Review: Fuji Velvia 100F

7

Under the right condition, this slide film sure is one heck of a crazy film to cross process!

I remember seeing a Lomograph on this website a while ago — it was taken with a camera that I don’t really remember, but the film used was Fuji Velvia 100F. The image stuck on me until now; it displayed an amazing hue of reddish purple tone, with intense contrast and it just oozes brilliance. A shot that would make everyone proud, it was the Photo of the Day.

When I finally got my hands on Velvia for the first time, I didn’t want to use it until the trip to Macau. Thankfully, the weather is really sunny and bright, and I hoped the best for my photos to turn out good.

The results were amazing, with a little of mixed emotions thrown in. Scenes outdoors are near perfect, with the expected reddish purple hues across the image. However, in scenes under the shade or indoors, the red tint tends to be overwhelming, sometimes just too powerful to be handled. I think this film still works best under bright outdoor conditions where natural lighting is sufficient.

I can see this film as the perfect choice if you are spending your day outdoors hiking or shooting landscapes; either way the photos are going to be amazing!

written by shuttersentinel17 on 2011-10-11 #gear #vivid #lomo #35mm #fuji-velvia-100f #purple #warm #lomography #macao #velvia #intense #review #slide-film #100f #red #fuji #user-review

7 Comments

  1. fiend
    fiend ·

    Are these on an expired or new roll?

  2. houda21
    houda21 ·

    These are great photos! Quick question, do you know what the results would be like if you processed these photos normally? Thanks :)

  3. shuttersentinel17
    shuttersentinel17 ·

    @fiend I think new, can't really remember haha.

    @houda21 Thanks!,Erm u meant in E-6? I don't know either, all the while I only cross process slides haha. I googled velvia E6 in flickr and these seemed to be good examples. www.flickr.com/groups/velvia/pool/tags/e6/page8/

  4. shuttersentinel17
    shuttersentinel17 ·

    @fiend I think new, can't really remember haha.

    @houda21 Thanks!,Erm u meant in E-6? I don't know either, all the while I only cross process slides haha. I googled velvia E6 in flickr and these seemed to be good examples. www.flickr.com/groups/velvia/pool/tags/e6/page8/

  5. kittyo
    kittyo ·

    Hey, these are lovely. Have they been cross processed or did you get them developed normally?

  6. shuttersentinel17
    shuttersentinel17 ·

    @kittyo Thanks! They're cross processed :)

  7. eva_eva
    eva_eva ·

    great colors! I love velvia too. my next fav after ebx :D

More Interesting Articles

  • Tipster: DIY X-Pro Redscale

    written by rancliffhasenza on 2015-09-27 #gear #tutorials
    Tipster: DIY X-Pro Redscale

    Browsing through the Lomography website, you can find a lot of redscale shots, which are all done on color negative films. I asked myself if it’s possible to redscale a slide or chrome film and then cross process it. (And yes, it is.) In this tipster I’m going to teach you how to create the bloodiest homemade redscale film I've ever come across.

    10
  • Serendipity Exhibition by Toby Mason

    written by lomographysoholondon on 2015-09-10 #news
    Serendipity Exhibition by Toby Mason

    Toby Mason (aka fotobes) is a Brighton-based photographer who embraces the aesthetics of film photography. He mostly shoots with the LC-A+ using a range of slide films, cross processing them to create rich, highly saturated colours. His work has been featured on the BBC website and Hungry Eye Magazine. Join us for the opening night on Thursday, September 17 from 6 p.m.

    2
  • Cross Processed to a T: Agfa CT Precisa

    written by Jill Tan Radovan on 2016-02-01 #gear
    Cross Processed to a T: Agfa CT Precisa

    With the right composition and the perfect subject, cross processing the Agfa CT Precisa guarantees spectacular, awe-inspiring results. From the delicate and scenic to the intimate and mundane, here are some views captured on cross-processed Agfa CT Precisa slide film.

    2
  • Shop News

    Great discounts abound with the Great Fisheye Sale!

    Great discounts abound with the Great Fisheye Sale!

    See the world in a whole new way with our Lomography Fisheye cameras! Selected editions now on sale at 20% off! Fisheye cases at 50% off! Order within the month and get a free Fisheye keychain with every camera, and a free Circle Cutter when you buy a Fisheye case with your camera!

  • Five Films for Low Light Conditions

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-11-25 #gear #tutorials
    Five Films for Low Light Conditions

    As many of you would already know, shooting under low light conditions requires more than a steady grip (or a tripod) if you're aiming for outstanding results. You must also have the proper gear, and that, of course, includes film. In this post, we list down five fast films that work their best under such conditions.

    5
  • Black and White Photography: The Forms of the World

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-01-19
    Black and White Photography: The Forms of the World

    Colors may be amped to look unreal, like nothing of this world. Shots may be doubled, cross-processed, post-processed, mixed up into collages. The possibilities are infinite, yet some photographers still prefer black and white. Even in 2016, it is an ode to classic values of precision and balance. Light and shadow must be one pleasing dance. And just like in a well-choreographed piece, forms are obvious or playing coy. It all depends on how you're looking.

  • Reviews on Rewind: LomoChrome Purple (Part 2)

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-08-30 #gear
    Reviews on Rewind: LomoChrome Purple (Part 2)

    With its surreal, psychedelic results that easily remind one of fairy tale-like wonderlands, the LomoChrome Purple has quickly grown to become one of the most popular emulsions in the community. We're giving you that extra push in the form of more community-penned reviews to finally try this film yourself, if you haven't.

  • Shop News

    The Lomography Bazaar

    The Lomography Bazaar

    We constantly search far and wide, meticulously seek out, hunt down, and hand-pick some of the most experimental and alternative gear out there - and we've now gathered them all in one easy to browse shop category, ready for the picking! In the Lomo-Bazaar, you canalso be part of our process of collecting fresh new products, rare treasures, and crowd-funded creations to sell on the shop - after all, they’re all for you! Get in touch with us to share your suggestions for amazing gear - go on, we’re all ears!

  • Awe-Inspiring Lomographs Courtesy of the Lomography XPro 200 ISO (35mm) Rumble Winners

    written by lomography on 2015-10-26 #news
    Awe-Inspiring Lomographs Courtesy of the Lomography XPro 200 ISO (35mm) Rumble Winners

    New to shooting with a slide film? The intense, citrusy palette of these photographs is good enough reason to place the Lomography Xpro 200 ISO (35mm) film on your list of slide films to try!

    7
  • Awesome Albums: Kodak Color 200 Developed in D-76 by ec00992

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-11-26
    Awesome Albums: Kodak Color 200 Developed in D-76 by ec00992

    The title pretty much sums up what this album is all about. Click through to see how this little cross processing experiment turned out!

    1
  • Bright and Colorful Lomographs Courtesy of the Diana Flash Rumble Winners

    written by lomography on 2015-12-07 #news
    Bright and Colorful Lomographs Courtesy of the Diana Flash Rumble Winners

    Shooting at night or under low light conditions? Brighten up your snapshots with a burst of light with the Diana Flash! Take a look at these photographs courtesy of our rumble winners to see how it's ought to be done.

    4
  • Shop News

    LC-A+ & LC-W Accessories

    LC-A+ & LC-W Accessories

    Combine your LC-A+ or LC-W Camera with great, fun Accessories and get 15% Discount on all Lomography Accessories when bought together with the Camera!

  • A Color Remix

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-02-09 #gear
    A Color Remix

    It's human nature to be restless and imaginative. The real may be interpreted as what one sees or how one sees something. For the daydreamer, a scene from nature transforms into a canvas. Suddenly a field makes room for chemical coloring, all those anachronistic streaks that somehow look right. Or else, those beautiful colors amplified or subdued to their most pictorial shades. All in the world of trial-and-process film photography.

  • In Their Own Words: Why Photographers Choose Film (Part II)

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-04-12
    In Their Own Words: Why Photographers Choose Film (Part II)

    This Film Photography Day is all about the alchemy and nostalgia of enduring processes. .

  • Vintage Camera Reviews: Kodak Baby Brownie Special

    written by Mark Hannah on 2016-07-25 #gear
    Vintage Camera Reviews: Kodak Baby Brownie Special

    Art director and lomographer extraordinaire Mark Hannah is back to share one of his favorite 127 cameras: the Kodak Baby Brownie Special.