories through visual organization.

    2016-02-27 6
  • Blue for Hue: Day and Night Visions on Kono! Donau Film

    written by Lomography on 2015-10-19 #news #gear
    Blue for Hue: Day and Night Visions on Kono! Donau Film

    Not all photographs are meant to be seen in vibrant, saturated colors, and neither are they always suitable for in black and white. Lomography welcomes yet another innovation from KONO! The Reanimated Film. Without diminishing the aesthetic value of images, KONO! Donau 35mm Film casts a distinct blue tone to photos. It is ultra-low ISO film that is best used for long exposure shots. Check out this fine selection of uniquely tinted images.

    2015-10-19