More Recent Articles in #reviews

  • I love Authentic! The LC-A Refurb

    written by mantozauras on 2008-11-12 in #reviews
    I love Authentic! The LC-A Refurb

    Everybody agrees that Lomo LC-A is the Guru of lomography. Nobody at this site do not know what the secret letters LC-A mean. For me it is Lovely Creative Adventure. You are not merely shooting with this camera, you are having adventure. Each new roll of film tells a new story of your life.

    1
  • Widepan Pro II - The Panoramic Monster

    written by lomodirk on 2008-11-12 in #reviews
    Widepan Pro II - The Panoramic Monster

    „What the f...?“ is the most common reaction of people I know. People I don`t know start to lapse in an everlasting gaze when they see this kind of monster. Sometimes I was asked if I am some kind of topographer and when you tell people that this is „just“ a camera follows the everlasting gaze again.

    16
  • Konica Monochrome VX (35mm, 400 iso) user-review

    written by ethermoon on 2008-11-11 in #reviews
    Konica Monochrome VX (35mm, 400 iso) user-review

    Steady, all-around, pleasing grains and vibrant black and white film! Here's one of my favorite black and white film aside from the Ilford family!

    1
  • Vivitar UWS: Livin La Vivi Loca

    written by strangelilgirl on 2008-11-10 in #reviews
    Vivitar UWS: Livin La Vivi Loca

    I’ve gotten a lot of experience with the Fisheye 2 and the Actionsampler, but I’ve been in want of something more, let’s say, traditional. Vignettes in the corners! Saturated colors! One lens producing a good-old rectangular photo! But funds are short and something like the LCA has to wait for Christmas, so what do I do to quench my thirst in the meantime? I’d heard about this “Vivi” and seen sample photos that, whether due to my inexperience with the LCA or the expertise of the photographers posting them, looked very reminiscent of that famous Minitar lens. Mix in some Diana softness and vignettes, add a splash of Fisheye-suggestive wide angles, and you’ve got some pretty impressive photos.

    7
  • Fuji Superia (35mm, 1600 iso) user- review

    written by callumbum on 2008-11-10 in #reviews
    Fuji Superia (35mm, 1600 iso) user- review

    Great saturation but not as sensitive as you would think in low light conditions i would've thought that somehow needs the help of flash.

    2
  • The Creative Cheki 50

    written by vtayeh on 2008-11-09 in #reviews
    The Creative Cheki 50

    The Fuji Cheki 50 is definitely the best party camera! This camera has reinvented instant photography with its wallet-sized shots, easy point-n-shoot functions and its sleek, silver looks; it’s surely going to make the top of your list too.

  • Fuji Astia (120, 100 iso) user-review

    written by ethermoon on 2008-11-09 in #reviews
    Fuji Astia (120, 100 iso) user-review

    Fuji Astia is Love! Still can't get the hang why maybe your shots from a Fuji film have not been turning out red. Well, you better try without hesitation the Fuji Astia 100! It's a reddish, full frame shot one after another!

    3
  • Lomo Smena Symbol

    written by specialblewah on 2008-11-08 in #reviews
    Lomo Smena Symbol

    One of the most rare and easily the most handsome Smena of all time. Its 3-element glass Triplet lens yields eye-popping color saturation and contrast. Manual aperture, shutter, and focus settings. Sturdy all-metal construction feels solid and smells amazing! A flash hotshoe and weather-symbol-guided exposure wrap up the package. Made at Lomo PLC in the former USSR

    5
  • Smena 8M - The Lomography Goodie!

    written by ethermoon on 2008-11-07 in #reviews
    Smena 8M - The Lomography Goodie!

    Advance film. Cock the shutter. Click! The sound of the ever famous Smena 8M which comes all the way from the 1970's! A low-tech toy camera is a fully manual camera and is a STARTER KIT for amateur photographers out there! With it's 40mm f/4 T-43 triplet lens, it gives your images a full blow of crisp and saturated colors!

    1
  • Fuji Sensia (35mmm, 200 iso) user-review

    written by nakolb on 2008-11-07 in #reviews
    Fuji Sensia (35mmm, 200 iso) user-review

    This film gave my photographs a really awesome look. The blues were amazing, and I also got the golden yellows that I had seen in previous pictures. I shot this film during the Fall season and I think that is the best time because of all the Fall colors, and those crisp blue skies you get on a cold Fall day...

    2
  • Nikonos V – The Ultimate Amphibious Camera

    written by stouf on 2008-11-07 in #reviews
    Nikonos V – The Ultimate Amphibious Camera

    The Nikonos V is an amphibious non-reflex 35mm camera. I’m proudly presenting here a review of a super-amazing camera: The Nikonos V. It’s ‘V’ (five) because it’s the fifth of its series (btw you should check the four previous versions, they’re very cute…). Nikonos must be a play on words between Mykonos (the Greek island) and Nikon… But I’m not so sure about that… It’s the first camera I ever bought; I was 16, and looking for a good underwater camera. Yes, I started photography by underwater photography (check the lomotip: “underwater Holga”)…

    27
  • Fuji Neopan (35mm, 400 iso) user-review

    written by halfawakehaiku on 2008-11-06 in #reviews
    Fuji Neopan (35mm, 400 iso) user-review

    Capturing the Drama: Sharp, nice tones and very affordable!

    2
  • Ilford FP4+ (120, 125 iso) user-review

    written by lazyrabbit on 2008-11-05 in #reviews
    Ilford FP4+ (120, 125 iso) user-review

    High Contrast: FP4 is a really nice, fine grain black and white film. Really good high contrast film!

    1
  • Yashica 35-ME

    written by shhquiet on 2008-11-05 in #reviews
    Yashica 35-ME

    Yashica 35-ME was manufactured in 1973 by Yashica Co Ltd in Tokyo, Japan. This camera is a 35mm rangefinder, very solid and compact (24x36mm). Very easy to use, it has a distance indicator on the lower part of the viewfinder and a built in exposure meter which runs on one 1.3 V mercury battery and also appears on the right side of the viewfinder. The lens is a Yashinon f/2.8 38mm, the shutter is programmed set with speed range from 1/30 to 1/650 sec. The camera has an ISO/ASA selector, tripod thread, release cable thread, self timer and a flash hotshoe.

    2
  • Be Lomo Chajka II Half-Frame camera

    written by rodrigomg1511 on 2008-11-05 in #reviews
    Be Lomo Chajka II Half-Frame camera

    This is a half-frame camera, 28mm (f2.8-16.0) focusing lens. Close focusing to 3 feet. PC contact, cable release connection and tripod socket. Exposure is strictly manual with no built-in meter or exposure guide. The shutter release button is on the front of the camera. It had a nice little film speed reminder on the bottom of the camera, but some people are confused by this and think that the camera has some sort of built-in meter! Despite its proto-typical flaws, it is a well-made camera.

    2
  • Wide Pan Pro II 140 Test Drive

    written by ouroborosx on 2008-11-04 in #reviews
    Wide Pan Pro II 140 Test Drive

    Recently we had the very first "Wide Pan Pro II 140":http://shop.lomography.com/widepan/ returned to our office, because there was a slight problem with the 2-second setting. The good news is that everything else on the camera worked perfectly. So before sending this camera back to the lomo-doctor for a check-up, I decided to take it out for a test-drive and see what all the fuss is about.

    11
  • LC-A+ RL

    written by agrimony on 2008-11-04 in #reviews
    LC-A+ RL

    The LC-A+ RL camera is a small picture view-finder camera with an automatic exposure programme. For the operation of this programme the camera requires three button-cells (1,5V) and it is also featured with an electro mechanic shutter and an electronic exposure meter. The difference between the LC-A+ and the LC-A+ RL is that the LC-A+ RL has built in the original lens made in Russia and it is more expensive, in contrast does the LC-A+ have a lens produced in China.

    5
  • Lomo LC-A+ - Staff Review

    written by shhquiet on 2008-11-04 in #reviews
    Lomo LC-A+ - Staff Review

    Combining the best features of the original Russian Lomo LC-A and new features to accommodate accessories and multiple-exposure options, the LC-A+ offers unlimited creative possibilities.

  • Lomography X-Pro (35mm, 100 iso) user-review

    written by day3hugger on 2008-11-04 in #reviews
    Lomography X-Pro (35mm, 100 iso) user-review

    For those of us who love vibrant colors and lots of contrast, but have a little trouble cross processing film (because the lab won't do it!), this is the perfect film.

    3
  • Fuji T64 Pro (35mm, 64 iso) user-review

    written by mantozauras on 2008-11-03 in #reviews
    Fuji T64 Pro (35mm, 64 iso) user-review

    Fuji T64 is a slide film for the professionals. But it doesn’t mean that you can’t use it! Do it!

    4
  • Is That A Lomolito In Your pocket, Or Are You Just Happy To See Me?

    written by dirklancer on 2008-11-03 in #reviews
    Is That A Lomolito In Your pocket, Or Are You Just Happy To See Me?

    Rule #1: Take your camera everywhere. With Lomolitos, you've run out of excuses. I found a handful of Lomolitos on sale at an Urban Outfitters store last winter, so I picked up a few: red, yellow, and green. My lovely wife raised her eyebrows when she saw them, but when it comes to cameras, she doesn't try to reason with me anymore... There are two things about these little gems that make them so totally awesome.

    4
  • Horizon Perfekt - Perfect Choice

    written by grad on 2008-11-02 in #reviews
    Horizon Perfekt - Perfect Choice

    So what's all the fuss about you ask? This little beauty (yes there's no other way to describe this camera) is something to cry about, or at least shout about! Just walking down the street with one is enough for you to get celebrity status (not that's what we're after).

    5
  • Kodak Ektachrome EPP (35mm, 120 iso) user-review

    written by weechonghooi on 2008-11-02 in #reviews
    Kodak Ektachrome EPP (35mm, 120 iso) user-review

    Loading a Kodak Ektachrome EPP in my LCA+ while I was still new in the Lomo world...

    5
  • Lucky Super 200 (35mm, 200 iso) user-review

    written by evev on 2008-11-01 in #reviews
    Lucky Super 200 (35mm, 200 iso) user-review

    "Lucky Super new 200 Color Film can reproduce clear details of the objects and their texture with sharp color" - this is what its says on the box of this film and i must say it is all true.

    1
  • Holga 120 CFN - The Ultimate Experiment

    written by agrimony on 2008-10-31 in #reviews
    Holga 120 CFN - The Ultimate Experiment

    The Holga 120 CFN camera is – as its name suggests – a medium format camera which uses 120 film. It has a built in colour flash which means that you can take pictures in the colours yellow, blue and red but also natural coloured ones. Because of the flash you need two AA batteries. The first Holga camera was built in 1982 in China.

    3
  • Agfa RSX II (35mm, 50 iso) user-review

    written by mephisto19 on 2008-10-31 in #reviews
    Agfa RSX II (35mm, 50 iso) user-review

    Wow! How surprised I was finding this kind 35mm film in a store. Of course it was already expired for almost a year, but who cares...

    11
  • Ilford HP5 (35mm, 400 iso) user-review

    written by strangerous on 2008-10-30 in #reviews
    Ilford HP5 (35mm, 400 iso) user-review

    Nice contrast and grain, definitely one of my new favorites!

    3
  • Konica Chrome Centuria (35mm, 200 iso) user-review

    written by ethermoon on 2008-10-29 in #reviews
    Konica Chrome Centuria (35mm, 200 iso) user-review

    Grain your Shots! Classy, lovely, and nostalgic. Talk about those wonderful ideas of giving grains in your shots!

    6
  • Fuji Cheki 55 -Staff Review

    written by shhquiet on 2008-10-29 in #reviews
    Fuji Cheki 55 -Staff Review

    Instant photography fans mourned over the loss of Polaroid. Luckily, Fuji saved the day with their Fuji 'Cheki' line of instant cameras. The Cheki 55i is the most sophisticated of the 'Cheki' family with its' unique features.

    2
  • Lomography Diana F+ - Staff Review

    written by shhquiet on 2008-10-29 in #reviews
    Lomography Diana F+ - Staff Review

    If the Diana+ is the faithful reproduction of the 1960s Diana, then the Diana F+ is the improved version of the Diana+ - equipped with the talent to 'flash.'

    2