LomoKino Review: The Kino is in the House

1

There is a new member in the great Lomographic family – It’s called the LomoKino and it’s absolutely amazing. This camera is a super innovation that brings action to our lives – 100% analogue motion has come to Lomography!

Now that you’ve seen how beautiful she is, the most important thing is to get to know her on the inside too. This box is able to record movies of half minute on a 35mm film of 36 exposures. “Hoooooow???” – That’s what I thought when I had it in my hands; but when the Lomo-experts explained to me how it works, I understood it perfectly and it was very easy to use.

The film passes through the lens in a “vertical” way and splits each “normal” frame in 4 (like a vertical Supersampler shot). Therefore, in a 36-exposure roll we actually have 144 frames to create our movie. What’s that mean? It’s actually very easy, look at this:

Once the film is loaded, all you have to do is turn the crank, fast – Don’t be lazy! The volume display will tell you how much film is left – when it’s all red, our film is over.

While shooting, make sure the rewind wheel is spinning – It means that everything is OK and that you are making a movie! When the rewind wheel stops, the film is over.

The LomoKino is for the sun, for light, for outdoors. On a sunny day, use ISO 100. On a cloudy day, go for ISO 400. And if you are risky and want to shoot indoors, I recommend a very high ISO and a very powerful source of light. You can play with the aperture (f: 5.6, f:8, f:11). The focus on the LomoKino is from one meter to infinity, but there is also a close-up mode (0.6 m) – This works by pressing the button you’ll find on the front.

There is hot-shoe flash in LomoKino – But remember to use a high-end flash which recharges very quickly, otherwise it will be useless. I tried with Fritz the Blitz Flash and Lomography CN 100 film, it’s amazing! Maybe I have to turn the crank slower next time, but I love it anyhow.

If you get black frames like me, you can always cut them – watch it again:

Don’t be afraid to experiment with your LomoKino! Look at the beautiful colors you can get shooting with Lomography Redscale XR. Try different films, the results are incredible.

To purists of analogue, the LomKino is accompanied by the wonderful LomoKinoScope, a viewer that lets you watch your movies without digitizing. If you want to see positive, I recommend you to shoot with slide film and E6 develop. If you introduce negatives in the LomoKinoScope, you will see negative colors. I haven’t been able to try this. What I’ve done is to scan the frames and edit my movies on the computer. I’m not an expert in film editing, there are many things to improve – but hey, this shows that anyone can have fun and shoot analogue films without being Spielberg, right? We learn little by little.

The LomoKino brings a whole new world of possibilities to all Lomographers. Beware Hollywood!!! Lomo On!

More about the LomoKino

Bringing analogue back to the movies with a bang in the 21st century, the LomoKino is a Lomography movie camera that shoots spectacular, creative movies on all kinds of 35mm film. Head to the Microsite, watch some Movies and begin your analogue movie-making journey today!

written by susielomovitz on 2011-11-05 #gear #susielomovitz #review #lomokino

One Comment

  1. blu132
    blu132 ·

    Well i would love to own one but to get the real effect of movement i would need at least 16 fps and with 144 Pictures the Film would be over before it started :/ And the developing of the Films would cost me very much so I am going to build my own camera with smaller frames and half film (17.5 mm)
    If developing wont be so freakin' expensive these days i would have bought it the first day it was out.
    Nice movies btw, but whats up with this horsehead its kinda creepy?!

More Interesting Articles

  • In Pursuit of Kyoto with the Lomo'Instant

    written by bgaluppo on 2015-08-01 #gear
    In Pursuit of Kyoto with the Lomo'Instant

    Ladies and gentlemen, it is with great pride that we bring you the newest member of Lomo'Instant family: the stunningly beautiful Lomo'Instant Kyoto Edition! To give it a warm welcome to our brand new jewel, sneaked out from our HQ in Vienna and went in search of a truly enlightening adventure.

  • 3 Tumblrs We Loved This Week: A Love for Design, Interiors That Inspire, My Ideal Home

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-11-01
    3 Tumblrs We Loved This Week: A Love for Design, Interiors That Inspire, My Ideal Home

    We tidy up the house when we know visitors are coming. It’s not just common courtesy. Our homes represent how we live and how we want to be seen. More than that, the arrangement of furniture and ornaments may influence what we do during our downtime. Want hush or energy? Try the color palettes, textures and shapes in these curated blogs.

  • Lo-Fi Dreams with David Kupferberg's "Jungle Girl"

    written by Ciel Hernandez on 2016-04-20 #videos #people
    Lo-Fi Dreams with David Kupferberg's "Jungle Girl"

    It is every filmmaker's desire to have a signature. David Kupferberg has found his in the form of the classic LomoKino 35mm film.

    1
  • Shop News

    Lomo'Instant Reykjavik Edition

    Lomo'Instant Reykjavik Edition

    Inspired by the Icelandic midnight sky, get endless creativity, take multiple exposed instant snapshots, experiment with long exposure and light painting shots!

  • Fulfilling Dreams with Dreamy Images: Kevin Biberbach

    written by zonderbar on 2015-08-31 #people
    Fulfilling Dreams with Dreamy Images: Kevin Biberbach

    In every aspiring photographers' dream - Turn the hobby into career, leaving the part time job, putting all of the efforts into one's photography project. Kevin Biberbach did it. Biberbach is a student from Aachen, who has completed a 365-day photography project called "EVRY DAY" with his passion and insist. The project is widely getting attention throughout the internet, which includes a variety of portraits content such as wedding, family and couples. Biberbach shared to Lomography exclusively about his work, passion to photography, and also his experience with the Petzval 85 Art Lens.

  • 5 Mood Boards for Your Home

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-09-23
    5 Mood Boards for Your Home

    Rooms contain what the owner values or has come to hate (tucked in boxes, of course). Colors reveal mood swings. Gardens follow the season’s orders. A house keeps up with ever-changing whims and styles—one of the things that make it a home. Here’s something to inspire your next spruce-up.

  • Lomography x Looper Rumble Winners Announced

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-07-29 #news #videos
    Lomography x Looper Rumble Winners Announced

    Lomography UK teamed up with Scottish Indie/Electronic band Looper and Mute Records to give lucky participants the chance to win a LomoKino and a Looper bundle which includes a 5-CD Box Set signed by the band, live cassette and badge. The band has picked the winners and put them all together in its latest music video for "I’m a Photograph!”

    8
  • Shop News

    Save 15% on Lomography Film when bought with the Lubitel!

    Save 15% on Lomography Film when bought with the Lubitel!

    This beautiful camera features such ability to let users choose and switch between 35mm or 120 formats! Shoot more, save more! Get this Lubitel camera and get 15% discounts with Lomography Films!

  • The World According to Herr Willie: The Spirit of Jogja

    written by wil6ka on 2015-11-03 #places
    The World According to Herr Willie: The Spirit of Jogja

    It is the marvel of Java, the cultural center of Indonesia: Yogyakarta, or, as we assimilated locals call it, Jogja! Jogja is full of historic sites and exudes a very adventurous yet welcoming spirit. It is a true multireligious melting pot that has seen kings and sultans come and go, and religions introduced and either went or stayed. Time has been gentle on Jogja. It's one of my most favorite cities in Asia.

    4
  • A Journey Through New York With The Lomo'Instant Wide

    written by shhquiet on 2015-11-16 #news #videos #gear
    A Journey Through New York With The Lomo'Instant Wide

    New York City - the ideal place to go to if you're looking for unstoppable energy. There's plenty of exciting things going on, but you need to be lightning-fast if you want to seize the moment. This is what makes the Lomo'Instant Wide the perfect camera to use - it captures all the details in one wide instant snapshot! See it in action with our special video after the jump.

  • Khalik Allah: A Halo in the Darkness of Night

    written by jennifer_pos on 2015-10-25 #videos #people
    Khalik Allah: A Halo in the Darkness of Night

    He calls himself Khalik Allah – a creator, a limitless, timeless, infinite being. He documents life as it comes and goes, as it hurts, as it glows inside the protagonists of his stories. His photography and videography take us deep into the never-ending nights of Harlem, a place where the darkness might seem to reach its peak. Yet, he is capturing light in its purest form, reminding us that it lies in everyone’s eyes, within everyone’s self.

    6
  • Shop News

    Category Filters for easy Film Shopping

    Category Filters for easy Film Shopping

    Sure, it takes effort to source films these days, but the Lomography Shop has just made the online part more convenient - under each category, you may now filter by Brand and ISO.

  • On Looking and Seeing: An Interview with Carly Zavala

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-08-25
    On Looking and Seeing: An Interview with Carly Zavala

    In Carly Zavala’s work, honesty comes in visual cues. It can be as simple as a woman looking straight into the camera, or as meaningful as a man deep in thought. It is loyalty to the facts of a scene. What little light is there she will finesse into a striking image.

    5
  • Lumiere London: A Festival of Light

    written by lomographysoholondon on 2016-01-12 #news
    Lumiere London: A Festival of Light

    Lumiere London is a brand new light festival celebrating some of the most iconic streets and buildings in various locations around the city. It runs from January 14th - 16th and is free to attend. There will be installations, videos, interactive pieces and projections, all coming to life at night.

  • Floating on the Dead Sea: a Travel Anecdote by Maya Beano

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-07-24 #people #places
    Floating on the Dead Sea: a Travel Anecdote by Maya Beano

    Water is synonymous to life, but everyone knows this does not apply to the vastness and depths of the Dead Sea. English photographer and wanderlust Maya Beano recollects the time she braved and swam on one of the saltiest bodies of water in the world.

    1