Ilford Deltapro (35mm, 3200 iso) user-review

6

Shooting in the dark: A great film for gigs and concerts, I wouldn't shoot it with a Fisheye though.

Shooting in the dark: A great film for gigs and concerts, I wouldn’t shoot it with a Fisheye though.

After experimenting with 1600 ISO film, I decided to take it up a notch and get some 3200 for a concert I was going to.
I stuck it inside my fisheye 2 and went on my merry way. I used a Colorsplash flash and was stood 1 or 2 meters away.
after developing I noticed that the pictures didn’t come out as well as I expected. The pictures weren’t ‘lit’ well enough for my liking but that may have been to do with the tiny aperture of the fisheye camera.

I would recommend this to a camera which has a larger aperture or for those with a variable aperture ones and I won’t be writing it off completely yet.

written by callumbum on 2009-02-05 in #reviews #fisheye2 #ilford #deltapro #3200-iso #b-w

6 Comments

  1. kirri-joy
    kirri-joy ·

    still some cool shots!

  2. oldskool_rider
    oldskool_rider ·

    cool, ive never used anything that fast, ive got a 1600 waiting to be developed, but thats as quick as ive got. im tempted to try this now

  3. deff1
    deff1 ·

    Great review, i just got a role of 3200 so will be using advice when shooting with it! cheers

  4. fivedayforecast
    fivedayforecast ·

    the frige shot is a really neat idea!

  5. jackievision
    jackievision ·

    everyone using this film should note that, according to developing tests and experiences, its actual speed is a bit below 3200 ISO. So, if exposed for 3200 and developed according to the suggested procedures, a slight push processing is applied by default and this is likely to be the cause of some over-closed shadows, together with the tiny aperture :)

  6. coffeeaddict_nl
    coffeeaddict_nl ·

    if you browse the ilfordphoto.com website you can find some pretty useful specs on this film. They (ilford) have measured it at 1000 ISO. They have also included some usefull development vs. exposure alternatives (eg; when exposed as a 400 ISO, the development time gets significantly shorter)

More Interesting Articles

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-29 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    Classy, moody photographs in monochrome and with fine grain - what more could you ask for from one of Lomography's very own black and white emulsion for standard 35mm cameras, the Earl Grey? Find out how this film fared among six of our community members in this Reviews on Rewind installment!

  • The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    written by Lorraine Healy on 2015-03-23 in #gear #reviews
    The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    An Argentinean writer and photographer living in the Pacific Northwest, Lorraine Healy is a long-time fan of plastic cameras and is the author of "Tricks With A Plastic Wonder," a manual for achieving better results with a Holga camera, available in eBook form at Amazon.com. In this article, Healy explains how she fell hard in love with the Lomography XPro Slide 200 film and why she takes it on her many travels.

    3
  • Shop News

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    At 25% off you can take dreamy 35mm images with this little black beauty. Beam coloured light into your shots with its accompanying Diana Flash Back accessory and be the analogue king of the night.

  • Perfect Combination for a Hazy Day: Lomo LC-A and a Pushed Ilford HP5+

    written by sirio174 on 2015-05-06 in #gear #reviews
    Perfect Combination for a Hazy Day: Lomo LC-A and a Pushed Ilford HP5+

    In this article, I'll show you how the Lomo LC-A loaded with the versatile Ilford HP5+ can make the most out of a hazy morning. To capture the whirlwind of a bicycle race, I pushed the film to ISO 800. The legendary Minitar 1 lens and this classic Ilford film are a perfect combination if you love black and white photos.

    1
  • Pushing Boundaries: Multiple Exposing Film Soup

    written by Amber Valentine on 2015-04-21 in #world #tipster
    Pushing Boundaries: Multiple Exposing Film Soup

    As you may have read in my previous article, I truly fell in love with Lomography when I combined my Fisheye camera with an old Canon AE-1 for magical photographic results. Last summer, I took so many pictures of flowers that it started to become almost boring for me. My waning interest and the coming winter meant that I had to figure out something else to do with my 35mm film.

    1
  • 5 Modern-Day Music Videos Shot on Film

    written by kenaz on 2015-08-08 in #world #lifestyle #videos
    5 Modern-Day Music Videos Shot on Film

    Great lyric, though layered with fictions, is a piece of personal history. And so is the video. Inspired by their collaborator’s words and music, directors still turn to film for a touch of authenticity and soul.

  • Shop News

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Whatever kind of film development you're after, you'll find it here! Now you can confidently shoot from the hip without having to worry where to develop those film rolls!

  • Concert Photography Tips: Low ISO Film at Night

    written by sirio174 on 2015-08-10 in #gear #tipster
    Concert Photography Tips: Low ISO Film at Night

    In this article I'll teach you how to take sharp photos in low-light conditions using a simple point-and-shoot camera loaded with slow-speed film.

    5
  • An Instant Review: Pixelstick Shots from Lomography Hong Kong!

    written by candilsw on 2015-05-21 in #gear #lifestyle
    An Instant Review: Pixelstick Shots from Lomography Hong Kong!

    Pixelstick is exactly the must-get tool to create mind-blowing light paintings with different colours and patterns: 1.8 meter long, 200 full colour and high fidelity LEDs! Grab your camera with long exposure mode and a tripod, and you can create dozens of dreamy pictures just by moving your Pixelstick in the dark. Take a peep at our friends from Lomography Hong Kong’s shots with the Pixelstick!

  • A Review of the Lubitel 166 Universal

    written by Rafaello Palandri on 2015-07-09 in #gear #reviews
    A Review of the Lubitel 166 Universal

    Where do I begin talking about film cameras on the Lomography Magazine? Yes, you guessed right. I will begin with a LOMO, of course, a very special one: the Lubitel 166 Universal (Lubitel 166U). It’s a camera that has almost everything you might need from a camera. Plus, it’s a LOMO!

  • Shop News

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Really want to bring your film photos to life? We’re now offering totally analogue fine art prints in a host of large sizes and formats! Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Introducing The Brand New LC-A 120 - The Most Compact & Magical Fully Automatic 120 Film Camera Ever!

    written by shhquiet on 2014-09-08 in #news
    Introducing The Brand New LC-A 120 - The Most Compact & Magical Fully Automatic 120 Film Camera Ever!

    Get ready to think fast and shoot faster! Today, we are thrilled share with you news of the brand new LC-A 120 Camera. Load it with any 120 film roll and experience the thrill of medium format photography. You’re sure to soak up all the action in every square shot with its fantastic 38mm f/4.5 wide-angle lens (equivalent to a 21mm lens on a 35mm film camera). It's available for Pre-Order: Extremely limited first batch stock of only 500 cameras!

    35
  • Most Popular User Blogs of 2014

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-12-28 in #news #videos
    Most Popular User Blogs of 2014

    Aside from the Magazine, going through the User Blogs is another way to keep tabs on the latest happening in the community. Throughout the year, it was filled with articles on new discoveries, thought-provoking opinions, and exciting exhibits that surely entertained, challenged, and inspired everyone. Let's take a look back at the fruitful year through the most popular user blogs of 2014.

    3
  • Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-04-06 in #gear #reviews
    Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    There are quite a few perks that come with working for a film photography company, and the best perk of all is testing out the latest cameras. I can remember buying my LC-A back in 2009 and being really inspired to shoot film again. When the LC-A 120 came along, I couldn't wait to try it out around London. Join me as I test out this super medium format beauty.