Fuji NPS (35mm, 160 iso) User-Review

5

Fuji NPS is the "El Natural" of Fuji color negative films! This film is great on skin tones which means you'll get a great portrait!

I finally got around to shooting some rolls of NPS. I am still trying to figure why it took me so long to begin using such a fantastic film. For a meantime, I’ve been hating this one since I am more into slide films rather than this one. But hey! This NPS is a perfect beauty to capture people and portraits!

It has a stunning 160iso, great for outdoor, sunny day shots! Skin tones are excellent, extreme low-grain and of course, soften the skin wrinkles and a perfect color is surely waiting since this film is overly saturated but with lower contrasts; suitable for photographing a friend!

I used this film when we had our last shoot for some models. Quite practical with the things, I hauled a Fuji NPS and started shooting with them. I was happy with the results! I was stunned with the pictures. Quite perfect on lighting even on a cloudy day. I was kind of afraid of not having a correct exposure but with this film, overexposing or underexposing doesn’t require the lab to push or pull the film. Simply all the shots will come out amazing!

written by ethermoon on 2009-09-10 in #reviews #iso160 #philippines #nps-160 #35mm #zenit-11 #fuji

5 Comments

  1. dogma
    dogma ·

    Great gallery ;)

  2. cyan-shine
    cyan-shine ·

    Great review and pics :D I love NPS, too ! :D

  3. lomosexual_manboy
    lomosexual_manboy ·

    I'm a big fan of all the Fuji NPS NPS NPZ films. They do their jobs well.

  4. stouf
    stouf ·

    You're definitely a portrait master! Great review !

  5. wil6ka
    wil6ka ·

    i like it

More Interesting Articles

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • You Get More from Expired Lomography Color Negative 400 ISO 120 Film

    written by ncjom on 2014-11-05 in #reviews
    You Get More from Expired Lomography Color Negative 400 ISO 120 Film

    If you happen to come across an expired Lomography Color Negative 400 ISO 120 film pack, either in a store or on the Internet, get one and be ready for an exciting experience. You'll definitely get more from it!

  • Making the Most of The Easter Holidays!

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-04-15 in #lifestyle
    Making the Most of The Easter Holidays!

    The Easter Weekend is approaching and for most of us that means four days off! Spring is here in the UK which means the sun is out and the flowers are in bloom. This is the perfect time to get out your cameras, dust off that special roll of slide film that you've been saving and get outside! Read on for some Easter events happening in your area and some tips on getting great Easter shots!

  • Shop News

    Recognizable Images of Petzval

    Recognizable Images of Petzval

    You want your subject be the center of attention? Petzval lens are recognizable for sharpness and crispness in the centre, strong color saturation, wonderful swirly bokeh effect, artful vignettes and narrow depth of field that will make your subjects stand out!

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-29 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    Classy, moody photographs in monochrome and with fine grain - what more could you ask for from one of Lomography's very own black and white emulsion for standard 35mm cameras, the Earl Grey? Find out how this film fared among six of our community members in this Reviews on Rewind installment!

  • December 14th Advent Offer: Take Advantage of our Festive 3 For 2 Film Deals (Online Code: 3FOR2HOLIDAYFILM)

    written by jacobs on 2014-12-14 in #news
    December 14th Advent Offer: Take Advantage of our Festive 3 For 2 Film Deals  (Online Code: 3FOR2HOLIDAYFILM)

    Seeing that we love to spread the cheer around here, we're giving you another chance to load up on our awesome film with today's Advent deal! Choose a classy black and white film, like our Lady Grey, or get creative and colorful with one of our Redscale films. We're certain that no matter what you choose, you'll have a great time making memories with tons of lovely analogue photos this year!

  • Color correct your film negatives scans using your smartphone

    written by helenakampen on 2014-04-18 in #gear #tipster
    Color correct your film negatives scans using your smartphone

    An easy way adjust the colors of your film negatives scans using the free app Photoshop Express, which features "temperature" and "tint" that are essential to get your colors right!

  • Shop News

    Petzval Buddies

    Petzval Buddies

    Petzval lens are designed for a Canon or Nikon SLR mounts and a selection of brass or black for each camera brand is available in our stores. And start shooting with images full of sharpness, crispness and bokeh effects!

  • The Diana Mini Turns 5 - Get Free Lomography Film With a Diana Mini Purchase!

    written by shhquiet on 2014-08-19 in #news
    The Diana Mini Turns 5 - Get Free Lomography Film With a Diana Mini Purchase!

    Happy birthday, Diana Mini! The sweet and petite 35mm princess of Lomography is celebrating its fifth birthday by way of a special treat. This week, buy a Diana Mini camera and get a Lomography Color Negative 100 35mm (3-Pack) for free! Simply type the code HIGH5MINI at checkout.

  • Reviews on Rewind: Gone Exploring with the Lomography Horizon Perfekt and Kompakt

    written by cheeo on 2014-06-15 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Gone Exploring with the Lomography Horizon Perfekt and Kompakt

    Bask in the sunshine of panoramic shots with the effortless cool of the Horizon Cameras. Be it with the Perfekt or Kompakt, you’ll never be caught off guard with their mechanical swing lens that captures all the action on 35mm film.

  • I am a Mad Analogue Scientist: New Experiments with 35mm Films and Chemicals

    written by blackfairy on 2014-08-07 in #gear #tipster
    I am a Mad Analogue Scientist: New Experiments with 35mm Films and Chemicals

    Unfortunately, it happens sometimes that your resulting pictures are not what you expected - the image doesn't look that good, the colors are bland, and the subject is banal. Indeed, it couldn't be picture of the year! Herein I propose a second chance for your pictures by modifying your 35mm negatives. Just pick up some ideas from here, experiment, and scan your negatives with the Lomography Smartphone Scanner. Anything is possible: burning, scratching, putting on hydrochloric acid, balsamic vinegar, nail polish, bleach, or raspberry juice... use your imagination and write down your new film soup recipe! You can find a sample of the effects in this article.

    13
  • Shop News

    Shoot sharply with Oktomat Bullseye

    Shoot sharply with Oktomat Bullseye

    Shoot sharply without hurting your budget. At 30% off you can now experiment with 8 sequential shots in one 35mm print! Tell stories in 2.5 seconds with 8 scenes in one shot!

  • Fresh From the Lab: The Lomography Redscale XR 50-200, My First Medium Format Film

    written by sinema on 2014-07-07 in #lifestyle
    Fresh From the Lab: The Lomography Redscale XR 50-200, My First Medium Format Film

    This is my experience with the Lomography Redscale XR 50-200 (120), my first medium format film. It's an adventure that started when I got a Lubitel 2, to finally shoot with it. In this article, you'll find detailed information about color schemes, the advantages of shooting in medium format, and the differences between standard redscale films. Here are the results of a day of shooting outside, which I recently got back from the lab.

  • Back from the dead: Hack your Polaroid 80-series camera to take Fuji FP film

    written by stratski on 2014-06-24 in #gear #tipster
    Back from the dead: Hack your Polaroid 80-series camera to take Fuji FP film

    It's a great feeling when you get a camera back to work even though you thought it was already unusable because its particular type of film is no longer in production. Here's how you can do it with a Polaroid camera from the 80-series.

  • Valentine's Day Deals Extended!

    written by jacobs on 2015-02-10 in #gear #news
    Valentine's Day Deals Extended!

    Are you still looking for that perfect treat for your loved one this Valentine's Day? Then you've come to the right place, my friend — we've extended our Valentine's deals until the end of the week! Which means you have extra time to get lucky in all things love and Lomography. Quit dodging Cupid's arrows and get in on these sweet deals right now!