Review: Kodak Elite Chrome Extra Colour 100 EBX

10

Is this the best slide film to cross-process?

When I began my lomographic journey and discovered the photos that made them looked so uniquely Lomo — the crazy colours, strong contrast — and found out that they were shot in slides cross-processed, I went around asking which is the best of the lot.

Most people replied 2 films – Kodak Elite Chrome EBX and Agfa CT Precisa, with the X-Pro Chrome closing in third. So far, I have yet to try the Agfa, but the EBX has left me impressed.

On a recent LomoWalk event in Kuala Lumpur, I loaded my camera with the EBX, eager to try out this film. It is not exactly hard to find; and comparing with some other films, is a little cheaper too. There are two versions of this film: the one with extra colour (EBX) and the one without (EB), which is harder to find. Anyway, no harm getting the extra colour ones most of the time!

The results are within expectations: great colours, strong contrast and really intense hues. Prominent colour that stands out are yellow and blue. Sometimes certain parts, especially white, tend to be over exposed, but I’m not too sure if this is the film or the camera. Either way, the film has qualities that makes everyday shots turn interesting!

I can’t really tell if this is the best yet until I tried the Agfa; but I knew if I needed a slide film quickly that yields great results, I will get the EBX due to its availability!

written by shuttersentinel17 on 2011-08-22 in #reviews #elitechrome #cross-process #review #ebx #100 #extra #kodak #user-review #colour #lomography #slide-film

10 Comments

  1. yein
    yein ·

    nice,,,

  2. eva_eva
    eva_eva ·

    My favorite films of all time. :)

  3. efan
    efan ·

    the best slide film ever! my most favorite...

  4. tiranapermata
    tiranapermata ·

    my first and favorite film :)

  5. houda21
    houda21 ·

    Question, do you only cross process slide films? I'm new to Lomography and a little confused :s

  6. houda21
    houda21 ·

    Question, do you only cross process slide films? I'm new to Lomography and a little confused :s

  7. pmatt
    pmatt ·

    @ houda21 take a look at www.crossprocessing.info/

  8. shuttersentinel17
    shuttersentinel17 ·

    @houda21 You can choose not to, but usually we do that because of the unexpected results! Like what pmatt said you can take a look at www.crossprocessing.info/ , it's really informative!

  9. houda21
    houda21 ·

    Thanks guys! Much appreciated.

  10. andrewcc
    andrewcc ·

    Try and processing it in E6 you wont be disappointed its a really great film and I feel cross processing it does it justice. You should just try and cross process expired slide film and save the non-expired stuff for slides

More Interesting Articles

  • Meet our LomoGuru: ihave2pillows

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-04-18 in #people #lifestyle
    Meet our LomoGuru: ihave2pillows

    Ed Choi regards Lomography as one of the best things that happened to him. In this interview, the latest member to join the roster of LomoGurus talks about how cross processing slide films sparked a great friendship, taking instant photos in Himalayas, and creating the perfect double exposure photograph.

    3
  • A Review of the Nikon F2

    written by alexintheskywithdiamonds on 2015-06-15 in #gear #reviews
    A Review of the Nikon F2

    Considered as one of the best 35mm SLR cameras, the Nikon F2 is indeed one of the best experiences on film I’ve ever had. Fully manual and almost impossible to break, this historic camera is really marvelous to use.

  • Agfa CT Precisa 100: The Fabulous 35mm Slide Film

    written by kikifrenger on 2014-08-19 in #reviews
    Agfa CT Precisa 100: The Fabulous 35mm Slide Film

    This film has fine grain, especially when cross-processed in C41. And if you use a Lomo camera, maybe the LC-A or the LC-Wide, the results will be more interesting with strong vignettes in your pictures!

    5
  • Shop News

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Done shooting and want your films to be processed? We can process your colour and black & white 35mm, 120 or 110 films! Development, prints and scans are also included. (Service availability depends on your markets)

  • 100 Years of Technicolor To Be Commemorated in Upcoming Exhibit at MoMA

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-05-12 in #world #news
    100 Years of Technicolor To Be Commemorated in Upcoming Exhibit at MoMA

    The exhibit is set to take place this summer at this New York institution and will include screenings of the most memorable films shot in Technicolor and lectures on the history of this process.

  • The Analogue Quiz: What 35mm Slide Film are You?

    written by andie_sollmer on 2014-09-17 in #news
    The Analogue Quiz: What 35mm Slide Film are You?

    Cross Processing can turn out to be great fun if you are using the right film. Ever wondered which slide film fits your character? Find out in our second Lomography Analogue Quiz!

    13
  • Photo of the Day by miket

    written by cheeo on 2014-09-04 in #news
    Photo of the Day by miket

    Overexposing your film is a big no-no to some but not for miket. It's exactly what he did, along with cross processing to drench this photograph with eye-catching colors and wild grain!

    1
  • Shop News

    Colorsplash your World!

    Colorsplash your World!

    At 30% off you can now color your analog images with 12 different color gels. Experiment with 35mm slide film and play with the built-in color flash for the most intense colors!

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    written by Lorraine Healy on 2015-03-23 in #gear #reviews
    The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    An Argentinean writer and photographer living in the Pacific Northwest, Lorraine Healy is a long-time fan of plastic cameras and is the author of "Tricks With A Plastic Wonder," a manual for achieving better results with a Holga camera, available in eBook form at Amazon.com. In this article, Healy explains how she fell hard in love with the Lomography XPro Slide 200 film and why she takes it on her many travels.

    3
  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-29 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    Classy, moody photographs in monochrome and with fine grain - what more could you ask for from one of Lomography's very own black and white emulsion for standard 35mm cameras, the Earl Grey? Find out how this film fared among six of our community members in this Reviews on Rewind installment!

  • Shop News

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    You want your subject be the center of attention? Petzval lens photos are recognizable for sharpness and crispness in the centre, strong color saturation, wonderful swirly bokeh effect, artful vignettes and narrow depth of field that will make your subjects stand out!

  • An Instant Review: Pixelstick Shots from Lomography Hong Kong!

    written by candilsw on 2015-05-21 in #gear #lifestyle
    An Instant Review: Pixelstick Shots from Lomography Hong Kong!

    Pixelstick is exactly the must-get tool to create mind-blowing light paintings with different colours and patterns: 1.8 meter long, 200 full colour and high fidelity LEDs! Grab your camera with long exposure mode and a tripod, and you can create dozens of dreamy pictures just by moving your Pixelstick in the dark. Take a peep at our friends from Lomography Hong Kong’s shots with the Pixelstick!

  • Gallery Alert: ‘Kodak Camera at 125’

    written by cheeo on 2014-11-23 in #news
    Gallery Alert: ‘Kodak Camera at 125’

    Kodak cameras started a photography revolution that progresses to this day. See its evolution and 125 years of existence in this exhibit at the George Eastman House International Museum of Photography and Film.

  • Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-03-29 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    The Pop 9 is an analog multilens wonder that allows you to take a mosaic of nine images in one frame à la Andy Warhol's famous pop art. In this Reviews on Rewind installment, we dug through our archives and found these informative reviews of the Pop 9 - just in case you're looking into snagging a fun camera in your arsenal!