Review: Lomography X-Pro 200

2

Try it on different cameras!

This is one of the Lomography films that will drive you nuts with its colours when cross-processed!

From some of the users’ photos I’ve already seen what kind of effect the film would produce. The prominent colour is yellow – bright, saturated kind – that makes all the photos looked like they’ve been coloured over with a yellow Stabilo highlighter.

I bought a Lomography X-Pro Slide (Box of 3) some time ago and tried it on my Sprocket Rocket. The results did not disappoint — in fact, I think that this film is the best slide to partner the Rocket. Even on a cloudy day, the photos turned out bright, with its signature yellowish hues. Other colours, especially warmer ones like re and orange, gets intensified too. Asian skin turns yellow, and even a blue subject will appear greenish as if a yellow transparency was placed in front of the lens. It is interesting to see how unusual the results will be!

Subsequently, I tried the last roll of it on my LC-Wide, and the results are surprisingly very, very different. Instead of the yellowish hues, all my shots turn out really natural. No whacky colour shifts, but instead a comfortable increase in saturation. A little like the Lomography X-Pro Chrome to me, where colours are intensified. Even a landscape shot of a mosque appeared pleasantly natural!

Sometimes, it is the fixed shutter of a camera, for instance in this case, my Sprocket Rocket’s 1/100 sec in N mode, that makes the film yield similar results over and over again. However, in a night shot depicting Singapore’s night skyline, it was shot in bulb mode for nearly 20 seconds, yet the colours still appear yellowish.

It’s pretty unexplainable, but I suppose that if you’re interested to try this film, do match it with different cameras!

The new Lomography X-Pro Slide 35mm film is made from the original Agfa RSX 200 emulsion. If you want whacked out colours, huge contrast, and insane saturation, this film is for you. See our selection of Lomography films here.

written by shuttersentinel17 on 2011-08-18 in #reviews #x-pro #vivid #process #200 #yellow #lomography #colour #slide #cross #user-review

2 Comments

  1. sophia_lo
    sophia_lo ·

    I bought it last few weeks! will try it at coming holiday trip!! =D

  2. zipper
    zipper ·

    I am waiting for the results of a double exposure with this film, first exposure Spinner 360, second exposure: LC-W. Can't wait to see what is going to be like!

More Interesting Articles

  • Tipster: DIY X-Pro Redscale

    written by rancliffhasenza on 2015-09-27 in #gear #tipster
    Tipster: DIY X-Pro Redscale

    Browsing through the Lomography website, you can find a lot of redscale shots, which are all done on color negative films. I asked myself if it’s possible to redscale a slide or chrome film and then cross process it. (And yes, it is.) In this tipster I’m going to teach you how to create the bloodiest homemade redscale film I've ever come across.

    10
  • The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    written by Lorraine Healy on 2015-03-23 in #gear #reviews
    The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    An Argentinean writer and photographer living in the Pacific Northwest, Lorraine Healy is a long-time fan of plastic cameras and is the author of "Tricks With A Plastic Wonder," a manual for achieving better results with a Holga camera, available in eBook form at Amazon.com. In this article, Healy explains how she fell hard in love with the Lomography XPro Slide 200 film and why she takes it on her many travels.

    3
  • An Instant Review: Pixelstick Shots from Lomography Hong Kong!

    written by candilsw on 2015-05-21 in #gear #lifestyle
    An Instant Review: Pixelstick Shots from Lomography Hong Kong!

    Pixelstick is exactly the must-get tool to create mind-blowing light paintings with different colours and patterns: 1.8 meter long, 200 full colour and high fidelity LEDs! Grab your camera with long exposure mode and a tripod, and you can create dozens of dreamy pictures just by moving your Pixelstick in the dark. Take a peep at our friends from Lomography Hong Kong’s shots with the Pixelstick!

  • Shop News

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Done shooting and want your films to be processed? We can process your colour and black & white 35mm, 120 or 110 films! Development, prints and scans are also included. (Service availability depends on your markets)

  • A Review of the Lubitel 166 Universal

    written by Rafaello Palandri on 2015-07-09 in #gear #reviews
    A Review of the Lubitel 166 Universal

    Where do I begin talking about film cameras on the Lomography Magazine? Yes, you guessed right. I will begin with a LOMO, of course, a very special one: the Lubitel 166 Universal (Lubitel 166U). It’s a camera that has almost everything you might need from a camera. Plus, it’s a LOMO!

  • When Two Legends Meet: User Review of Leica M3 Camera with Petzval Art Lens

    written by candilsw on 2015-05-21 in #gear #lifestyle #reviews
    When Two Legends Meet: User Review of Leica M3 Camera with Petzval Art Lens

    With a love of antique cameras and analogue photography, Shawn Lin has long been an active member of the Lomography Community with dozens of his shots being featured. Shawn likes to explore the effects of double exposure on different themes and objects, with an emphasis on the presentation of colours. Come take a look of his work of using Petzval Art Lens on his antique camera and his thoughts about the two!

  • Technology Will Save Us x Lomography DIY Rumble

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-02-12 in #world #news #competitions
    Technology Will Save Us x Lomography DIY Rumble

    When it’s cold outside and the rain is pouring, it can be the perfect time to sit down and build something. Lomography UK has teamed up with Technology Will Save Us, a company that makes build-it-yourself electronic kits, to bring you the perfect DIY Rumble. Get the chance to win a Konstruktor camera and a DIY Instrument Kit. Read on for details on how to enter this fab competition.

    7
  • Shop News

    Ondu 4X5 Large Format Pinhole Camera

    Ondu 4X5 Large Format Pinhole Camera

    Want to push your limits in the field of photography? Go large format! This camera uses a 4x5” film and can capture all the subjects you want with this pinhole camera in large format!

  • Lomography X "Dopamine" by Third Eye Blind Exclusive Contest

    written by mike_mytnick on 2015-08-26 in #world #competitions
    Lomography X "Dopamine" by Third Eye Blind Exclusive Contest

    Lomography teams up with acclaimed rock band Third Eye Blind to celebrate the release of its new album, Dopamine, by hosting an exclusive photo contest! The prizes include a La Sardina Camera and Flash Splendour, Dopamine on CD and Dopamine T-Shirts! Read on to see how you can participate in this rumble.

    1
  • Lomography X FOTO HITS Medium Format Rumble

    written by Lomography on 2015-11-26 in #world #news #competitions
    Lomography X FOTO HITS Medium Format Rumble

    With an expanded field of view and its ability to produce high quality images and capture minute detail, medium format photography has become the top choice of many photographers. Lomography is working hard to make sure that it keeps going with the continued production of medium format film and cameras. The current issue of German magazine FOTO HITS focuses on medium format photography. And with this rumble, we want to prove why medium format photography is king. Take your Diana F+, Holga 120, Lubitel 166+ or the new Lomo LC-A 120 and show us your best square shots!

    2
  • Lomography X Carol Rumble

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-11-20 in #world #competitions #videos
    Lomography X Carol Rumble

    Starring Academy Award-winner Cate Blanchett and Academy Award-nominee Rooney Mara, CAROL is the beautiful new movie by acclaimed director Todd Haynes. To celebrate its release in cinemas on November 27 we have some great prizes to be won including our Lomo’instant Sanremo camera, 5 x copies of Vivian Maier’s Street Photography book, 10 x pairs of cinema tickets to see this fantastic film and x 10 Carol posters!

    4
  • Shop News

    Be Sharp and Get Accurate Shots!

    Be Sharp and Get Accurate Shots!

    Never go wrong with amount of light entering your lenses. Perfect for any photo shoots, very handy, lightweight and extremely versatile!

  • Competition: Lomography x The Staves

    written by lomographyfrance on 2015-02-24 in #world #competitions #videos
    Competition: Lomography x The Staves

    Do you know the folk rock trio The Staves? You will undoubtedly love them with this competition! On the occassion of their upcoming release of their new album "If I was" on 23rd March, we offer tickets for their concerts, vinyl records and Lomography cameras!

    2
  • R.E.M. X Lomography Photo Contest

    written by givesmehell on 2015-05-29 in #world #competitions
    R.E.M. X Lomography Photo Contest

    Lomography is proud to announce that we are teaming up with acclaimed rock band R.E.M. to host an exclusive one-of-a-kind photo competition! The prizes include a Lomography Diana F+ Special Edition Camera, the acclaimed new ‘R.E.M. By MTV’ DVD, R.E.M. vinyl and more! Read on to see how you can participate in this rumble.

    14
  • Tipster: Sizing and Installing Masks in the Lomo'Instant

    written by ahollond on 2015-09-12 in #gear #tipster
    Tipster: Sizing and Installing Masks in the Lomo'Instant

    Seeing cool masked photos on the Lomography site made me want to experiment with the Lomo'Instant. Making masks for the Lomo'Instant is slightly different than that for other Lomo cameras, but the steps in this article should make it easy.

    2