Fuji Superia (110, 200 iso) User-Review

2009-06-18 7

Pocket sized fun: The Fuji Superia is a Pocketfilm also known as 110 format and It comes in a plastic cartridge!

Not long ago I thought it would be hard to get my hands on medium format film. After a while I found out that it was not hard but rather expensive. When I got aware of another film type – 110 pocket film and I really wanted a camera for that I found out that this type of film was harder to find.

Pocket or 110 film was introduced by Kodak in 1972 as predecessor for the Instantmatic film from 1963. The negative size is 13 mm x17 mm. The only 110 film I could find was the Fuji Superia 200, so I bought the only two rolls left at Mueller, a local drugstore. Fuji can´t be wrong, I thought. So I loaded the cartridge into my newly acquired Agfa Pocket and started shooting. The results I got a whole week later are okay by any means.

The 110 Superia is like his 35mm brother, a down to earth negative film. The colours are realistic, I find them rather dull since I prefer films like the Agfa Vista. Due to the small format the pictures are rather grainy. What I like about 110 is the nearly square format, the pictures look different and unusual. After all I don´t regret my excursion into the land of the pocket film. I really would like to try out different kinds of 110 film but since they are hard to find I´m willing to take the Superia when I find it.

written by zark on 2009-06-18 #gear #superia #review #200iso #24-exposures #fuji #110 #pocket-film

7 Comments

  1. mattydk
    mattydk ·

    really interesting gallery zark, really like No.4, 11 and 12. Great shots.

  2. sugiyamasatomi
    sugiyamasatomi ·

    they are all nice, but I specially like 5 and 20. I love the number and the arrow. they make the image look like a pop art. great job!

  3. eyecon
    eyecon ·

    My first cam was a Agfa Pocket.....I can always remember the sound when you slide the cam to transport the film! THanks for taking me back to my childhood.....!

  4. stouf
    stouf ·

    Sweet ! I love 5, 8 and 15 !!! Great review !

  5. rater
    rater ·

    Cool, I like the arrow with the number!

  6. panelomo
    panelomo ·

    i dont get good grades whenever im using superia :(

  7. treehugger419
    treehugger419 ·

    I want some =(

More Interesting Articles

  • Top Shoutbox Users of March 2016

    written by lomography on 2016-03-25 #news
    Top Shoutbox Users of March 2016

    Aside from browsing through beautiful photographs and reading interesting articles, hanging out in the shoutbox is another worthwhile activity to do in the community. Not only will you get updated on the latest in photography, you’ll also have a chance to share ideas, tips, and stories with fellow shutterbugs across the globe. The shoutbox is always brimming with entertaining conversation and it's all because of these Lomographers.

    2016-03-25 3
  • Top Shoutbox Users of February 2016

    written by lomography on 2016-02-26 #news
    Top Shoutbox Users of February 2016

    Aside from browsing through beautiful photographs and reading interesting articles, hanging out in the shoutbox is another worthwhile activity to do in the community. Not only will you get updated on the the latest news about photography but you’ll also have a chance to share ideas, tips, and stories with fellow shutterbugs across the globe. The shoutbox is always brimming with entertaining conversation and it's all because of these lomographers.

    2016-02-26 7
  • Vintage Camera Reviews: Kodak Flash 620

    written by Mark Hannah on 2016-06-18 #gear
    Vintage Camera Reviews: Kodak Flash 620

    I love shooting with vintage cameras for the retro look and the feel of film but I also enjoy their simplicity. Here’s a beautiful camera that’s just about as basic as it gets.

    2016-06-18 6
  • Shop News

    the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

     the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

    Let your loved one pick the gift of their dreams. Lomography Online Shop Gift Certificates are the perfect present for every analogue devotee on your gift list

  • Walking on Sunshine with Lomography XPro 200

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-03-04 #gear
    Walking on Sunshine with Lomography XPro 200

    The ice is melting and winter's almost over. Mother Earth is brought to life once again as spring crawls in. Time to head out and take photos! The colors of Lomography XPro 200 35mm is the perfect balance for spring: subtle azure for traces of winter and a mesh of sunny yellow for the promise of summer.

    2016-03-04 1
  • My First Lomo Affair: ciasteczkatynki

    written by Lomography on 2016-06-11
    My First Lomo Affair: ciasteczkatynki

    Lomographer Martyna, also known as ciasteczkatynki in the community, recalls her first brush with film photography and how it inspired her to explore experimental ways of creating images.

    3
  • A Week With Our LomoAmigo Gema Espinosa (@rubirroja)

    written by ellakoppensteiner on 2016-07-18 #gear #people
    A Week With Our LomoAmigo Gema Espinosa (@rubirroja)

    We have a new LomoAmigo! It is the photographer and lifestyle blogger Gema Espinosa - also known as @Rubirroja on social media. Gema took the Lomo'Instant Honolulu Edition on a trip for a week and today we are thrilled to show you the result.

    2016-07-18 1
  • Shop News

    Category Filters for easy Film Shopping

    Category Filters for easy Film Shopping

    Sure, it takes effort to source films these days, but the Lomography Shop has just made the online part more convenient - under each category, you may now filter by Brand and ISO.

  • The Enduring Beauty of Diners

    written by Lorraine Healy on 2015-12-12 #places
    The Enduring Beauty of Diners

    An Argentinean writer and photographer living in the Pacific Northwest, Lorraine Healy is a long-time fan of plastic cameras and is the author of "Tricks With A Plastic Wonder," a manual for achieving better results with a Holga camera, available as an eBook from Amazon.com. In this article, Healy shares her love for vintage American diners and her many years photographing them.

    2015-12-12 15
  • Khalik Allah: A Halo in the Darkness of Night

    written by jennifer_pos on 2015-10-25 #videos #people
    Khalik Allah: A Halo in the Darkness of Night

    He calls himself Khalik Allah – a creator, a limitless, timeless, infinite being. He documents life as it comes and goes, as it hurts, as it glows inside the protagonists of his stories. His photography and videography take us deep into the never-ending nights of Harlem, a place where the darkness might seem to reach its peak. Yet, he is capturing light in its purest form, reminding us that it lies in everyone’s eyes, within everyone’s self.

    2015-10-25 6
  • Robin Rimbaud Shoots with the LC-A 120

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-10-05 #people
    Robin Rimbaud Shoots with the LC-A 120

    Robin Rimbaud is a UK based artist, record producer, and composer who works under the name "Scanner" in reference to his use of mobile phone signals and police scanners in his early performances. He has worked on soundtracks for films, sound installations, radio, dance and theater. Robin also has a passion for medium format photography, owns a Holga camera and has a unique photographic style. Get to know him in this interview, where he talks about his personal work as well as his experience with the Lomo LC-A 120.

    2015-10-05 1
  • Shop News

    Celebrate summer with the Lomo'Instant San Sebastián

    Celebrate summer with the Lomo'Instant San Sebastián

    Walk along the sandy shore, take a dip and splash around, and celebrate summer with the Lomo'Instant San Sebastián! Inspired by the Spanish surf town, this nifty newest edition of the Lomo'Instant is perfect to capture your colorful instant summer snaps!

  • Street Photography When You Live In The Boonies

    written by Lorraine Healy on 2015-10-05
    Street Photography When You Live In The Boonies

    An Argentinean writer and photographer living in the Pacific Northwest, Lorraine Healy is a long-time fan of plastic cameras and is the author of "Tricks With A Plastic Wonder," a manual for achieving better results with a Holga camera, available as an eBook from Amazon.com. In this article, Healy explains how you can find ways to do street photography even if you live in a rural area.

    2015-10-05 4
  • Julija Svetlova Shoots with the Lomo'Instant Wide

    written by Lomography London on 2016-04-11 #people
    Julija Svetlova Shoots with the Lomo'Instant Wide

    Julija Svetlova, also known as "neja" on the Lomography circuit, is a London-based film photographer. She has run workshops for The Photographers Gallery and The University of the Arts and continues to produce beautiful imagery using various film cameras and techniques.

    2016-04-11 2
  • The World According to Herr Willie: The Spirit of Jogja

    written by wil6ka on 2015-11-03 #places
    The World According to Herr Willie: The Spirit of Jogja

    It is the marvel of Java, the cultural center of Indonesia: Yogyakarta, or, as we assimilated locals call it, Jogja! Jogja is full of historic sites and exudes a very adventurous yet welcoming spirit. It is a true multireligious melting pot that has seen kings and sultans come and go, and religions introduced and either went or stayed. Time has been gentle on Jogja. It's one of my most favorite cities in Asia.

    2015-11-03 4