Fuji Superia (120, 100 iso) User-Review

2009-08-26 7

There’s a reason why the Lomographic Society likes to put a roll of this film in most of their camera packages!

You might have thought when you first opened your Holga package or even your Lubitel, how nice it is of the Lomographic Society to include a a fresh (or sometimes expired which excites me too!) roll of film for me to break in my new view on life.

This slice of 120 sexuality at a light sucking 100 ISO is full of vibrant life and colour! It paints huge swathes of light across it’s surface to give you something truly special not just for all you first timers out there but for those who have been loading their cameras with all kinds of precious film under the sun. It eases you in gently, makes room for your mistakes and repays your patience and understanding with pictures that leap out at you.

There are people out there who love this simple, elegant film as much as me and for those who are already curious, I’m telling you now that It’s not going to make your wallet cry out in pain. Affordable beauty that gives you priceless images whether you’re in the mood for either 35mm or 120, this film is really worth snapping with!

written by mattydk on 2009-08-26 #gear #holga-120-cfn #lubitel-166-universal #review #fujifilm #negative-film #fuji

7 Comments

  1. lomosexual_manboy
    lomosexual_manboy ·

    Impressive shots. I've got a couple rolls of this I have been saving, but first thing tomorrow a roll of this will be loaded into my Seagull. Can't believe the detail.

  2. ethermoon
    ethermoon ·

    shot 5 is great. lubitel166+ is sharp!!!! nice camera.. nice shots :)

  3. eyecon
    eyecon ·

    Also one of my favorite films

  4. stouf
    stouf ·

    Love the first one !

  5. mattydk
    mattydk ·

    thanks for the comments, these were from my first rolls that i shot with my Holga and Lubitel 166+.

  6. lornahaddon
    lornahaddon ·

    I love this film

  7. beautifullypure
    beautifullypure ·

    Thanks for this review! I just ordered a roll of this (and some Kodaks) along with my very first Diana camera. I'm so excited to try it out now!

    Both of these images are amazing - the first one really caught my eye. Is that a double exposure? O.o

    ~ Katie
    www.beautifully-pure.com

More Interesting Articles

  • Scenes from Istanbul: Stephen Dowling and the LC-A 120

    written by Lomography London on 2015-12-03 #people
    Scenes from Istanbul: Stephen Dowling and the LC-A 120

    Stephen Dowling is no stranger to the LC-A 120 camera; he has brought it on trips to Brighton, Malta and most recently, on a holiday in Istanbul. In this feature, Stephen talks about his experience shooting with this medium format camera around the markets and mosques of one of Turkey's most colourful and vibrant cities.

    2015-12-03 1
  • Fresh Lomo LC-A 120 Picks From the Community

    written by lomography on 2015-12-07 #gear
    Fresh Lomo LC-A 120 Picks From the Community

    A year and a few months since it was introduced, the Lomo LC-A 120 continues its exciting journey around the world—from busy streets to scenic far-flung places and everywhere else in between. Here are just some of the many places and faces encountered by this trusty, compact medium format camera (and their adventurous owners, of course!) in recent months, in photographs.

    2015-12-07 3
  • Stephen Dowling Takes the LC-A 120 to New Zealand

    written by lomographysoholondon on 2016-09-24 #people
    Stephen Dowling Takes the LC-A 120 to New Zealand

    Lomography stalwart and terminal traveller Stephen Dowling took the trusty LC-A 120 to his hometown of New Zealand and explained a bit about why he loves this medium format camera so much.

    2
  • Shop News

    LC-A+ & LC-W Accessories

    LC-A+ & LC-W Accessories

    Combine your LC-A+ or LC-W Camera with great, fun Accessories and get 15% Discount on all Lomography Accessories when bought together with the Camera!

  • Nour Matroud: What's in Your Bag?

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-05-09 #gear #people
    Nour Matroud: What's in Your Bag?

    Revealing the contents of your bag is like revealing the deepest corners of your soul, one could argue. In this new series, we ask your favorite photographers and Lomographers to let us in on their secret of their most essential items. Lomography's Retail Marketing Intern Nour Matroud kicks off this new series.

    2016-05-09 3
  • Igor Termenon of Girls/Boys on Film Shares His Experiences in Publishing a Zine

    written by Sunshine Reyes on 2016-07-19 #people
    Igor Termenon of Girls/Boys on Film Shares His Experiences in Publishing a Zine

    You've taken lots of really great pictures and you just want to put it out there. Why wait to be published when you can publish your own zine? Photographer and creative director Igor Termenon, founder of Girls on Film zine, shares his experience in curating, editing, and self-publishing a zine.

    2016-07-19 1
  • J.J. Abrams and Dan Mindel shot 'Star Wars: Force Awakens' on Kodak film

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-12-17 #news
    J.J. Abrams and Dan Mindel shot 'Star Wars: Force Awakens' on Kodak film

    This year's most awaited movie is part of a collective effort to save film manufacturer Kodak from bankruptcy. Here's why film still photographers should be thankful.

    2015-12-17 2
  • Shop News

    LomoKino on sale!

    LomoKino on sale!

    Embrace the magic of movie making and capture 144 frames of glorious analogue action on 35mm film with the LomoKino! Get it now at a incredibly low price while supplies last!

  • Germany in Analog - Show fotoforum and Lomography your Hometown on Film

    written by zonderbar on 2015-12-18 #news
    Germany in Analog - Show fotoforum and Lomography your Hometown on Film

    North or South, East or West - in every corner of Germany you can find analog photography lovers. Lomography brings them together and shows their pictures to a worldwide community. With this rumble we want to get to know you a little better. Show Lomography and fotoforum where you come from, capture your hometown on film and win a one-year subscription of fotoforum magazine as well as a Lomo LC-A 120 camera. Please note: This competition is only for users from Germany, Austria or Switzerland.

    2015-12-18
  • First Roll: Brunoroids with Lomochrome Purple Film! [NSFW]

    written by lomographynyc on 2016-09-14 #people
    First Roll: Brunoroids with Lomochrome Purple Film! [NSFW]

    When experimenting with new rolls of film, it's often the first roll that brings both the most joy and the most trial & tribulation. We want to start highlighting some successful first attempts here on our Magazine with our films. The first in this line up is Brian Bruno aka Brunoroids.

    2016-09-14
  • 10 Memorable Articles by Community Members in 2015

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-12-18
    10 Memorable Articles by Community Members in 2015

    Lomographers are the lifeline of this community, their words and photographs bridging gaps and differences and opening entirely new worlds to their fellow lomographers. In this recap, we handpicked 10 of the most memorable articles from this year's archive penned by no less than our community members.

    2015-12-18 1
  • Shop News

    the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

     the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

    Let your loved one pick the gift of their dreams. Lomography Online Shop Gift Certificates are the perfect present for every analogue devotee on your gift list

  • Newcomer of the Week: stripedbeatle

    written by lomography on 2016-03-13
    Newcomer of the Week: stripedbeatle

    Lomographer stripedbeatle is a child of art. He started using a camera in his teens and went on to document his life though videos and music. Let's get to know this community newcomer and film student from the United States.

    2016-03-13 2
  • Trending Albums of February 2016

    written by lomography on 2016-02-27 #news
    Trending Albums of February 2016

    Most of us organize our photo albums according to events or places. Some prefer to classify their photographs according to film or technique, while others compile their best shots. Have a look at this month's most noteworthy albums and learn how to tell your stories through visual organization.

    2016-02-27 6
  • Trending Albums of March 2016

    written by lomography on 2016-03-26 #news
    Trending Albums of March 2016

    Most of us organize our photo albums according to events or places. Some prefer to classify their photographs according to film or technique, while others compile their best shots. Have a look at this month's most noteworthy albums and learn how to tell your stories through visual organization.

    2016-03-26 2