More Recent Articles in #reviews

  • Lomo LC-A Refurb

    written by zulupt on 2008-11-17 in #reviews
    Lomo LC-A Refurb

    The Lomo LCA is the camera that started the Lomography movement in 1995, based upon Cocina CX-1, it was made in Saint-Petersburg, in 1982 by LOMO factories (Leningradskoye Optiko Mechanichesckoye) but the production stopped in 2005, the “replacement” arrived in 2006, the LCA+.

  • Zero Image Pinhole Camera

    written by camerao on 2008-11-17 in #reviews
    Zero Image Pinhole Camera

    This camera is the one I like the most and use the most, (note my nickname: cameraO(bscura), because it brings you back to the roots of photography, and it is always a surprise, whats coming out when you have developed the film.

  • Kodak Kodachrome SW (35mm, 100 iso) user-review

    written by mephisto19 on 2008-11-17 in #reviews
    Kodak Kodachrome SW (35mm, 100 iso) user-review

    Upon seeing the label "Kodakchrome SW" I immediately got excited! I thought, "A black and white slidefilm?" (SW = schwarz weiß which means black and white). And so I asked the owner of the photostore about it and he answered “no, no, It means Satured Warm."

  • Canon AE-1: The Workhorse

    written by fuzztone04 on 2008-11-17 in #reviews
    Canon AE-1: The Workhorse

    Over this past summer, I took a Black and White photo class at my college. A week before the class I was panicking because I didn't have a 35mm SLR to use in the class. I work at Starbucks and one of my regular customers, Mike, happened to come in one day and I told him my problem. "I have this old Canon I don't use any more and I've been wanting to sell it. How about I let you borrow it and if you like it, you can buy it?" That sounded awesome to me. So long story short, Mike ended up just giving me the camera and 3 lenses for nothing(50mm f/1.8, 80-200mm Zoom f/4.5, and a 28mm f/2.8). This camera soon became my workhorse, and it never leaves my bag.

  • Zenit EM

    written by dogma on 2008-11-16 in #reviews
    Zenit EM

    Zenit - Solid as brick, precision as AK-47. Every lomographer should have on of those classic machines. I own Zenit EM. My brother was using it when he was a kid and now, after 20 years of waiting, my time has come. I could say that was love at first sight.

  • B.W. 100 (35mm, 100 iso) user-review

    written by cinzinc on 2008-11-16 in #reviews
    B.W. 100 (35mm, 100 iso) user-review

    Subtle and Rough: B.W., is that slide, negative, color, b&w? Yes its obviously black and white, and yes the brand is as easy to pronounce as utopia.

  • Yashica Samurai X3.0 – Half Format SLR

    written by lomodirk on 2008-11-15 in #reviews
    Yashica Samurai X3.0 – Half Format SLR

    I don`t know where I first heard of this camera, but it must be something like love at first sight. But it could have also been something like "This thing is so ugly, I got to have it!" Most people will think you have a film camera because of its futuristic look. The film will be transported vertical instead of horizontal, which gives you the normal landscape format. Other half frame cameras must be turned to upright format to get the result of an landscape format. Confused?

  • LC-A Refurbished: Can't Get My Hands Off You!

    written by iamwen on 2008-11-14 in #reviews
    LC-A Refurbished: Can't Get My Hands Off You!

    LCA is the camera i bring out everyday. The day without LCA in my bag i will feel weird, it is already part of my life. When i first join lomography, i bought a fisheye and a colorsplash. But as time goes by, i realized more and more people are using lomo LCA, and I asked, "What so great about this camera?", and i found out the reason very soon as i browse through other lomographer's lomohome. I found that the picture that taken by LCA are saturated in color and it is very contrast, and that is what I'm looking for.

  • Holga 135

    written by stinketier on 2008-11-14 in #reviews
    Holga 135

    The Holga 135 is the little brother (or sister) of the great classic and legendary Holga. The Holga 135 is a small plastic camera for 35mm films. This is the first big difference to the classic Holga. Another difference is, that the Holga 135mm is, of course, a bit smaller. But one thing is still the same, the plastic lens. You get really soft and dreamy pictures with this camera on a 35mm film, so you don't have to modify your old Holga.

  • Fuji Velvia (120, 50 iso) user-review

    written by ethermoon on 2008-11-14 in #reviews
    Fuji Velvia (120, 50 iso) user-review

    Viva la Velvia! A little blue here, a little green or yellow over there. We all have our own "color stories" but let me share to you this cute film: the Fuji Velvia (ASA 50)!!!

  • Kodak Elitechrome EBX (35mm, 100 iso) user-review

    written by lazyrabbit on 2008-11-14 in #reviews
    Kodak Elitechrome EBX (35mm, 100 iso) user-review

    X-Pro X-Pro X-Pro! When this film is developed normally it is punchy, when its cross processed it is mind blowing!

  • Be Lomo - Chaika II

    written by paper_doll on 2008-11-14 in #reviews
    Be Lomo - Chaika II

    Chaika II was produced by the Belomo factory in Belarus (then in the USSR) between 1967 and 1972. Chaika means “seagull”. It has the same camera body as the original, but with several minor changes.

  • Holga 120 WPC

    written by kylewis on 2008-11-13 in #reviews
    Holga 120 WPC

    Easy to use and hold no viewfinder, ultrawide panoramic image, versatile framing a typical Holga. Imagine your well loved Holga going through a mangle and what comes out is a sort of strange comic version of the original but twice the width. A recent addition to the ever growing world of Holga this fills another gap...a very wide one.

  • Actionsampler - 0,66 Seconds of Action

    written by babo on 2008-11-13 in #reviews
    Actionsampler - 0,66 Seconds of Action

    When I first saw this camera I didn`t think I would ever get one, since I thought that the Supersampler would be better, But now that I have both I don`t think that way! Actually, I would probably tell a lomo-newbie to get both of them, starting with the Actionsampler!

  • Fuji Press (35mm, 800 iso) user-review

    written by fuzztone04 on 2008-11-13 in #reviews
    Fuji Press (35mm, 800 iso) user-review

    I bought this film from Lomography as part of a Snatch! offer. It was cheap, expired and I was looking for a good color negative. How could I go wrong? That's everything a good Lomographer could want in a film. I recieved the film and eagerly tossed it into my Canon AE-1 and shot the town. When it was developed, I was pleasantly surprised by the results.

  • I love Authentic! The LC-A Refurb

    written by mantozauras on 2008-11-12 in #reviews
    I love Authentic! The LC-A Refurb

    Everybody agrees that Lomo LC-A is the Guru of lomography. Nobody at this site do not know what the secret letters LC-A mean. For me it is Lovely Creative Adventure. You are not merely shooting with this camera, you are having adventure. Each new roll of film tells a new story of your life.

  • Widepan Pro II - The Panoramic Monster

    written by lomodirk on 2008-11-12 in #reviews
    Widepan Pro II - The Panoramic Monster

    „What the f...?“ is the most common reaction of people I know. People I don`t know start to lapse in an everlasting gaze when they see this kind of monster. Sometimes I was asked if I am some kind of topographer and when you tell people that this is „just“ a camera follows the everlasting gaze again.

  • Konica Monochrome VX (35mm, 400 iso) user-review

    written by ethermoon on 2008-11-11 in #reviews
    Konica Monochrome VX (35mm, 400 iso) user-review

    Steady, all-around, pleasing grains and vibrant black and white film! Here's one of my favorite black and white film aside from the Ilford family!

  • Vivitar UWS: Livin La Vivi Loca

    written by strangelilgirl on 2008-11-10 in #reviews
    Vivitar UWS: Livin La Vivi Loca

    I’ve gotten a lot of experience with the Fisheye 2 and the Actionsampler, but I’ve been in want of something more, let’s say, traditional. Vignettes in the corners! Saturated colors! One lens producing a good-old rectangular photo! But funds are short and something like the LCA has to wait for Christmas, so what do I do to quench my thirst in the meantime? I’d heard about this “Vivi” and seen sample photos that, whether due to my inexperience with the LCA or the expertise of the photographers posting them, looked very reminiscent of that famous Minitar lens. Mix in some Diana softness and vignettes, add a splash of Fisheye-suggestive wide angles, and you’ve got some pretty impressive photos.

  • Fuji Superia (35mm, 1600 iso) user- review

    written by callumbum on 2008-11-10 in #reviews
    Fuji Superia (35mm, 1600 iso) user- review

    Great saturation but not as sensitive as you would think in low light conditions i would've thought that somehow needs the help of flash.

  • The Creative Cheki 50

    written by vtayeh on 2008-11-09 in #reviews
    The Creative Cheki 50

    The Fuji Cheki 50 is definitely the best party camera! This camera has reinvented instant photography with its wallet-sized shots, easy point-n-shoot functions and its sleek, silver looks; it’s surely going to make the top of your list too.

  • Fuji Astia (120, 100 iso) user-review

    written by ethermoon on 2008-11-09 in #reviews
    Fuji Astia (120, 100 iso) user-review

    Fuji Astia is Love! Still can't get the hang why maybe your shots from a Fuji film have not been turning out red. Well, you better try without hesitation the Fuji Astia 100! It's a reddish, full frame shot one after another!

  • Lomo Smena Symbol

    written by specialblewah on 2008-11-08 in #reviews
    Lomo Smena Symbol

    One of the most rare and easily the most handsome Smena of all time. Its 3-element glass Triplet lens yields eye-popping color saturation and contrast. Manual aperture, shutter, and focus settings. Sturdy all-metal construction feels solid and smells amazing! A flash hotshoe and weather-symbol-guided exposure wrap up the package. Made at Lomo PLC in the former USSR

  • Smena 8M - The Lomography Goodie!

    written by ethermoon on 2008-11-07 in #reviews
    Smena 8M - The Lomography Goodie!

    Advance film. Cock the shutter. Click! The sound of the ever famous Smena 8M which comes all the way from the 1970's! A low-tech toy camera is a fully manual camera and is a STARTER KIT for amateur photographers out there! With it's 40mm f/4 T-43 triplet lens, it gives your images a full blow of crisp and saturated colors!

  • Fuji Sensia (35mmm, 200 iso) user-review

    written by nakolb on 2008-11-07 in #reviews
    Fuji Sensia (35mmm, 200 iso) user-review

    This film gave my photographs a really awesome look. The blues were amazing, and I also got the golden yellows that I had seen in previous pictures. I shot this film during the Fall season and I think that is the best time because of all the Fall colors, and those crisp blue skies you get on a cold Fall day...

  • Nikonos V – The Ultimate Amphibious Camera

    written by stouf on 2008-11-07 in #people #reviews
    Nikonos V – The Ultimate Amphibious Camera

    The Nikonos V is an amphibious non-reflex 35mm camera. I’m proudly presenting here a review of a super-amazing camera: The Nikonos V. It’s ‘V’ (five) because it’s the fifth of its series (btw you should check the four previous versions, they’re very cute…). Nikonos must be a play on words between Mykonos (the Greek island) and Nikon… But I’m not so sure about that… It’s the first camera I ever bought; I was 16, and looking for a good underwater camera. Yes, I started photography by underwater photography (check the lomotip: “underwater Holga”)…

  • Fuji Neopan (35mm, 400 iso) user-review

    written by halfawakehaiku on 2008-11-06 in #reviews
    Fuji Neopan (35mm, 400 iso) user-review

    Capturing the Drama: Sharp, nice tones and very affordable!

  • Ilford FP4+ (120, 125 iso) user-review

    written by lazyrabbit on 2008-11-05 in #reviews
    Ilford FP4+ (120, 125 iso) user-review

    High Contrast: FP4 is a really nice, fine grain black and white film. Really good high contrast film!

  • Yashica 35-ME

    written by shhquiet on 2008-11-05 in #people #reviews
    Yashica 35-ME

    Yashica 35-ME was manufactured in 1973 by Yashica Co Ltd in Tokyo, Japan. This camera is a 35mm rangefinder, very solid and compact (24x36mm). Very easy to use, it has a distance indicator on the lower part of the viewfinder and a built in exposure meter which runs on one 1.3 V mercury battery and also appears on the right side of the viewfinder. The lens is a Yashinon f/2.8 38mm, the shutter is programmed set with speed range from 1/30 to 1/650 sec. The camera has an ISO/ASA selector, tripod thread, release cable thread, self timer and a flash hotshoe.

  • Be Lomo Chajka II Half-Frame camera

    written by rodrigomg1511 on 2008-11-05 in #reviews
    Be Lomo Chajka II Half-Frame camera

    This is a half-frame camera, 28mm (f2.8-16.0) focusing lens. Close focusing to 3 feet. PC contact, cable release connection and tripod socket. Exposure is strictly manual with no built-in meter or exposure guide. The shutter release button is on the front of the camera. It had a nice little film speed reminder on the bottom of the camera, but some people are confused by this and think that the camera has some sort of built-in meter! Despite its proto-typical flaws, it is a well-made camera.