A Fish Called La Sardina (A Review)

2011-12-17 2

It’s a wonderful romantic comedy. Since adam_g2000 bought me my La Sardina I’ve been in love with its wide angled wonder-lens!

Credits: nessy

As a new photographer and Lomographer, I sometimes struggle to get to grips with remembering lots of settings and functions. This is one of the reasons why I love La Sardina so much. Not only is it a handsome camera, the design makes me chuckle every time I look at it. Even so, its simplicity allows me to just look at what I want to shoot and just shoot it—that’s really important when taking pics of my kids!

Credits: nessy

This is important to me as I am a compulsive person and don’t want to mess around. I see a shot I want and I take it. I can always do this with the La Sardina.

I recently went to the Santa Parade in Auckland. I needed to get film urgently so I had to get it a full retail as I didn’t have any ISO 100 and it was very sunny. I had to spend a lot for one roll of film, but I didn’t mind as I knew La Sardina would do what I wanted it to.

Credits: nessy

It’s a very simple camera to operate, there is only one setting to worry about, either close up (within a meter) or infinity. So all I have to do is turn the lens and remember to wind on!

If you want to, you can flick a switch to do multiple exposures, or use the B mode to keep the shutter open for as long as you want. This allows for some cool special effects.

My version came with a flash, this is also very cool as you can set it’s strength for several distances. I’ve not really used it for anything other than fill flash, to get rid of shadows on a sunny day. It’s worth having it for that alone, it also has some cool filters for the flash to change the colour of the light, though I like my shots more natural than that; adam_g2000 loves those though!

My lovely La Sardina!

In short, if you want a camera that you can be fast with, gives you all of the coolness of a plastic lensed camera with the absolute simplicity of a point and shoot on 35mm film La Sardina is the one for you!

Get ready to sail the high seas with our new La Sardina collection! These 35mm cameras are equipped with spectacular wide-angle lens, multiple exposure capabilities, and a rewind dial—everything you need for fun-filled and thrill-soaked escapades. Get your own La Sardina camera now!

written by nessy on 2011-12-17 #gear #wide-angle #la-sardina #christmas #review #user-review #lomography #sardina

2 Comments

  1. neanderthalis
    neanderthalis ·

    Great pics and good luck with your new camera :D

  2. kidders
    kidders ·

    I LOVE my La Sardina. It was the 1st lomography camera I bought (I now have 4) and it's actually my favorite! I get very consistent shots I think because of the simplicity of the camera, I'm actually still trying to get to grips with my LC-A focus settings!

More Interesting Articles

  • Wide-Eyed with Portrait Pride

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-01-13 #news
    Wide-Eyed with Portrait Pride

    The Lomo LC-Wide creates an irresistible, saturated range of colors which is the perfect pairing for all you portrait connoisseurs out there. And with its brilliant 17mm Ultra Wide Angle Lens, you can get in on the action too! We loved how these proud portraits (and self-portraits) from our Online Community showed off the charming characteristics of the LC-Wide!

    2016-01-13
  • Nordic Pop: Highasakite

    written by Lomography NYC on 2016-02-09 #people
    Nordic Pop: Highasakite

    Straight from Norway comes this pop band with a full hand of Fisheye and Sardina photos. Highasakite released its debut album in 2012 and have been hitting the album charts and playing all over the world since then.

    2016-02-09
  • There Are So Many More Reasons To Fall In Love With The Lomo'Instant Wide

    written by pearlgirl77 on 2016-01-10 #gear
    There Are So Many More Reasons To Fall In Love With The Lomo'Instant Wide

    In the first part of my Lomo'Instant Wide Review I already showed pictures you can take with the standard 90mm lens, the wide angle lens, the close-up lens, the splitzer and the remote control. But with all the other extras this camera can do so much more!

    2016-01-10
  • Shop News

    Stunning shots with the New Petzval 58 Bokeh Control Art Lens

    Stunning shots with the New Petzval 58 Bokeh Control Art Lens

    We've been blown away by the latest community shots taken with the New Petzval 58 Bokeh Control Art Lens ! If you didn’t get a chance to back us on our Kickstarter Campaign, don't worry - lenses are now available on our Online Shop! And guess what! They're ready to ship! Grab one now!

  • Focus Control with the Petzval 58 Bokeh Control Lens

    written by earlybird on 2016-07-19 #gear #tutorials
    Focus Control with the Petzval 58 Bokeh Control Lens

    For a few weeks now, I call myself proud owner of the Petzval 58 Bokeh Control Lens and I must say: I love it! However, quite often I had a hard time with focussing. Then I had an idea...

    2016-07-19 1
  • New Magazine Series: Around the World in Analogue

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-08-25 #places
    New Magazine Series: Around the World in Analogue

    Calling all Lomographers who love to wander (we know there's a lot of you)! We're introducing a new series called "Around the World in Analogue". It's your bite-sized guide to all the amazing destinations you've been to. We're collecting submissions, so share your travel tidbits with us!

    2016-08-25 5
  • Lomo’Instant Wide Tip No. 4 - Ultra Wide-Angle Lens

    written by Lomography on 2015-10-16 #gear #tutorials
    Lomo’Instant Wide Tip No. 4 - Ultra Wide-Angle Lens

    When we said this camera was wide, we meant it! And when you add the wide-angle lens attachment to your Lomo'Instant Wide, that's when the magic really starts to happen! Now you can capture the whole picture in a snap!

    2015-10-16
  • Shop News

    The Lomography Bazaar

    The Lomography Bazaar

    We constantly search far and wide, meticulously seek out, hunt down, and hand-pick some of the most experimental and alternative gear out there - and we've now gathered them all in one easy to browse shop category, ready for the picking! In the Lomo-Bazaar, you canalso be part of our process of collecting fresh new products, rare treasures, and crowd-funded creations to sell on the shop - after all, they’re all for you! Get in touch with us to share your suggestions for amazing gear - go on, we’re all ears!

  • Trackside with LomoAmigo Simon Tibbett and the La Sardina

    written by Katherine Phipps on 2016-06-13 #gear #culture #people
    Trackside with LomoAmigo Simon Tibbett and the La Sardina

    LomoAmigo Simon Tibbett races a Volkswagen touring car, which is based off a street car but has been modified for racing-- road racing in particular. Here's Simon with a bit more on what he does, why he does it, and on shooting film again, as he recently took us trackside with the La Sardina.

    2016-06-13
  • My First Time with the LC-Wide: danika

    written by Lomography on 2015-10-16 #news #gear
    My First Time with the LC-Wide: danika

    The LC-Wide is definitely one of Lomography's must-have cameras. Its Minigon 1 Ultra-Wide-Angle lens adds a different flavor to your shots, on top of the stunning vignettes, intense colors and breathtaking saturation and contrast LC-A cameras are known for. The Lomography Team is no stranger to the LC-Wide's creative potential, and has proven it capable of the most captivating images. First on the list is danika, from the Lomography Headquarters in Vienna.

    2015-10-16
  • From Experimental to Ordinary: LomoAmigo Martin Dietrich Tests the Minitar-1 Art Lens

    written by Lomography on 2016-01-29 #people
    From Experimental to Ordinary: LomoAmigo Martin Dietrich Tests the Minitar-1 Art Lens

    In order to escape the world of facts and figures, tax auditor Martin Dietrich discovered photography as his creative counterpart almost seven years ago. On a trip to Paris he fell in love with analog photography and the magic of film has been fascinating to him since then. But he also appreciates the benefits of digital photography. For Lomography he tested the Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 Art Lens on his Fuji X-Pro 1 camera. Check out Martin's photos and learn more about the founder of the popular Neoprime magazine.

    2016-01-29 3
  • Shop News

    Explore the New Jupiter 3+

    Explore the New Jupiter 3+

    A resurrection from the zenith of Russian premium optics, get the same elegance and classic compact design as its predecessor. — available in small quantities on a first-come, first-served basis.

  • First Impressions of the New Jupiter 3+ Art Lens: Maxime Fardeau

    written by Lomography on 2016-01-22 #people
    First Impressions of the New Jupiter 3+ Art Lens: Maxime Fardeau

    Maxime Fardeau, or Max as he is fondly called, loves film. He has been shooting analogue for about four years and owns a number of 35mm film and instant cameras, such as the Leica M6 and SLR-670 Polaroid. He has taken photos using the Lomo'Instant and the Minitar-1 Art Lens and this time around, he provides a glimpse of the images she produced with the Jupiter 3+ Art Lens.

    2016-01-22 2
  • Film Format Fun: 126 Instamatic Film

    written by Maaike van Stratum (@stratski) on 2016-03-23 #gear #tutorials
    Film Format Fun: 126 Instamatic Film

    We all know about 35mm and 120 film, right? And since Lomography re-introduced 110 film, we have another film format to play with. But in the years past, many more film formats were in use. Let me introduce you to a few golden oldies and tell you about my experiences with them. Here's how I revived my Instamatic cameras.

    2016-03-23 8
  • Lomo'Instant Wide Amigo Alfredo Buonanno

    written by mpflawer on 2016-01-18 #people
    Lomo'Instant Wide Amigo Alfredo Buonanno

    Alfredo Buonanno is a photographer who loves everything retro. When his friend Sergio showed him the Lomo'Instant Wide Central Park, Alfredo fell in love with the instant camera, instantly-- and it was the beginning of a beautiful new story. He recently took lovely, retro-style pictures with the Lomo'Instant Wide with the model Viktoriya Tori as his muse.

    2016-01-18 3