More Recent Articles in #reviews

  • Ilford XP2 (35mm, iso 400), user-review

    written by thomasstephen on 2008-08-18 in #reviews
    Ilford XP2 (35mm, iso 400), user-review

    Black and white lovely-ness with the ease of c41 processing: This is a great black and white film that is widely and cheaply available and can be processed with standard c41 chemicals, so you can take it to your local supermarket, chemist, or 1 hour photo place and get it developed for a couple of quid.

    1
  • Agfa Vista (35mm, 400 iso) user-review

    written by xpunklovex on 2008-08-16 in #reviews
    Agfa Vista  (35mm, 400 iso) user-review

    As cheap as it's good! Like most of the good things that happened to me at some point, I met the Agfa Vista film purely by accident.

    4
  • Rollei Retro (35mm, 100 iso) user-review

    written by vicuna on 2008-08-14 in #reviews
    Rollei Retro (35mm, 100 iso) user-review

    Have you always wanted that great classic taste of b&w? Those high contrast and deep shadows shots from some of the world’s greatest photographers? Don’t ask any further because the answer is here, the Rollei Retro 100ASA film!

  • Lomography X-Pro (35mm, 100 iso) user-review

    written by adi_totp on 2008-08-12 in #reviews
    Lomography X-Pro (35mm, 100 iso) user-review

    Buy one, love one, use it and cross process it but before all of that always bring your Lomo anywhere with you and surely you'll get certain surprises. The traditional and basic thing about taking your Lomo with you is I think is the best way to capture those rare moments. And for me, using this film is a joy everytime.

    9
  • Lubitel 2

    written by halfawakehaiku on 2008-08-11 in #reviews
    Lubitel 2

    Often unappreciated and unfairly dismissed as lesser TLR, the Lubitel 2 is an underdog by reputation, but offers a great platform to get into the world of Twin Reflex Cameras.

    6
  • Kiev 4

    written by vicuna on 2008-08-11 in #reviews
    Kiev 4

    When I received my Kiev 4 camera, I was happy like a child to hold in my hands such a beautiful Russian camera. Well, Russian it is, even if it's well known that the Kiev cameras were copies of the German Contax cameras. Some like to say that these cameras are German Contax made in the USSR... But the Kiev 4 is much more than the "poor man's Contax" - it's a real stunning camera with the fantastic Jupiter 8 lens.

    3
  • Fuji Superia (35mm, 100 iso) user-review

    written by lomocore on 2008-08-11 in #reviews
    Fuji Superia (35mm, 100 iso) user-review

    Day or Night, This Film Has You Covered: Probably one of the most versatile of films that i have shot with. Great colors in both low light and daylight situations. Very interesting results when used for double exposures.

    1
  • Ilford HP5+ (120, 400 iso) user-review

    written by whisper_low on 2008-08-10 in #reviews
    Ilford HP5+ (120, 400 iso) user-review

    Ilford HP5+ is the perfect companion for your Holga on a cloudy day. The contrast is excellent, leaving you with deep blacks, bright whites and a good number of shades of grey.

    2
  • Agfa Pro Pack (35mm, 200 iso) user-review

    written by reinertlee on 2008-08-09 in #reviews
    Agfa Pro Pack (35mm, 200 iso) user-review

    I Love Agfa Pro Pack: After seeing much of the contrast, vivid and high saturation photos of a cross-processed film, It’s about time for some natural, sort of original colour- toned pictures for me to see that will somehow cool down my eyesight.

    7
  • Zorki 4K

    written by ethermoon on 2008-08-08 in #reviews
    Zorki 4K

    For rangefinder collectors and hobbyists on deadstock cameras, Zorki 4K (a post-release after the Zorki 4) is quite a present for Lomographers.

    3
  • Fuji Sensia (35mm, 100 iso) user-review

    written by adi_totp on 2008-08-07 in #reviews
    Fuji Sensia (35mm, 100 iso) user-review

    Pinkish Sensia: One year ago when I was having my 20th birthday my friend gave this Fuji Sensia to me as a gift. At that time though, i have been using several brands of slide films and haven’t got the chance to use it until one day this friend of mine invited me to join him to go hunting.

    5
  • All Weather Actionsampler

    written by mephisto19 on 2008-08-07 in #reviews
    All Weather Actionsampler

    With the All-Weather Actionsampler, you can even go under water to make your beloved sample-shots.

    6
  • Lomography Diana+

    written by shhquiet on 2008-08-07 in #reviews
    Lomography Diana+

    Based around, influenced and inspired by a sixties throwaway, Lomography's Diana+ camera, truly is the LSI's flagship medium format camera.

    7
  • Kodak Ektachrome 100 GX (120, 100 iso) staff-review

    written by d_i_d on 2008-08-06 in #reviews
    Kodak Ektachrome 100 GX (120, 100 iso) staff-review

    A high professional slide film with very low grain, moderately enhanced colour saturation and warm colour balance. When X-processed it yields very nice results: deeper colours but not artificial.

    1
  • The Fed 5!

    written by pan_dre on 2008-08-06 in #reviews
    The Fed 5!

    image from "russianplaza.com":http://www.russianplaza.com/FED-1-2-3-4-5-C-page2.html

    4
  • Fed 5

    written by shhquiet on 2008-08-06 in #reviews
    Fed 5

    For precision photography with a stand-out, old-school vibe, pick up a FED 5. That's if you have the tenacity, patience and some brawn to tame its hefty body and finicky character.

    2
  • Holga 135BC

    written by mantozauras on 2008-08-06 in #reviews
    Holga 135BC

    To tell you the truth, when LSI presented the Holga 135BC, I looked at it skeptically. I don’t know why but I didn’t like it at the first sight … but it was a different story, after some time.

  • Vilia

    written by pan_dre on 2008-08-06 in #reviews
    Vilia

    image from "thecamerasite.net":http://www.thecamerasite.net/07_Viewfinder_Cameras/Pages/smena.htm

    5
  • Be Lomo Elikon 535

    written by johann_affendy on 2008-08-06 in #reviews
    Be Lomo Elikon 535

    The Elikon 535 is one of my prized possessions. Didn't order this from LSI though, I came across this little Russian camera at a flea market (sounds familiar, no?).

    18
  • Fuji Instax Wide (Instant/Polaroid, 800 iso)

    written by fookshit on 2008-08-06 in #reviews
    Fuji Instax Wide (Instant/Polaroid, 800 iso)

    The “Instax” instant film system from Fujifilm come in handy cartridges of 10 and has all the speedy benefits of being an 800 ISO film.

  • Polaroid Spectra (Instant/Polaroid, 640 iso)

    written by fookshit on 2008-08-06 in #reviews
    Polaroid Spectra (Instant/Polaroid, 640 iso)

    The first thing that strikes you about the Spectra film is its noticeably larger size; 3.6 x 2.9 inches (9.2cm x 7.3cm). Then when you look closer you see how much sharper and colour perfect the shots are compared to other instant films!

    7
  • Fuji Instax Mini (Instant/Polaroid, 800 iso)

    written by fookshit on 2008-08-06 in #reviews
    Fuji Instax Mini (Instant/Polaroid, 800 iso)

    The “Instax” instant film system from Fujifilm come in handy cartridges of 10 and has all the speedy benefits of being an 800 ISO film.

    2
  • Smena 8M

    written by pan_dre on 2008-08-06 in #reviews
    Smena 8M

    The Smena 8M is a b-e-a-utiful piece of Russian deadstock. With a contrasty and saturated lens, dead-easy manual controls, and a look that says, “I AM RUSSIAN, I AM AWESOME” – with a fleeting glance at the bottom of the lens barrel – “I WAS MADE IN THE USSR!”, this babe is a hot one, but she’s pretty useful as well. The Smena can be used in two ways. Just as the manual illustrates, you can set it up in what I call my “snapshot mode” where the aperture is 16, the shutter corresponds to those little diagrams, and the depth of field is set perfectly so I have everywhere from one meter to infinity in crystal clear, saturated, contrasty view. However, with a fiddle of the aperture, and an attitude that says, “Screw you, little diagrams, I can take the REAL numbers!” –heck, I just peer aside the camera and there they are – the Smena has a whole new, creative potential. And of course, with its dead simplicity, the Smena is easily modifiable with awesome behind the lens “masks”, the sensational lens is PERFECT for x-pro, and a “re-cockable” shutter makes for insane multiple exposures.

    3
  • The Zenit E

    written by pan_dre on 2008-08-06 in #reviews
    The Zenit E

    The very best thing about the Zenit E can be summed up in one word – Versatility – well, that or weight (and either way get your head out of the gutter boys). So it is heavy as heck, which is great for urban exploring as you can use it as a pretty bitchin weapon if the need arises. Aside from that it has all the bells and whistles, as much as any old Russian has bells and whistles. Aperture setting, B setting, shutter speed, manual focus but the best thing is that the SLR lets you look at your picture as you take it, like a 1970s digital almost, what you see is what you are gonna get, except in 1-2 weeks instead of 1-2 seconds, anyways I digress. As you can see with my gallery this allows you to get the macro distance correct every time for sharp close-ups, oh thank the lord! Works well with black and white, slide, redscale, or just your standard color 35mm. You can also work it for a crisp overall look or get super wacky field of vision with the blurry back and the sharp central image. You can even go ahead and throw on the Holga filters for fun, do what you do, the Zenit E allows you.

    3
  • Kodak Portra 400vc (120, 400 iso) user-review

    written by vicuna on 2008-08-05 in #reviews
    Kodak Portra 400vc (120, 400 iso) user-review

    The VC (vivid colors) films by Kodak have a really great quality: they're colorful and sharp, have great texture and are very adaptable to different lighting conditions. One of my favorite from this VC product line is the 400 VC 120.

    6
  • Kodak Ektachrome EPP (35mm, 100 iso) user-review

    written by graefin on 2008-08-05 in #reviews
    Kodak Ektachrome EPP (35mm, 100 iso) user-review

    Hard to get slide film with a wonderful touch of blue and green when cross processed. It is great for daylight but also produces wonderful pictures in low light situations.

    4
  • Fuji Superia (35mm, 200 iso) User-review

    written by mantozauras on 2008-08-05 in #reviews
    Fuji Superia (35mm, 200 iso) User-review

    There are a lot of reasons why I just love this negative film….

    3
  • Efke ir820 (120, 25 iso) user-review

    written by vicuna on 2008-08-02 in #reviews
    Efke ir820 (120, 25 iso) user-review

    The magic touch of infrared: I was always fascinated by the infrared pictures I could see and wanted to try by myself. I put a roll of Efke 820ir in my Rolleiflex Automat, took a tripod and went shooting in a beautiful park full of trees and with a great sun!

    8
  • Rollei Retro (35mm, 400 iso) user-review

    written by wil6ka on 2008-08-02 in #reviews
    Rollei Retro (35mm, 400 iso) user-review

    Black-spirit: In my opinion the Rollei 400 ISO is very much like that of the Ilford XP2, which I love very much!

    2
  • Foma Fomapan (120/35mm,100 iso) user-review

    written by trabantdeluxe on 2008-08-01 in #reviews
    Foma Fomapan (120/35mm,100 iso) user-review

    I've used Fomapan 100 in many of my 35mm and 120 cameras, and it's become one of my favorite films. It has great tonal range, and is affordably priced.

    2