More Recent Articles in #reviews

  • AMI 66 - The Polish Holga

    written by camerao on 2008-12-07 in #reviews
    AMI 66 - The Polish Holga

    The AMI 66 is a toy viewfinder camera made of plastic during the communist era By the polish firm Warszawskie Zaklady Fotooptyczne WZFO.

    13
  • Kodak Ektachrome SW (35mm, 100 iso) user-review

    written by nat-errant on 2008-12-06 in #reviews
    Kodak Ektachrome SW (35mm, 100 iso) user-review

    Yet another gift from a film photographer-turned-digital enthusiast, this roll was long since expired when I received it, having spent many a year at the very bottom of a dark, cluttered closet before being unearthed and handed over.

    3
  • The Actionsampler: Quadruple Fun! - Staff Review

    written by cruzron on 2008-12-05 in #reviews
    The Actionsampler: Quadruple Fun! - Staff Review

    They say quality is better than quantity but what if you could have both? Rather, what if you could have 4x the fun in one neat little package? The actionsampler is what you’re looking for!

    1
  • Olympus XA-2 The Street Shooter

    written by specialblewah on 2008-12-05 in #reviews
    Olympus XA-2 The Street Shooter

    The XA-2 is a very compact 35mm camera capable of producing high-quality photographs. It features a timer, focus control, and manual ASA settings. Optional accessories include a flash, tripod, and case. It was made during the 1980s. I bought this cute, unloved camera secondhand in the flea market before I knew the difference between an XA and an XA-2. It still turned out to be a competent zone focusing snapshot camera. I carried it in my glove box for several years where it earned some cosmetic scratches to it's revolutionary camshell case but in all that time of extreme temperatures and constant jostling as my car camera it never failed me.

    3
  • Fuji Velvia (120, 100 iso) user-review

    written by evev on 2008-12-04 in #reviews
    Fuji Velvia (120, 100 iso) user-review

    Don't judge if you haven't tried this first! How Fuji Velvia was made? I don’t know but I’m quite sure it was made with something more special than sugar and spice!

  • Kodak Ektachrome E200 (35mm, 200 iso) user-review

    written by louvetau on 2008-12-04 in #reviews
    Kodak Ektachrome E200 (35mm, 200 iso) user-review

    This film does indeed live up to its reputation and so far it produces very saturated yet accurate color with low grain.

  • Fuji Pro (120, 160 iso) user-review

    written by ethermoon on 2008-12-03 in #reviews
    Fuji Pro (120, 160 iso) user-review

    When it comes to your Holga, one thinks about those lovely slide textures, colourful pictures with dark vignettes that encircles around the magic of the slide film.

  • Holga 120 WPC

    written by mephisto19 on 2008-12-03 in #reviews
    Holga 120 WPC

    Take two ordinary Holgas, stick them together with glue and make them as flat as the LCA and you have the dimensions of Holga 120 wpc. WPC? Ja, wide pinhole camera. And that is no lie!

    10
  • Lucky SDH (120, 100 iso) user-review

    written by jelga on 2008-12-03 in #reviews
    Lucky SDH (120, 100 iso) user-review

    Lucky loves Holga, Holga loves Lucky!

    2
  • Rollei Magic...Oh So Magical

    written by mblair23 on 2008-12-02 in #reviews
    Rollei Magic...Oh So Magical

    The Rollei Magic (1960-1962) is a delicious TLR with super powers including automatic exposures and incredible portrait-taking abilities.

    3
  • Fisheye2 with Ringflash : Colorful Dream

    written by weechonghooi on 2008-12-02 in #reviews
    Fisheye2 with Ringflash : Colorful Dream

    It is already great enough to shoot faces of people with my fisheye2, but this time, I would like to share lots of thoughts of mine of my experience shooting colorful pictures. My idea is to combine the power of Ringflash and my Fisheye2.

    3
  • Square Is All Around With The Holga!

    written by evev on 2008-12-01 in #reviews
    Square Is All Around With The Holga!

    If someone asks you what the best medium format camera is, I am sure that you will have only a second to reply him/her that it’s certain Holga 120. And if he/she asks you more about its lens, yes, you will say “a plastic lens is my favorite.”

    2
  • Paradies DIA 100 (35mm, 100 iso) user-review

    written by minicooper on 2008-12-01 in #reviews
    Paradies DIA 100 (35mm, 100 iso) user-review

    A jewel in the drugstore: Nice slides and cool for x-processing, available in some drugstores and it's cheap. What else do you need?

    1
  • Fuji Sensia 200 (35mm, 200 iso) user-review

    written by strangelilgirl on 2008-11-30 in #reviews
    Fuji Sensia 200 (35mm, 200 iso) user-review

    Another side of the rainbow: As a fan of Fuji Provia when it comes to cross-processing, I decided I wanted to try another variety of Fuji film and see just how similar or different my xpro results could be. Upon finding a roll of 200 speed Sensia that was a year expired, I decided that this discounted slide film would be a good one to try out. Although I was testing two variables at once here (a different kind of film as well as being expired) and therefore cannot say which results came from which factor, I can at least say that whatever the influence, the results were drastically different than what I’m used to!

    3
  • The Smena 8M: The Starter's Swiss Army Knife

    written by renelmacapagal on 2008-11-29 in #reviews
    The Smena 8M: The Starter's Swiss Army Knife

    Born in the 1970's the Lomo Smena 8M was created for the beginning lomographer in mind. It uses 35mm film and is made of fantastic plastic! Made for public consumption back then exported and shared around the world soon after.

    2
  • Kodak HIE Infrared (35mm, 25 iso) user-review

    written by xbalboax on 2008-11-29 in #reviews
    Kodak HIE Infrared (35mm, 25 iso) user-review

    Kodak HIE IR Black and White film is a high-speed film with high contrast and produces a nice haze effect.

    4
  • Chupa Chups Photo Pop

    written by gemma81de on 2008-11-28 in #reviews
    Chupa Chups Photo Pop

    The Chupa Chups Photo Pop is the perfect 35mm camera for toycam lovers and for Lomographers who don’t care about camera settings.

    9
  • Ilford Delta (120, 100 iso) user-review

    written by weechonghooi on 2008-11-28 in #reviews
    Ilford Delta (120, 100 iso) user-review

    It is not easy to find a good black and white film in my country, especially the 120 ones. However, I am lucky enough to joined a photography exhibition in Kuala Lumpur last month and stumbled upon various shots made with this film and it was love at first sight, so I bought some rolls of Ilfords back home.

    2
  • Olympus XA - 2

    written by ipdegirl on 2008-11-28 in #reviews
    Olympus XA - 2

    In these tough economic times it can be hard to part with your cash, even in support of your photography addiction. If you're longing for an LC-A but just can't scrape together the money, try an Olympus XA2, often called the 'Poor Man's LC-A"

  • The Supersampler - The Best Movie Camera in the World!

    written by evev on 2008-11-27 in #reviews
    The Supersampler - The Best Movie Camera in the World!

    1 2 3 4 tell me that you love the Supersampler more! It is the coolest movie camera I know. A 4-shot photo is a great and harmonious one. I love the vignettes in each short. It is fantastic!

  • Lubitel 166b - Bright Day Shooting

    written by deff1 on 2008-11-27 in #reviews
    Lubitel 166b - Bright Day Shooting

    Last year i was looking for something different, after completing a 3 year photography course, i was spent, however i felt the bug biting again. What could i do in photography that really was inspiring, different and definitely not digital!

    7
  • Ektachrome E200 (120, 200 iso) user-review

    written by azurblue on 2008-11-27 in #reviews
    Ektachrome E200 (120, 200 iso) user-review

    Ektachrome E200 is a slide film from Kodak which gives saturated colours, good highlights, shadow details, and nice skin tones.

    1
  • Pinhole Diana+

    written by azurblue on 2008-11-26 in #reviews
    Pinhole Diana+

    My very first pinhole, was a Diana camera. Not the vintage one, but the new Lomo release, the Diana+. This cam has something special: first, it's a Diana, second it's a pinhole: you can remove the lens, and take pics!

    8
  • Lucky Super 200 (35mm, 200 iso) user-review

    written by eazy360 on 2008-11-26 in #reviews
    Lucky Super 200 (35mm, 200 iso) user-review

    Go negative, think positive. This humble roll of color print film may be easy on your pockets (just a dollar a roll), but it can certainly pack a punch.

    8
  • Ricoh FF 1

    written by snisko on 2008-11-26 in #reviews
    Ricoh FF 1

    I found this little compact beauty in a shop for used cameras. I paid 200 swedish kronas for it, approximately 20 euros. It turned out to be worth every penny!

    6
  • Agfa's Little Black Box

    written by graefin on 2008-11-25 in #reviews
    Agfa's Little Black Box

    The Agfa Synchro Box or in short Agfa Box was thrown onto the German camera market back in 1949 and in production until the late 1950s. So you see, this camera is a very old one! It takes 120 medium format film and the images have a size of 6x9cm, either landscape or upright - depends on how you hold the camera. But the general handling of the Box allow rather upright than landscape pictures.

    5
  • Polaroid High Definition (35mm, 200 iso) User-Review

    written by dogma on 2008-11-25 in #reviews
    Polaroid High Definition (35mm, 200 iso) User-Review

    The last Mohican: I found this film really unexpectedly. Everything started that day when I discovered Lomography. I was browsing the lomography site and then in the shop I saw Smena Symbol. I somehow knew my parents used to have something like this camera, so I went down to our basement where all old stuff goes, and dug for it. After couple hours of hard searching I found it. Working and smelling fantastic! When I moved the the film advance lever I noticed the rewind crank moved too, meaning there is a film inside!

    4
  • Argus C3 "The Brick"

    written by dirklancer on 2008-11-25 in #reviews
    Argus C3 "The Brick"

    The Argus C3, a range finder camera affectionately known by its many lovers as "the Brick", is an artifact right out of the early mid-19th century machine age. The front of the camera is covered in gears, and it could easily pass for a highly specialized scientific measuring device at first glance. It is constructed of heavy Bakelite and metal, so you can guess that it's about as heavy as a brick...hence the nickname.

    10
  • Rollei 35, The Friend In Your Pocket!

    written by champi on 2008-11-24 in #reviews
    Rollei 35, The Friend In Your Pocket!

    The Rollei 35 is a compact, all metal and all manual 35mm camera. With it's retractable 40mm Tessar lens, it will be your perfect photographic companion, fitting one of your pockets anywhere you will go!

    8
  • Lomography RedScale (35mm, 100 iso) user-review

    written by tom_ashor_bhaan on 2008-11-24 in #reviews
    Lomography RedScale (35mm, 100 iso) user-review

    Saturday night´s fever: Taking pictures with ISO100 redscale negative at night with wide angle lens.

    7