Lubitel 166 U Review

8

A fantastic camera! It's time you tried medium format through a waist level viewfinder!

The Lubitel 166 U is a camera i got before the Lubitel explosion on the Lomo site. I got mine from ebay from a very friendly chap in Scotland and for that i feel very attached to it. It takes marvelous photos with great contrast.
It didn’t come with instructions but with using the sunny 16 rule i have found it very easy.

The sunny 16 rule is you put the aperture at 16 in sunny weather and match the shutter speed to your film speed or the nearest. You can alter the aperture and shutter speed accordingly and it becomes easier with experience.
The top down viewer is very easy to use but its a little tricky at first to use the focusing ring, its mastered quickly though.
I’ve found that 400 iso Fuji Superia yields the best pictures and its best used during the day and could easily be converted into a nocturnal with a PC flash adaptor and a flash.

I love taking my Lubitel out and have “Lubitel days out” people stare but I have the patience to explain :)

Check out the Lubitel microsite

written by callumbum on 2009-08-07 in #reviews #lubitel-166-u #day-time-camera

8 Comments

  1. lomosexual_manboy
    lomosexual_manboy ·

    This is my fav model of all the Lubitels. I simply love it. Your gallery shows why.

  2. breakphreak
    breakphreak ·

    like that camera a lot. have you managed to load 35mm film into it somehow?

  3. eyecon
    eyecon ·

    THat´s a great gallery - especially the B/W stuff and I realy like # 8

  4. stouf
    stouf ·

    3 and 8 rock !!!

  5. zark
    zark ·

    Love No. 8!

  6. sibu_sen
    sibu_sen ·

    I love this camera too! I just wish I used it more… Just afraid to break it so am not carrying it everyday… I love shot 8 and 12.

  7. sublimation440
    sublimation440 ·

    Just got an original in mint, can't wait to actually get this baby going, currently have infrared film in it, but it expired in '92, so we'll see how it comes out :P This camera does have amazing colour from what I can see here, I can't wait :)

  8. pink1212
    pink1212 ·

    Great pics. That camera looks like it would be a lot of fun.

More Interesting Articles

  • A Review of the Lubitel 166 Universal

    written by Rafaello Palandri on 2015-07-09 in #gear #reviews
    A Review of the Lubitel 166 Universal

    Where do I begin talking about film cameras on the Lomography Magazine? Yes, you guessed right. I will begin with a LOMO, of course, a very special one: the Lubitel 166 Universal (Lubitel 166U). It’s a camera that has almost everything you might need from a camera. Plus, it’s a LOMO!

  • Fresh Belair Photographs from the Community Rumble Winners

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-04-13 in #world #news #competitions
    Fresh Belair Photographs from the Community Rumble Winners

    Are you a fan of medium format cameras? Then, you should definitely give Lomography's Belair X 6-12 camera a try!

    4
  • Something New: Use 35mm Film in Your LC-A 120

    written by efrost on 2015-02-25 in #gear #lifestyle #tipster
    Something New: Use 35mm Film in Your LC-A 120

    What’s something you have to try right away with a new medium format camera? Exactly - put 35mm film in it and take some awesome shots with sprockets on them!

    9
  • Shop News

    Fisheye One Pearl Blue

    Fisheye One Pearl Blue

    Snap dazzling 35mm fisheye shots at the push of a button with this shimmery blue lightweight beauty.

  • Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything (Part 2)

    written by simonesavo on 2014-08-05 in #reviews
    Lomography Belair X 6-12: A Camera That Can Do Almost Everything (Part 2)

    The Lomography Belair X 6-12 is more than just a medium format camera. It is lightweight, compact, and capable of shooting photos in three different sizes: 6x12, 6x9, and 6x6. Equipped with a high quality interchangeable lens system and and automatic exposure, it can give you beautiful shots in every roll. It can also take three different film formats: 120mm, 35mm, and instant. Read on to find out all about this fantastic camera.

  • Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    written by pripri2000 on 2015-04-22 in #gear #news
    Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    Capture the world and all its contours in vibrant, wide-angled photographs any time, any where! The LC-A 120 is an adventure of its own with lots of exciting functions to experiment with, like seamless long exposures or full ISO control. It's also super-fast and ultra-compact - perfect for your everyday. If you're worried about the Medium Format film, don't be! You are free to use any 120 Film you want and there are plenty to choose from. In fact, that's what makes this camera so versatile! Scroll through this gallery for a little taste of the glorious shots this nifty invention is capable of.

    1
  • Lubitel 166+ Is Back In Stock!

    written by shhquiet on 2015-07-14 in #gear #news
    Lubitel 166+ Is Back In Stock!

    Are you ready for a twin-lensed whirlwind romance? Do you want to find love from waist level? A timeless analogue heartthrob has returned, and we bet you won’t be able to resist its charms. Friends and lovers, the Lubitel 166+ is back in stock!

  • Shop News

    the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

     the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

    Let your loved one pick the gift of their dreams. Lomography Online Shop Gift Certificates are the perfect present for every analogue devotee on your gift list

  • Introducing The Brand New LC-A 120 - The Most Compact & Magical Fully Automatic 120 Film Camera Ever!

    written by shhquiet on 2014-09-08 in #news
    Introducing The Brand New LC-A 120 - The Most Compact & Magical Fully Automatic 120 Film Camera Ever!

    Get ready to think fast and shoot faster! Today, we are thrilled share with you news of the brand new LC-A 120 Camera. Load it with any 120 film roll and experience the thrill of medium format photography. You’re sure to soak up all the action in every square shot with its fantastic 38mm f/4.5 wide-angle lens (equivalent to a 21mm lens on a 35mm film camera). It's available for Pre-Order: Extremely limited first batch stock of only 500 cameras!

    35
  • 18 Awesome Belair X 6-12 Squares

    written by shhquiet on 2015-03-13 in #gear #news
    18 Awesome Belair X 6-12 Squares

    Having a Belair X 6-12 feels like owning more than just one camera. It's a medium-format camera, but paired with its special accessories you can shoot 35mm or instant photos with it, too! The versatility of its 3 photo formats also offers more options to suit your shooting needs. Here, we present to you some of the most gorgeous Belair X 6-12 photos in classic 6x6 format. Enjoy!

    11
  • LomoChrome Purple 120 and 35mm: Expect the Radical!

    written by myahcat on 2014-08-01 in #reviews
    LomoChrome Purple 120 and 35mm: Expect the Radical!

    I was given a roll of LomoChrome Purple 120 by a friend who was keen for me to try it out since he didn't have a medium format camera. I really didn't expect the results I got when I took it out for a test run on a bright winter's day in London.

  • Shop News

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    written by Lorraine Healy on 2015-03-23 in #gear #reviews
    The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    An Argentinean writer and photographer living in the Pacific Northwest, Lorraine Healy is a long-time fan of plastic cameras and is the author of "Tricks With A Plastic Wonder," a manual for achieving better results with a Holga camera, available in eBook form at Amazon.com. In this article, Healy explains how she fell hard in love with the Lomography XPro Slide 200 film and why she takes it on her many travels.

    3
  • Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-03-29 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    The Pop 9 is an analog multilens wonder that allows you to take a mosaic of nine images in one frame à la Andy Warhol's famous pop art. In this Reviews on Rewind installment, we dug through our archives and found these informative reviews of the Pop 9 - just in case you're looking into snagging a fun camera in your arsenal!

  • Sumptuous New Squares: Take a Peek at these Latest LC-A 120 Snaps!

    written by tomas_bates on 2014-09-26 in #lifestyle
    Sumptuous New Squares: Take a Peek at these Latest LC-A 120 Snaps!

    It's been a little while since we've shared the latest shots taken with the brand new LC-A 120 with you. But that just means we have a fantastic collection to show you today! Our testers from around the world have been shooting from the hip and with the heart to capture their daily lives with this medium format master. Skip past the jump to spy into some Lomographic lives!

    1