LomoKino: Charming and Interesting!

2011-12-22 3

Could the LomoKino be the missing piece to unleash the Spielberg and Cameron in all of us?

I don’t actually own a LomoKino, but my flatmate kindly loaned me his for my solo trip to Venice recently (actually he bought a new Fisheye 2 so you get the idea). My first impression was, although the camera is not as sleek or well-built than other Lomography cameras, it gets quite charming when you work the mechanism. For the trip I used 2 rolls of Kodak Ultramax 400; I figured that the weather would get quite gloomy during the trip.

The camera itself is actually pretty portable and doesn’t take up a lot of space. When I go about shooting with it, I tried to have at least 6 – 8 frames per scene; my flatmate experimented using LomoKino as a camera and shoots a frame per scene, and it appears more like a slideshow than a movie.

The best part of this camera, of course, is the process: the look of others while you wind the crank is almost certain to guarantee a smile! The focus button is very convenient too use as well. However, I find the pop-up viewfinder quite adorable but I didn’t use it at all; I do use it for a preview before I wind the crank though.

I maintained my aperture between 8 and 11; in some scenes they turned out quite dark and I should have opened it all the way to 5.6. Overall, the colour is quite dull but still viewable; not bad for 3 days of gloomy skies. But as seen in the photo below, when the sun finally appeared on my departing day, the colour turns out to be really vibrant and sharp.

Indoor subjects with spotlight illumination is also captured quite sharply with the LomoKino.

Overall, as individual single images, never expect the LomoKino to produce very crisp images. Its main purpose is to capture a series of images to produce stop motion video, so as long as the images are captured well in a moving sequence, then it has done it’s job. When you lower your expectation, sharply captured subjects will be a happy accident.

Production process is, not to say difficult, but takes some time. My lab scanned the photos into fours like a SuperSampler and I had the individual shots cropped in Photoshop. With 2 rolls of film I got a total of 238 frames. I used the Windows Live Movie Maker: very, very easy to use and I had fun pairing the music too. See below for the result!

This is definitely one of the most interesting cameras I’ve ever used: it changes the way you approach your subject because instead of a single shot, you will be trying to tell a story about it. I would really like to see this camera being used in video production courses!

Enter a new analogue dimension with the LomoKino. Lomography’s own 35mm analogue movie camera allows you to capture action and immortalize your story on film! Shoot 144 frames on any 35mm film and create your own cinematic masterpieces. Want to watch your movie the old-school way? We also offer the LomoKino and LomoKinoscope package!

written by shuttersentinel17 on 2011-12-22 #videos #gear #ultramax #requested #video #lomokino #italy #review #kodak #user-review #400-iso #motion #venice #lomography #stop

3 Comments

  1. johnheams
    johnheams ·

    As a video artist I am really intrigued by this camera, I can’t wait to give it whirl. I am really surprised how much the colours pop in your movies they look great!

  2. eva_eva
    eva_eva ·

    Great ;)

  3. chestnutmocha
    chestnutmocha ·

    this is a great little movie! we just got a lomokino! can't wait to watch the first film :-) chestnutmocha.blogspot.com/2012/01/lomokino.html

More Interesting Articles

  • Klara Johanna Michel's Ethereal Visions as Captured by the Lomo'Instant Wide

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-01-04 #people
    Klara Johanna Michel's Ethereal Visions as Captured by the Lomo'Instant Wide

    Influenced by the work of Caravaggio, Berlin-based photographer Klara Johanna Michel hand-painted photographs are reminiscent of Renaissance art. The images are highly stylized and the subjects are posed to mimic the appearance of religious beings. Who would have thought that such mystery and old world charm could similarly be achieved with the help of an instant camera?

    2016-01-04 3
  • Photo Stories: First Impressions of Penang by schugger

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-10-25
    Photo Stories: First Impressions of Penang by schugger

    Travel is not all about the perfect and picturesque. To get a full experience of a country, one must get a whiff and feel of its rough-and-tumble side that might even be as charming as tourist baits.

    2015-10-25 1
  • Lumiere London: A Festival of Light

    written by lomographysoholondon on 2016-01-12 #news
    Lumiere London: A Festival of Light

    Lumiere London is a brand new light festival celebrating some of the most iconic streets and buildings in various locations around the city. It runs from January 14th - 16th and is free to attend. There will be installations, videos, interactive pieces and projections, all coming to life at night.

    2016-01-12
  • Shop News

    Discounts abound! Grab the deal of your dreams!

    Discounts abound! Grab the deal of your dreams!

    Grab the deal of your dreams with Lomography deals! Get Instant cameras, camera bags and other amazing accessories up to 70% off!

  • Black and White Photography: The Forms of the World

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-01-19
    Black and White Photography: The Forms of the World

    Colors may be amped to look unreal, like nothing of this world. Shots may be doubled, cross-processed, post-processed, mixed up into collages. The possibilities are infinite, yet some photographers still prefer black and white. Even in 2016, it is an ode to classic values of precision and balance. Light and shadow must be one pleasing dance. And just like in a well-choreographed piece, forms are obvious or playing coy. It all depends on how you're looking.

    2016-01-19
  • Rewind: Lomography Event Recaps From Gallery Stores and Embassy Shops

    written by shhquiet on 2015-12-30 #news
    Rewind: Lomography Event Recaps From Gallery Stores and Embassy Shops

    2015 was a super exciting year for the world of creative photography. We introduced new products, paid homage to analogue photography and collaborated with like-minded folks. If you missed any of the festivities, don't worry - we promise that there will be more fantastic things to come next year! In the meantime, here's a look back into all the happy Lomography memories!

    2015-12-30 1
  • 10 Articles You May Have Missed Last Week

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-02-22
    10 Articles You May Have Missed Last Week

    Photography doesn't have to be a lonely pursuit. Let us introduce you to pros who have created ripples of interest online and beyond. Plus, meet our New York staff, recall the graffitied history of the city, and convene about the changing look of film.

    2016-02-22
  • Shop News

    LomoLab: Panoramic & Sprocket Development Services

    LomoLab: Panoramic & Sprocket Development Services

    Panoramic shots are here ready to be processed by our dedicated team experts! Development, prints and scans included. (Service availability depends on your markets)

  • How to Develop Photos on Stone in a Darkroom

    written by tomas_bates on 2016-02-17 #gear #tutorials
    How to Develop Photos on Stone in a Darkroom

    I have always loved the idea of seeing my photos on stone and other natural materials. So, a few months ago, I began googling how it could be done. This is how I discovered (and fell in love with) liquid emulsion. Liquid emulsion is photographic emulsion which you can melt down and paint on any surface. You can then expose an image and develop it using traditional darkroom chemicals. In this article, I would like to explain the process a little, so that if you are also interested in giving this fun process a go, you can!

    2016-02-17 12
  • Announcing the Winners of the Peak Design Rumble

    written by Lomography on 2016-05-16 #gear #news
    Announcing the Winners of the Peak Design Rumble

    We teamed up with Peak Design to create this rumble, asking you to unleash your inner urban animal, take your camera everywhere, and how us your best street photography shots. See the winners here!

    2016-05-16 2
  • Optical Illusion Toys and Moving Pictures: The Origins of Filmmaking

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-11-12 #videos
    Optical Illusion Toys and Moving Pictures: The Origins of Filmmaking

    What makes a movie interesting? Today, answers would vary depending on the individual—the story, cinematography, film score, production design, and so on. But in the early years of cinema, movement was all it took to captivate the audience.

    2015-11-12
  • Shop News

    New Item: iBlazr 2

    New Item: iBlazr 2

    Light up all your shots with this light-weight, versatile and wireless LED flash! Works best with any iOS and android platforms.

  • Join the LomoWalk@Hong Kong - Lomography Photo Collage - 13th Street District

    written by lomographygallerystorehk on 2016-06-30 #culture #news #places
    Join the LomoWalk@Hong Kong - Lomography Photo Collage - 13th Street District

    13th Street, To Kwa Wan could be one of the most underrated local icon. Have you ever encountered a situation where you just can't fit the whole view into your frame? Worry not… we are going to fit everything into one picture. How? Find out and join us!

    2016-06-30
  • Sharon Heit: What's In Your Bag?

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-07-14 #people
    Sharon Heit: What's In Your Bag?

    Revealing the contents of your bag is like revealing the deepest corners of your soul, one could argue. However, analogue photographer Sharon Heit is more than glad to welcome us inside her all-around tote bag.

    2016-07-14
  • Newcomer of the Week: klemidesigns

    written by lomography on 2016-01-17 #news #videos
    Newcomer of the Week: klemidesigns

    It's no secret that the community is a treasure trove of film photography tips and techniques. And this artistic atmosphere is what exactly piqued Kellie Leming's interest. In this interview, our newcomer of the week from Nashville, Tennesse opens up about how the music community in her hometown inspires her to be positive and creative and what shooting on film means to her.

    2016-01-17 4