Polaroid Spectra (Instant/Polaroid, 640 iso) User-Review

6

I found lot of spectra film already expired from 2005 and 2007 and you know what? I am just lucky to have a Polaroid Spectra camera myself!

I like this instant film because it is a general-purpose, high-speed, medium-contrast film for high-definition instant colour prints. It is balanced for daylight and electronic flash exposure. Also produces clear sharp prints in less than a minute under a wide variety of ambient temperatures.

Firstly, I tried using the Spectra expired in 2005 and the result is more like yellow and vintage colour. Maybe it’s been too long beyond its expiry date and I am not sure how this was stored or handled previously. And after that gave the pack from 2007 a test and surprisingly the prints came out ok. You can see the vivid colours in the picture like the green, red, yellow, black, white and the others between the spectrum.

This experience made me totally happy and in fact I am deeply in love with this Instant film!

written by eastmoe on 2009-06-24 in #reviews #spectra-film #polaroid #spectra

6 Comments

  1. stouf
    stouf ·

    Great series of portraits !

  2. ripsta
    ripsta ·

    hey hey congrats...nice pic and review

  3. eastmoe
    eastmoe ·

    thanks yaww =)

  4. ripsta
    ripsta ·

    gud job..i like..
    salin dr wiki yer.haha

  5. eastmoe
    eastmoe ·

    3 hari 2 mlm karang ayat nih.demm

  6. panelomo
    panelomo ·

    classics!

More Interesting Articles

  • An Instant Camera Unlike the Others: The Lomo'Instant

    written by brutemus on 2015-01-15 in #reviews
    An Instant Camera Unlike the Others: The Lomo'Instant

    The Lomo'Instant is different from all other instant cameras. The lenses and various settings really set it apart from Polaroid and Instax cameras. I bought the Lomo'Instant just last December, and it is already my go-to camera for instant photography.

  • Fuji instax Wide: The Impressive Instant Film

    written by ichdaschaos on 2014-11-03 in #reviews
    Fuji instax Wide: The Impressive Instant Film

    I've always wanted to have an instant camera, but what put me off were the expensive price of the film and the transience of the photos. But then I wasn't able to fight it any longer and bought myself an Instax Wide 210 set. Now, here is a review of the Fuji Instax Wide film.

    1
  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-29 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    Classy, moody photographs in monochrome and with fine grain - what more could you ask for from one of Lomography's very own black and white emulsion for standard 35mm cameras, the Earl Grey? Find out how this film fared among six of our community members in this Reviews on Rewind installment!

  • Shop News

    LomoKino & LomoKinoscope Package

    LomoKino & LomoKinoscope Package

    Enjoy a truly analogue moviemaking experience with Lomography's 35mm movie camera and an accompanying accessory to watch your films with. View your masterpieces in the most analogue way possible with the LomoKinoscope. Get it now 20% off the regular price!

  • Reviving An Old Polaroid 1000 Camera

    written by Wessel de Haas on 2015-02-13 in #gear #reviews
    Reviving An Old Polaroid 1000 Camera

    Some time ago, my parents-in-law gave me an old Polaroid camera that they used during my wife's childhood. After some investigation, I found out that Polaroid had stopped making instant film. But the factory in Enschedé, the Netherlands had been taken over by The Impossible Project, so I bought a package of fresh film and gave it a try!

  • Dreamteam: Lomo LC-A and Kodak BW400CN

    written by inrod on 2014-05-14 in #reviews
    Dreamteam: Lomo LC-A and Kodak BW400CN

    Have you ever experienced that a film, camera combination works perfectly well or does not work at all? Well, I found already both. This time, I'll show you a positive example.

    1
  • My Key to Escaping Digital Confinement: The Lomo LC-Wide

    written by nickpage on 2015-01-09 in #lifestyle
    My Key to Escaping Digital Confinement: The Lomo LC-Wide

    I'm Nick Page, a graphic designer based in the UK. After 20 years of working in advertising, I returned to film photography five years ago and found that the analogue life was just what I needed to get away from the "pixel perfect" images I deal with every day in my job.

    4
  • Shop News

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    At 25% off you can take dreamy 35mm images with this little black beauty. Beam coloured light into your shots with its accompanying Diana Flash Back accessory and be the analogue king of the night.

  • Chemical Manipulations with the Lomo’Instant

    written by tomas_bates on 2015-01-21 in #gear #tipster
    Chemical Manipulations with the Lomo’Instant

    Perhaps you’ve already had chance to try light painting, multiple exposures and long exposures with your Lomo’Instant, but what can you experiment with next? Well, that’s exactly the thought I had which led to giving this Tipster a go. I wanted to shoot Lomo’Instant photos which felt a bit “messier” than what I’m usually used to and to use a technique which would open up new possibilities with the kinds of images I could create with my favorite instant camera. Well, here I go!

    2
  • Word On The Street: A New Mystery Product Will Be Unveiled Soon!

    written by shhquiet on 2015-04-27 in #gear #news
    Word On The Street: A New Mystery Product Will Be Unveiled Soon!

    Pssst, have you heard the latest? We're unveiling a brand new product very soon, and while we can't give you any strong clues right now, we hope that you can still try to guess what it is. In honor of this mystery product, we'd like to reiterate why Lomography's 10 Golden Rules is perfectly applicable to street photography.

    2
  • Petzval Amigos: Mark Scadding and William Paltridge of Double Exposure

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-04-27 in #people #lomoamigos
    Petzval Amigos: Mark Scadding and William Paltridge of Double Exposure

    Mark Scadding and William Paltridge form Double Exposure Photographic and are based in the South of England. They have used the Petzval lens extensively for portraiture and a few food photography shots. We were intrigued to know more about this creative duo and asked them about shooting with this exciting lens.

  • Shop News

    Colorsplash your World!

    Colorsplash your World!

    At 30% off you can now color your analog images with 12 different color gels. Experiment with 35mm slide film and play with the built-in color flash for the most intense colors!

  • Awesome Albums: Fun! Fun! Lomo'Instant Splitzer by gocchin

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-04-26 in #world #lifestyle
    Awesome Albums: Fun! Fun! Lomo'Instant Splitzer by gocchin

    The Splitzer is indeed a handy tool for creating superbly surreal and playful images, as perfectly demonstrated by one creative community member!

    2
  • A View Split in Two

    written by Kwyn Kenaz Aquino on 2015-04-26 in #world #lifestyle
    A View Split in Two

    Inspired by the LC-A+ Splitzer aesthetic, we scoured vintage archives for brilliant examples of halved frames. Fair warning: We still need your undivided attention to fully appreciate the dualities.

    1
  • Newcomer of the Week: keis

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-04-26 in #people #lifestyle
    Newcomer of the Week: keis

    Most, if not all, of the photographs in Keis Iguchi's LomoHome were printed using traditional darkroom processes. He likens film photography to using cassette tape and relies on his favorite combination of LC-A and Ferrania Solaris 800 in creating evocative images. In this interview, our Newcomer of the Week from Tokyo Japan shares more about his affinity for analog photography.

    1