More Recent Articles in #reviews

  • Agfa Clack

    written by agrimony on 2008-10-19 in #reviews
    Agfa Clack

    The Agfa Clack camera was produced from 1954 until 1965. It uses 120 mm film and is part of the Agfa box series – several kinds of cameras designed like a box which were inexpensive and easy to use for everybody. After I had unpacked my Agfa Clack camera I almost had to laugh because of its unusual and somehow funny look – it is the big black teddy bear among all my other analogue cameras. I found it on an online auction for 8€.

    5
  • Supersampler : Never a Disappointing Picture

    written by stephkelly on 2008-10-19 in #reviews
    Supersampler : Never a Disappointing Picture

    I've had my supersampler for almost a year and it's one of the best purchases i've made. It took shooting a few rolls to get the hang of how the camera works, but now I rarely get a "bad" picture from it. Two important things to keep in mind when shooting with this camera: 1) the more light in your environment, the better. This camera is really meant for outdoor usage, specifically on a sunny day...that's when you'll get the best colors from your film, and 2) Motion. This camera is great at capturing motion if you take advantage of it. You can shoot your subject as it's moving or move you camera while shooting. This will produce much more interesting photos than holding the camera still while shooting a static subject.

    3
  • Kodak Instamatic 33

    written by agrimony on 2008-10-18 in #reviews
    Kodak Instamatic 33

    The Kodak Instamatic Camera is a camera which was developed in the 1960s to simplify the use of film. The idea was to put in and out a film without any problems because the insertion of normal film often caused troubles. Even professional photographers did it wrong sometimes so that a whole series of their photos was destroyed. So Kodak developed the cassette film (126 film) a rather cheap alternative to usual film at this time, and the above mentioned Instamatic camera. You just have to insert the cassette into the camera – the film transport starts when you turn the film transportation wheel. There is only one producer who still builds 126 films: the Italian company Ferrania. The trade name of the film is Solaris. The format is square and it has 24 exposures. They don’t produce black and white film or slide film anymore.

    9
  • Vivitar Ultra Wide & Slim

    written by sadmafioso on 2008-10-17 in #reviews
    Vivitar Ultra Wide & Slim

    Now we’re talking... The Vivitar Ultra Wide & Slim is an all-plastic 22mm-lensed piece of crap that takes some of the most wonderful images you’ll ever see produced from a camera. What strikes you when you first hold the Vivitar UW&S is it’s weight – or lack of. It truly is feather light, even with the film inside. A single button sits on top, there’s a rudimentary tiny viewfinder.. and that’s it. Just point, click, and go develop those near-fisheyed strange and beautiful shots.

    4
  • The Holga 135BC: A Boy Finds His Camera

    written by fuzztone04 on 2008-10-16 in #reviews
    The Holga 135BC: A Boy Finds His Camera

    Last year around this time, I was interning at a local newspaper. The editor asked me one day to go out and take some pictures for them with a little digital point and shoot. The editor was so impressed with my shots, he wondered if I had taken any photography lessons. "No", I said. "You have a great eye for it, though. You should think about taking up photography." So a few short months later my birthday rolled around, and after having a discussion with a friend who was familiar with Lomography, I decided to blow some birthday money on a Holga 135BC. Well...what a joy that has been.

    6
  • Fuji Instax Mini (Instant/Polaroid, 800 iso) user-review

    written by anglemort on 2008-10-16 in #reviews
    Fuji Instax Mini (Instant/Polaroid, 800 iso) user-review

    Instax: love in your pocket. Instax is not a very sexy word, but it’s perfect for sexy pictures. No lab technician between you and your picture… Your girlfriend or boyfriend will be happy !

    2
  • LC-A : Must... Stop... Shooting!

    written by butter on 2008-10-15 in #reviews
    LC-A : Must... Stop... Shooting!

    Whoops... I can't! Holy crap I love this camera. I know you hear it all the time. Everyone loves the LC-A. I didn't buy into what I thought was just hype at first, either. I heard 'LC-A this' and 'LC-A that' and never really understood why I shouldn't just photoshop a digital picture. Then I bought one. It was like a revolution.

  • Fuji Sensia 200 (35mm, 200 iso) user-review

    written by aleczanussi on 2008-10-14 in #reviews
    Fuji Sensia 200 (35mm, 200 iso) user-review

    Get frozen! Do you want to see the natural colours of your photos distorted? Are you ready to enter a very new dimension? Do you want to obtain funny results by cross processing your film? If so, the Fuji Sensia 200 ISO must be your choice!

  • Diana F+: A Dive Into The Past!

    written by aleczanussi on 2008-10-13 in #reviews
    Diana F+: A Dive Into The Past!

    When I decide to make a trip somewhere, there is nothing better than my Diana F+. Instead of buying some postcards, I actually prefer taking some shots with my jewel: you cannot imagine anything more vintage and retro! That’s why I strongly recommend this camera to all the travelers and nostalgic of the ‘60s.

    4
  • Ilford XP2 (120, 400 iso) user-review

    written by tommynorth on 2008-10-10 in #reviews
    Ilford XP2 (120, 400 iso) user-review

    Black and White film uses C-41 process, Shoot your heart out, develop it anywhere (where there is a film lab with the C-41 stuff). Marvel at the love you will have for this film, Marvel more when it winks at you and says "yeah we gonna get along just fine..."

  • Fuji Cheki 7

    written by anglemort on 2008-10-08 in #reviews
    Fuji Cheki 7

    Grrrrlllllrrrrrrrrr! The little bear let you take the small picture. Wait one or two minutes. Here it is! You got your picture! I’ve chosen the White edition, because I like milk, and I like the snow too. The white Edition has been made for me. I confess that the Chocolate edition is sexy too, but it’s a question of feeling. The white is very beautiful, even if it’s hard to see this cam on the LSI shop (white…on a white background!)

    8
  • Actionsampler - A Diary For The Eyes

    written by strangelilgirl on 2008-10-08 in #reviews
    Actionsampler - A Diary For The Eyes

    The ActionSampler: the classy, Andy Warhol-type feel of the Pop 9, but subtract a few frames and add movement. The synchronization of the lenses not only creates motion, but adds more layers to the entire photo as a whole, allowing for more room to learn from and dissect your shots. You not only have one photo to look at and analyze/admire/abhor/etc., but you've got 4 sub-photos, too; you basically have 5 different views in one simple "click.”

    2
  • Fuji Provia (120, 400 iso) staff-review

    written by fookshit on 2008-10-08 in #reviews
    Fuji Provia (120, 400 iso) staff-review

    Fuji Provia: day in and day out or with an electronic flash, you can’t go wrong with this one.

    3
  • Fisheye 2 -Take Some “Flavor” Shots!

    written by louvetau on 2008-10-05 in #reviews
    Fisheye 2 -Take Some “Flavor” Shots!

    Fantastic little camera, great fun, just makes you wanna go out and take photos till the sun goes down...and then on through the night!

    4
  • All You Need is the Weather - Smena 35

    written by plesaleza on 2008-10-04 in #reviews
    All You Need is the Weather - Smena 35

    The Smena 35 is a true lomo camera. Maybe not the most noted but it makes a great companion. This little guy doesn't look all that much like it's siblings, but it's definitely a Smena.

    1
  • Zenit 122

    written by shhquiet on 2008-10-04 in #reviews
    Zenit 122

    During my first year of Lomographic Studies, I only had a Fisheye Camera and Colorsplash Camera in my arsenal. I was literally craving for an LC-A so I decided to have a father-and-son talk with my dad about the legendary camera, hoping he might be impressed enough to buy me one. My plan backfired as he told me he already has a Soviet product in his collection, being a camera enthusiast himself.

    6
  • Agfa CT Precisa (35mm, 100 iso) user-review

    written by lomodirk on 2008-10-03 in #reviews
    Agfa CT Precisa (35mm, 100 iso) user-review

    WOW!!! What to say more about this film? Famous as big-ones like Elvis, the Pope, Lenin and Ronald Reagan together. The most gazed engineering marvel Agfa ever produced till their end.

    3
  • Nimslo 3D Camera

    written by shhquiet on 2008-10-02 in #reviews
    Nimslo 3D Camera

    Nimslo 3D was released in 1980 and in 1982 it was presented in Cologne, Germany, at the Photokina exhibition. The camera was described as “a great advance in photography” but the sales where very low and the camera was discontinued in 1990.

    12
  • Yashica Electro 35GTN

    written by iamwen on 2008-10-02 in #reviews
    Yashica Electro 35GTN

    A black version of Yashica Electro 35 GSN with aperture priority. I guess everyone have heard of rangefinder camera. But I don’t think everyone know how it function exactly. Rangefinder cameras allow the photographer to measure the distance precisely and capture a photo which is sharp in focus. In the center of viewfinder, you will see two images, when object is in focus; the two image will overlapped and become one image as you turn the focus ring. So, let me introduce the Yashica Electro 35GTN range finder camera to all of you!

    6
  • Colours, Love, Motion and My Colorsplash

    written by adi_totp on 2008-10-02 in #reviews
    Colours, Love, Motion and My Colorsplash

    Colorsplash?Colorsplash? color and splash? splash the color or colouring the splash? I don't know. Well, about this camera you all know this camera is so fashionable for its white body, I got mine white. I just remember seeing this cool camera in a magazine. "what the hell is that white eyecatching camera?" then I started to search it in google. That lead me to another world of lomography. COLOUR SPLASHING YOUR WORLD!! Your world, my world and this colourful world.

    3
  • The Special Smena 8M For Children!

    written by anglemort on 2008-10-01 in #reviews
    The Special Smena 8M For Children!

    There is an unknown camera in the “Lomo meccano erector set”. It's a cam made for children from 8 to 14 years old, during the 70’s. This cam is a sort of mix beetween a Smena 8M and a USSR panzer, made for children. Let me introduce you the Meccano erector set cam!

    12
  • Fuji Sensia (35mm, 100 iso) user-review

    written by eazy360 on 2008-10-01 in #reviews
    Fuji Sensia (35mm, 100 iso) user-review

    sensual-sensia: An LC-A, a Colorsplash Flash and a roll of Fuji Sensia make a wild party threesome.

    1
  • Ilford Pan F + (120, 50 iso) staff-review

    written by d_i_d on 2008-09-30 in #reviews
    Ilford Pan F + (120, 50 iso) staff-review

    This is something very special: an ISO 50 film showing almost no grain. If image quality is a priority over film speed, count on the PAN F+ to yield excellent images with fine detail and undetectable grain.

  • Love at First Sight - The Fisheye

    written by butter on 2008-09-30 in #reviews
    Love at First Sight - The Fisheye

    170-degrees of beauty in every shot. Easy to load, shoot, and unload. It was a relief! I had been so engrossed in digital photography that this whole world of quirky and strange photos had completely evaded me up to that point. This camera has been the most fun I have ever had with a camera. I bring it to parties, get-togethers, even just on walks. Every time I press the shutter button I feel as if I have created a magnificent work rivaled by no other photos.

    5
  • Ilford Delta 400 (35mm, 400 iso) staff-review

    written by d_i_d on 2008-09-30 in #reviews
    Ilford Delta 400 (35mm, 400 iso) staff-review

    This is such an amazing black and white film: fast speed, well controlled highlights and very nice shadow detail. Wide exposure latitude makes the DELTA 400 perfect for almost all types of photography: outside, inside, studio, landscape or portrait. If you’re interested in black and white, this is definitely a must!

  • Ilford FP4+ (35mm, 125 iso) user-review

    written by eagleye_slives on 2008-09-30 in #reviews
    Ilford FP4+ (35mm, 125 iso) user-review

    A beautiful black and white film for sunny days! Also has a very notable grainyness that is somehow rough and at the same time very sharp even if you have it printed on a larger scale.

    1
  • Lomography RedScale (35mm, 100 iso) staff-review

    written by d_i_d on 2008-09-29 in #reviews
    Lomography RedScale (35mm, 100 iso) staff-review

    What we have here is nothing short of a ground-shaking and hand-clapping revolution in analog photography. This is the world’s very first pre-loaded and ready-to-shoot RedScale film – designed to re-cast your image in a sea of powerful and seriously intense red, orange, and yellow tones.

    10
  • Beier Beroquick

    written by shhquiet on 2008-09-27 in #reviews
    Beier Beroquick

    The Beroquick is the export version of the popular Beirette camera - an easy-to-use plastic camera from the German Beier factory. Among the huge East German optical production, there's one factory that produced a very simple and popular camera: the Beirette.

    7
  • Lomography Diana+ - Staff Review

    written by shhquiet on 2008-09-27 in #reviews
    Lomography Diana+ - Staff Review

    A faithful reproduction of the '60s iconic camera of the same name, the Diana+ retains the best features and offers an all-new functionality. Back in the 1960s, a plastic camera made waves in Hong Kong. It was called the Diana - a lightweight medium-format camera manufactured by the Great Wall Plastics factory. It was inexpensive and easy to use, and can produce dreamy, soft-focus images that lo-fi enthusiasts go crazy about. The Diana was such a big hit, inspiring rival companies to make copies and knock-offs of the iconic camera.

    2
  • Hooked on the Fish

    written by halfawakehaiku on 2008-09-27 in #reviews
    Hooked on the Fish

    Ridiculously fun, absolutely flexible and always dependable. I bought a Fisheye 2 Camera a year ago. It was supposed to be a platform for catharsis and the vehicle that would introduce me to the wonderful world of Lomography. Now countless rolls later and an arsenal of cameras at hand it remains to be the closest one to my heart.

    3