Lomography CN 400 120 Review

1

The Lomography Color Negative 400 (120) is a great film no matter how the light conditions are. There is nothing to be said against trying it!

The Lomography CN 400 was my very first film I used with my Diana F+ . I chose it because it’s one of the cheapest films you can buy in the Lomography shop .

This film is a very versatile one. It can be used in many light conditions, on sunny days, cloudy days, in rooms… I am absolutely a beginner with analogue photography (except in my childhood when I photographed with an automatic camera) and I am also a clumsy person. That’s why I sometimes confounded the aperture settings. It happened that I used the full-clouds-aperture when the sun shined. But I had never got results which were over- or underexposed. I can definitely recommend this film to beginners!

And don’t forget the vibrant colors. The pictures always look good.
I have no real scanner, but rather photograph the negatives with light behind; after inverting, my pictures have a blue cast. I don’t have much experience, but in comparison with some negatives I had of yore, it is really easy to remove this cast with image processing applications.

All in all, you won’t make a mistake, if you’ll buy this film. The colors, the variety and the low price convinced me.

written by pfingstroeschen on 2011-09-12 in #reviews #film #review #120mm #lomography #lomography-cn-400 #color-negative #user-review #lomography-cn-400-120 #requested #400-iso #film-review #diana-f

One Comment

  1. kingt4
    kingt4 ·

    Good looking film.

More Interesting Articles

  • You Get More from Expired Lomography Color Negative 400 ISO 120 Film

    written by ncjom on 2014-11-05 in #reviews
    You Get More from Expired Lomography Color Negative 400 ISO 120 Film

    If you happen to come across an expired Lomography Color Negative 400 ISO 120 film pack, either in a store or on the Internet, get one and be ready for an exciting experience. You'll definitely get more from it!

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-04-06 in #gear #reviews
    Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    There are quite a few perks that come with working for a film photography company, and the best perk of all is testing out the latest cameras. I can remember buying my LC-A back in 2009 and being really inspired to shoot film again. When the LC-A 120 came along, I couldn't wait to try it out around London. Join me as I test out this super medium format beauty.

  • Shop News

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Done shooting and want your films to be processed? We can process your colour and black & white 35mm, 120 or 110 films! Development, prints and scans are also included. (Service availability depends on your markets)

  • Lomography LomoChrome Purple XR 100-400: My Take on Colors

    written by guanatos on 2014-11-14 in #reviews
    Lomography LomoChrome Purple XR 100-400: My Take on Colors

    The beauty of this film is in how it changes the colors we see. We all know that the big changes happen to the color green, but what about the other colors? Read on to see what I found out!

    2
  • Review: Lomography Color Tiger 200 110mm Film Really Roars!

    written by gothcupcake on 2014-07-07 in #reviews
    Review: Lomography Color Tiger 200 110mm Film Really Roars!

    Mary had the opportunity to take a ride in a hot air balloon and thought it was the perfect time to try out some Lomography Color Tiger 200 film!

    1
  • Those Stunning Silhouettes

    written by chooolss on 2014-05-07 in #lifestyle
    Those Stunning Silhouettes

    There are certain types of photographs that we lomographers just can't get enough of no matter how much we've already taken them. The silhouette is one of them, and the staggering number of such photographs that can be found in the alone community is a strong proof of its popularity.

    8
  • Shop News

    Fuji Instax Wide 300

    Fuji Instax Wide 300

    Shoot wider and bigger with this new instax camera that has film format twice the size of the instax mini films!

  • LomoChrome Purple XR 100-400

    written by simonesavo on 2014-06-17 in #reviews
    LomoChrome Purple XR 100-400

    The LomoChrome Purple XR 100-400 is a color negative film that uses false colors and gives your images an infrared effect. In fact, the greens turn to purple and yellows turn to pink. See how it fares on a photowalk after the jump.

    2
  • LomoChrome Turquoise Film: Transform Ordinary Photos Into Magical Scenes

    written by bgaluppo on 2015-04-07 in #gear #lifestyle
    LomoChrome Turquoise Film: Transform Ordinary Photos Into Magical Scenes

    LomoChrome Turquoise XR 100-400 is a regular color negative film which gives fantastic results. Color tones transform from one color spectrum to the next, and in turn, create wild and wonderful outcomes! Let this colorful gallery inspire you to try out our limited-edition film!

  • Station Noir: Black and White Photography in the Summer

    written by melwyn on 2014-08-29 in #lifestyle
    Station Noir: Black and White Photography in the Summer

    Summer is full of color so using black and white film might not be the first thing that comes to mind. Yet the summer sun works out beautifully on black and white film. Like to give it a try? I've come across the best light at the train station during rush hour!

  • Shop News

    Sit, Stash & Fold

    Sit, Stash & Fold

    Get both appealing LomoDices for your home! These cardboard cubes can be used for different things – they make great, stylish seats but you can also stash small items inside and fold them for storing!

  • Flashy Color Photographs Taken with the Lomo LC-A+ and Filters

    written by cheeo on 2014-06-26 in #lifestyle
    Flashy Color Photographs Taken with the Lomo LC-A+ and Filters

    Keep experimenting with your analogue shots and try out many different styles. This time, let these filter photographs from the community show you how easy it is to create images that are popping with effects and color!

  • I am a Mad Analogue Scientist: New Experiments with 35mm Films and Chemicals

    written by blackfairy on 2014-08-07 in #gear #tipster
    I am a Mad Analogue Scientist: New Experiments with 35mm Films and Chemicals

    Unfortunately, it happens sometimes that your resulting pictures are not what you expected - the image doesn't look that good, the colors are bland, and the subject is banal. Indeed, it couldn't be picture of the year! Herein I propose a second chance for your pictures by modifying your 35mm negatives. Just pick up some ideas from here, experiment, and scan your negatives with the Lomography Smartphone Scanner. Anything is possible: burning, scratching, putting on hydrochloric acid, balsamic vinegar, nail polish, bleach, or raspberry juice... use your imagination and write down your new film soup recipe! You can find a sample of the effects in this article.

    13
  • Expired Earl Grey: Does It Taste Nice?

    written by Xiang Cong Tham on 2015-02-22 in #gear #reviews
    Expired Earl Grey: Does It Taste Nice?

    A lot of lomographers have experienced using and even writing about the greatness of the Lomography Earl Grey black and white 35mm ISO 100 film. However, no one has written about using an expired Earl Grey film yet. How does it fare when it is used expired? Read on to find out more.

    2