Review: Kodak Elite Chrome Extra Colour 100 EBX

10

Is this the best slide film to cross-process?

When I began my lomographic journey and discovered the photos that made them looked so uniquely Lomo — the crazy colours, strong contrast — and found out that they were shot in slides cross-processed, I went around asking which is the best of the lot.

Most people replied 2 films – Kodak Elite Chrome EBX and Agfa CT Precisa, with the X-Pro Chrome closing in third. So far, I have yet to try the Agfa, but the EBX has left me impressed.

On a recent LomoWalk event in Kuala Lumpur, I loaded my camera with the EBX, eager to try out this film. It is not exactly hard to find; and comparing with some other films, is a little cheaper too. There are two versions of this film: the one with extra colour (EBX) and the one without (EB), which is harder to find. Anyway, no harm getting the extra colour ones most of the time!

The results are within expectations: great colours, strong contrast and really intense hues. Prominent colour that stands out are yellow and blue. Sometimes certain parts, especially white, tend to be over exposed, but I’m not too sure if this is the film or the camera. Either way, the film has qualities that makes everyday shots turn interesting!

I can’t really tell if this is the best yet until I tried the Agfa; but I knew if I needed a slide film quickly that yields great results, I will get the EBX due to its availability!

written by shuttersentinel17 on 2011-08-22 in #reviews #cross-process #kodak #colour #extra #ebx #elitechrome #slide-film #user-review #lomography #100 #review

10 Comments

  1. yein
    yein ·

    nice,,,

  2. eva_eva
    eva_eva ·

    My favorite films of all time. :)

  3. efan
    efan ·

    the best slide film ever! my most favorite...

  4. tiranapermata
    tiranapermata ·

    my first and favorite film :)

  5. houda21
    houda21 ·

    Question, do you only cross process slide films? I'm new to Lomography and a little confused :s

  6. houda21
    houda21 ·

    Question, do you only cross process slide films? I'm new to Lomography and a little confused :s

  7. pmatt
    pmatt ·

    @ houda21 take a look at www.crossprocessing.info/

  8. shuttersentinel17
    shuttersentinel17 ·

    @houda21 You can choose not to, but usually we do that because of the unexpected results! Like what pmatt said you can take a look at www.crossprocessing.info/ , it's really informative!

  9. houda21
    houda21 ·

    Thanks guys! Much appreciated.

  10. andrewcc
    andrewcc ·

    Try and processing it in E6 you wont be disappointed its a really great film and I feel cross processing it does it justice. You should just try and cross process expired slide film and save the non-expired stuff for slides

More Interesting Articles

  • Tipster: DIY X-Pro Redscale

    written by rancliffhasenza on 2015-09-27 in #gear #tipster
    Tipster: DIY X-Pro Redscale

    Browsing through the Lomography website, you can find a lot of redscale shots, which are all done on color negative films. I asked myself if it’s possible to redscale a slide or chrome film and then cross process it. (And yes, it is.) In this tipster I’m going to teach you how to create the bloodiest homemade redscale film I've ever come across.

    10
  • Awesome Albums: Kodak Color 200 Developed in D-76 by ec00992

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-11-26 in #world #lifestyle
    Awesome Albums: Kodak Color 200 Developed in D-76 by ec00992

    The title pretty much sums up what this album is all about. Click through to see how this little cross processing experiment turned out!

  • Serendipity Exhibition by Toby Mason

    written by lomographysoholondon on 2015-09-10 in #world #events
    Serendipity Exhibition by Toby Mason

    Toby Mason (aka fotobes) is a Brighton-based photographer who embraces the aesthetics of film photography. He mostly shoots with the LC-A+ using a range of slide films, cross processing them to create rich, highly saturated colours. His work has been featured on the BBC website and Hungry Eye Magazine. Join us for the opening night on Thursday, September 17 from 6 p.m.

    2
  • Shop News

    Be Sharp and Get Accurate Shots!

    Be Sharp and Get Accurate Shots!

    Never go wrong with amount of light entering your lenses. Perfect for any photo shoots, very handy, lightweight and extremely versatile!

  • Meet our LomoGuru: ihave2pillows

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-04-18 in #people #lifestyle
    Meet our LomoGuru: ihave2pillows

    Ed Choi regards Lomography as one of the best things that happened to him. In this interview, the latest member to join the roster of LomoGurus talks about how cross processing slide films sparked a great friendship, taking instant photos in Himalayas, and creating the perfect double exposure photograph.

    4
  • A Review of the Nikon F2

    written by Alexandra Pillet on 2015-06-15 in #gear #reviews
    A Review of the Nikon F2

    Considered as one of the best 35mm SLR cameras, the Nikon F2 is indeed one of the best experiences on film I’ve ever had. Fully manual and almost impossible to break, this historic camera is really marvelous to use.

  • Reviews on Rewind: LomoChrome Purple (Part 2)

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-08-30 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: LomoChrome Purple (Part 2)

    With its surreal, psychedelic results that easily remind one of fairy tale-like wonderlands, the LomoChrome Purple has quickly grown to become one of the most popular emulsions in the community. We're giving you that extra push in the form of more community-penned reviews to finally try this film yourself, if you haven't.

  • Shop News

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Cross Processed to a T: Agfa CT Precisa

    written by Jill Tan Radovan on 2016-02-01 in #gear #lifestyle
    Cross Processed to a T: Agfa CT Precisa

    With the right composition and the perfect subject, cross processing the Agfa CT Precisa guarantees spectacular, awe-inspiring results. From the delicate and scenic to the intimate and mundane, here are some views captured on cross-processed Agfa CT Precisa slide film.

  • The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    written by Lorraine Healy on 2015-03-23 in #gear #reviews
    The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    An Argentinean writer and photographer living in the Pacific Northwest, Lorraine Healy is a long-time fan of plastic cameras and is the author of "Tricks With A Plastic Wonder," a manual for achieving better results with a Holga camera, available in eBook form at Amazon.com. In this article, Healy explains how she fell hard in love with the Lomography XPro Slide 200 film and why she takes it on her many travels.

    3
  • An Instant Review: Pixelstick Shots from Lomography Hong Kong!

    written by candilsw on 2015-05-21 in #gear #lifestyle
    An Instant Review: Pixelstick Shots from Lomography Hong Kong!

    Pixelstick is exactly the must-get tool to create mind-blowing light paintings with different colours and patterns: 1.8 meter long, 200 full colour and high fidelity LEDs! Grab your camera with long exposure mode and a tripod, and you can create dozens of dreamy pictures just by moving your Pixelstick in the dark. Take a peep at our friends from Lomography Hong Kong’s shots with the Pixelstick!

  • Shop News

    Fuji Instax Wide 300

    Fuji Instax Wide 300

    Shoot wider and bigger with this new instax camera that has film format twice the size of the instax mini films!

  • Trending LomoKino Movies of 2015

    written by lomography on 2015-12-29 in #world #news #videos
    Trending LomoKino Movies of 2015

    Creating a movie, no matter how short it is, requires an extra effort. For it to be coherent, one must stay focused throughout the entire process - from planning the story, shooting the scenes, to editing the clips. We'd like to commend these lomographers for taking an extra step to keep the spirit of analog movie making alive!

  • Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-03-29 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    The Pop 9 is an analog multilens wonder that allows you to take a mosaic of nine images in one frame à la Andy Warhol's famous pop art. In this Reviews on Rewind installment, we dug through our archives and found these informative reviews of the Pop 9 - just in case you're looking into snagging a fun camera in your arsenal!

  • Black and White Photography: The Forms of the World

    written by lomographymagazine on 2016-01-19 in #world #lifestyle
    Black and White Photography: The Forms of the World

    Colors may be amped to look unreal, like nothing of this world. Shots may be doubled, cross-processed, post-processed, mixed up into collages. The possibilities are infinite, yet some photographers still prefer black and white. Even in 2016, it is an ode to classic values of precision and balance. Light and shadow must be one pleasing dance. And just like in a well-choreographed piece, forms are obvious or playing coy. It all depends on how you're looking.