Reviews on Rewind: LC-A Cameras

1

With the advent of the iconic LC-A camera’s glorious 28 years, it is only but proper for us to have a dedicated Reviews on Rewind installment. Join us as we look back at some inputs from the community who has grown to love the LC-A cameras through the years!

The release of the limited edition Lomo LC-A+ Silver Lake marks another milestone for the legendary Lomo LC-A camera, whose analogue legacy has now spanned 28 years. From the original LC-A born in Russian soil nearly three decades ago, up to today’s newest and boldly-designed editions, analogue-loving people have been enamored by the camera and the charming photos it produces.

Therefore, in celebration of this special occasion, let’s take a look back at what some of our fellow lomographers have to say about the LC-A cameras:

Photo by d_i_hunter

*Lomo LC-A+: 10 Reasons Why I Love it and So Will You* by d_i_hunter

You stand out from the crowd. So everybody else has got ‘Fancy Dan’ digital compacts? Well that’s fine if all you want to do is just record a bland image of exactly what’s in front of the lens – but me, I want to see my memories recorded with a bit of analogue warmth and charm!

Photo by oldskool_rider

*Lomo LC-A+: Give Her a Chance* by oldskool_rider

I had come to understand that this was not just a camera, it is the camera. This is the classic Lomo camera with a beautiful lens. The vignettes, the colour, the contrast, the beauty! This is something I wanted to have in my life.

Photo by irufan7

*LOMO LC-A: A Richman's Wife* by irufan7

Now, I can officially call myself a lomographer since I have an LC-A, an original one. Before that I can only afford a Vivitar UWS, a poor man’s LC-A. So maybe I can also consider myself as a richman now. Or a husband too?

Photo by nadinadu

*Lomo LC-A Review* by nadinadu

I think all of us here know the famous Lomo LC-A? Am I right? Well you sure should! It’s pretty much one of the cameras that started all of Lomography! That old Russian beauty!

Photo by by rav_bunneh

*Half a Year with the Lomo LC-A+ RL* by rav_bunneh

Sometimes you buy something and sadly forget about it weeks or months later. It is easy to tire of something or just move on. This is not at all the case with this little camera of love and joy. I literally take it with me anytime I leave the house. Look at my gallery and you’ll see photos of the gas station, grocery store and just daily life.

Reviews on Rewind is a monthly series where we feature some of the best reviews on selected films, cameras, and accessories previously published in the Magazine. If you’re on the lookout for some films or analogue gear to try, or just curious about what people have to share about their own experience, this series can be of help to you!

written by plasticpopsicle on 2012-02-29 #gear #russian #review #lc-a #reviews #lomo #lomography #lc-a #reviews-on-rewind-series #lc-a-cameras #lca-a-birthday-2012

Kickstarter

Bringing an iconic aesthetic to square format instant photography, the Diana Instant Square fills frames with strong, saturated colors and rich, moody vignetting. Built to let your inspiration run wild, our latest innovation features a Multiple Exposure Mode, a Bulb Mode for long exposures, a hot shoe adapter and so much more! It’s even compatible with all of the lenses created for the Diana F+ so that you can shake up your perspective anytime, anywhere. No two shots will ever be the same. Back us on Kickstarter now!

One Comment

  1. guinastrapazi
    guinastrapazi ·

    and some time it will be mine! :)

More Interesting Articles

  • LomoWall 25th Anniversary Celebration at the W Hotel New York

    written by katphip on 2017-11-10
    LomoWall 25th Anniversary Celebration at the W Hotel New York

    Join us on November 10th, to celebrate our 25th Anniversary at the W New York! We're revealing our newly installed LomoWall along with having camera packages if you book rooms at any of the W Hotels in NYC. Come and have a fun time with your favorite Lomographers.

    1
  • Cameras in Depth: Handling a Medium Format Camera

    written by sirio174 on 2017-12-18 #gear
    Cameras in Depth: Handling a Medium Format Camera

    After some articles on ergonomics of 35mm cameras, this one is dedicated to medium format ones, especially about some wonderful Lomo cameras, from the fully manual Lubitel to the fully automatic Lomo LC-A 120.

    6
  • Top Photo Likers of August 2017

    2017-09-12 #news
    Top Photo Likers of August 2017

    Like a pat on the back, liking your fellow Lomographers' photos can go a long way. This simple gesture is sometimes enough to motivate them to continue shooting and improving. Meet this batch of Lomographers who eagerly spread the Lomo-love throughout the community one click at a time.

    3
  • Shop News

    Conquer 35mm and Medium Format Photography with the Belair and Free 35mm Back!

    Conquer 35mm and Medium Format Photography with the Belair and Free 35mm Back!

    Grab any edition of the Belair X 6-12 Medium Format camera and get a Belair X 6-12 35mm back for FREE!

  • Top Photo Likers of November 2017

    2017-12-09 #news
    Top Photo Likers of November 2017

    Like a pat on the back, liking your fellow Lomographers' photos can go a long way. This simple gesture is sometimes enough to motivate them to continue shooting and improving. Meet this batch of Lomographers who eagerly spread the Lomo-love throughout the community one click at a time.

    1
  • Top Photo Likers of October 2017

    2017-11-10 #news
    Top Photo Likers of October 2017

    Like a pat on the back, liking your fellow Lomographers' photos can go a long way. This simple gesture is sometimes enough to motivate them to continue shooting and improving. Meet this batch of Lomographers who eagerly spread the Lomo-love throughout the community one click at a time.

    3
  • 25 Years of Lomography - Lomowall Ganton St

    2017-10-30 #news
    25 Years of Lomography - Lomowall Ganton St

    To celebrate the 25 year anniversary of Lomography we are building an 8.5 meter long Lomowall on Ganton st, just off of Carnaby St in the centre of London. This is one of a series of hundreds of LomoWalls dotted across the globe. Join us for the launch party on November 9th from 6pm.

    3
  • Shop News

    A Perfect Surprise for Every Analogue Loving Enthusiast

    A Perfect Surprise for Every Analogue Loving Enthusiast

    Let your loved one pick the gift of their dreams. Lomography Online Shop Gift Certificates are the perfect present for every analogue devotee on your gift list

  • Top Shoutbox Users of November 2017

    2017-12-08 #news
    Top Shoutbox Users of November 2017

    Aside from browsing through beautiful photographs and reading interesting articles, hanging out in the shoutbox is another worthwhile activity to do in the community. Not only will you get updated on the latest in photography, you’ll also have a chance to share ideas, tips, and stories with fellow shutterbugs across the globe. The shoutbox is always brimming with entertaining conversation and it's all because of these Lomographers.

    1
  • Top Shoutbox Users of January 2018

    2018-02-15 #news
    Top Shoutbox Users of January 2018

    Aside from browsing through beautiful photographs and reading interesting articles, hanging out in the shoutbox is another worthwhile activity to do in the community. Not only will you get updated on the latest in photography, you’ll also have a chance to share ideas, tips, and stories with fellow shutterbugs across the globe. The shoutbox is always brimming with entertaining conversation and it's all because of these Lomographers.

    2
  • Stories On Film: Jorge Sato and the LC-A+

    2018-03-12 #people
    Stories On Film: Jorge Sato and the LC-A+

    Welcome to our new series "Stories On Film", where we invite community members from around the globe to share their personal experiences with analogue photography. Discover Jorge Sato's story with the Lomo LC-A+ camera.

    4
  • Shop News

    Sweet Discounts on Bags!

    Sweet Discounts on Bags!

    Need something to keep your gear safe in and share your pride with the world? An amazing selection of Lomography bags are currently on sale! Don't lose the moment and get your favorite one!

  • PJ Harvey: Snapshot Tour with the LC-A+

    2017-08-18 #news #people
    PJ Harvey: Snapshot Tour with the LC-A+

    English singer, composer and poet PJ Harvey recently took the LC-A+ on tour around Australia and Asia in support of her album The Hope Six Demolition Project. We were delighted to get a glimpse into the life of a musician on the move through the eyes of this classic analogue camera.

    8
  • Strand Bookstore & Lomography Present: Author Jeremiah Moss With the Simple Use Film Camera

    written by birgitbuchart on 2018-07-10 #people
    Strand Bookstore & Lomography Present: Author Jeremiah Moss With the Simple Use Film Camera

    We have teamed up with the legendary Strand Bookstore for a summer series of LomoWalks. On Saturday July 14th, author Jeremiah Moss is going to join us and provide literary inspiration for participants. He has recently taken one of our Simple Use Film Cameras and created a wonderful series himself.

  • Film Based Traveler Nicole Yeoh and the Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 Art Lens

    written by Crisselda Robles on 2017-10-03 #people
    Film Based Traveler Nicole Yeoh and the Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 Art Lens

    Nicole Yeoh of Singapore-based blog 'Film Based Traveler' got her hands on the Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 Art Lens and granted us access to share her inspiring street photographs taken from both digital and film cameras.

  • Find Out More About