Review: Lomography Colour Negative 100

1

Not exactly the most versatile of films, but works like a charm when it does.

They arrive in the same black box of my LC-Wide – with the most adorable of cans I’ve ever seen to house them. It is a great decision from LSI to include 2 rolls of film for the user to start straight away, and I gladly used them as my first 2 rolls to try out the new camera.

The thing about ISO 100 films is that you sometimes worry if there is enough light to shoot in. If you’ve been shooting digital for quite some time before, you would know from experience that in certain lighting situations when to crank the ISO up to 200 or even 400; but right now I only had a 100 film and I can’t change that. That’s why films like the Ultramax 400 is popular as they can perform almost anytime before the sun sets.

Nevertheless, it is still great fun trying out long exposures and looking for places to rest the camera on – it gives opportunity to escape from the usual vantage point or eye level.

In bright sunlight, this film produced expectedly good images – colours are not exactly punchy but are natural enough; grains are not noticeable at a quick glance. Highlights and shadows are nicely balanced with not much contrast; basically almost can fool someone by saying it is shot from a digital camera. The same goes for images under a shade during daytime.

But what I love most are the results from indoor shots. If you can get your camera to be still during the slower shutter speeds, the film’s colour intensifies a bit, making the whole image a little richer. Night shots are great too, as the fine grains helped preventing the whole image becoming coarse.

Overall, this is a great traveling film if you are always on the street or outdoors. I’ve seen one of my friend’s photos from his trip to China using this film with his LC-A+ – he shoots almost exclusively under bright sunlight – and they are mind-blowing! But if you tend to shift between indoors and outdoors, it is better to get a 200 or 400 film. Or else, just try to keep your hands really steady!

Who says film is dead? Lomography’s got its very own emulsions to keep the fire burning! Visit the "Shop:http://shop.lomography.com/films/lomography-film and see which Lomography film is right for you.

written by shuttersentinel17 on 2011-08-31 in #reviews #colour #color-negative #film #natural #lomography-film #100 #lomography #review #film-photography #user-review

One Comment

  1. tomkiddo
    tomkiddo ·

    just bought a pack of these :) can't wait to try it out!

More Interesting Articles

  • My Review of the Lomography Color Negative 100

    written by simonesavo on 2014-12-27 in #reviews
    My Review of the Lomography Color Negative 100

    A bright day requires a film that highlights every color. The Lomography Color Negative 100 has fine grain and crazy tones that give your photos stunning color and exceptional sharpness.

    2
  • Playing with the Lomography Redscale XR 50-200

    written by cheeo on 2014-08-26 in #lifestyle
    Playing with the Lomography Redscale XR 50-200

    What do I like most about the Lomography Redscale XR 50-200 film, you ask? Its playful versatility.

  • Most Popular Photo Last Year: August 12, 2013

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-08-12 in #news
    Most Popular Photo Last Year: August 12, 2013

    A little birdcage right in the middle of a beach? Not a usual sight but its undeniable charm makes it a very pleasant one!

    3
  • Shop News

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Really want to bring your film photos to life? We’re now offering totally analogue fine art prints in a host of large sizes and formats! Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • The New Petzval Lens Through the Seasons

    written by Jill Tan Radovan on 2014-06-06 in #people #lifestyle
    The New Petzval Lens Through the Seasons

    The New Petzval Lens is not only known for its elegant brass exterior, but most importantly for the swirly bokeh effect it can bring to photographs. It makes a great portrait lens and performs exceptionally when taking photos of subjects against textured or lit backgrounds, day or night. And it does all these, in wet or dry weather; in any season – winter, spring, summer, or fall.

  • Tinker on the fly: A color filter made from spoiled film

    written by dopa on 2014-05-25 in #gear #tipster
    Tinker on the fly: A color filter made from spoiled film

    Probably each one of you has been annoyed with failed film. This is particularly annoying when you get the developed film back from the lab, but you get blanks because the film was not exposed. It's either the film transport didn't work, or you have not taken the lens cap off, etc. Read on and I'll show you an alternative to just throwing away the film: Simply use it as a color filter for your camera, with the La Sardina for example.

    3
  • Agfa CT Precisa 100: Simply Perfect For Street Photography

    written by abecd on 2014-08-28 in #reviews
    Agfa CT Precisa 100: Simply Perfect For Street Photography

    There are a lot of reviews about this film which mostly mention its blue hues, among other precious qualities. But do you know that it is also a perfect film for candid street photography?

    1
  • Shop News

    Shoot sharply with Oktomat Bullseye

    Shoot sharply with Oktomat Bullseye

    Shoot sharply without hurting your budget. At 30% off you can now experiment with 8 sequential shots in one 35mm print! Tell stories in 2.5 seconds with 8 scenes in one shot!

  • 18 Awesome Belair X 6-12 Squares

    written by shhquiet on 2015-03-13 in #gear #news
    18 Awesome Belair X 6-12 Squares

    Having a Belair X 6-12 feels like owning more than just one camera. It's a medium-format camera, but paired with its special accessories you can shoot 35mm or instant photos with it, too! The versatility of its 3 photo formats also offers more options to suit your shooting needs. Here, we present to you some of the most gorgeous Belair X 6-12 photos in classic 6x6 format. Enjoy!

    11
  • Photo of the Day by akula

    written by cheeo on 2014-10-07 in #news
    Photo of the Day by akula

    Burning your negatives sounds like a radical and crazy idea but akula certainly knows how to make it work. Let this photograph of a stuffed raccoon with colorful, candle-burned edges show you how its done!

    5
  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • Shop News

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • LomoChrome Purple XR 100-400

    written by simonesavo on 2014-06-17 in #reviews
    LomoChrome Purple XR 100-400

    The LomoChrome Purple XR 100-400 is a color negative film that uses false colors and gives your images an infrared effect. In fact, the greens turn to purple and yellows turn to pink. See how it fares on a photowalk after the jump.

    2
  • LomoKino: Life in Moving Pictures!

    written by adi_totp on 2014-08-21 in #reviews
    LomoKino: Life in Moving Pictures!

    I bought the LomoKino years ago, and since then I've been having great times with it. I will continue documenting my daily life with the LomoKino, which is Lomography in motion! You can see the movements and facial expressions of people - it’s priceless! Documenting life in moving pictures, the Lomokino can be used as a camera that not only shoots moving pictures but also works like the multi-frame wonder camera, Supersampler!

  • The Lomo'Instant x Diana+ Splitzer Tipster: Shoot Crazy Multiple Exposures in an Instant!

    written by tomas_bates on 2014-10-27 in #gear #tipster
    The Lomo'Instant x Diana+ Splitzer Tipster: Shoot Crazy Multiple Exposures in an Instant!

    We are always hunting for creative ideas on how to open up new shooting possibilities and it doesn’t get any better than when we discover something simple which works like a charm right away. Recently, the idea was raised that perhaps the Diana+ Splitzer would be compatible with the Lomo’Instant – Lo and behold, it is!

    1