Holga 135 - Staff Review

8

The Holga 135 is the 35mm version of the iconic “plastic fantastic” Holga camera.

Sometimes 120 film is just so hard to come by, and using 35mm film to take pictures with your Holga means having to modify your medium-format camera. It’s fun to do, but quite time-consuming. The Holga 135 has made things easy – it especially uses 35mm film, but retains the Holga features that you’ve always loved - plastic lens (which gives a soft effect to your images), uncoupled advance and shutter (for easy multiple exposures), variable aperture (with weather icon guide), variable shutter speeds (N for daytime, B for long-exposures), standard hotshoe flash, and tripod and shutter release threads (for unnecessary blurring and shaking).

Put simply, this is the camera for those who like the Holga’s lo-fi appeal, but prefer the convenience of 35mm film! However, if you like sprockets in your Holga 35mm, the DIY modification is still the way to go.

wilber speaks highly of his Holga 135. “This cute unrefined piece of plastic may give the impression of a horrible, fabricated untouchable but deep in its molded flesh lie pure imagination! You may be tempted by his evil twin the 135bc, but don’t be fooled, with some alterations (like using a mask) you can have those deep sensual corners!” Take a look at his photos (1-9) in the gallery!

written by shhquiet on 2008-05-25 #gear #35mm #review #staff #holga

8 Comments

  1. xbalboax
    xbalboax ·

    this isnt the worst camera, i shot a few rolls with it and got some mediocre results. used the colorsplash flash with it, and alot of the shots can out really out of focus. if you have to choose, spend the money and get the original holga, you cant beat it. ill give it another shot though. you never know

  2. maddyoulook
    maddyoulook ·

    i love mine :)

  3. anarchy
    anarchy ·

    I've shot 2 rolls with my Black Corner Holga 135 and I am very happy with the result! Just check out my albums "Finland Vs. Spain" and "Tripples"...
    I used the Lomo Xpro Slide 100 film on both albums. The "Tripples" shots were taken on a very bright and sunny day and on the "Finland Vs. Spain" photos I used a flash on most of the shots...For me it was love at first sight!

  4. yoharryo
    yoharryo ·

    I quite like mine, I find it easier to throw in a bag (and half forget about, only for it to reveal itself in that perfect moment) than the LC A was.
    Though, I would quite like to try the 120 Holga, there is something appealing about those lo fi squares of reality.

  5. mephisto19
    mephisto19 ·

    i really love my holga135, too! it is a nice, leightweighing camera and it makes so cool images! really! and it is cheap! and it takes 35mm- film.... JAAAAAAAAAAA

  6. g_ray
    g_ray ·

    The black brick of lomo...feels good to grip in your hands. The great thing is to be able to use just any 35mm film, easily do multiXposures (REALLY EASY), slot in the colorflash and voila!...u have yourself a Colorsplash camera! 3 in 1 tool! - Holga, Colorsplash, a lil bit of lc-a love :) I've neglected mine :( I'm sorry Holga! That Diana seduced me! I promise I shall date you again..soon! with all my heart & soul!

  7. johan34370
    johan34370 ·

    Can't wait to try my new one! :)

  8. wilarbadson
    wilarbadson ·

    My Holga are my only love!! :)

More Interesting Articles

  • The Holga 135BC: A Camera Review

    written by Lorraine Healy on 2017-09-06 #gear
    The Holga 135BC: A Camera Review

    A long-time fan of plastic cameras, Argentinean writer and photographer Lorraine Healy is the author of “Tricks With A Plastic Wonder,” a manual for achieving better results with a Holga camera. In this article, Healy describes why she is deeply impressed by the Holga 135BC.

    4
  • Holga Pinholes

    written by Lorraine Healy on 2017-06-28 #gear
    Holga Pinholes

    A long-time fan of plastic cameras, Argentinean writer and photographer Lorraine Healy is the author of “Tricks With A Plastic Wonder,” a manual for achieving better results with a Holga camera. In this article, Healy returns to her ancient pinhole Holga and adds a 35mm pinhole to her Holga collection.

    4
  • Ultra, Slim, & Wide: The Vivitar UWS and Superheadz Slim & Wide

    written by Lorraine Healy on 2017-09-27
    Ultra, Slim, & Wide: The Vivitar UWS and Superheadz Slim & Wide

    A long-time fan of plastic cameras, Argentinean writer and photographer Lorraine Healy is the author of “Tricks With A Plastic Wonder,” a manual for achieving better results with a Holga camera. In this article, Healy teams up with @honeygrahams224 to sing the praises of two plastic toy cameras.

    17
  • Shop News

    Capture a whole year of analogue life and love with the Simple Use Film Camera 12-Pack Bundle!

    Capture a whole year of analogue life and love with the Simple Use Film Camera 12-Pack Bundle!

    Grab the Simple Use Film Camera 12-Pack Bundle to save 15% on each lovely camera and use one each month of your year!

  • A Jewel Of A P&S: Pentax 90WR

    written by Lorraine Healy on 2017-11-18 #gear #places
    A Jewel Of A P&S: Pentax 90WR

    A long-time fan of plastic cameras, Argentinean writer and photographer Lorraine Healy is the author of “Tricks With A Plastic Wonder,” a manual for achieving better results with a Holga camera. In this article, Healy delves into the joys of finding a cheap, reliable camera that is perfect for a particular project.

    10
  • Contax G2: A Step Above

    written by Lorraine Healy on 2018-01-06 #gear
    Contax G2: A Step Above

    A long-time fan of plastic cameras, Argentinean writer and photographer Lorraine Healy is the author of “Tricks With A Plastic Wonder,” a manual for achieving better results with a Holga camera. In this article, Healy explores her first experience with a top-rated camera, the Contax G2.

    5
  • Color Infrared For Landscape And Urbanscape

    written by Lorraine Healy on 2017-05-24 #gear
    Color Infrared For Landscape And Urbanscape

    A long-time fan of plastic cameras, Argentinean writer and photographer Lorraine Healy is the author of “Tricks With A Plastic Wonder,” a manual for achieving better results with a Holga camera. In this article, Healy explores the world of color infrared film and its somewhat steep learning curve.

    5
  • Shop News

    Use your Neptune Convertible Art Lens system on multiple bodies at a time with the new Neptune Convertible Lens Base

    Use your Neptune Convertible Art Lens system on multiple bodies at a time with the new Neptune Convertible Lens Base

    Grab a spare Neptune Convertible Lens Base and use your Neptune front elements on more cameras! Available in Silver or Black, for Canon and Nikon mounts!

  • Back To The Ancestral Home

    written by Lorraine Healy on 2017-07-06 #places
    Back To The Ancestral Home

    A long-time fan of plastic cameras, Argentinean writer and photographer Lorraine Healy is the author of “Tricks With A Plastic Wonder,” a manual for achieving better results with a Holga camera. In this article, Healy revisits Western Ireland, where her paternal grandparents were born and raised.

    5
  • Home Sweet Home, Whidbey

    written by Lorraine Healy on 2017-07-13 #places
    Home Sweet Home, Whidbey

    A long-time fan of plastic cameras, Argentinean writer and photographer Lorraine Healy is the author of “Tricks With A Plastic Wonder,” a manual for achieving better results with a Holga camera. In this article, Healy shares her images and favorite places of her home base: Whidbey Island, Washington.

    3
  • Further Forays Into Color Infrared

    written by Lorraine Healy on 2017-06-21 #tutorials
    Further Forays Into Color Infrared

    A long-time fan of plastic cameras, Argentinean writer and photographer Lorraine Healy is the author of “Tricks With A Plastic Wonder,” a manual for achieving better results with a Holga camera. In this article, Healy delves deeper into the art of color infrared photography, examining the differences achieved by using different color filters.

    10
  • Shop News

    Get up to 20% off on Instax films when you grab the Lomo'Instant Yangon Bundles!

    Get up to 20% off on Instax films when you grab the Lomo'Instant Yangon Bundles!

    Take a shine to the latest Lomo'Instant golden child and save up to 20% off when you buy the Lomo'Instant Yangon with 10 packs of Fuji Instax Mini films!

  • Home Sweet Home, Whidbey (Part 2): Clinton & Langley

    written by Lorraine Healy on 2017-08-10
    Home Sweet Home, Whidbey (Part 2): Clinton & Langley

    A long-time fan of plastic cameras, Argentinean writer and photographer Lorraine Healy is the author of “Tricks With A Plastic Wonder,” a manual for achieving better results with a Holga camera. In this second of a series of articles, Healy shares her images and favorite places of her home base: Whidbey Island, Washington.

    2
  • New Medium Format Pinhole Cameras

    written by Lorraine Healy on 2017-10-25 #gear
    New Medium Format Pinhole Cameras

    A long-time fan of plastic cameras, Argentinean writer and photographer Lorraine Healy is the author of “Tricks With A Plastic Wonder,” a manual for achieving better results with a Holga camera. In this article, Healy continues on her journey of learning how to use pinhole cameras, looking at a couple of new medium format cameras and a couple of helpful phone apps.

    14
  • Seattle’s Women’s March 2.0

    written by Lorraine Healy on 2018-02-07 #places
    Seattle’s Women’s March 2.0

    A long-time fan of plastic cameras, Argentinean writer and photographer Lorraine Healy is the author of “Tricks With A Plastic Wonder,” a manual for achieving better results with a Holga camera. In this article, Healy shares her images of the Seattle’s Women’s March of 2018 and her thoughts on what goes into photographing huge groups of people.

    12
  • Find Out More About