Fujicolor 100 (35mm, 100 iso) User-Review

2009-09-02 13

The best things in life are free – and cheap films!

The last time I went to process my films in my favorite photo-lab, I was dire on looking over what they are selling. The constant eye-sights that caught your attention: Fuji and Kodak films. Now the next thing I know, the person who was a crew of the photo-lab told me that the Fujicolor 100/36 they are selling is only Php 57.00 (a dollar and a dime, I assume). So I grabbed only just one film and loaded it in my LC-A. This film has the intensity in a 100 ISO. Saturated colors and earth tones are such a great thing to watch in a wonderful result!

I took some shots and had it processed thereafter. I was surprised! Great colors! This film rocks! After seeing the results, I bought a pair of film again! Talk about a cheap! And it looks cross-processed when splashed with a Colorsplash Flash. Currently one of my favorite negative film next to Lucky Super 200. Also if you’re in the Philippines, you might see this film branded as YKL Color which is named after the local importer of Fujifilm in the Philippines, Mr. Yang Koc Le.

I suggest you try this and I believe it won’t hurt you! :)

written by ethermoon on 2009-09-02 #gear #philippines #lc-a #35mm #ethermoon #100-iso #review #fujicolor-100

13 Comments

  1. sugiyamasatomi
    sugiyamasatomi ·

    I love #2 in the gallery. great review!

  2. mattydk
    mattydk ·

    cool gallery and sweet review.

  3. mattydk
    mattydk ·

    cool gallery and sweet review.

  4. makeyuu
    makeyuu ·

    美丽的

  5. dogma
    dogma ·

    Oh love the results of this film!

  6. fookshit
    fookshit ·

    my preferred negative film!

  7. cinzinc
    cinzinc ·

    last time i saw this film, i thought it was not gonna be good, but this review changed my perception. gonna try it out.
    love the ship shots!

  8. stouf
    stouf ·

    The great ethermoon hits again ! Beautiful skies as always !

  9. ivoryocean
    ivoryocean ·

    Nice review, thank you :}

  10. ethermoon
    ethermoon ·

    thank you sugiyamasatomi, mattydk, makeyuu, dogma, stouf, ivoryocean, and cinzinc!

    fookshit, hell yeah! thanks for this one, too! i love fujicolor... if one opts for a quickie with his or her LC-A, this film is indeed the REAL partner! i love the sunset shots... i am a sucker when it comes to sunrise or sunsets... 11 and 13 are also my pick! :)

  11. mnstrs
    mnstrs ·

    number 10 is just great!! really! I've fallen in love with that one!

  12. oldskool_rider
    oldskool_rider ·

    i think this is one of my favourite negative films too...it's so cheap, yet yeilds great results!!
    great shots!

  13. litumai
    litumai ·

    i just found it in peru! 12shots 100 iso for less than a dollar! :) i hope my pics can look as good as yours ! :)

More Interesting Articles

  • Top Shoutbox Users of October 2015

    written by lomography on 2015-10-30 #news
    Top Shoutbox Users of October 2015

    Aside from the Magazine and your own LomoHome, the shoutbox is another effective platform in the community to voice out your thoughts. And keeping this space brimming with activity are these lomographers who are always armed with interesting things to say!

    2015-10-30 7
  • Cinema's Finest Scenes in Slow Motion

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-06-10 #videos
    Cinema's Finest Scenes in Slow Motion

    The best scenes in slow motion are the ones carefully and artfully used in the films' contexts.

    2016-06-10 1
  • Winner of the German Lomography X LIFE Rumble

    written by chvo on 2015-10-06 #news
    Winner of the German Lomography X LIFE Rumble

    LIFE is a film that tells the story Dennis Stock, who photographed James Dean and inadvertently produced some of the most iconic images of the star. In line the film's much anticipated release, we asked for your best "friendship" shots for a competition.Here are the winners.

    2015-10-06 1
  • Shop News

    the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

     the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

    Let your loved one pick the gift of their dreams. Lomography Online Shop Gift Certificates are the perfect present for every analogue devotee on your gift list

  • Lomo In-Depth: On Fear

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-10-05 #news
    Lomo In-Depth: On Fear

    In photography and in life, there are things that never fail to send shivers up one's spine.

    2015-10-05 1
  • Blue for Hue: Day and Night Visions on Kono! Donau Film

    written by Lomography on 2015-10-19 #news #gear
    Blue for Hue: Day and Night Visions on Kono! Donau Film

    Not all photographs are meant to be seen in vibrant, saturated colors, and neither are they always suitable for in black and white. Lomography welcomes yet another innovation from KONO! The Reanimated Film. Without diminishing the aesthetic value of images, KONO! Donau 35mm Film casts a distinct blue tone to photos. It is ultra-low ISO film that is best used for long exposure shots. Check out this fine selection of uniquely tinted images.

    2015-10-19
  • Top Shoutbox Users of 2015

    written by lomography on 2015-12-28 #news
    Top Shoutbox Users of 2015

    The shoutbox is an open space for lomographers to interact with fellows from across the globe, air their honest opinions and suggestions, share interesting news, and promote their work (especially with the photo-sharing feature introduced last year!). And keeping it filled with entertaining conversations are these chatty lomographers. Meet the top shoutbox users of 2015.

    2015-12-28 1
  • Shop News

    Get 20% Off on your favorite Lomo Instant Mini camera!

    Get 20% Off on your favorite Lomo Instant Mini camera!

    Start instantly immortalizing every memorable moment in your life with your very own Lomo Instant Mini camera now! Get 20% off on the Lomo Instant Mini edition of your choice! **The Lomo’Instant Milano Edition and all Lomo’Instant Wide editions are exempt from this offer.

  • Five Scenes and Moments to Capture in Full Color

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-11-09
    Five Scenes and Moments to Capture in Full Color

    Where black and white brings an air of elegance, mystery, and rawness, color suggests life and all things happy and vibrant. Here are a few scenes and moments from everyday life that will always be perfectly captured in full color.

    2015-11-09
  • Top Shoutbox Users of September 2015

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-10-02 #news
    Top Shoutbox Users of September 2015

    Aside from the Magazine, the shoutbox is a great place to explore if you want to be updated on the latest happening in the film photography world.

    2015-10-02 3
  • A Collection of Stills from the Motion Picture

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-08-09 #news
    A Collection of Stills from the Motion Picture

    The best film stills found in classic, iconic films are just as good as well-shot photographs.

    2016-08-09 2
  • Shop News

    Share your smartphone memories instantly with the Fujifilm Instax SHARE SP-2 Printer

    Share your smartphone memories instantly with the Fujifilm Instax SHARE SP-2 Printer

    Give your smartphone photos that analogue touch with the Fuji Instax Share Smartphone Printer! Shoot with your smartphone, send photos via the free app, and print on Fuji Instax Mini film! Both Silver and Gold version now available in the shop! *available in selected markets

  • Top Shoutbox Users of March 2016

    written by lomography on 2016-03-25 #news
    Top Shoutbox Users of March 2016

    Aside from browsing through beautiful photographs and reading interesting articles, hanging out in the shoutbox is another worthwhile activity to do in the community. Not only will you get updated on the latest in photography, you’ll also have a chance to share ideas, tips, and stories with fellow shutterbugs across the globe. The shoutbox is always brimming with entertaining conversation and it's all because of these Lomographers.

    2016-03-25 3
  • Top Shoutbox Users of February 2016

    written by lomography on 2016-02-26 #news
    Top Shoutbox Users of February 2016

    Aside from browsing through beautiful photographs and reading interesting articles, hanging out in the shoutbox is another worthwhile activity to do in the community. Not only will you get updated on the the latest news about photography but you’ll also have a chance to share ideas, tips, and stories with fellow shutterbugs across the globe. The shoutbox is always brimming with entertaining conversation and it's all because of these lomographers.

    2016-02-26 7
  • Lomo In-Depth: Photographic Archaeology and Discarded Pictures

    written by Ciel Hernandez on 2016-04-30
    Lomo In-Depth: Photographic Archaeology and Discarded Pictures

    In found photography, there are no rose-tinted glasses and lens to prettify the moments in life.