Kodak Ektachrome Tungsten (35mm, 64 iso) user-review

13

Brrrr, is it getting cold in here?... How to the get that wintery look all year round.

This way another one of those random ebay purchases… but it was love at first click.

I am a big fan of Xpro, especially for the bright saturated colours and extra cheerfulness it gives to pictures however, Ektachrome 64T is a totally different beast….

It gives your pics the Tim Burton effect…. gone are the vivid reds and bright yellows, instead you get a murky cold world of blues and grays all rendered in a strong peppery grain. I have mostly used this film in bright sunny summer days and the results take you back to a bleak midwinter. Since it is not that sensitive, only at 64 ISO, bright sunshine is recommended. When i have tried it on bleak midwinter days the results weren’t really all that great, so the more light the better.

Thanks to the tungsten base, when used in sunlight the results came out with that extra blue-ness, but what I really like are the burned out whites that go with it….

So if you manage to get your hands on some, why not have a go at making your own Sleepy Hollow or Nightmare Before Christmas-esque photos with this film.

written by lolfox on 2009-02-24 in #reviews #x-pro #film #kodak #blue #35mm #tungsten

13 Comments

  1. cinzinc
    cinzinc ·

    nice review! shot #2 is funny. almost made me think it was a real afro.hehe

  2. kirri-joy
    kirri-joy ·

    this is really awesome! great shots. i picked up some of this on ebay, too, only in 120 format. i found some weird lights at the train station the other night, cant wait to see what tungsten film does with it :D

  3. wil6ka
    wil6ka ·

    tim-burton-lolfox ;)

  4. stouf
    stouf ·

    Whow well done, it's hard to get such good results with that film ...N°8 is awesome.

  5. maddyoulook
    maddyoulook ·

    coool

  6. adamscott
    adamscott ·

    Great review! Killer shots! Love the 2nd the tree makes you look like a clown ;) Big fan of lolfox BIG fan!

  7. eyecon
    eyecon ·

    I can´t choose a favorite from the gallery - all are great!

  8. vimalakirti
    vimalakirti ·

    your shots rock! 2 and 10 are grooving!

  9. saviorjosh
    saviorjosh ·

    nice gallery!
    my pic is #4. so cool!

  10. zekiyeayse
    zekiyeayse ·

    great review and amazing photos!! each and every one of them!

  11. fornoise
    fornoise ·

    did you cross these in C-41? great shots!

  12. skrutt
    skrutt ·

    Great review! Now I will wait with loading my camera with the film I bought on ebay! :D

  13. redfactor
    redfactor ·

    awesome shots, i like the “tree afro” too

More Interesting Articles

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Lady Grey 400 (35mm)

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-09-27 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Lady Grey 400 (35mm)

    Its stunning tones, smooth grain, and overall elegant monochrome look have inspired fellow lomographers to pen odes of praise—well, reviews, actually. Find out how the Lomography Lady Grey 400 (35mm) fared right here.

  • Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-03-29 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    The Pop 9 is an analog multilens wonder that allows you to take a mosaic of nine images in one frame à la Andy Warhol's famous pop art. In this Reviews on Rewind installment, we dug through our archives and found these informative reviews of the Pop 9 - just in case you're looking into snagging a fun camera in your arsenal!

  • Photo Stories: Isolation by disdis

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-08-03 in #world #locations
    Photo Stories: Isolation by disdis

    What do you do when you want to get away from it all? Here, disdis tells us one of the things he does—that is, to head to somewhere faraway and simply lose himself in it.

  • Shop News

    Start to Get Wide with Horizon Kompakt

    Start to Get Wide with Horizon Kompakt

    Prepare your overwhelming panoramic views and capture them with this ultra-wide panoramic 35mm gear. Start sharing your great memories with family and friends the analog way!

  • Fascinating Old Photographs of New York City

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-04-23 in #world #lifestyle
    Fascinating Old Photographs of New York City

    Have you ever wondered how "The City That Never Sleeps" looked like more than a hundred years ago? Here's a handful of photographs to satisfy your curiosity!

  • March Workshops and Events at Lomography Chicago

    written by Lomography Chicago on 2015-02-24 in #world #news #events
    March Workshops and Events at Lomography Chicago

    It’s been a long and cold winter but we’re finally getting back into the swing of things here in Chicago. We’ve got a great month of events and workshops coming up, so dust off those cameras that have been sitting around all winter and let’s take some pictures together!

  • Technology Will Save Us x Lomography DIY Rumble

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-02-12 in #world #news #competitions
    Technology Will Save Us x Lomography DIY Rumble

    When it’s cold outside and the rain is pouring, it can be the perfect time to sit down and build something. Lomography UK has teamed up with Technology Will Save Us, a company that makes build-it-yourself electronic kits, to bring you the perfect DIY Rumble. Get the chance to win a Konstruktor camera and a DIY Instrument Kit. Read on for details on how to enter this fab competition.

    7
  • Shop News

    Lomo LC-A+ Russian Lens

    Lomo LC-A+ Russian Lens

    A true Lomographic gem, the Lomo LC-A+ RL is blessed with good looks and bursting with experimental potential. Get ready to shoot amazing Lomographic photos by experimenting with MX shots, long exposures and a whole range of accessories!

  • 36 Reasons to be a Wide-Eyed Horizon User

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-05-14 in #gear #lifestyle
    36 Reasons to be a Wide-Eyed Horizon User

    To see more is to know more. The big picture brims with details, all lined up in spectacular columns and panoramas. Horizon Kompakt and Perfekt help us not to miss out on this full-length imagery.

    10
  • Make the Most of Your LC-Wide!

    written by Alexandra Pillet on 2015-06-18 in #world #tipster
    Make the Most of Your LC-Wide!

    The LC-Wide: it's compact, but wide. It’s an amazing little beast that will adapt itself to all weathers, all kinds of film rolls. How to find more (crazy) ways to shoot with it? Here are a few ways!

    1
  • Trending Newcomers of 2015

    written by lomography on 2015-12-30 in #world #news
    Trending Newcomers of 2015

    2015 is one eventful year for Lomography and the entire community. Not only did we get to move into a brand new website, welcome fresh and exciting products, and be part of each other's analog adventures, we also had the chance to meet these amazing and talented newbies. Let's all give a loud round of applause for our most popular newcomers of 2015!

    15
  • Shop News

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Done shooting and want your films to be processed? We can process your colour and black & white 35mm, 120 or 110 films! Development, prints and scans are also included. (Service availability depends on your markets)

  • Reviews on Rewind: The New Petzval Lens 85

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-05-30 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: The New Petzval Lens 85

    The New Petzval Lens 85 continues to captivate the hearts of many photographers from its debut a couple of years back. A perfect balance between form and function, this lens closely mimics the look of the legendary Petzval lens of the 19th century and delivers eye-catching images with its signature tack sharp center and swirly bokeh background. Many photographers from both outside and inside the Lomography community have raved about the New Petzval 85. In this recap, we look back at four community-written reviews.

  • Lomography x Nixon Surf Challenge 2015 Rumble

    written by mpflawer on 2015-06-02 in #world #events #competitions
    Lomography x Nixon Surf Challenge 2015 Rumble

    Lomography is proud to announce that it will again accompany the Nixon Surf Team to be part of this year's Nixon Surf Challenge. In line with this, we've prepared a rumble for all traveling and adventure-seeking lomographers.

    2
  • Rewind: Lomography Event Recaps From Gallery Stores and Embassy Shops

    written by shhquiet on 2015-12-30 in #world #news
    Rewind: Lomography Event Recaps From Gallery Stores and Embassy Shops

    2015 was a super exciting year for the world of creative photography. We introduced new products, paid homage to analogue photography and collaborated with like-minded folks. If you missed any of the festivities, don't worry - we promise that there will be more fantastic things to come next year! In the meantime, here's a look back into all the happy Lomography memories!

    1