Review: Fujicolor Natura 1600

5

One of the most expensive films I've ever tried; but at night it captures images as if it is daytime!

A couple of days before my trip to Macau, I was planning on what film to use. It was quite easy for daytime films; I used a couple of Sensia and Velvia. But what about at night? Macao is famous for its glitzy casinos and elaborately decorative hotel interiors that come alive at night. Using a 100 or 200 film will only make chances of getting sharp images less.

Fortunately, there was a Lomography shop near me that has got the Fujicolor Natura 1600. I read it somewhere that it was really rare, and was delighted to find it available. However, they don’t come cheap; for the price of one, I could have got 3 negatives films! I still went ahead and got 2 rolls, and eagerly packed them for the trip with my other films.

I used my LC-Wide in Macau with the other films during daytime. When evening was approaching, I could see the 2nd red LED light in the viewfinder illuminated (low light) and that is what I wanted to avoid for night shots. I quickly finished up the remaining shots, loaded in the Natura, and for the first time, turned the ISO dial to 1600. As I closed the back cover I can’t help but letting out a gleeful smile, as if a kid has just received his biggest ice-cream of his life.

I aimed around and pressed the shutter halfway to test the exposure; imagine my excitement when I only see one red light whenever I pointed! Generally, moderately-illuminated interiors and outdoors under street lights (or the casino neon lights) will surely be not a problem for the Natura. The few times when the 2nd red LED came on was when I aimed at dimly lit parks or the sky; but either way, its slow shutter speed is still manageable if you hold still enough or brace against something. Perhaps the wide angle of the LC-Wide helps too, as I can still shoot handheld at speeds as low as 1/20 seconds. Grains appear as expected, but surprisingly for me they are still in my acceptable range.

On the second night I didn’t manage to finish my Natura, hence I continue to shoot them the next morning, which would also give me a chance to test this film in daylight. I thought they would be overexposed but they didn’t, in fact they turned out brilliantly sharp and vivid. This film would do an excellent job in street photography as it will push the camera’s shutter speed and aperture to their best setting (if used with cameras with Automatic settings, e.g. LC-A+).

If you have the opportunity to try this film, go ahead! The experience you get when you have this feeling that you can shoot everything in your way is unbeatable. Of course you will have to pay for it, but treat it like a luxury once in a while; like dining in a high class Italian restaurant on your birthday!

written by shuttersentinel17 on 2011-09-02 in #reviews #fujicolor #1600 #iso #review #handheld #fuji #night #natura #lomography #user-review #requested

5 Comments

  1. nicolas_noir
    nicolas_noir ·

    Really great shots! Like you say, a little grainy (but acceptably so) in a few shots - the daylights shots are lovely though!

  2. feelux
    feelux ·

    Amazing photos! :)

  3. cutebun
    cutebun ·

    This is good! Will want to try it!

  4. inine
    inine ·

    How to set ISO on Camera /100 200 1600?

  5. violiet
    violiet ·

    Hi! I have just gotten an LC A+ and got this film. May i know for the day shot, do u set the iso setting to 1600 as well? :) Thanks very much for the reply!

More Interesting Articles

  • A Review of the Nikon F2

    written by alexintheskywithdiamonds on 2015-06-15 in #gear #reviews
    A Review of the Nikon F2

    Considered as one of the best 35mm SLR cameras, the Nikon F2 is indeed one of the best experiences on film I’ve ever had. Fully manual and almost impossible to break, this historic camera is really marvelous to use.

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • Film Experiments: In The Dark - The True Analogue Experiment

    written by mikekumagai on 2014-08-05 in #gear #tipster
    Film Experiments: In The Dark - The True Analogue Experiment

    Throwing chemicals, fire, and scratching emulsion are just a few ways of experimenting with film. But there's another process that completely destroys it (or, if you're lucky, creates something amazing), that is as spastic as a drunken man staggering his way home after a night at the pub - literally. And it all comes down to darkness.

    3
  • Shop News

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Done shooting and want your films to be processed? We can process your colour and black & white 35mm, 120 or 110 films! Development, prints and scans are also included. (Service availability depends on your markets)

  • Fuji instax Wide: The Impressive Instant Film

    written by ichdaschaos on 2014-11-03 in #reviews
    Fuji instax Wide: The Impressive Instant Film

    I've always wanted to have an instant camera, but what put me off were the expensive price of the film and the transience of the photos. But then I wasn't able to fight it any longer and bought myself an Instax Wide 210 set. Now, here is a review of the Fuji Instax Wide film.

    1
  • Transient Living: Armitage & McMillan in Denver, Colorado

    written by maliha on 2015-01-07 in #world #locations
    Transient Living: Armitage & McMillan in Denver, Colorado

    If you want to know the heart of a person, peek inside his/her wardrobe! And no, nobody famous said that; I only just made it up. But really, don't you think it's true? After all, the way we dress screams our personality; at least for most of us. And that is why, as soon as I land on a new city, one of the things I absolutely must do is find the local boutiques. Sure, I love the fancy chain boutiques as much as the next person, but there's just something else about a local clothing store. It's unique!

  • A Review of the Lucky Aerial 200 Film

    written by reiga on 2015-01-07 in #reviews
    A Review of the Lucky Aerial 200 Film

    For those of you who are still looking for good black and white film, you might want to try aerial film as it offers good contrast and tonality.

    2
  • Shop News

    The Lomography Experimental Lens Kit opens up a new, creative photographic domain!

    The Lomography Experimental Lens Kit opens up a new, creative photographic domain!

    Satisfy your hunger for creative snap-shooting with this lens package made especially for Micro 4/3 digital cameras! Don't miss the 20% discount!

  • Film Artist and Light Show Host Julian Hand

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-09-04 in #lifestyle
    Film Artist and Light Show Host Julian Hand

    Julian Hand is a film artist and visual projectionist for our latest LomoAmigos The Oscillation. He uses traditional analogue techniques to create swirling, trippy and beautifully tactile films and light shows. He uses Super 8 film, coloured inks, washing up liquid, soap and acetate to create these images and visuals. He embraces all things analogue! I brought an LC-A+, some 1600 ISO film and captured him at work.

  • Amazing Behind-the-Scenes Images of Filming MGM's Famous Logo

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-07 in #lifestyle
    Amazing Behind-the-Scenes Images of Filming MGM's Famous Logo

    If you've ever seen any movie, you're most likely already familiar with that logo of a roaring lion that usually precedes the films produced by this Hollywood giant. Check out these fascinating behind-the-scenes images, starring Leo the Lion!

  • James Wright's So It Goes x Sri Lanka Photo Diary (Part II)

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-04-07 in #world #locations
    James Wright's So It Goes x Sri Lanka Photo Diary (Part II)

    In December last year James Wright, editor and creative director of So It Goes Magazine, went on a two-week trip to Sri Lanka, "a place so long on our bucket list, but up until then, as yet unvisited," he writes on the first of his three-part photo diary. Herein is the second part of his series that chronicles his adventures, highlighted by a selection of breathtaking images of the Sri Lankan countryside and the locals, among many other images, captured with his trusty photographic companions: the Leica MP, Lomo LC-A+, and an assortment of films including the LomoChrome Purple.

    1
  • Shop News

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    You want your subject be the center of attention? Petzval lens photos are recognizable for sharpness and crispness in the centre, strong color saturation, wonderful swirly bokeh effect, artful vignettes and narrow depth of field that will make your subjects stand out!

  • Changing Seasons: Durham in Autumn

    written by odio-et-amo on 2014-09-10 in #lifestyle
    Changing Seasons: Durham in Autumn

    Durham is a beautiful but tiny university city in the north of England famous for its amazing cathedral, which is one of Britain's best loved buildings. When I was studying at the university, I loved to go for crisp, autumnal walks around the cathedral and the river, kicking the leaves and basking in the golden glow of the season. The Lomography Redscale film perfectly captures the beauty of this time of year.

  • James Wright's So It Goes x Sri Lanka Photo Diary (Part I)

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-03-31 in #world #locations
    James Wright's So It Goes x Sri Lanka Photo Diary (Part I)

    In December last year James Wright, editor and creative director of So It Goes Magazine, went on a two-week trip to Sri Lanka, "a place so long on our bucket list, but up until then, as yet unvisited," he writes on the first of his three-part photo diary. Herein is the first of his series that chronicles his adventures, highlighted by a selection of breathtaking images of the Sri Lankan countryside and the locals, among many other images, captured with his trusty photographic companions: the Leica MP, Lomo LC-A+, and an assortment of films including the LomoChrome Purple.

    2
  • Lubitel 166+: A Review By A Four-Month Newbie

    written by hervinsyah on 2014-09-10 in #reviews
    Lubitel 166+: A Review By A Four-Month Newbie

    Many thanks to Lomography for choosing me as one of the Win Your Wishlist Rumble 2013 winners. Now, I can finally try using this precious camera.