Lomography Canada x MuchFACT Year End Screening Party!

MuchFACT, A Foundation To Assist Canadian Talent, held their year-end screening party in Toronto this past week and Lomography Canada was there to spread the Lomo-love! From the band The Arkells to Muchmusic VJs Lauren Toyota, Jesse Giddings and Phoebe Dykstra, celebrities & industry people alike came out for a night of great music videos and great company.

MuchFACT, funded by our nation’s music station MuchMusic and MuchMore (divisions of Bell Media), is around for a great cause: keeping our Canadian music alive! MuchFACT has funded many Canadian-produced music videos and has helped launch the careers of artists like Feist, Sam Roberts, The Tragically Hip and many more. The year-end screening party was a great way to celebrate an award-winning year. Lomography Canada was one of the sponsors for the night and we had an absolute blast! Our lovely Diana F+ Colette camera graced the swag bags while our Lomography Canada team graced the night with our very own cameras, snapping away photos with The Arkells, MuchMusic VJ Lauren Toyota and famous Toronto blogger Spiro Mandylor.

We were especially stoked to have met George Nozuka… and our personal favourite – Karl Wolf! (He seemed to like the Diana F+ El Toro quite a bit too!).

Chairman of MuchFACT David Kines gave the Diana a shot as he was quite interested once he heard we were using film!

Local blogger Joyce from sparklyplayground.com fell in love with our cameras and Ryan from SNAP Downtown Toronto was also a big fan.

Other Canadian artists at the screening included rapper JDiggz, Buck65, TV host Jian Ghomeshi, Stereos, members of the Toronto Argonauts, producer Farley Flex and many more.. We couldn’t even keep track!

2011 MuchMusic Video Awards

Jdiggz featuring Neverending White Lights – This Time (Directed by RT!, The NE Inc.) – Indie Video Of The Year
Shawn Desman – Electric/Night Like This (Directed by RT!, The NE Inc.) – Video of the Year
Down With Webster – Who Is Me (Directed by Aaron A, The Field) – Pop Video of the Year
Abandon All Ships – Geeving (Directed by Davin Black, 235 Films) – Rock Video Of The Year
Classified – That Ain’t Classy (Directed by Harv, 235 Films) – Hip-Hop Video Of The Year
You Say Party – Lonely’s Lunch (Directed by Sean Wainsteim, The NE Inc.) – Director Of The Year
Danny Fernandes featuring Belly – Automatic (Directed by Mike Portoghese, The NE Inc.) – Post-Production
Blake McGrath – Relax (Directed by Kyle Davison, The Field) – Cinematography

2011 Juno Awards

Arcade Fire – Album, Group, Songwriter and Alternative Album of the Year
Young Artists for Haiti – Single of the Year
Said the Whale – New Group of the Year
Matthew Good – Rock album of the Year
Karkwa – Francophone album of the Year
Shad – Rap Recording of the Year
Quanteisha – RnB/Solo Album of the year
Jim Byrnes – Blues Album of the Year

2011 Polaris Music Prize

Arcade Fire, The Suburbs

Congratulations to MuchFACT for a fantastic event and a great year!

For more information on MuchFact: www.muchfact.com. Information on this article were taken from mononews.

The Diana F+ is a new twist on the ‘60s classic cult camera. Famous for its dreamy and soft-focused images, the Diana F+ is now packed with extra features such as panorama and pinhole capabilities. Available in our Online Shop.

written by ashleyaang on 2011-12-20 #news #music #black-and-white #canada #lc-a #colette #community #lomo #diana #muchmusic #muchfact

More Interesting Articles