More Recent Articles in #reviews

  • Rollei Retro (35mm, 400 iso) user-review

    written by vicuna on 2008-08-27 in #reviews
    Rollei Retro (35mm, 400 iso) user-review

    I really love the b&w Rollei retro film for this very special "taste" of b&w. Deep contrast but with a great and subtle range of white, gray & black that gives your shots a very rich texture.

    5
  • Kodak Portra 400vc (120, 400 iso) user-review

    written by xbalboax on 2008-08-25 in #reviews
    Kodak Portra 400vc (120, 400 iso) user-review

    This film gives excellent colors, they are rich, bright and clear. Skin-tones are great. The colors just pop off the photo.

    3
  • Fuji Instax 200

    written by emmaspridgen on 2008-08-23 in #reviews
    Fuji Instax 200

    Bought as an alternative to Polaroid on the announcement of the discontinuation of their film range, the Fuji Instax 200 had a lot to live up to as the potential heir to the instant photography throne.

    3
  • Kodak Elitechrome EBX (35mm, 100 ISO) User Review

    written by iamwen on 2008-08-22 in #reviews
    Kodak Elitechrome EBX (35mm, 100 ISO) User Review

    This is the slide film I love the most because it produces the most vivid color and strong corner vignettes!

    2
  • Diana+

    written by mephisto19 on 2008-08-21 in #reviews
    Diana+

    Looking at her for the first time, I felt strange. This lightweight piece of plastic takes photos? But okay… I tried it and failed with the first few films. But somehow we both came together and images came out better and better.

  • Holga 135BC

    written by emmaspridgen on 2008-08-21 in #reviews
    Holga 135BC

    Bought as a gift from my boyfriend, the Holga 135BC was the first film camera that I had had since my youth. Whilst the gift was lovely it has since cost me a small fortune in film, developing and purchasing a camera collection, because the Holga 135BC made me fall in love with film photography. However, despite the many cameras I have bought since, the Holga is still my favourite.

    2
  • Diana F+

    written by ndroo on 2008-08-21 in #reviews
    Diana F+

    The Diana F+ camera probably needs no introduction by now. For those who loves getting upclose and personal with their subjects, the idea of having a macro/closeup attachment probably has even probably made them thought of sticking a commercial closeup filter in front of the lens and giving it ago.

    1
  • Lomo Smena 8M

    written by emmaspridgen on 2008-08-21 in #reviews
    Lomo Smena 8M

    Good, bad and a little bit ugly. Looking like a box, the Smena 8M has a lot more to it than a first glance might suggest.

  • Lomography B&W100 (120, 100 iso) staff-review

    written by d_i_d on 2008-08-19 in #reviews
    Lomography B&W100 (120, 100 iso) staff-review

    Our very own and very special black & white medium format film! Deep blacks and clear whites: The Lomography B&W 100 is the ideal compañero for all your medium format Lomographic Cameras.

    10
  • Ilford XP2 (35mm, iso 400), user-review

    written by thomasstephen on 2008-08-18 in #reviews
    Ilford XP2 (35mm, iso 400), user-review

    Black and white lovely-ness with the ease of c41 processing: This is a great black and white film that is widely and cheaply available and can be processed with standard c41 chemicals, so you can take it to your local supermarket, chemist, or 1 hour photo place and get it developed for a couple of quid.

    1
  • Agfa Vista (35mm, 400 iso) user-review

    written by xpunklovex on 2008-08-16 in #reviews
    Agfa Vista  (35mm, 400 iso) user-review

    As cheap as it's good! Like most of the good things that happened to me at some point, I met the Agfa Vista film purely by accident.

    4
  • Rollei Retro (35mm, 100 iso) user-review

    written by vicuna on 2008-08-14 in #reviews
    Rollei Retro (35mm, 100 iso) user-review

    Have you always wanted that great classic taste of b&w? Those high contrast and deep shadows shots from some of the world’s greatest photographers? Don’t ask any further because the answer is here, the Rollei Retro 100ASA film!

  • Lomography X-Pro (35mm, 100 iso) user-review

    written by adi_totp on 2008-08-12 in #reviews
    Lomography X-Pro (35mm, 100 iso) user-review

    Buy one, love one, use it and cross process it but before all of that always bring your Lomo anywhere with you and surely you'll get certain surprises. The traditional and basic thing about taking your Lomo with you is I think is the best way to capture those rare moments. And for me, using this film is a joy everytime.

    9
  • Lubitel 2

    written by halfawakehaiku on 2008-08-11 in #reviews
    Lubitel 2

    Often unappreciated and unfairly dismissed as lesser TLR, the Lubitel 2 is an underdog by reputation, but offers a great platform to get into the world of Twin Reflex Cameras.

    6
  • Kiev 4

    written by vicuna on 2008-08-11 in #reviews
    Kiev 4

    When I received my Kiev 4 camera, I was happy like a child to hold in my hands such a beautiful Russian camera. Well, Russian it is, even if it's well known that the Kiev cameras were copies of the German Contax cameras. Some like to say that these cameras are German Contax made in the USSR... But the Kiev 4 is much more than the "poor man's Contax" - it's a real stunning camera with the fantastic Jupiter 8 lens.

    3
  • Fuji Superia (35mm, 100 iso) user-review

    written by lomocore on 2008-08-11 in #reviews
    Fuji Superia (35mm, 100 iso) user-review

    Day or Night, This Film Has You Covered: Probably one of the most versatile of films that i have shot with. Great colors in both low light and daylight situations. Very interesting results when used for double exposures.

    1
  • Ilford HP5+ (120, 400 iso) user-review

    written by whisper_low on 2008-08-10 in #reviews
    Ilford HP5+ (120, 400 iso) user-review

    Ilford HP5+ is the perfect companion for your Holga on a cloudy day. The contrast is excellent, leaving you with deep blacks, bright whites and a good number of shades of grey.

    2
  • Agfa Pro Pack (35mm, 200 iso) user-review

    written by reinertlee on 2008-08-09 in #reviews
    Agfa Pro Pack (35mm, 200 iso) user-review

    I Love Agfa Pro Pack: After seeing much of the contrast, vivid and high saturation photos of a cross-processed film, It’s about time for some natural, sort of original colour- toned pictures for me to see that will somehow cool down my eyesight.

    7
  • Zorki 4K

    written by ethermoon on 2008-08-08 in #reviews
    Zorki 4K

    For rangefinder collectors and hobbyists on deadstock cameras, Zorki 4K (a post-release after the Zorki 4) is quite a present for Lomographers.

    3
  • Fuji Sensia (35mm, 100 iso) user-review

    written by adi_totp on 2008-08-07 in #reviews
    Fuji Sensia (35mm, 100 iso) user-review

    Pinkish Sensia: One year ago when I was having my 20th birthday my friend gave this Fuji Sensia to me as a gift. At that time though, i have been using several brands of slide films and haven’t got the chance to use it until one day this friend of mine invited me to join him to go hunting.

    5
  • All Weather Actionsampler

    written by mephisto19 on 2008-08-07 in #reviews
    All Weather Actionsampler

    With the All-Weather Actionsampler, you can even go under water to make your beloved sample-shots.

    6
  • Lomography Diana+

    written by shhquiet on 2008-08-07 in #reviews
    Lomography Diana+

    Based around, influenced and inspired by a sixties throwaway, Lomography's Diana+ camera, truly is the LSI's flagship medium format camera.

    7
  • Kodak Ektachrome 100 GX (120, 100 iso) staff-review

    written by d_i_d on 2008-08-06 in #reviews
    Kodak Ektachrome 100 GX (120, 100 iso) staff-review

    A high professional slide film with very low grain, moderately enhanced colour saturation and warm colour balance. When X-processed it yields very nice results: deeper colours but not artificial.

    1
  • The Fed 5!

    written by pan_dre on 2008-08-06 in #reviews
    The Fed 5!

    image from "russianplaza.com":http://www.russianplaza.com/FED-1-2-3-4-5-C-page2.html

    4
  • Fed 5

    written by shhquiet on 2008-08-06 in #reviews
    Fed 5

    For precision photography with a stand-out, old-school vibe, pick up a FED 5. That's if you have the tenacity, patience and some brawn to tame its hefty body and finicky character.

    2
  • Holga 135BC

    written by mantozauras on 2008-08-06 in #reviews
    Holga 135BC

    To tell you the truth, when LSI presented the Holga 135BC, I looked at it skeptically. I don’t know why but I didn’t like it at the first sight … but it was a different story, after some time.

  • Vilia

    written by pan_dre on 2008-08-06 in #reviews
    Vilia

    image from "thecamerasite.net":http://www.thecamerasite.net/07_Viewfinder_Cameras/Pages/smena.htm

    5
  • Be Lomo Elikon 535

    written by johann_affendy on 2008-08-06 in #reviews
    Be Lomo Elikon 535

    The Elikon 535 is one of my prized possessions. Didn't order this from LSI though, I came across this little Russian camera at a flea market (sounds familiar, no?).

    18
  • Fuji Instax Mini (Instant/Polaroid, 800 iso)

    written by fookshit on 2008-08-06 in #reviews
    Fuji Instax Mini (Instant/Polaroid, 800 iso)

    The “Instax” instant film system from Fujifilm come in handy cartridges of 10 and has all the speedy benefits of being an 800 ISO film.

    2
  • Fuji Instax Wide (Instant/Polaroid, 800 iso)

    written by fookshit on 2008-08-06 in #reviews
    Fuji Instax Wide (Instant/Polaroid, 800 iso)

    The “Instax” instant film system from Fujifilm come in handy cartridges of 10 and has all the speedy benefits of being an 800 ISO film.