Lomography CN 400 120 Review

1

The Lomography Color Negative 400 (120) is a great film no matter how the light conditions are. There is nothing to be said against trying it!

The Lomography CN 400 was my very first film I used with my Diana F+ . I chose it because it’s one of the cheapest films you can buy in the Lomography shop .

This film is a very versatile one. It can be used in many light conditions, on sunny days, cloudy days, in rooms… I am absolutely a beginner with analogue photography (except in my childhood when I photographed with an automatic camera) and I am also a clumsy person. That’s why I sometimes confounded the aperture settings. It happened that I used the full-clouds-aperture when the sun shined. But I had never got results which were over- or underexposed. I can definitely recommend this film to beginners!

And don’t forget the vibrant colors. The pictures always look good.
I have no real scanner, but rather photograph the negatives with light behind; after inverting, my pictures have a blue cast. I don’t have much experience, but in comparison with some negatives I had of yore, it is really easy to remove this cast with image processing applications.

All in all, you won’t make a mistake, if you’ll buy this film. The colors, the variety and the low price convinced me.

written by pfingstroeschen on 2011-09-12 in #reviews #400-iso #color-negative #film #120mm #lomography-cn-400-120 #diana-f #requested #film-review #user-review #review #lomography-cn-400 #lomography

One Comment

  1. kingt4
    kingt4 ·

    Good looking film.

More Interesting Articles

  • Lovely Squares Courtesy of the Lomography Color Negative 400 (120)

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-08-02 in #gear #news
    Lovely Squares Courtesy of the Lomography Color Negative 400 (120)

    Have a look at these bright and beautiful medium format photographs from the community shot with the Lomography Color Negative 400 for 120 cameras. While you're at it, find out how you can earn piggies and have your own CN 400 (120) snaps be featured on the Online Shop!

  • Lovely Squares Courtesy of the Lomography Color Negative 400 (120) Rumble Winners

    written by icequeenubia on 2015-08-10 in #people
    Lovely Squares Courtesy of the Lomography Color Negative 400 (120) Rumble Winners

    Looking for a versatile film that's suitable for all lighting condition? A roll of Lomography CN 400 (120) is all you need!

    6
  • Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-04-06 in #gear #reviews
    Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    There are quite a few perks that come with working for a film photography company, and the best perk of all is testing out the latest cameras. I can remember buying my LC-A back in 2009 and being really inspired to shoot film again. When the LC-A 120 came along, I couldn't wait to try it out around London. Join me as I test out this super medium format beauty.

  • Shop News

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    You want your subject be the center of attention? Petzval lens photos are recognizable for sharpness and crispness in the centre, strong color saturation, wonderful swirly bokeh effect, artful vignettes and narrow depth of field that will make your subjects stand out!

  • A Compilation of Lomo'Instant Stories

    written by Jill Tan Radovan on 2015-08-04 in #gear #news
    A Compilation of Lomo'Instant Stories

    There are many possible reasons for taking pictures. It could be to document an event, to capture breathtaking scenery, to preserve a fond memory, or simply, to have a snapshot of someone close to your heart. Whatever the reason, there's almost always a story behind a picture, no matter how significant or trivial it may be. And for lomographers, nothing beats the feeling of having that story unfold in your hand, in the form of a print. If you want a quick keepsake from that treasured moment or a snapshot of that special someone though, you can have it instantly, through Lomo'Instant Stories!

    2
  • Black and White Photography: The Forms of the World

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-01-19 in #world #lifestyle
    Black and White Photography: The Forms of the World

    Colors may be amped to look unreal, like nothing of this world. Shots may be doubled, cross-processed, post-processed, mixed up into collages. The possibilities are infinite, yet some photographers still prefer black and white. Even in 2016, it is an ode to classic values of precision and balance. Light and shadow must be one pleasing dance. And just like in a well-choreographed piece, forms are obvious or playing coy. It all depends on how you're looking.

  • Tipster: DIY X-Pro Redscale

    written by rancliffhasenza on 2015-09-27 in #gear #tipster
    Tipster: DIY X-Pro Redscale

    Browsing through the Lomography website, you can find a lot of redscale shots, which are all done on color negative films. I asked myself if it’s possible to redscale a slide or chrome film and then cross process it. (And yes, it is.) In this tipster I’m going to teach you how to create the bloodiest homemade redscale film I've ever come across.

    10
  • Shop News

    Check the New Super Sampler Black Panther!

    Check the New Super Sampler Black Panther!

    The ultra-lightweight, low-maintenance 35mm camera that fits perfectly in your hand for some wild and spontaneous shooting!

  • Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    written by pripri2000 on 2015-04-22 in #gear #news
    Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    Capture the world and all its contours in vibrant, wide-angled photographs any time, any where! The LC-A 120 is an adventure of its own with lots of exciting functions to experiment with, like seamless long exposures or full ISO control. It's also super-fast and ultra-compact - perfect for your everyday. If you're worried about the Medium Format film, don't be! You are free to use any 120 Film you want and there are plenty to choose from. In fact, that's what makes this camera so versatile! Scroll through this gallery for a little taste of the glorious shots this nifty invention is capable of.

    1
  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Lady Grey 400 (35mm)

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-09-27 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Lady Grey 400 (35mm)

    Its stunning tones, smooth grain, and overall elegant monochrome look have inspired fellow lomographers to pen odes of praise—well, reviews, actually. Find out how the Lomography Lady Grey 400 (35mm) fared right here.

  • LC-A 120 LomoAmigo: Michael Sullivan

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-05-08 in #people #lomoamigos
    LC-A 120 LomoAmigo: Michael Sullivan

    Gloucestershire-based photographer Michael Sullivan loves to shoot film. Recently Michael shot with the Lomo LC-A 120 loaded with color negative and Lomography Xpro Slide Film, and the results were quite fabulous. Meet the man behind the camera here.

    5
  • Shop News

    Explore the New Jupiter 3+

    Explore the New Jupiter 3+

    A resurrection from the zenith of Russian premium optics, get the same elegance and classic compact design as its predecessor. — available in small quantities on a first-come, first-served basis.

  • Trending LomoKino Movies of October 2015

    written by lomography on 2015-10-31 in #world #news #videos
    Trending LomoKino Movies of October 2015

    Creating a movie, no matter how short it is, requires a certain amount of discipline. For it to be coherent, one must keep his focus throughout the entire process - from shooting the scenes to editing the clips. With that, we are truly grateful for the effort that these lomographers put into making these LomoKino movies.

    4
  • LomoChrome Turquoise Film: Transform Ordinary Photos Into Magical Scenes

    written by bgaluppo on 2015-04-07 in #gear #lifestyle
    LomoChrome Turquoise Film: Transform Ordinary Photos Into Magical Scenes

    LomoChrome Turquoise XR 100-400 is a regular color negative film which gives fantastic results. Color tones transform from one color spectrum to the next, and in turn, create wild and wonderful outcomes! Let this colorful gallery inspire you to try out our limited-edition film!

  • Beautiful Sunlit Lomographs Courtesy of the Lomography Color Negative 100 (120)

    written by lomography on 2015-10-25 in #gear #news
    Beautiful Sunlit Lomographs Courtesy of the Lomography Color Negative 100 (120)

    Step inside to see our selection of brightly lit, colorful community-taken lomographs courtesy of the Lomography Color Negative for 120 cameras. While you're at it, find out how you can earn piggies and have your own photos be featured on the Online Shop!