Fuji T64 Pro (35mm, 64 iso) User-Review

2009-05-19 8

I had tried using the Fuji Sensia (100, 200 and 400) and I wanted something new this time.

About 3 or 4 months ago, I was just starting to dabble with using more than just “the cheapest film I could find”. I had tried using Sensia (100, 200 and 400) and I wanted something new. I was in the local film shop and I could see T64 printed on the end of a box behind the counter. I was intrigued by the look of this Fuji film, as it looked different to all the rest.

I wasn’t sure when to use this film as I’d never used anything with an ISO under 100 before. I waited for the perfect day…well what I thought was the perfect day. I loaded her into my Holga and packed out the free space with foam and went to the skate park with some friends.

A couple of days later I had the photos in my hands and was so excited by the results; even if a lot of the shots were a bit over exposed. I was so proud that they were my shots. They were so much better than I had ever imagined.

Since then I have used the Fuji T64 again, although each time I have cross processed it. I will eventually process it normally, but I’m too impatient to have to send it away. Its very fine grain aids it in producing high contrasted images with sharp detail. Many people I have talked to about this film recommend using it only in bright light, whether a sunny day or use a flash with it, however the second time I used this film was at dusk, and the shots were suddenly full with a richer purple/blue colour which I think is nice.

written by oldskool_rider on 2009-05-19 #gear #fuji #tungsten #t64 #64-iso #purple #review #35mm #x-pro

8 Comments

  1. smclemon
    smclemon ·

    How strange, Ive never managed to make what I presume is grey (the skateramp) appear as bright purple when X-pro'd. Some great images there!

  2. vicuna
    vicuna ·

    Great film and love the colors of your shots!

  3. -a-l-b-e-r-t-o-
    -a-l-b-e-r-t-o- ·

    7th is my favourite!

  4. eyecon
    eyecon ·

    THis film is on my list for a long time....

  5. stouf
    stouf ·

    Kick ass gallery !

  6. oldskool_rider
    oldskool_rider ·

    thanks guys, it means a lot

  7. wil6ka
    wil6ka ·

    Grande!

  8. zezefan
    zezefan ·

    I love the last one!!

More Interesting Articles

  • Awe-Inspiring Lomographs Courtesy of the Lomography XPro 200 ISO (35mm) Rumble Winners

    written by lomography on 2015-10-26 #news
    Awe-Inspiring Lomographs Courtesy of the Lomography XPro 200 ISO (35mm) Rumble Winners

    New to shooting with a slide film? The intense, citrusy palette of these photographs is good enough reason to place the Lomography Xpro 200 ISO (35mm) film on your list of slide films to try!

    2015-10-26 7
  • Vintage Camera Reviews: Kodak Autographic

    written by Mark Hannah on 2016-07-01 #gear
    Vintage Camera Reviews: Kodak Autographic

    The Kodak Autographic is the first really old camera I bought. I didn’t really know how it worked and had no idea that this nearly century-old camera would kick off a passion for collecting, fixing, and shooting with vintage cameras.

    2016-07-01 1
  • Pentax K Mount Pledge Now Available for the Daguerreotype Achromat 2.9/64 Art Lens

    written by Lomography on 2016-04-28 #gear
    Pentax K Mount Pledge Now Available for the Daguerreotype Achromat 2.9/64 Art Lens

    Throughout the Daguerreotype Achromat campaign, we’ve had lots of wonderful suggestions and comments about how we can make this Kickstarter even better. Well, the Lomographers have spoken—and we heard you loud and clear. So we want to offer you the Daguerreotype Achromat 2.9/64 Art Lens in Pentax K mount!

    2016-04-28 2
  • Shop News

    The Lomography Bazaar

    The Lomography Bazaar

    We constantly search far and wide, meticulously seek out, hunt down, and hand-pick some of the most experimental and alternative gear out there - and we've now gathered them all in one easy to browse shop category, ready for the picking! In the Lomo-Bazaar, you canalso be part of our process of collecting fresh new products, rare treasures, and crowd-funded creations to sell on the shop - after all, they’re all for you! Get in touch with us to share your suggestions for amazing gear - go on, we’re all ears!

  • First Impressions of the Daguerreotype Achromat 2.9/64 Art Lens: Taio Konishi

    written by shhquiet on 2016-06-29 #gear #news #people
    First Impressions of the Daguerreotype Achromat 2.9/64 Art Lens: Taio Konishi

    Taoi Konishi is a music photographer. Previously, he used the Petzval Lens to shoot at the Glastonbury Festival; this time, he took the Daguerreotype Achromat 2.9/64 Art Lens at Akihabara, Tokyo - an otaku cultural center and a major shopping district for video games, anime, and manga.

    2016-06-29
  • Open Your Lomography Treasure Chest Rumble

    written by Lomography on 2016-09-14 #news
    Open Your Lomography Treasure Chest Rumble

    In case you missed the news: You can now comment on articles and other snapshots by fellow lomographers using photos uploaded on your LomoHome! Don't be shy and give this cool new feature a try in this competition.

    21
  • Lomo'Instant Wide First Impressions: Katphip

    written by Lomography on 2015-10-26 #gear
    Lomo'Instant Wide First Impressions: Katphip

    Katherine Phipps is a passionate Photography Major who obviously had a grand time with the new Lomo'Instant Wide. She talks about her instant wide experience and shares some of her favorite shots in this short feature.

    2015-10-26
  • Shop News

    Lomo'Instant Reykjavik Edition

    Lomo'Instant Reykjavik Edition

    Inspired by the Icelandic midnight sky, get endless creativity, take multiple exposed instant snapshots, experiment with long exposure and light painting shots!

  • An Interview with Film Director Papajay

    written by kasim-lks on 2015-11-11 #videos #people
    An Interview with Film Director Papajay

    Papajay is a Hong Kong-based film director who joined the LomoKino Festival in 2013. An expert at shooting movies using film, Papajay still shoots using Super 8 and Super 16 cameras for his film projects. This time, he tried a very rare medium for film-making — LomoChrome Purple 16mm Motion Film.

    2015-11-11
  • Trusty Bags for Trusty Cameras

    written by lomography on 2015-10-17 #news #gear
    Trusty Bags for Trusty Cameras

    We spend copious amounts of time stalking camera forums and researching specifications that "hunter" seems a more fitting term than "collector." And yet, when the time comes to pack all this game—the new or thrillingly ancient cameras—we DIY padding on the spot. (Guilty of trying to avoid the unappealing gear bag from the department store.) Last year though we stocked up on camera bags that are as cool as they are protective. Here are some of them.

    2015-10-17
  • Exciting News In Lomography's Orbit: Getting Ready For a Journey of a Lifetime

    written by Lomography on 2016-03-30 #news
    Exciting News In Lomography's Orbit: Getting Ready For a Journey of a Lifetime

    With the recent launch of the New Jupiter 3+ Art Lens, we feel like we've had the luck of the cosmos on our side. And now we have even more exciting news that we're dying to share with you! This time, we're really reaching for the stars!

    2016-03-30 4
  • Shop News

    Introducing the world's most advanced automatic instant camera, The Lomo'Instant Automat!

    Introducing the world's most advanced automatic instant camera, The Lomo'Instant Automat!

    We’re proud to be back on Kickstarter to present: the Lomo'Instant Automat! Meet the world's most advanced automatic Instant Camera. Focus on being in the moment and let this baby capture everything and anything every time! Back us on Kickstarter now!

  • First Impressions of the New Jupiter 3+ Art Lens: Maxime Fardeau

    written by Lomography on 2016-01-22 #people
    First Impressions of the New Jupiter 3+ Art Lens: Maxime Fardeau

    Maxime Fardeau, or Max as he is fondly called, loves film. He has been shooting analogue for about four years and owns a number of 35mm film and instant cameras, such as the Leica M6 and SLR-670 Polaroid. He has taken photos using the Lomo'Instant and the Minitar-1 Art Lens and this time around, he provides a glimpse of the images she produced with the Jupiter 3+ Art Lens.

    2016-01-22 2
  • Explore Osaka with Yamanaka Yuko's AM Renault

    written by Lomography on 2015-10-24 #gear #places #people
    Explore Osaka with Yamanaka Yuko's AM Renault

    As a core member of Yamanaka Yuko, a local hiking group based in Hong Kong, AM Renault is deeply in love with nature. He is also part of the creative photography group Six Dimen Boy and is good at intertwining photography with art and design elements -- making photos not only useful for documenting what we see, but also as a means to tickle the imagination. The young and talented AM tried out the New Russar+ lens while traveling in Japan with his father. He talks about his experience and shares the sights from his journey in this Lomography Magazine exclusive.

    2015-10-24
  • Now on Display: 5 Art Shows to Stop by This Weekend

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-09-30 #places
    Now on Display: 5 Art Shows to Stop by This Weekend

    Dedicate some spare time furnishing your knowledge on contemporary and master photographers with these on-going shows.

    2016-09-30