Review: Lomography X-Pro 200

2

Try it on different cameras!

This is one of the Lomography films that will drive you nuts with its colours when cross-processed!

From some of the users’ photos I’ve already seen what kind of effect the film would produce. The prominent colour is yellow – bright, saturated kind – that makes all the photos looked like they’ve been coloured over with a yellow Stabilo highlighter.

I bought a Lomography X-Pro Slide (Box of 3) some time ago and tried it on my Sprocket Rocket. The results did not disappoint — in fact, I think that this film is the best slide to partner the Rocket. Even on a cloudy day, the photos turned out bright, with its signature yellowish hues. Other colours, especially warmer ones like re and orange, gets intensified too. Asian skin turns yellow, and even a blue subject will appear greenish as if a yellow transparency was placed in front of the lens. It is interesting to see how unusual the results will be!

Subsequently, I tried the last roll of it on my LC-Wide, and the results are surprisingly very, very different. Instead of the yellowish hues, all my shots turn out really natural. No whacky colour shifts, but instead a comfortable increase in saturation. A little like the Lomography X-Pro Chrome to me, where colours are intensified. Even a landscape shot of a mosque appeared pleasantly natural!

Sometimes, it is the fixed shutter of a camera, for instance in this case, my Sprocket Rocket’s 1/100 sec in N mode, that makes the film yield similar results over and over again. However, in a night shot depicting Singapore’s night skyline, it was shot in bulb mode for nearly 20 seconds, yet the colours still appear yellowish.

It’s pretty unexplainable, but I suppose that if you’re interested to try this film, do match it with different cameras!

The new Lomography X-Pro Slide 35mm film is made from the original Agfa RSX 200 emulsion. If you want whacked out colours, huge contrast, and insane saturation, this film is for you. See our selection of Lomography films here.

written by shuttersentinel17 on 2011-08-18 in #reviews #yellow #200 #cross #vivid #x-pro #slide #colour #process #user-review #lomography

2 Comments

  1. sophia_lo
    sophia_lo ·

    I bought it last few weeks! will try it at coming holiday trip!! =D

  2. zipper
    zipper ·

    I am waiting for the results of a double exposure with this film, first exposure Spinner 360, second exposure: LC-W. Can't wait to see what is going to be like!

More Interesting Articles

  • The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    written by Lorraine Healy on 2015-03-23 in #gear #reviews
    The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    An Argentinean writer and photographer living in the Pacific Northwest, Lorraine Healy is a long-time fan of plastic cameras and is the author of "Tricks With A Plastic Wonder," a manual for achieving better results with a Holga camera, available in eBook form at Amazon.com. In this article, Healy explains how she fell hard in love with the Lomography XPro Slide 200 film and why she takes it on her many travels.

    3
  • Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything (Part 2)

    written by simonesavo on 2014-08-05 in #reviews
    Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything (Part 2)

    The Lomography Belair X 6-12 is more than just a medium format camera. It is lightweight, compact, and capable of shooting photos in three different sizes: 6x12, 6x9, and 6x6. Equipped with a high quality interchangeable lens system and and automatic exposure, it can give you beautiful shots in every roll. It can also take three different film formats: 120mm, 35mm, and instant. Read on to find out all about this fantastic camera.

  • An Instant Review: Pixelstick Shots from Lomography Hong Kong!

    written by candilsw on 2015-05-21 in #gear #lifestyle
    An Instant Review: Pixelstick Shots from Lomography Hong Kong!

    Pixelstick is exactly the must-get tool to create mind-blowing light paintings with different colours and patterns: 1.8 meter long, 200 full colour and high fidelity LEDs! Grab your camera with long exposure mode and a tripod, and you can create dozens of dreamy pictures just by moving your Pixelstick in the dark. Take a peep at our friends from Lomography Hong Kong’s shots with the Pixelstick!

  • Shop News

    Fisheye One Pearl Blue

    Fisheye One Pearl Blue

    Snap dazzling 35mm fisheye shots at the push of a button with this shimmery blue lightweight beauty.

  • A Review of the Lubitel 166 Universal

    written by Rafaello Palandri on 2015-07-09 in #gear #reviews
    A Review of the Lubitel 166 Universal

    Where do I begin talking about film cameras on the Lomography Magazine? Yes, you guessed right. I will begin with a LOMO, of course, a very special one: the Lubitel 166 Universal (Lubitel 166U). It’s a camera that has almost everything you might need from a camera. Plus, it’s a LOMO!

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • When Two Legends Meet: User Review of Leica M3 Camera with Petzval Art Lens

    written by candilsw on 2015-05-21 in #gear #lifestyle #reviews
    When Two Legends Meet: User Review of Leica M3 Camera with Petzval Art Lens

    With a love of antique cameras and analogue photography, Shawn Lin has long been an active member of the Lomography Community with dozens of his shots being featured. Shawn likes to explore the effects of double exposure on different themes and objects, with an emphasis on the presentation of colours. Come take a look of his work of using Petzval Art Lens on his antique camera and his thoughts about the two!

  • Shop News

    Colorsplash your World!

    Colorsplash your World!

    At 30% off you can now color your analog images with 12 different color gels. Experiment with 35mm slide film and play with the built-in color flash for the most intense colors!

  • Lubitel 166+: A Review By A Four-Month Newbie

    written by hervinsyah on 2014-09-10 in #reviews
    Lubitel 166+: A Review By A Four-Month Newbie

    Many thanks to Lomography for choosing me as one of the Win Your Wishlist Rumble 2013 winners. Now, I can finally try using this precious camera.

  • Technology Will Save Us x Lomography DIY Rumble

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-02-12 in #world #news #competitions
    Technology Will Save Us x Lomography DIY Rumble

    When it’s cold outside and the rain is pouring, it can be the perfect time to sit down and build something. Lomography UK has teamed up with Technology Will Save Us, a company that makes build-it-yourself electronic kits, to bring you the perfect DIY Rumble. Get the chance to win a Konstruktor camera and a DIY Instrument Kit. Read on for details on how to enter this fab competition.

    7
  • Lomography x HORST Rumble Winners

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-11-22 in #competitions
    Lomography x HORST Rumble Winners

    The Lomography x The Victoria and Albert Museum HORST Rumble was so successful with over 800 entries! As you can imagine it's been a tough challenge deciding on the winners but we've done it! Read on to find out who the winners are.

    2
  • Shop News

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    You want your subject be the center of attention? Petzval lens photos are recognizable for sharpness and crispness in the centre, strong color saturation, wonderful swirly bokeh effect, artful vignettes and narrow depth of field that will make your subjects stand out!

  • Photoblog.hk Review on the New Petzval Lens

    written by zoeyeung on 2014-10-24 in #reviews
    Photoblog.hk Review on the New Petzval Lens

    So On from photoblog.hk tried shooting with the new Petzval Lens, and shares his insight through this brief but informative review.

    3
  • Competition: Lomography x The Staves

    written by lomographyfrance on 2015-02-24 in #world #competitions
    Competition: Lomography x The Staves

    Do you know the folk rock trio The Staves? You will undoubtedly love them with this competition! On the occassion of their upcoming release of their new album "If I was" on 23rd March, we offer tickets for their concerts, vinyl records and Lomography cameras!

    2
  • R.E.M. X Lomography Photo Contest

    written by givesmehell on 2015-05-29 in #world #competitions
    R.E.M. X Lomography Photo Contest

    Lomography is proud to announce that we are teaming up with acclaimed rock band R.E.M. to host an exclusive one-of-a-kind photo competition! The prizes include a Lomography Diana F+ Special Edition Camera, the acclaimed new ‘R.E.M. By MTV’ DVD, R.E.M. vinyl and more! Read on to see how you can participate in this rumble.

    14