An Analogue Year in Review

2011-12-30 5

The year 2011 has been a very significant one for my personal life; a few lows, and a lot of highs. My analogue life has been extremely eventful as well. As the year closes, it’s nice to reflect on the analogue year that was.

This year is probably overwhelming for me in terms of productivity because I get to compare it with 2010. The year before this one, I barely used my cameras. I think I only shot 15 rolls. Aside from the Whilst We Wait Project with basterda and other Filipino lomographers, I had nothing going on.

Now, to recap my analogue achievements of 2011…I don’t know where to begin, really.

I shot 75 rolls of film this year! It probably isn’t a lot compared to lakandula, or mephisto19 shooting rate; but still, 6.5 rolls a month does not seem to be the behavior of an inhibited lomographer. I am almost inseparable with my cameras this year; constantly documenting my life as it unfolds. In fact, as of the moment, 5 of my cameras are simultaneously loaded with film.

Credits: renenob

Being a lomographer is best when shared with others who have the same interest. With Lomomanila being not as active as before, I was lucky to be a part of Shutter Revolution, a local group of analogue photographers and lomographers here in the Philippines. More than just being mere online buddies, I have managed to meet and become friends with some of them.

Credits: renenob

It is only this year that I seriously built my lomohome. Painstakingly, I transferred all my previous shots from my multiply site to my home. Not to mention that I had to enter meta information for the most of the photos. To date, I have more than 3,441 photos, 215 albums, 37 Lomowalls and 207 Friends. I was even lucky that I was awarded with the Lomohome of the Day honors.

I also became more active in the community. I tried joining competitions whenever I can. Whether what is at stake are just 5 piggies, or a premium Lomography product, I tried submitting photos. However, aside from a few entries accepted for lomowall installations, I only won as a runner-up in one competition. How I wish icuresick would rub some of his talent in me.

Credits: renenob

One of the things I got so busy with this year is writing articles for Lomography. Ever since my first article was published last February, I haven’t stopped. Every beginning of the month, I eagerly wait for the requested articles post to check if there are topics that I am knowledgeable enough to write about. To date, I have 35 articles; I plan to top that in 2012.

Credits: renenob

Aside from sharing with other enthusiast, there is another good reason for all of this effort in the community: PIGGIES! How many piggies were awarded to me this year? A lot! More than enough to get myself 2 LC-Wide cameras, which for some reason, I haven’t gotten yet. Maybe next year, I will.

Credits: renenob

There was also a significant improvement in my collection of cameras and my film stash. This year, a got an LC-A+ RL, a Spinner 360, a Diana Mini, and just this month an SLR, a Nikon EM. At one point, I even bought 100 rolls of expired Fujifilm Superia 400.

Credits: renenob

Finally, the culmination of the “Whilst We Wait” project. It began in April of 2010 and ran for an entire year. Some of those who participated are also members of my beloved Shutter Revolution family. The task of a year-long shooting and waiting ended in March 2011, and the culminating exhibit was held this December. This was the every first exhibit I got to be a part of.

Credits: boobert

I have other things in mind, but this article is coming close to being rejected for being too lengthy.

It was indeed a very fruitful analogue year for me, and I can wait for 2012 to just as good, if not better. By the way things are be in January (I just order several
Lomography films, and an Oktomat), I think will be so. Lomo on!

As film photographers, our photos become part of our journey through everyday life. For this year’s series, our Lomographers encapsulate their trials, joys and the various highlights of their lives in 2011. Read more articles on the Year Ender series.

written by renenob on 2011-12-30 #year-end-series #year #lifestyle #analogue #analogue-lifestyle #lomography #year-end #renenob #review #2011

5 Comments

  1. janey_mcfly
    janey_mcfly ·

    same here! i get to shoot more rolls of film compared to last year's stash.

  2. grazie
    grazie ·

    nice one Rene! Happy New Year! naks @iceuresick !

  3. grazie
    grazie ·

    hahaha mali pa!@icuresick

  4. skrutt
    skrutt ·

    Nice article! I hope my life get this good this year of 2012! :D Started with lomo 2011, so not many films was taken.

  5. pe
    pe ·

    :) have a joyful new year with a lot of photons captured :)

More Interesting Articles

  • Jack Lowe: Behind the Scenes on the Lifeboat Station Project

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-11-09 #people
    Jack Lowe: Behind the Scenes on the Lifeboat Station Project

    Jack Lowe has been traveling round the UK with the aim to shoot every RNLI post using Wet Plate Collodion photography. The Lifeboat Station Project photography is a five-year photographic mission that makes use of a painstaking process. It is a fascinating, much talked about project that deserves to be documented, not just through words but through images as well.

    2015-11-09 1
  • Katherine April's Rationale, Reflections on 'Finding Katherine April'

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-12-03 #news #people
    Katherine April's Rationale, Reflections on 'Finding Katherine April'

    "Finding Katherine April" is an ongoing photographic installation project by Katherine April, which has her dispersing prints of her self-portraits across Cambridge City Center. With a couple of months already passing since the launch, Lomography speaks with the Cambridge and London-based visual artist and writer about the idea behind her project, as well as the public reception and her personal reflections towards it.

    2015-12-03 1
  • Beauty as Seen by Anna Fischer

    written by Lomography on 2015-10-07 #people
    Beauty as Seen by Anna Fischer

    Anna Fischer calls herself a beauty documentary photographer. Her backstage photos of last year's New York Fashion Week revealed the glitz and glamour of such high fashion events. Her personal work, however, is more intimate, as seen is this series of photos taken with the new Petzvl 58 Bokeh Control Art Lens.

    2015-10-07 1
  • Shop News

    LomoKino on sale!

    LomoKino on sale!

    Embrace the magic of movie making and capture 144 frames of glorious analogue action on 35mm film with the LomoKino! Get it now at a incredibly low price while supplies last!

  • Jeri Lampert Shoots with the Lomo'Instant Wide

    written by Lomography on 2015-12-09 #people
    Jeri Lampert Shoots with the Lomo'Instant Wide

    Jeri Lampert has made quite a name for herself, having photographed for a number of magazines and well-known brands. Taking a break from the glitz and glamour of the fashion world, she takes the Lomo'Instant Wide and captures scenes that are more personal and altogether different from the highly stylized images she has been known for. Here's a brief but intimate interview with the New York City based photographer.

    2015-12-09 1
  • The World According to Herr Willie: The Spirit of Jogja

    written by wil6ka on 2015-11-03 #places
    The World According to Herr Willie: The Spirit of Jogja

    It is the marvel of Java, the cultural center of Indonesia: Yogyakarta, or, as we assimilated locals call it, Jogja! Jogja is full of historic sites and exudes a very adventurous yet welcoming spirit. It is a true multireligious melting pot that has seen kings and sultans come and go, and religions introduced and either went or stayed. Time has been gentle on Jogja. It's one of my most favorite cities in Asia.

    2015-11-03 4
  • The Konstruktor Project by David Townsend

    written by Lomography London on 2015-11-18 #people
    The Konstruktor Project by David Townsend

    One Christmas, David Townsend was given the Konstruktor by his wife. It sparked an idea in his head, taking inspiration from Jack Lowe's Lifeboat Station project and his love for photography. He built and beautifully customised the Konstruktor and has just embarked on his own long term analogue project, because a camera is for life, not just for Christmas. Learn more about his project in this interview.

    2015-11-18 1
  • Shop News

    Capture the signature Ultra-Wide-Angle Lomo LC-Wide look Instantly

    Capture the signature Ultra-Wide-Angle Lomo LC-Wide look Instantly

    Capture more and save more when you buy the LC-Wide Instant Bundle. Get 50% off the original price of the LC-A Instant back, and get the LC-Wide Instant Kit for FREE!

  • Travel Stories: Cartagena de Indias, Colombia by peruvianfan

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-11-24 #places
    Travel Stories: Cartagena de Indias, Colombia by peruvianfan

    I traveled to Cartagena de Indias, Colombia in May 2015 with my twin sister. Our birthday was on the 31st, and for the last few years we've had a silent pact to try to spend our birthdays traveling as much as we could (and as long as we’re single!).

    2015-11-24 5
  • Travel Stories: The Sahara Desert by lomonina

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-12-01 #places
    Travel Stories: The Sahara Desert by lomonina

    I have been constantly returning to the Sahara, and my last visit was the fifth in a row. Every visit was full of excitement and surprises. I feel like this place has become my second home. This year, I decided to travel there for a fortnight.

    2015-12-01 10
  • First Impressions of the New Jupiter 3+ Art Lens: Maxime Fardeau

    written by Lomography on 2016-01-22 #people
    First Impressions of the New Jupiter 3+ Art Lens: Maxime Fardeau

    Maxime Fardeau, or Max as he is fondly called, loves film. He has been shooting analogue for about four years and owns a number of 35mm film and instant cameras, such as the Leica M6 and SLR-670 Polaroid. He has taken photos using the Lomo'Instant and the Minitar-1 Art Lens and this time around, he provides a glimpse of the images she produced with the Jupiter 3+ Art Lens.

    2016-01-22 2
  • Shop News

    Introducing the Lomo'Instant Milano

    Introducing the Lomo'Instant Milano

    Named for the Italian city situated in the Lombardy region, overflowing with art and culture, say hello to the colorful aesthetics of the new Lomo'Instant Milano, the latest member of the Lomo'Instant family!

  • LomoAmigo: Courtney Barnett

    written by Lomography on 2015-10-14 #people
    LomoAmigo: Courtney Barnett

    Australian singer-songwriter Courtney Barnett sings about the frustrations, disappointments and the mundane aspects of life in her own animated and sometimes Dylan-esque style. Her debut album "Sometimes I Sit and Think and Sometimes I Just Sit" was released this year and has been getting positive reviews. We tweeted about her new album and she responded to say that she loved Lomography. It was the perfect opportunity for a shoot and an interview.

    2015-10-14 5
  • Around the World in Analogue: Peru

    written by Lomography on 2016-09-24 #places
    Around the World in Analogue: Peru

    "Around the World in Analogue" is your bite-sized guide to the most amazing travel destinations across the globe, as documented by the members of the Lomography community. Today, lomographer Martina Vilar del Valle recalls how she fell in love with the old-world charm of Peru.

    2016-09-24
  • Stephen Dowling Takes the LC-A 120 to New Zealand

    written by lomographysoholondon on 2016-09-24 #people
    Stephen Dowling Takes the LC-A 120 to New Zealand

    Lomography stalwart and terminal traveller Stephen Dowling took the trusty LC-A 120 to his hometown of New Zealand and explained a bit about why he loves this medium format camera so much.

    2016-09-24 1