Kodak Ektachrome Tungsten (35mm, 64 iso) user-review

13

Brrrr, is it getting cold in here?... How to the get that wintery look all year round.

This way another one of those random ebay purchases… but it was love at first click.

I am a big fan of Xpro, especially for the bright saturated colours and extra cheerfulness it gives to pictures however, Ektachrome 64T is a totally different beast….

It gives your pics the Tim Burton effect…. gone are the vivid reds and bright yellows, instead you get a murky cold world of blues and grays all rendered in a strong peppery grain. I have mostly used this film in bright sunny summer days and the results take you back to a bleak midwinter. Since it is not that sensitive, only at 64 ISO, bright sunshine is recommended. When i have tried it on bleak midwinter days the results weren’t really all that great, so the more light the better.

Thanks to the tungsten base, when used in sunlight the results came out with that extra blue-ness, but what I really like are the burned out whites that go with it….

So if you manage to get your hands on some, why not have a go at making your own Sleepy Hollow or Nightmare Before Christmas-esque photos with this film.

written by lolfox on 2009-02-24 in #reviews #film #35mm #kodak #blue #tungsten #x-pro

13 Comments

  1. cinzinc
    cinzinc ·

    nice review! shot #2 is funny. almost made me think it was a real afro.hehe

  2. kirri-joy
    kirri-joy ·

    this is really awesome! great shots. i picked up some of this on ebay, too, only in 120 format. i found some weird lights at the train station the other night, cant wait to see what tungsten film does with it :D

  3. wil6ka
    wil6ka ·

    tim-burton-lolfox ;)

  4. stouf
    stouf ·

    Whow well done, it's hard to get such good results with that film ...N°8 is awesome.

  5. maddyoulook
    maddyoulook ·

    coool

  6. adamscott
    adamscott ·

    Great review! Killer shots! Love the 2nd the tree makes you look like a clown ;) Big fan of lolfox BIG fan!

  7. eyecon
    eyecon ·

    I can´t choose a favorite from the gallery - all are great!

  8. vimalakirti
    vimalakirti ·

    your shots rock! 2 and 10 are grooving!

  9. saviorjosh
    saviorjosh ·

    nice gallery!
    my pic is #4. so cool!

  10. zekiyeayse
    zekiyeayse ·

    great review and amazing photos!! each and every one of them!

  11. fornoise
    fornoise ·

    did you cross these in C-41? great shots!

  12. skrutt
    skrutt ·

    Great review! Now I will wait with loading my camera with the film I bought on ebay! :D

  13. redfactor
    redfactor ·

    awesome shots, i like the “tree afro” too

More Interesting Articles

  • Most Popular User Blogs of 2014

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-12-28 in #news
    Most Popular User Blogs of 2014

    Aside from the Magazine, going through the User Blogs is another way to keep tabs on the latest happening in the community. Throughout the year, it was filled with articles on new discoveries, thought-provoking opinions, and exciting exhibits that surely entertained, challenged, and inspired everyone. Let's take a look back at the fruitful year through the most popular user blogs of 2014.

    3
  • Monday Moodboard: Rundowns and Resolutions

    written by chooolss on 2015-01-05 in #news
    Monday Moodboard: Rundowns and Resolutions

    It's that time of the year when we all take a moment to look back at the year that was, and list down our New Year's Resolutions. Here are mine - all related to analogue photography, of course!

  • How to Load and Unload Film with the Horizon Kompakt

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-16 in #lifestyle
    How to Load and Unload Film with the Horizon Kompakt

    Due to its built, getting your film into the Horizon Kompakt is a little different than in your usual 35mm camera. Not that it's tricky - allow us to show you how in this tutorial!

  • Shop News

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    At 25% off you can take dreamy 35mm images with this little black beauty. Beam coloured light into your shots with its accompanying Diana Flash Back accessory and be the analogue king of the night.

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • Marilyn Monroe and Tom Ewell in Publicity Stills for 'The Seven Year Itch'

    written by chooolss on 2014-09-27 in #lifestyle
    Marilyn Monroe and Tom Ewell in Publicity Stills for 'The Seven Year Itch'

    When it comes to Marilyn Monroe and "The Seven Year Itch," the first image that comes to mind is the actress' famous skirt scene. Well, here's another way to look at the iconic actress in this classic comedy film!

  • Top Shoutbox Users of 2014

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-12-28 in #news
    Top Shoutbox Users of 2014

    The shoutbox is always open for the community's honest opinions, surprising suggestions, and sweetest greetings. It is also an avenue for members from across different countries to dicuss and interact with one another. We'd like to commend these lomographers for keeping this humble space booming with entertaining conversations all year long. Congratulations to our top shoutbox users of 2014.

    5
  • Shop News

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Take a Look at the Five Stylish Years of the Diana Mini

    written by shhquiet on 2014-08-18 in #news
    Take a Look at the Five Stylish Years of the Diana Mini

    The Diana Mini is turning five years old this month! Through the years we have seen this sweet and petite 35mm camera transform from a classic analogue beauty to a blinged-out snapshooter and everything else in between. Remember the Love Letters edition? How about the Premier Cru? To refresh your memory here's a gallery of all the Diana Mini styles we've released in the past five years. Which among these limited edition Clones is your favorite?

    1
  • Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-03-29 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    The Pop 9 is an analog multilens wonder that allows you to take a mosaic of nine images in one frame à la Andy Warhol's famous pop art. In this Reviews on Rewind installment, we dug through our archives and found these informative reviews of the Pop 9 - just in case you're looking into snagging a fun camera in your arsenal!

  • Gallery Alert: ‘Kodak Camera at 125’

    written by cheeo on 2014-11-23 in #news
    Gallery Alert: ‘Kodak Camera at 125’

    Kodak cameras started a photography revolution that progresses to this day. See its evolution and 125 years of existence in this exhibit at the George Eastman House International Museum of Photography and Film.

  • Shop News

    The Lomography Experimental Lens Kit opens up a new, creative photographic domain!

    The Lomography Experimental Lens Kit opens up a new, creative photographic domain!

    Satisfy your hunger for creative snap-shooting with this lens package made especially for Micro 4/3 digital cameras! Don't miss the 20% discount!

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-29 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    Classy, moody photographs in monochrome and with fine grain - what more could you ask for from one of Lomography's very own black and white emulsion for standard 35mm cameras, the Earl Grey? Find out how this film fared among six of our community members in this Reviews on Rewind installment!

  • Fascinating Old Photographs of New York City

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-04-23 in #world #lifestyle
    Fascinating Old Photographs of New York City

    Have you ever wondered how "The City That Never Sleeps" looked like more than a hundred years ago? Here's a handful of photographs to satisfy your curiosity!

  • I am a Mad Analogue Scientist: New Experiments with 35mm Films and Chemicals

    written by blackfairy on 2014-08-07 in #gear #tipster
    I am a Mad Analogue Scientist: New Experiments with 35mm Films and Chemicals

    Unfortunately, it happens sometimes that your resulting pictures are not what you expected - the image doesn't look that good, the colors are bland, and the subject is banal. Indeed, it couldn't be picture of the year! Herein I propose a second chance for your pictures by modifying your 35mm negatives. Just pick up some ideas from here, experiment, and scan your negatives with the Lomography Smartphone Scanner. Anything is possible: burning, scratching, putting on hydrochloric acid, balsamic vinegar, nail polish, bleach, or raspberry juice... use your imagination and write down your new film soup recipe! You can find a sample of the effects in this article.

    13