Tag: camera reviews

  • Petzval LomoAmigo: Dale McCready

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-02-18 in #people #lomoamigos
    Petzval LomoAmigo: Dale McCready

    Dale McCready is a cinematographer working in the film/ TV industry and has worked on programmes such as Doctor Who and Merlin. He was one of our supporters for the Petzval Kickstarter campaign and recently used the lens to film for a new BBC drama, which is due out in March. Dale kindly shared some of his Petzval photographs with us and talked about his love for this lens. Read on for the full interview.

  • Loving the Lomo'instant!

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-01-16 in #news
    Loving the Lomo'instant!

    It's only been a few months since the lovely Lomo'instant camera was officially launched online and in the Lomography stores. Since then this Instant compact camera has been flying off the shelves. You've all been busy experimenting and uploading your amazing shots so we've decided show you some of the best shots out there to inspire you to get creative!

  • LomoAmigo: Stephen Dowling Tests the LC-A 120

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-01-14 in #people #lomoamigos
    LomoAmigo: Stephen Dowling Tests the LC-A 120

    Previously a music journalist, Stephen Dowling now writes for the BBC. If that isn't interesting enough, London-based writer is also passionate about film photography. He has blog called zorkiphoto where he writes about all his favourite cameras and film types. The folks over at Lomography UK lent him an LC-A 120 and, as you'll see in a bit, he managed to get some wonderful shots.

    2
  • LomoAmigo Tom Ambrose Tests the LC-A 120

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-12-03 in #people #lomoamigos
    LomoAmigo Tom Ambrose Tests the LC-A 120

    After working at both the the Manchester and the Soho Store, Tom Ambrose knows pretty much everything there is to know about Lomography We put his skills to the test and lent him an LC-A 120 for the weekend.

    2
  • Meet the UK Team: Adam Powell

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-11-26 in #lifestyle
    Meet the UK Team: Adam Powell

    In this series we meet all the staff that make up Lomography UK. That's everyone from the Soho shop staff to the guys that hide away in the office! Today we talk to Shop Supervisor Adam Powell about his love for film photography and his journeys to some seriously strange locations.

  • LC-A 120 LomoAmigo: Toby Mason aka fotobes

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-11-14 in #people #lomoamigos
    LC-A 120 LomoAmigo: Toby Mason aka fotobes

    Toby Mason (aka fotobes) is one of our favourite UK-based Lomography fanatics. We love his photos and decided to lend him an LC-A 120 for testing. Get to know Toby and catch a glimpse of his stunning photos.

    15
  • Petzval LomoAmigo: Lomokev

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-11-06 in #people #lomoamigos
    Petzval LomoAmigo: Lomokev

    By now most of you would have heard of Lomokev, one of the UK's most prolific film photographers. Based in Brighton, Lomokev loves to shoot with the trusty LC-A and his work has been featured in numerous publications and projects. We lent him a Petzval lens and asked him a few questions about what makes him tick. Here's an exclusive interview, along with a several fantastic shots by the talented UK-based photographer.

    3
  • Lomo’Instant Quick Shots by Nils of Lomography France

    written by lomographyfrance on 2014-11-01 in #reviews
    Lomo’Instant Quick Shots by Nils of Lomography France

    Nils, our amazing new staff member from Lomography France. Aside from photography, he likes pizza, surfing, and fireworks. He recently took the Lomo'Instant for a spin in Paris. In the narrow streets, he had some funny encounters and had a great time with multiple exposures. He now shares with us his first impressions!

  • Petzval Artist: AM Renault of Yamanaka Yuko

    written by fishyu on 2014-08-22 in #people #lomoamigos
    Petzval Artist: AM Renault of Yamanaka Yuko

    As the core person behind Yamanaka Yuko and Six Dimen Boy, AM Renault's enthusiasm for nature manifests in the themes he incorporates into his art and photography. In this exclusive interview, AM shares his impression of the Petzval Art Lens.

  • UK Community Amigo: Justin Quinnell from Bristol

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-07-19 in #people #lomoamigos
    UK Community Amigo: Justin Quinnell from Bristol

    In this new series, we talk to film fanatics from all around the UK about their passion for film photography and the best places to shoot in their home town. Today we go to Bristol to meet Justin Quinnell, a freelance photographer who has made pinholes out of bins and homemade 3D cameras. He is a true film photography experimenter!

  • Petzval Artist: James Nader

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-07-16 in #people #lomoamigos

    James Nader is a UK-based Fashion and Editorial photographer. He started his career in photography shooting with film, processing and developing his work by hand. He now works on high end fashion shoots and has photographed the likes of Dita Von Teese and Richard Branson. James still has a passion for film photography and uses it regularly. We lent him a Petzval lens to shoot with and he has kindly given us a full, in depth review of this beautiful portrait lens. Say hello to James Nader.

  • Win Some Super Lazy Oaf Goodies

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-06-13 in #competitions
    Win Some Super Lazy Oaf Goodies

    Unless you've been living under a rock all summer, you will have heard of UK fashion label Lazy Oaf. Based in East London, Lazy Oaf was established in 2001 by illustrator Gemma Shiel, beginning life as a line of screen printed t-shirts. We LOVE the Lazy Oaf designs and are giving you the chance to win some super cute Lazy Oaf Items!

    3
  • Helena Carrington Rumble!

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-05-22 in #competitions
    Helena Carrington Rumble!

    Helena Carrington is an illustrator who is inspired by travel, especially buildings, architecture, and anything discovered while wandering the winding streets of cities and towns. She prints her analogue-loving illustrations onto notebooks, cushions and badges. We especially love her camera and typewriter illustrations and are offering two lucky people some Helena Carrington goodies! Learn how you can win goodies after the jump.

    7
  • Filming the London LomoMatrix!

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-04-24 in #news
    Filming the London LomoMatrix!

    As part of the Film Photography Day celebrations, Lomography UK held a special workshop to make a Lomomatrix movie. We gathered together in a park in Soho to create some fun stop-motion effects using some La Sardina's and an LCA+. You can see the results here.

  • Film Photography Day Events in Soho

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-03-24 in #events
    Film Photography Day Events in Soho

    To celebrate Film Photography Day, Lomography Gallery Store Soho has organised a very special Scavenger Hunt! You'll be put in groups and given the task of finding and shooting as many items on our list. This event is FREE and there are prizes to be won! Alternatively pop in store on the day for the chance to win an LCA+. Read on to find out how.

  • LomoAmigo: Singer-Songwriter Ryan Star

    written by kylah on 2014-03-24 in #people #lomoamigos
    LomoAmigo: Singer-Songwriter Ryan Star

    Not only did rocker Ryan Star love taking pictures with the Fisheye No. 2, but last time he played in New York City, we sent two lucky fans to the show with Color Splash cameras. In this interview, Ryan shares his favorite shots and tells us about his experience with the Fisheye No. 2.

    2
  • Lomography at The Photography Show 2014

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-03-24 in #news
    Lomography at The Photography Show 2014

    The Photography Show 2014 took place at The NEC in Birmingham from 1-4th March and Lomography were proud to have a space for this event. We showcased the brand new Petzval lens and organised some special Konstruktor workshops. Read on to find out more.

  • Konstruktor Workshops at The Photography Show 2014

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-01-27 in #events
    Konstruktor Workshops at The Photography Show 2014

    Lomography are happy to announce that we will be at this year's Photography Show at the Birmingham NEC. We will be hosting some special Konstruktor workshops, showing you how to built it and shoot with it. Places are limited so read on for full details.

  • Lomography x Zenit New Petzval Lens Interview with artist Marco Mucig

    written by Jill Tan Radovan on 2014-01-17 in #people #lomoamigos
    Lomography x Zenit New Petzval Lens Interview with artist Marco Mucig

    After exploring different visual languages ​​with different artistic tools in the end, Marco Mucig chose video as the medium for his craft. Today he tells us about his experience with the Petzval lens.

  • Lomography x Zenit New Petzval Lens Artist Interview: Ricardo Quaresma Vieira

    written by matej_mjaw on 2013-12-23 in #people #lomoamigos
    Lomography x Zenit New Petzval Lens Artist Interview: Ricardo Quaresma Vieira

    Born in the small village of Pontével in Portugal, Ricardo began with his first photo exhibition when he was only 15 years old. His rich experience in photography and film, as well as his involvement in many art projects are fascinating. We requested Ricardo to try the new Petzval lens with his Canon camera, and asked him about the experience. Read on for the full interview.

  • Direct To The Point With The LomoKino

    written by denisesanjose on 2013-08-07 in #reviews
    Direct To The Point With The LomoKino

    Be your own analogue director with the LomoKino! It's a fun filmmaking camera that's light enough for travel and easy to use. My vacation visions during a 3-day trip to an island music festival turned into a 30-second long 35mm artsy movie and now I'm looking forward to shooting more shorts with it!

  • Independent Label Market: Lomography Talk to Tape Club, Angular Records and Fire Records

    written by ferren on 2013-07-18 in #events
    Independent Label Market: Lomography Talk to Tape Club, Angular Records and Fire Records

    We visited the amazing/hectic Independent Label Market in Spitalfields Market on July 13th. Records were purchased and good times were had. We snapped some great shots on the LC-A and chatted with a couple of labels. Peep the first set of mini-interviews after the jump (more to come soon).

  • Konstruktor Tester: Teaser!

    written by amanda-sheppard on 2013-07-18 in #news
    Konstruktor Tester: Teaser!

    Can't get enough of the new Konstruktor DIY? We've got just the thing to satisfy your analogue appetite. You'll just have to hold on that little...bit...longer!

  • Location Callout: Singapore After Dark

    written by amanda-sheppard on 2013-07-17 in #news

    Feeling that Singapore Sling this summer? Send in your tips, tricks, reviews and more on shooting in Singapore when the sun goes down!!

  • Reviews on Rewind: Supersampler

    written by cruzron on 2013-07-13 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Supersampler

    The Supersampler is the quintessential summer camera if there ever was one. From immortalizing your ultimate Frisbee games to taking awesome minimovies of your dog, the Supersampler captures the action as it happens, when it happens. Here's what the community members have to say about this amazing camera!

    1
  • Hometown Glory Callouts - Stage 1: Markets

    written by amanda-sheppard on 2013-07-10 in #news
    Hometown Glory Callouts - Stage 1: Markets

    We want you to contribute to the Lomography Magazine! Proud of the city you live in? Prove it! This series of callouts needs you to demonstrate what makes your home so special. Submit your articles, your photos and boast away!

  • July Workshops and Events

    written by hannah_brown on 2013-06-24 in #events
    July Workshops and Events

    Take a look at our fantastic workshops and events for July. We have a new exhibition from photographer Richard Heeps and we welcome back our highly successful Summer School of Lomography. Check out details here, it's going to be a blast!

    1
  • Reviews on Rewind: Horizon Kompakt

    written by plasticpopsicle on 2013-06-15 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Horizon Kompakt

    Whether you want to get your hands on your first panoramic camera or are simply curious about how the difference between the Horizon Perfekt and Kompakt, this installment of Reviews on Rewind will give an idea -- straight from your fellow lomographers' previously published reviews! Check them out after the jump!

    2
  • Reviews on Rewind: Fuji Instax Wide

    written by plasticpopsicle on 2013-05-18 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Fuji Instax Wide

    Looking into super-sizing your instant photography fascination? The Fuji Instax Wide 200, which takes larger instants than its Mini counterparts. Want to see if it's the instant shooter for the instant-hungry lomographer in you? Read on to find out what your fellow lomographers have to say about this camera!

  • Reviews on Rewind: Horizon Perfekt

    written by plasticpopsicle on 2013-05-02 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Horizon Perfekt

    The Horizon Perfekt has long been a favorite of the Lomography community, loved for the crisp panoramas and vibrant cross-processed photos it's capable of taking. Have you been thinking of adding this popular panoramic shooter in your camera collection, but would like to know more about it first? Maybe some reviews from passionate Perfekt photographers will help you decide!