Fuji Astia (120, 100 iso) User-Review

2009-04-23 4

A second chance: Fuji Astia has been a film of extremes for me – intense or subtle depending on the process.

This is not a film I’d ever planned to review but a couple of things happened recently that change my mind. Firstly, people have commented favourably on a couple of shots I’ve taken with it, and secondly, for the first time I’ve had it processed correctly in E6.

I’d purchased 10 rolls in a clearance sale, with the intention of using it for cross-processing, but when I got the first results back I was a little disappointed (to say the least). The negatives were bright green (not a good sign), and the scans done by the lab were, well let’s say “intense”. Totally bright pink! An interesting novelty, but one I quickly tired of…

I tried scanning the negatives myself on the scanner we had at work, with a bit more success. Although there was still a definite pink cast to the pictures, I was able to get a broader range of colours. More the sort of look you expect with a cross-processed film, so I was happy enough.

Then disaster, the scanner was sold, and I was stuck with several rolls of film that I didn’t really want to use… until I remembered what it’s supposed to be used for – making slides!

I’ve used it to take pictures of a local art gallery with my Holga, and I like the results – the subject matter may be brutal, but there’s a delicate quality to the colours that nicely complements the general softness of the Holga’s focus. I’ll definitely be using the Astia for slides again soon!

written by d_i_hunter on 2009-04-23 #gear #100iso #x-pro #astia #fuji #slide #e6 #120 #review

4 Comments

  1. stouf
    stouf ·

    I love the car shot ! Great gallery !

  2. eyecon
    eyecon ·

    Wow - # 12!

  3. mandashitley
    mandashitley ·

    Yeah that pink is pretty crazy. I don't think I'd want to have a bunch of rolls of it either. Nice photos anyway

  4. tnzzz
    tnzzz ·

    Funny how the film can be completely different each time. I just had a roll of Astia 120 developed and the shots were in shades of green. No pink in sight ;)

More Interesting Articles

  • Awe-Inspiring Lomographs Courtesy of the Lomography XPro 200 ISO (35mm) Rumble Winners

    written by lomography on 2015-10-26 #news
    Awe-Inspiring Lomographs Courtesy of the Lomography XPro 200 ISO (35mm) Rumble Winners

    New to shooting with a slide film? The intense, citrusy palette of these photographs is good enough reason to place the Lomography Xpro 200 ISO (35mm) film on your list of slide films to try!

    2015-10-26 7
  • Black and White Photography: The Forms of the World

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-01-19
    Black and White Photography: The Forms of the World

    Colors may be amped to look unreal, like nothing of this world. Shots may be doubled, cross-processed, post-processed, mixed up into collages. The possibilities are infinite, yet some photographers still prefer black and white. Even in 2016, it is an ode to classic values of precision and balance. Light and shadow must be one pleasing dance. And just like in a well-choreographed piece, forms are obvious or playing coy. It all depends on how you're looking.

    2016-01-19
  • Select Holiday Shipping Deals for Last Minute Shoppers!

    written by Lomography on 2015-12-17 #news #gear
    Select Holiday Shipping Deals for Last Minute Shoppers!

    Have you been searching for the perfect gift for your loved ones and have yet to find it? Or maybe all of your shopping is done and it's time to treat yourself? Whatever the case may be, you're in luck — we've got awesome holiday shipping deals available around the globe! Depending on what country you order from, any order over €150/£150/$200 may qualify for free express shipping before the cut off dates. Scroll down to see more details!

    2015-12-17
  • Shop News

    Explore the New Jupiter 3+

    Explore the New Jupiter 3+

    A resurrection from the zenith of Russian premium optics, get the same elegance and classic compact design as its predecessor. — available in small quantities on a first-come, first-served basis.

  • First Impressions of the New Jupiter 3+ Art Lens: Maxime Fardeau

    written by Lomography on 2016-01-22 #people
    First Impressions of the New Jupiter 3+ Art Lens: Maxime Fardeau

    Maxime Fardeau, or Max as he is fondly called, loves film. He has been shooting analogue for about four years and owns a number of 35mm film and instant cameras, such as the Leica M6 and SLR-670 Polaroid. He has taken photos using the Lomo'Instant and the Minitar-1 Art Lens and this time around, he provides a glimpse of the images she produced with the Jupiter 3+ Art Lens.

    2016-01-22 2
  • Celeste Ortiz: Analog Possibilities

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-10-06 #people
    Celeste Ortiz: Analog Possibilities

    Photography has been described as a time-stopping device, something that “freezes” an action. This moment on-pause is the most salient; all conversation about the picture will tend to pin down the beauty of that second. Celeste Ortiz’s photos make us think of something else. A sense of continuation.

    2015-10-06 9
  • My First Time with the LC-Wide: danika

    written by Lomography on 2015-10-16 #news #gear
    My First Time with the LC-Wide: danika

    The LC-Wide is definitely one of Lomography's must-have cameras. Its Minigon 1 Ultra-Wide-Angle lens adds a different flavor to your shots, on top of the stunning vignettes, intense colors and breathtaking saturation and contrast LC-A cameras are known for. The Lomography Team is no stranger to the LC-Wide's creative potential, and has proven it capable of the most captivating images. First on the list is danika, from the Lomography Headquarters in Vienna.

    2015-10-16
  • Shop News

    Introducing the world's most advanced automatic instant camera, The Lomo'Instant Automat!

    Introducing the world's most advanced automatic instant camera, The Lomo'Instant Automat!

    We’re proud to be back on Kickstarter to present: the Lomo'Instant Automat! Meet the world's most advanced automatic Instant Camera. Focus on being in the moment and let this baby capture everything and anything every time! Back us on Kickstarter now!

  • Embroidered Pictures by Diane Meyer

    written by chvo on 2015-10-17 #people
    Embroidered Pictures by Diane Meyer

    Editing pictures with image manipulation software or a mobile app is not unheard of. An alienation of photos by needle and thread, on the other hand, is an intricate process. Los Angeles-based artist and photographer Diane Meyer has gained instant fame for her embroidered analog photos. In this interview, she talks about adding a new dimension to pictures as well as her source of inspiration and other projects.

    2015-10-17 3
  • Newcomer of the Week: vasilievas

    written by Lomography on 2016-07-03
    Newcomer of the Week: vasilievas

    Community newcomer vasilievas from Lithuania has been taking photographs on film for almost seven years. In this interview, he talks about his humble beginnings, his passion for art, and the 11th Golden Rule of Lomography.

    2016-07-03 2
  • Travel Stories: The Sahara Desert by lomonina

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-12-01 #places
    Travel Stories: The Sahara Desert by lomonina

    I have been constantly returning to the Sahara, and my last visit was the fifth in a row. Every visit was full of excitement and surprises. I feel like this place has become my second home. This year, I decided to travel there for a fortnight.

    2015-12-01 10
  • Shop News

    The Lomography Bazaar

    The Lomography Bazaar

    We constantly search far and wide, meticulously seek out, hunt down, and hand-pick some of the most experimental and alternative gear out there - and we've now gathered them all in one easy to browse shop category, ready for the picking! In the Lomo-Bazaar, you canalso be part of our process of collecting fresh new products, rare treasures, and crowd-funded creations to sell on the shop - after all, they’re all for you! Get in touch with us to share your suggestions for amazing gear - go on, we’re all ears!

  • Community Amigo Nick De Marco and His LC-A Adventures

    written by lomographysoholondon on 2016-02-27 #people
    Community Amigo Nick De Marco and His LC-A Adventures

    UK-based photographer and lawyer Nick De Marco has been shooting with the LC-A 120 and LC-Wide around the streets of Amsterdam. We caught up with Nick and asked him about his love of film photography and his latest analogue project.

    2016-02-27
  • Robin Rimbaud Shoots with the LC-A 120

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-10-05 #people
    Robin Rimbaud Shoots with the LC-A 120

    Robin Rimbaud is a UK based artist, record producer, and composer who works under the name "Scanner" in reference to his use of mobile phone signals and police scanners in his early performances. He has worked on soundtracks for films, sound installations, radio, dance and theater. Robin also has a passion for medium format photography, owns a Holga camera and has a unique photographic style. Get to know him in this interview, where he talks about his personal work as well as his experience with the Lomo LC-A 120.

    2015-10-05 1
  • A Color Remix

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-02-09 #gear
    A Color Remix

    It's human nature to be restless and imaginative. The real may be interpreted as what one sees or how one sees something. For the daydreamer, a scene from nature transforms into a canvas. Suddenly a field makes room for chemical coloring, all those anachronistic streaks that somehow look right. Or else, those beautiful colors amplified or subdued to their most pictorial shades. All in the world of trial-and-process film photography.

    2016-02-09