Fuji Superia (110, 200 iso) User-Review

7

Pocket sized fun: The Fuji Superia is a Pocketfilm also known as 110 format and It comes in a plastic cartridge!

Not long ago I thought it would be hard to get my hands on medium format film. After a while I found out that it was not hard but rather expensive. When I got aware of another film type – 110 pocket film and I really wanted a camera for that I found out that this type of film was harder to find.

Pocket or 110 film was introduced by Kodak in 1972 as predecessor for the Instantmatic film from 1963. The negative size is 13 mm x17 mm. The only 110 film I could find was the Fuji Superia 200, so I bought the only two rolls left at Mueller, a local drugstore. Fuji can´t be wrong, I thought. So I loaded the cartridge into my newly acquired Agfa Pocket and started shooting. The results I got a whole week later are okay by any means.

The 110 Superia is like his 35mm brother, a down to earth negative film. The colours are realistic, I find them rather dull since I prefer films like the Agfa Vista. Due to the small format the pictures are rather grainy. What I like about 110 is the nearly square format, the pictures look different and unusual. After all I don´t regret my excursion into the land of the pocket film. I really would like to try out different kinds of 110 film but since they are hard to find I´m willing to take the Superia when I find it.

written by zark on 2009-06-18 #gear #review #superia #200iso #110 #fuji #pocket-film #24-exposures

7 Comments

  1. mattydk
    mattydk ·

    really interesting gallery zark, really like No.4, 11 and 12. Great shots.

  2. sugiyamasatomi
    sugiyamasatomi ·

    they are all nice, but I specially like 5 and 20. I love the number and the arrow. they make the image look like a pop art. great job!

  3. eyecon
    eyecon ·

    My first cam was a Agfa Pocket.....I can always remember the sound when you slide the cam to transport the film! THanks for taking me back to my childhood.....!

  4. stouf
    stouf ·

    Sweet ! I love 5, 8 and 15 !!! Great review !

  5. rater
    rater ·

    Cool, I like the arrow with the number!

  6. panelomo
    panelomo ·

    i dont get good grades whenever im using superia :(

  7. treehugger419
    treehugger419 ·

    I want some =(

More Interesting Articles

  • Seb Mueller of SWMRS on Tour with the LC-A+

    written by katphip on 2017-10-07 #people
    Seb Mueller of SWMRS on Tour with the LC-A+

    Seb Mueller is the bassist of rock band SWMRS. He's a total film enthusiast, experimenting with lots of different emulsions and formats, such as 110 and Redscale. He shared an analog tour diary from US run with label-mates All Time Low. Check it out!

  • Top Shoutbox Users of November 2017

    2017-12-08 #news
    Top Shoutbox Users of November 2017

    Aside from browsing through beautiful photographs and reading interesting articles, hanging out in the shoutbox is another worthwhile activity to do in the community. Not only will you get updated on the latest in photography, you’ll also have a chance to share ideas, tips, and stories with fellow shutterbugs across the globe. The shoutbox is always brimming with entertaining conversation and it's all because of these Lomographers.

    1
  • Top Shoutbox Users of January 2018

    2018-02-15 #news
    Top Shoutbox Users of January 2018

    Aside from browsing through beautiful photographs and reading interesting articles, hanging out in the shoutbox is another worthwhile activity to do in the community. Not only will you get updated on the latest in photography, you’ll also have a chance to share ideas, tips, and stories with fellow shutterbugs across the globe. The shoutbox is always brimming with entertaining conversation and it's all because of these Lomographers.

    2
  • Shop News

    Sweet Discounts on Bags!

    Sweet Discounts on Bags!

    Need something to keep your gear safe in and share your pride with the world? An amazing selection of Lomography bags are currently on sale! Don't lose the moment and get your favorite one!

  • Wan Chai 70’s: Before the Night

    2018-01-18 #culture
    Wan Chai 70’s: Before the Night

    The metropolitan area of Wan Chai may as well be known as a notorious red light district where sex and vices go crazy in evenings. Known for its nightlife, the area was a famous spot for US sailors and servicemen of the Vietnam War.

    1
  • New Medium Format Pinhole Cameras

    written by Lorraine Healy on 2017-10-25 #gear
    New Medium Format Pinhole Cameras

    A long-time fan of plastic cameras, Argentinean writer and photographer Lorraine Healy is the author of “Tricks With A Plastic Wonder,” a manual for achieving better results with a Holga camera. In this article, Healy continues on her journey of learning how to use pinhole cameras, looking at a couple of new medium format cameras and a couple of helpful phone apps.

    14
  • A Retrospective Study of David Goldblatt's Documentary Photographs

    2018-03-15 #news
    A Retrospective Study of David Goldblatt's Documentary Photographs

    The South African photographer David Goldblatt is known for his lucid black and white photography of South African apartheid and its aftermath. This Parisian show boasts Goldblatt's work as a visual journalist and as a personal historian.

  • Shop News

    A Perfect Surprise for Every Analogue Loving Enthusiast

    A Perfect Surprise for Every Analogue Loving Enthusiast

    Let your loved one pick the gift of their dreams. Lomography Online Shop Gift Certificates are the perfect present for every analogue devotee on your gift list

  • Lomo'Giveaway: Enter to Win A Lomo'Instant Panama Signed by CHON

    written by sragomo on 2018-01-20 #news #people
    Lomo'Giveaway: Enter to Win A Lomo'Instant Panama Signed by CHON

    Music lovers! We're giving away a staple for any Lomographer's camera collection: The Lomo'Instant Panama. It was specially signed by San Diego-based rock band CHON, and the collectible will come with a brand new camera as well for extra Lomo-fun. Rock on and long live analog!

    3
  • Ben Shahn's Social Realism in Photography

    2018-03-08 #culture
    Ben Shahn's Social Realism in Photography

    American-Lithuanian Ben Shahn is firstly known in the world as a social realist painter and graphic artist, but in his early days, he was a man of the camera.

  • Psychedelia-Soaked Reality with the New LomoChrome Purple 120

    2017-12-19
    Psychedelia-Soaked Reality with the New LomoChrome Purple 120

    What makes the LomoChrome Purple emulsion a fan-favorite among Lomographers is it's a film stock like nothing else, and its reformulation is more than ever ready to make things delirious and wonderous. Witness the world drenched in medium-format purple.

    1
  • Shop News

    Save up to 20% on Film with the Lomo'Instant Camera and Lenses (Explorer Edition) & 10x Fujifilm Instax Mini Film Bundle!

    Save up to 20% on Film with the  Lomo'Instant Camera and Lenses (Explorer Edition) & 10x Fujifilm Instax Mini Film Bundle!

    Go on a quest and become an explorer while saving up to 20% on Fujifilm Instax Mini Film when you grab the new Lomo'Instant Camera and Lenses (Explorer Edition) & 10x Fujifilm Instax Mini Film bundle!

  • The Changing Moods of the Lobster Redscale 110

    2018-03-23 #gear
    The Changing Moods of the Lobster Redscale 110

    The ambiance is a crucial factor to consider when shooting photographs as light, color, and texture make up the overall visual aesthetic of an image. The Lobster Redscale 110 does not only bathe pictures in striking red but in other hues as well.

  • Argentine Photography: 1850 to 2010

    2017-09-26 #culture
    Argentine Photography: 1850 to 2010

    Since its independence in 1810, Argentina became one of the most powerful economic systems as its remarkably strong middle class makes it stand out among its neighbors, but it was also a crucial period when its culture flourished through art and photography in different movements and eras.

    1
  • Around the World in Analogue: Rwanda

    2017-10-20 #places
    Around the World in Analogue: Rwanda

    “Around the World in Analogue” is your bite-size guide to the most amazing travel destinations across the globe, as documented by the members of the Lomography community. Today, lomographer Richard Hall takes us to Rwanda, a storied country of beautiful landscapes and people.

    3
  • Find Out More About