Lubitel 166B - Staff Review

2008-05-25 13

The Lubitel 166B TLR is the medium-format predecessor to the equally iconic LOMO LC-A compact camera, prized for its simplicity and ability to produce professional-looking images.

It was post-WWII when the respected LOMO factory of St. Petersburg started creating a twin-lens reflex camera called “Komosomolets” (meaning “Young Communist.”), which was especially marketed towards amateur photographers. It was a copy of the 1938 German Voightlander “Brilliant” camera, so the design wasn’t really fresh. Come 1949, the original Lubitel (literally meaning “Amateur”) was presented – an enhanced and improved concept of the “Young Communist” cam. With its better features and quality, the Lubitel sales shot to over a million units sold worldwide, and was followed by the equally successful Lubitel-2, raking in two million units from its 1955 launch, to its demise in 1980.

The Lubitel 166B steps in 1980 and lasts until ‘89. Preserving the best features of its predecessor – the 75mm “Triplet 22” lens (which yields very sharp and high-contrast images), and the “ZT-8” shutter with a 1/250 speed, the 166B was crafted in a thermoplastic body, which makes it lightweight and convenient to tote around. Manual aperture and shutter controls provide flexibility in composing images, while the ground glass top-down viewer ensures perfect focusing. For extra resolution detail, a flip-down magnifying glass is available.

A roll of 120 gives you 12 6×6 images. There’s an option to not cock the shutter after making your first shot, should you wish to experiment with overlaps or multiple exposures – thanks to its manual shutter cock and advance.

janisthewanis confessed that he has dropped his Lubitel over a dozen times! “Does this affect the camera in any way? Nope. I really love how lightweight and durable the Lubitel is. I can carry it everywhere with me and not have the camera strap digging into my shoulder. I can throw it into my car or bag and not have to worry about something getting knocked loose because the thing is a tank. I really like looking down into the viewfinder and shooting from my pelvis, it seems to throw people off, they wonder what the hell you are doing.”

Lightweight and easy to use, the Lubitel 166B makes a perfect TLR camera for the beginner, and a fun camera for the professional.

Credits

Photos 1-12 by: janisthewanis

written by shhquiet on 2008-05-25 #gear #120 #lubitel #tlr #staff #review

13 Comments

  1. graefin
    graefin ·

    I found my Lubitel 166 (without B) on a fleemarket and immediately fell in love with it!!! It's such a wonderful camera!

  2. mephisto19
    mephisto19 ·

    submitted some shots...

  3. graefin
    graefin ·

    the same for me ;)

  4. azurblue
    azurblue ·

    ...me too...:-)

  5. trabantdeluxe
    trabantdeluxe ·

    I absolutely LOVE, LOVE, LOVE my Lubi! It's a 166B I found on eBay from a seller in Ukraine. When he sent the camera, it came with a roll of undeveloped Soviet era Foto 65 B&W film. My local pro lab was able to develop it, but there was only one picture....of a mystery family in an apartment sometime in the 1980's. I've uploaded that photo as well as some others.

    The 166B is a great introduction to the world of TLR cameras. I also have a Seagull, but don;t like it anywhere as much as my Lubitel.

  6. 7samurai
    7samurai ·

    ;)

  7. superlighter
    superlighter ·

    go huntin for one of these box! now!
    beautiful shots submitted!

  8. ipdegirl
    ipdegirl ·

    I love my Luby. It is one of my favorite cameras EVER! I was using it a few days ago and it seemed that the gears weren't meshing on the two lenses. Anyone else have this problem and how do I cure it?

  9. craigas
    craigas ·

    i recently bought a 166B from ebay with no instructions. can anyone help me with how to load and unload a film? its driving me crazy looking at my camera and not being able to use it!!!!

    :(

  10. lovesmesumcake
    lovesmesumcake ·

    I don't get how Lomography sells this camera for $215. :-( My friend just gave me hers for free after she bought it for $20 for someone else who ended up not wanting it. Sure, it's a funky little camera (a great intro into the world of TLR), but not a particularly great one by any means.

  11. magicpocket
    magicpocket ·

    I recently started with the 166B and I think it's a good fun camera which isn't meant to be taken too seriously... This is lomo after all!

  12. danbarry
    danbarry ·

    weapon of choice!

  13. af-capture
    af-capture ·

    Nice review

More Interesting Articles

  • Lomography X FOTO HITS Medium Format Rumble

    written by Lomography on 2015-11-26 #news
    Lomography X FOTO HITS Medium Format Rumble

    With an expanded field of view and its ability to produce high quality images and capture minute detail, medium format photography has become the top choice of many photographers. Lomography is working hard to make sure that it keeps going with the continued production of medium format film and cameras. The current issue of German magazine FOTO HITS focuses on medium format photography. And with this rumble, we want to prove why medium format photography is king. Take your Diana F+, Holga 120, Lubitel 166+ or the new Lomo LC-A 120 and show us your best square shots!

    2015-11-26 2
  • Vintage Camera Reviews: Kodak Flash 620

    written by Mark Hannah on 2016-06-18 #gear
    Vintage Camera Reviews: Kodak Flash 620

    I love shooting with vintage cameras for the retro look and the feel of film but I also enjoy their simplicity. Here’s a beautiful camera that’s just about as basic as it gets.

    2016-06-18 6
  • Fresh Lomo LC-A 120 Picks From the Community

    written by lomography on 2015-12-07 #gear
    Fresh Lomo LC-A 120 Picks From the Community

    A year and a few months since it was introduced, the Lomo LC-A 120 continues its exciting journey around the world—from busy streets to scenic far-flung places and everywhere else in between. Here are just some of the many places and faces encountered by this trusty, compact medium format camera (and their adventurous owners, of course!) in recent months, in photographs.

    2015-12-07 3
  • Shop News

    LC-A+ & LC-W Accessories

    LC-A+ & LC-W Accessories

    Combine your LC-A+ or LC-W Camera with great, fun Accessories and get 15% Discount on all Lomography Accessories when bought together with the Camera!

  • Robin Rimbaud Shoots with the LC-A 120

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-10-05 #people
    Robin Rimbaud Shoots with the LC-A 120

    Robin Rimbaud is a UK based artist, record producer, and composer who works under the name "Scanner" in reference to his use of mobile phone signals and police scanners in his early performances. He has worked on soundtracks for films, sound installations, radio, dance and theater. Robin also has a passion for medium format photography, owns a Holga camera and has a unique photographic style. Get to know him in this interview, where he talks about his personal work as well as his experience with the Lomo LC-A 120.

    2015-10-05 1
  • Lomo LC-A Cameras Through the Years

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-06-17 #gear
    Lomo LC-A Cameras Through the Years

    Our beloved Lomo LC-A camera turns 32 this year! Through the years, we've seen this classic compact camera switch its color palettes and designs. But beyond the change in its looks is a story or milestone to raise our glasses to.

    2016-06-17 2
  • Gelagoo and her Weapon of Choice: Yashica A

    written by lomography on 2015-10-17 #gear
    Gelagoo and her Weapon of Choice: Yashica A

    For Angela, anyone who wants to take a plunge into medium format photography should consider starting with a Yashica A. In this interview, she expounds more on what she loves about this TLR and why its the perfect gear for beginners.

    2015-10-17 4
  • Shop News

    Great discounts abound with the Great Fisheye Sale!

    Great discounts abound with the Great Fisheye Sale!

    See the world in a whole new way with our Lomography Fisheye cameras! Selected editions now on sale at 20% off! Fisheye cases at 50% off! Order within the month and get a free Fisheye keychain with every camera, and a free Circle Cutter when you buy a Fisheye case with your camera!

  • Colors of Winter with the LOMO LC-Wide

    written by tomas_bates on 2015-12-10 #news #gear
    Colors of Winter with the LOMO LC-Wide

    There's something about winter landscapes that warms the heart; it gives off a vibe that is equally calming and captivating. Make sure to seize the moment with the Lomo LC-Wide! Take a look at some of our favorite community shots after the cut.

    2015-12-10
  • Scenes from Istanbul: Stephen Dowling and the LC-A 120

    written by Lomography London on 2015-12-03 #people
    Scenes from Istanbul: Stephen Dowling and the LC-A 120

    Stephen Dowling is no stranger to the LC-A 120 camera; he has brought it on trips to Brighton, Malta and most recently, on a holiday in Istanbul. In this feature, Stephen talks about his experience shooting with this medium format camera around the markets and mosques of one of Turkey's most colourful and vibrant cities.

    2015-12-03 1
  • Magical Moments With the Lomo LC-Wide

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-01-13 #news
    Magical Moments With the Lomo LC-Wide

    There are no smoke and mirrors here! The Lomo LC-Wide is capable of producing enchanting photographs on its own! So we decided to have a look through the Lomography Online Community to find some spectacular snaps. Here are some photographs taken with the LC-Wide that captured a little something magical.

    2016-01-13
  • Shop News

    Discounts abound! Grab the deal of your dreams!

    Discounts abound! Grab the deal of your dreams!

    Grab the deal of your dreams with Lomography deals! Get Instant cameras, camera bags and other amazing accessories up to 70% off!

  • My First Time with the LC-Wide: danika

    written by Lomography on 2015-10-16 #news #gear
    My First Time with the LC-Wide: danika

    The LC-Wide is definitely one of Lomography's must-have cameras. Its Minigon 1 Ultra-Wide-Angle lens adds a different flavor to your shots, on top of the stunning vignettes, intense colors and breathtaking saturation and contrast LC-A cameras are known for. The Lomography Team is no stranger to the LC-Wide's creative potential, and has proven it capable of the most captivating images. First on the list is danika, from the Lomography Headquarters in Vienna.

    2015-10-16
  • Spring Into Action with the Lomo LC-Wide

    written by Lomography on 2016-02-18 #gear
    Spring Into Action with the Lomo LC-Wide

    With the days getting longer and the weather getting warmer, it's a perfect time to bring out your Lomo LC-Wide for those road trips with friends, adventures at the skate park, and lazy picnics at the park! Those spring scenes are bursting with warm light and captivating colors, the perfect subject for this versatile 35mm camera. Check out some of our favourite spring-themed community shots taken with the Lomo LC-Wide!

    2016-02-18
  • Now on Display: 5 Art Shows to Stop by This Weekend

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-09-30 #places
    Now on Display: 5 Art Shows to Stop by This Weekend

    Dedicate some spare time furnishing your knowledge on contemporary and master photographers with these on-going shows.

    2016-09-30