More Recent Articles in #reviews

  • Polaroid Spectra (Instant/Polaroid, 640 iso)

    written by fookshit on 2008-08-06 in #reviews
    Polaroid Spectra (Instant/Polaroid, 640 iso)

    The first thing that strikes you about the Spectra film is its noticeably larger size; 3.6 x 2.9 inches (9.2cm x 7.3cm). Then when you look closer you see how much sharper and colour perfect the shots are compared to other instant films!

    7
  • Fuji Instax Mini (Instant/Polaroid, 800 iso)

    written by fookshit on 2008-08-06 in #reviews
    Fuji Instax Mini (Instant/Polaroid, 800 iso)

    The “Instax” instant film system from Fujifilm come in handy cartridges of 10 and has all the speedy benefits of being an 800 ISO film.

    2
  • Smena 8M

    written by pan_dre on 2008-08-06 in #reviews
    Smena 8M

    The Smena 8M is a b-e-a-utiful piece of Russian deadstock. With a contrasty and saturated lens, dead-easy manual controls, and a look that says, “I AM RUSSIAN, I AM AWESOME” – with a fleeting glance at the bottom of the lens barrel – “I WAS MADE IN THE USSR!”, this babe is a hot one, but she’s pretty useful as well. The Smena can be used in two ways. Just as the manual illustrates, you can set it up in what I call my “snapshot mode” where the aperture is 16, the shutter corresponds to those little diagrams, and the depth of field is set perfectly so I have everywhere from one meter to infinity in crystal clear, saturated, contrasty view. However, with a fiddle of the aperture, and an attitude that says, “Screw you, little diagrams, I can take the REAL numbers!” –heck, I just peer aside the camera and there they are – the Smena has a whole new, creative potential. And of course, with its dead simplicity, the Smena is easily modifiable with awesome behind the lens “masks”, the sensational lens is PERFECT for x-pro, and a “re-cockable” shutter makes for insane multiple exposures.

    3
  • The Zenit E

    written by pan_dre on 2008-08-06 in #reviews
    The Zenit E

    The very best thing about the Zenit E can be summed up in one word – Versatility – well, that or weight (and either way get your head out of the gutter boys). So it is heavy as heck, which is great for urban exploring as you can use it as a pretty bitchin weapon if the need arises. Aside from that it has all the bells and whistles, as much as any old Russian has bells and whistles. Aperture setting, B setting, shutter speed, manual focus but the best thing is that the SLR lets you look at your picture as you take it, like a 1970s digital almost, what you see is what you are gonna get, except in 1-2 weeks instead of 1-2 seconds, anyways I digress. As you can see with my gallery this allows you to get the macro distance correct every time for sharp close-ups, oh thank the lord! Works well with black and white, slide, redscale, or just your standard color 35mm. You can also work it for a crisp overall look or get super wacky field of vision with the blurry back and the sharp central image. You can even go ahead and throw on the Holga filters for fun, do what you do, the Zenit E allows you.

    3
  • Kodak Portra 400vc (120, 400 iso) user-review

    written by vicuna on 2008-08-05 in #reviews
    Kodak Portra 400vc (120, 400 iso) user-review

    The VC (vivid colors) films by Kodak have a really great quality: they're colorful and sharp, have great texture and are very adaptable to different lighting conditions. One of my favorite from this VC product line is the 400 VC 120.

    6
  • Kodak Ektachrome EPP (35mm, 100 iso) user-review

    written by graefin on 2008-08-05 in #reviews
    Kodak Ektachrome EPP (35mm, 100 iso) user-review

    Hard to get slide film with a wonderful touch of blue and green when cross processed. It is great for daylight but also produces wonderful pictures in low light situations.

    4
  • Fuji Superia (35mm, 200 iso) User-review

    written by mantozauras on 2008-08-05 in #reviews
    Fuji Superia (35mm, 200 iso) User-review

    There are a lot of reasons why I just love this negative film….

    3
  • Efke ir820 (120, 25 iso) user-review

    written by vicuna on 2008-08-02 in #reviews
    Efke ir820 (120, 25 iso) user-review

    The magic touch of infrared: I was always fascinated by the infrared pictures I could see and wanted to try by myself. I put a roll of Efke 820ir in my Rolleiflex Automat, took a tripod and went shooting in a beautiful park full of trees and with a great sun!

    8
  • Rollei Retro (35mm, 400 iso) user-review

    written by wil6ka on 2008-08-02 in #reviews
    Rollei Retro (35mm, 400 iso) user-review

    Black-spirit: In my opinion the Rollei 400 ISO is very much like that of the Ilford XP2, which I love very much!

    2
  • Foma Fomapan (120/35mm,100 iso) user-review

    written by trabantdeluxe on 2008-08-01 in #reviews
    Foma Fomapan (120/35mm,100 iso) user-review

    I've used Fomapan 100 in many of my 35mm and 120 cameras, and it's become one of my favorite films. It has great tonal range, and is affordably priced.

    2
  • Rollei Retro (35mm, 400 iso) user-review

    written by kylethefrench on 2008-07-31 in #reviews
    Rollei Retro (35mm, 400 iso) user-review

    Black White and Blue: Rollei Retro keeps it dusty!

    1
  • Agfa Vista (35mm, 200 iso)

    written by morgantepsic on 2008-07-29 in #reviews
    Agfa Vista  (35mm, 200 iso)

    The traveling poor man's film: With it's unpredictable tones and fine grain, not to mention the cheap price, this film is perfect for buying a 20 pack and loading in the suitcase!

    7
  • Konica Monochrome VX (35mm, 400 iso)

    written by eazy360 on 2008-07-27 in #reviews
    Konica Monochrome VX (35mm, 400 iso)

    This monochrome film from Konica made me fall in love with black and white photography...

    1
  • Lomography Colorsplash - Staff Review

    written by shhquiet on 2008-07-26 in #reviews
    Lomography Colorsplash - Staff Review

    The Colorsplash is a 35mm instant camera that allows you to "paint" your pictures with its built-in color flash.

    13
  • Kodak Elitechrome 400 (35mm, 400 iso) user-review

    written by xkelx on 2008-07-25 in #reviews
    Kodak Elitechrome 400 (35mm, 400 iso) user-review

    Kodak elite chrome is just perfect for slide lovers! Great for action photography, and also excellent for low-light conditions. Fine grain, high sharpness, produces rich and vibrant colors.

    6
  • Fuji Neopan (35mm, 400 iso) user-review

    written by eazy360 on 2008-07-24 in #reviews
    Fuji Neopan (35mm, 400 iso) user-review

    Now and then, I find it vital to get back to basics with monochromatic excursions...

    1
  • Efke 100 (120, 100 iso) user-review

    written by ipdegirl on 2008-07-23 in #reviews
    Efke 100 (120, 100 iso) user-review

    For some old-timey graininess check out this import from Croatia! Big grains, hazy look but decent contrast. Really an inexpensive way to get some grain in your life.

    2
  • Fuji Tungsten (120, 64 iso) user-review

    written by graefin on 2008-07-21 in #reviews
    Fuji Tungsten (120, 64 iso) user-review

    The Tungsten is a film that loves light! It is best used in bright sunlight at wonderful hot summer days!

    4
  • Shantou ERA (35mm, 100 iso) user-review

    written by rodrigomg1511 on 2008-07-19 in #reviews
    Shantou ERA (35mm, 100 iso) user-review

    This mysterious film of the People's Republic of China exists since 1950 but is almost unknown outside China. It has good midtones and great contrast.

  • Kodak Portra160vc (35mm, 160 iso) user-review

    written by vicuna on 2008-07-17 in #reviews
    Kodak Portra160vc (35mm, 160 iso) user-review

    I don't use Kodak Portra 160 VC that much because it's difficult to find one from where I live but I had once the chance to find some rolls and test it with my Horizon. And the results were really good, I was surprised by the fine grain and the great colours of this film.

  • Lomography Supersampler - Staff Review

    written by shhquiet on 2008-07-17 in #reviews
    Lomography Supersampler - Staff Review

    Lightweight and low-maintenance, the Supersampler is a four-lensed camera that takes four panels of panoramic images in one print.

    7
  • Fuji T64 Tungsten (35mm, 64 iso) user-review

    written by plaidleaf on 2008-07-14 in #reviews
    Fuji T64 Tungsten (35mm, 64 iso) user-review

    Last October I bought two rolls of Fuji T64 at my favourite camera shop in town, Richmond Camera. They had just these two rolls, expired (score!) so they were half price! I decided that I'd save them for a special occasion, and I'm very glad I did. I had the great opportunity to go back to London and re-trace a few of my steps from the world congress, and make a side trip and go back to Manchester as well. Needless to say I had a blast and could write for hours about how great it was to get back over to the UK... but I’ ll save you from that.

    6
  • Kodak Portra 160vc (35mm, 160 iso) user-review

    written by brianmilo on 2008-07-13 in #reviews
    Kodak Portra 160vc (35mm, 160 iso) user-review

    Kodak Portra 160vc is a very nice color negative print film.........

    3
  • Fuji Provia (120, 100 iso) user-review

    written by graefin on 2008-07-11 in #reviews
    Fuji Provia (120, 100 iso) user-review

    The Fuji Provia is one of my favourite slide films next to the Fuji Velvia. First of all: All Fuji slides are amazing! The colours are rich, saturated and simply brilliant! I always cross process my Fuji slides to give the pictures an extra kick of colour.

    2
  • Konica Pro 400 (120, 400 iso) staff-review

    written by d_i_d on 2008-07-10 in #reviews
    Konica Pro 400 (120, 400 iso) staff-review

    This is a great all-purpose film. The Konica Pro 400 brings on the saturated colours and very low grain. When the sun is shining you will get amazingly clear and sharp results with this one.

    2
  • Kodak Portra 160nc (35mm, 160 iso)

    written by d_i_d on 2008-07-09 in #reviews
    Kodak Portra 160nc (35mm, 160 iso)

    The Kodak Portra-Series was introduced in 1998 and was specially designed for low grain results and authentic colours in combination with well-balanced contrast.

  • Kodak Portra 160nc (120, 160 iso)

    written by d_i_d on 2008-07-09 in #reviews
    Kodak Portra 160nc (120, 160 iso)

    The 120-Version of the Portra 160nc:The Kodak Portra-Series was introduced in 1998 and was specially designed for low grain results and authentic colours in combination with well-balanced contrast.

  • Klick Max 24 (35mm, 200 iso)

    written by d_i_d on 2008-07-09 in #reviews
    Klick Max 24 (35mm, 200 iso)

    Your ideal partner for snapshooting the whole day long. Actually the Klick Max 200 is branded Fujicolor C200, which makes it a great all-rounder in the league of 35mm colour negative films.

  • Kodak Portra 160vc (35mm, 160 iso) staff-review

    written by d_i_d on 2008-07-09 in #reviews
    Kodak Portra 160vc (35mm, 160 iso) staff-review

    A colour negative film for high-colour applications. The Kodak Portra-Series was introduced in 1998 and was specially designed for low grain results and authentic colours in combination with well-balanced contrast.

    1
  • Fuji T64 Pro (35mm, 64 iso) staff-review

    written by d_i_d on 2008-07-09 in #reviews
    Fuji T64 Pro (35mm, 64 iso) staff-review

    This is a very special one: The Fuji Tungsten provides the highest degree of fine grain possible along with excellent resolution.