More Recent Articles in #reviews

  • Kodak Ektachrome EPR (35mm, 64 iso) user-review

    written by dotdotdot on 2008-10-29 in #reviews
    Kodak Ektachrome EPR (35mm, 64 iso) user-review

    Be blown off by the crazy saturation of this Kodak slide when xpro-ed! My new favourite slide to cross process is the Kodak Ektachrome EPR 64!

    4
  • Kodak Ektar (35mm, 100 iso)

    written by ouroborosx on 2008-10-29 in #reviews
    Kodak Ektar (35mm, 100 iso)

    One of the most promising little bits of news over the past year that proves analogue photography is alive and well is the announcement by Kodak of a brand new 35mm color film coming out this year.

    10
  • Kodak Ektar (35mm, 100 iso) staff-review

    written by ouroborosx on 2008-10-29 in #reviews
    Kodak Ektar (35mm, 100 iso) staff-review

    One of the most promising little bits of news over the past year that proves analogue photography is alive and well (besides the excitement and passion we see here every day) is the announcement by Kodak of a brand new 35mm color film coming out this year.

    1
  • Tokyo Gratzy Parade (35mm, 100 iso) user-review

    written by iamwen on 2008-10-28 in #reviews
    Tokyo Gratzy Parade (35mm, 100 iso) user-review

    A limited edition film produced by Tokyo Gratzy.

    5
  • Cosina AF 35: The "Autofocus Experience"

    written by vicuna on 2008-10-27 in #reviews
    Cosina AF 35: The "Autofocus Experience"

    One month ago I was surfing on the internet looking for new cameras and searching information about camera history, and my eyes were caught by a really nice camera: the Cosina AF-35 "Visitronic". The brand Cosina made me immediately think to the history of LCA (as the Cosina CX2 inspirated the conception of the legendary Lomo Compact Automat...) and attracted me of course. But I was also very interested in the "autofocus" system from a late 70's (apparently 1977-78) camera called "Visitronic".

    5
  • Rollei Retro (120, 100 iso) user-review

    written by lomodirk on 2008-10-27 in #reviews
    Rollei Retro (120, 100 iso) user-review

    It rocks: The Rollei Retro is the real successor of the legendary Agfa APX. Black and white photographers will love it for its fine grain and the perfect copies of life

    1
  • Party With The Fisheye

    written by laineyrocks on 2008-10-27 in #reviews
    Party With The Fisheye

    The world's first compact 35mm camera with a fisheye lens, a whole 170 degrees lens that takes in as much as possible, and with a built in flash the possibilities of this camera is endless. Use it when you are just out and about, at parties, day or night and with it being extremely light its easy to carry around with you.

  • LC-A PLUS - I like you!

    written by mephisto19 on 2008-10-26 in #reviews
    LC-A PLUS - I like you!

    six pluses and one minus = five stars. LCA plus has, as her name suggests, some plus features. But let’s start with the basics: It is the same light weighing camera (even more light), same sizes. The distance goes from 0,8 meters up to infinity. The lens is still minitar 32mm, but made in china (you can see it is a bit red when the russian lens is bluish). The aperture is fix at 2,8. You have a hotshoe.

    1
  • 1950s Agfa Clack

    written by graefin on 2008-10-26 in #reviews
    1950s Agfa Clack

    The Agfa Clack was introduced in 1954 and built until 1965 by Agfa in Germany. The camera uses 120mm medium format film and creates pictures that are 6 to 9cm wide (so not the usual square pictures but landscape!). You get 8 pictures on one roll of medium format film, and those negs are HUGE!

    3
  • Fuji Velvia (35mm, 100 iso) user-review

    written by nakolb on 2008-10-26 in #reviews
    Fuji Velvia (35mm, 100 iso) user-review

    Velvia Attack: This was my first slide film ever that i had cross processed.. in the end the results were pretty awesome and totally blew me away!!!

  • Welta Belmira

    written by vicuna on 2008-10-26 in #reviews
    Welta Belmira

    My quest for finding the best and most beautiful cameras from the former east german republic, let me discover a very special and unusual camera named "belmira" produced by the Welta. The cameras is known also under the name of "Belca Belmira". In fact the camera was first produced by the" VEB Belca Werk" from 1953 to 1958 and then, after the integration in a new industrial structure, was continued by the "Welta Kamera-Werk Freital". Both entreprises came from Dresden, and were founded before the 1st world war and were re-organized after the 2nd war by the new DDR socialist régime. Welta itself was integrated in the VEB Pentacon after 1964...

    3
  • Hey Ho...Lomolitos!

    written by lomat on 2008-10-25 in #reviews
    Hey Ho...Lomolitos!

    My girlfriend Jo bought me a Lomolito with a red flash about four months ago. Wow, i was impressed at once! Its small, cool and cheap.

  • Colorsplash – The Party Camera Of Choice

    written by sadmafioso on 2008-10-25 in #reviews
    Colorsplash – The Party Camera Of Choice

    Nothing captures the woozy, manic memories of a great party like the Lomo Colorsplash. While others wash out the room with a blinding harsh white flash, you paint the moment in yellow streaks, glowing blue orbs and bright red faces. The Colorsplash has a thousand uses, but a party is where it truly comes into it’s own. Lightweight but strong, it’s something that can be held comfortably in one hand (preferably the one not holding a beer) as you wait for an opportunity to momentarily blind a fellow partygoer!

    1
  • Konica Chrome Centuria (35mm, 200 iso) user-review

    written by butter on 2008-10-25 in #reviews
    Konica Chrome Centuria (35mm, 200 iso) user-review

    A Little Surprise! I picked up some of this film on a whim. I had never tried to cross process film before and didn't really have any clue which film to use, so I just picked up the cheapest thing that said "slide" on it.

    6
  • Lomo LC-A - Loveliest Camera Alive

    written by mephisto19 on 2008-10-25 in #reviews
    Lomo LC-A - Loveliest Camera Alive

    The classic lomo camera and the reason why we all are here! The Lomo Compact Automat is my all day camera. It has a reason why this camera started a new way of photography. One of the reasons is Minitar- lens, a 32mm russian lens that produces a vignette (the corners are getting darker, so you have a focus on the middle of the picture) and that lets colours explode. The original LCA has a automatic exposure (app 2.8) with five different asa- settings (25 to 400) so you can shoot with her in ANY light- conditions. If you want, you can add a hotshoe- flash (like colorsplash flash with its four changeable colour- filters). The original LCA has different apperatures (A = automatic (2,8), 2,8 – 16) with fix exposure times (good if you want to use a flash for portraits, so use 16- setting and you can get close without overexposing the face).

    2
  • Lomography Oktomat: 8 Choice Cuts

    written by fuzztone04 on 2008-10-24 in #reviews
    Lomography Oktomat: 8 Choice Cuts

    I'm really into experimental films and directors, so I've always wanted something that I could create my own films with;plus I kind of fancy myself a film director. After having bought my Holga and several other cameras that I learned some technique on, I had heard people throughout the Lomography community talking about the 8 lens wondercam, Oktomat. I had checked out the Oktokino and saw what the Oktomat could do, and I had to get one.

    1
  • Horizon Kompakt is Magic!

    written by vicuna on 2008-10-24 in #reviews
    Horizon Kompakt is Magic!

    When I discovered Lomography, I immediately felt in love with the Horizon Kompakt camera. Wow, what stunning pics this camera could produce, I couldn't stop thinking and dreaming about it! But I couldn't afford this camera at the time and hoped to save enough money to buy one in the future.

    5
  • Ilford XP2 (35mm, 400 iso) user-review

    written by louvetau on 2008-10-24 in #reviews
    Ilford XP2 (35mm, 400 iso) user-review

    Some people say B&W is not Lomography. There may be nice images done on Holga but that's all about it. True lomostyle is in colors. In bright colors. And cross process is a king there. Well, I wouldn't be so narrow-minded...

    5
  • Lomography Lomolitos - Staff Review

    written by shhquiet on 2008-10-23 in #reviews
    Lomography Lomolitos - Staff Review

    Compact-sized and colorful, the Lomolitos single-use cameras preloaded with 24 exposures of color film and an integrated colorflash. It offers convenience and fun at an affordable price. These lightweight analog babies which come in four colors (red, green, yellow, and blue) allow you to add a burst of color with its built-in colorflash. It works great as a fill-in flash during daytime, and a more intense colorsplash during the nighttime.

    1
  • Kodak Elitechrome ED (35mm, 200 iso) user-review

    written by nat-errant on 2008-10-23 in #reviews
    Kodak Elitechrome ED (35mm, 200 iso) user-review

    The 200 Blues: When Elitechrome 100 is 100 short of your lofty Lomographic ambitions, try its understated cousin for rich blue tones.

    3
  • Lubitel 166+ - Old Lubitel with Plus Features

    written by mephisto19 on 2008-10-23 in #reviews
    Lubitel 166+ - Old Lubitel with Plus Features

    Compared to the older models, the new Lubitel166+ has many more features. It became more easy to shoot with her and is a great twin lens camera!

    7
  • The Pop 9: Golden* 9Eye is Watching You!

    written by agrimony on 2008-10-22 in #reviews
    The Pop 9: Golden* 9Eye is Watching You!

    There are lots of plastic beauties featured with four lenses, even with eight lenses, which show you moves and bring some action into your life. Among all these plastic fantastic cameras there is one with a little eccentric touch – the golden 9eye! She’s the static queen and pictures a moment of calm 9 times. This means that to shoot one object looks like a fantastic design and that’s why it is almost impossible to mess up a photo. It is often a big surprise to see the results of your film – even when you think that you took some shots which do not live up with your high expectations.

    6
  • Lucky Super 200 (35mm, 200 iso) user-review

    written by halfawakehaiku on 2008-10-22 in #reviews
    Lucky Super 200 (35mm, 200 iso) user-review

    Lucky I'm in love! Giving the brand-named rolls a run for their money!

    8
  • Efke KB100 (35mm, 100 iso) user-review

    written by brendend on 2008-10-22 in #reviews
    Efke KB100 (35mm, 100 iso) user-review

    A Croatian film that's truly old school, bursting with silver and yields amazing grey tones.

    5
  • Agfa APX (35mm, 100 iso) user-review

    written by trabantdeluxe on 2008-10-21 in #reviews
    Agfa APX (35mm, 100 iso) user-review

    Of all the black and white films I have used (and yes, there have been many), Agfa APX 100 is my favourite one of all.

    2
  • Voigtländer VF101

    written by vicuna on 2008-10-21 in #reviews
    Voigtländer VF101

    Searching through the internet what kind of new camera I could buy, I caught a sight of a nice rangefinder camera branded Voigtländer. The magic name of this optical factory and my desire for a cool semi-automatic rangefinder camera convinced me to buy this Voigtländer VF101. After a few researches I found out a mathematic formula for this camera: "Voigtländer + Zeiss Ikon + Rollei = VF101" – wow - that sounds a strange combination! How did these 3 prestigious names of German camera producers go together to produce this little tiny and sweet VF101 (who has also a twin-sister called Zeiss Ikon S312)... well, that needs a little history lesson ...

    5
  • Fuji Neopan (35mm, 1600 iso) user-review

    written by petunia on 2008-10-20 in #reviews
    Fuji Neopan  (35mm, 1600 iso) user-review

    Fast and Loose Fuji! Regarded as the photojournalist's choice where high-speed shooting (and developing) was a priority in the days before digital, Fuji Neopan 1600 is still the film lover's preference when capturing street and portrait photos under pretty much any lighting conditions.

    1
  • Fuji Astia (35mm, 100 iso) user-review

    written by jhunnie on 2008-10-20 in #reviews
    Fuji Astia (35mm, 100 iso) user-review

    I was so shocked the moment I saw the outcome of the Fuji Astia, I already fall for it!

    5
  • Vivitar Ultra Wide & Slim

    written by plasticniki on 2008-10-19 in #reviews
    Vivitar Ultra Wide & Slim

    You won't believe the results you get with this 100% plastic camera. I bought my Vivitar Ultra Wide & Slim (known as a 'Viv' in some circles) from eBay after years of lusting after one. It has everything required for anyone with a good eye to become an amazing photographer: absolutely no control over anything, fixed exposure/aperture/focus, no battery or flash; just put a film in and away you go.

    4
  • Agfa Clack

    written by agrimony on 2008-10-19 in #reviews
    Agfa Clack

    The Agfa Clack camera was produced from 1954 until 1965. It uses 120 mm film and is part of the Agfa box series – several kinds of cameras designed like a box which were inexpensive and easy to use for everybody. After I had unpacked my Agfa Clack camera I almost had to laugh because of its unusual and somehow funny look – it is the big black teddy bear among all my other analogue cameras. I found it on an online auction for 8€.

    5