Reviews on Rewind: LC-A Cameras

2012-02-29 1

With the advent of the iconic LC-A camera’s glorious 28 years, it is only but proper for us to have a dedicated Reviews on Rewind installment. Join us as we look back at some inputs from the community who has grown to love the LC-A cameras through the years!

The release of the limited edition Lomo LC-A+ Silver Lake marks another milestone for the legendary Lomo LC-A camera, whose analogue legacy has now spanned 28 years. From the original LC-A born in Russian soil nearly three decades ago, up to today’s newest and boldly-designed editions, analogue-loving people have been enamored by the camera and the charming photos it produces.

Therefore, in celebration of this special occasion, let’s take a look back at what some of our fellow lomographers have to say about the LC-A cameras:

Photo by d_i_hunter

*Lomo LC-A+: 10 Reasons Why I Love it and So Will You* by d_i_hunter

You stand out from the crowd. So everybody else has got ‘Fancy Dan’ digital compacts? Well that’s fine if all you want to do is just record a bland image of exactly what’s in front of the lens – but me, I want to see my memories recorded with a bit of analogue warmth and charm!

Photo by oldskool_rider

*Lomo LC-A+: Give Her a Chance* by oldskool_rider

I had come to understand that this was not just a camera, it is the camera. This is the classic Lomo camera with a beautiful lens. The vignettes, the colour, the contrast, the beauty! This is something I wanted to have in my life.

Photo by irufan7

*LOMO LC-A: A Richman's Wife* by irufan7

Now, I can officially call myself a lomographer since I have an LC-A, an original one. Before that I can only afford a Vivitar UWS, a poor man’s LC-A. So maybe I can also consider myself as a richman now. Or a husband too?

Photo by nadinadu

*Lomo LC-A Review* by nadinadu

I think all of us here know the famous Lomo LC-A? Am I right? Well you sure should! It’s pretty much one of the cameras that started all of Lomography! That old Russian beauty!

Photo by by rav_bunneh

*Half a Year with the Lomo LC-A+ RL* by rav_bunneh

Sometimes you buy something and sadly forget about it weeks or months later. It is easy to tire of something or just move on. This is not at all the case with this little camera of love and joy. I literally take it with me anytime I leave the house. Look at my gallery and you’ll see photos of the gas station, grocery store and just daily life.

Reviews on Rewind is a monthly series where we feature some of the best reviews on selected films, cameras, and accessories previously published in the Magazine. If you’re on the lookout for some films or analogue gear to try, or just curious about what people have to share about their own experience, this series can be of help to you!

written by plasticpopsicle on 2012-02-29 #gear #lc-a #reviews-on-rewind-series #lc-a-cameras #reviews #lca-a-birthday-2012 #lomography #review #russian #lomo #lc-a

One Comment

  1. guinastrapazi
    guinastrapazi ·

    and some time it will be mine! :)

More Interesting Articles

  • December 9th Advent Offer: Save 20% on the Lomo LC-A+ and Lomo LC-Wide Today! (Online Code: PREMIUMPACKAGE20)

    written by Lomography on 2015-12-09 #news #gear
    December 9th Advent Offer: Save 20% on the Lomo LC-A+ and Lomo LC-Wide Today! (Online Code: PREMIUMPACKAGE20)

    With today's great Advent deal, you can get 20% off the Lomo LC-A+ and Lomo LC-Wide, along with all of our other premium Lomography cameras. Go above and beyond in your gift giving this year and head to the Online Shop or a Lomography Gallery Store near you!

    2015-12-09
  • Robin Rimbaud Shoots with the LC-A 120

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-10-05 #people
    Robin Rimbaud Shoots with the LC-A 120

    Robin Rimbaud is a UK based artist, record producer, and composer who works under the name "Scanner" in reference to his use of mobile phone signals and police scanners in his early performances. He has worked on soundtracks for films, sound installations, radio, dance and theater. Robin also has a passion for medium format photography, owns a Holga camera and has a unique photographic style. Get to know him in this interview, where he talks about his personal work as well as his experience with the Lomo LC-A 120.

    2015-10-05 1
  • MetLevi: Documenting street art with the Lomo'Instant Wide

    written by lomosmarti on 2016-06-01
    MetLevi: Documenting street art with the Lomo'Instant Wide

    Our community member MetLevi brought her Lomo'Istant Wide to discover the *Crem Caramell*, a cultural exhibition held in Crema (Italy) that, after 20 years, has come back to support the underground scene of the town.

    2016-06-01 5
  • Shop News

    Introducing the Lomo'Instant Milano

    Introducing the Lomo'Instant Milano

    Named for the Italian city situated in the Lombardy region, overflowing with art and culture, say hello to the colorful aesthetics of the new Lomo'Instant Milano, the latest member of the Lomo'Instant family!

  • Chris Gampat: Inspiration in Black and White

    written by Katherine Phipps on 2016-05-16 #people
    Chris Gampat: Inspiration in Black and White

    We're catching up with Chris Gampat, who runs a website called the Phoblographer. The website explores the psychology of photographers and the reasons why they create. Last year, Chris started a new site called La Noir Image, dedicated to inspiring people through black and white photography.

    2016-05-16 1
  • A Salute to the Masters: Contortionist (A Tribute to Mary Ellen Mark)

    written by sirio174 on 2015-11-21
    A Salute to the Masters: Contortionist (A Tribute to Mary Ellen Mark)

    This article is dedicated to a great American photographer who spent many years of her career documenting the lives of the most vulnerable people, touching on themes like loneliness, homosexuality, drug addiction, and civil right struggles: Mary Ellen Mark, who passed away in May this year.

    2015-11-21
  • Lomography HK is recruiting a Digital Marketing and Online Executive

    written by Lomography on 2015-10-07 #news
    Lomography HK is recruiting a Digital Marketing and Online Executive

    Here’s an opportunity to join a multi-talented, life loving, and hard working team, and conquer the web with us! We are looking for a smart and proactive individual, combined with great people skills, and strong community, sales and marketing focus.

    2015-10-07
  • Shop News

    Category Filters for easy Film Shopping

    Category Filters for easy Film Shopping

    Sure, it takes effort to source films these days, but the Lomography Shop has just made the online part more convenient - under each category, you may now filter by Brand and ISO.

  • Lomopedia: Industar 26M 50mm Lens

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-07-10 #gear
    Lomopedia: Industar 26M 50mm Lens

    We’re back on track with the Lomopedia series - the place to get a quick heads up on what’s what with cameras, lenses, and films you may come across with. For this comeback installment, we’re taking a look at the simple but dependable Industar 26M 50mm lens.

    2016-07-10 5
  • Newcomer of the Week: olicooper

    written by lomography on 2016-06-19
    Newcomer of the Week: olicooper

    When eyeing for a new camera, it's only natural for one to research its features and how it fares on the job. This is community newcomer olicooper's journey into Lomography began.

    2016-06-19 2
  • The Art of Picture Taking: An Interview with Filmmaker Catherine Dauphin

    written by Azin Teimoori on 2016-02-16 #videos #people
    The Art of Picture Taking: An Interview with Filmmaker Catherine Dauphin

    At the time of its inception, photography was considered less a fine art and more a scientific method of reproduction. But anyone who has dabbled in the craft will argue otherwise; that there consists a very specific artistry in the photographic medium. We spoke with Luxembourg-based filmmaker Catherine Dauphin about her thoughts on this wonderful art form. Join us as she answers some of our questions about film, photography, and her short film titled "The Art of Picture Taking."

    2016-02-16
  • Shop News

    LomoLab Europe has moved!

    LomoLab Europe has moved!

    The LomoLab EU has moved and is now open for business! Analogue lovers from Austria, Germany, Spain, Netherlands, Belgium, Luxenbourg, and the rest of Europe can send their films to: Lomographische AG LomoLAB Kaiserstrasse 34/12 1070 WIen Austria However, if you're based in Germany - and you don't mind a longer waiting time, you can still send your rolls for processing to: Lifesmyle Store Berlin - LomoLAB Friedrichstraße 133 10117 Berlin Germany

  • Germany in Analog - Show fotoforum and Lomography your Hometown on Film

    written by zonderbar on 2015-12-18 #news
    Germany in Analog - Show fotoforum and Lomography your Hometown on Film

    North or South, East or West - in every corner of Germany you can find analog photography lovers. Lomography brings them together and shows their pictures to a worldwide community. With this rumble we want to get to know you a little better. Show Lomography and fotoforum where you come from, capture your hometown on film and win a one-year subscription of fotoforum magazine as well as a Lomo LC-A 120 camera. Please note: This competition is only for users from Germany, Austria or Switzerland.

    2015-12-18
  • Lomo LC-A Cameras Through the Years

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-06-17 #gear
    Lomo LC-A Cameras Through the Years

    Our beloved Lomo LC-A camera turns 32 this year! Through the years, we've seen this classic compact camera switch its color palettes and designs. But beyond the change in its looks is a story or milestone to raise our glasses to.

    2016-06-17 2
  • Magical Moments With the Lomo LC-Wide

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-01-13 #news
    Magical Moments With the Lomo LC-Wide

    There are no smoke and mirrors here! The Lomo LC-Wide is capable of producing enchanting photographs on its own! So we decided to have a look through the Lomography Online Community to find some spectacular snaps. Here are some photographs taken with the LC-Wide that captured a little something magical.

    2016-01-13