Lubitel 166 U Review

8

A fantastic camera! It's time you tried medium format through a waist level viewfinder!

The Lubitel 166 U is a camera i got before the Lubitel explosion on the Lomo site. I got mine from ebay from a very friendly chap in Scotland and for that i feel very attached to it. It takes marvelous photos with great contrast.
It didn’t come with instructions but with using the sunny 16 rule i have found it very easy.

The sunny 16 rule is you put the aperture at 16 in sunny weather and match the shutter speed to your film speed or the nearest. You can alter the aperture and shutter speed accordingly and it becomes easier with experience.
The top down viewer is very easy to use but its a little tricky at first to use the focusing ring, its mastered quickly though.
I’ve found that 400 iso Fuji Superia yields the best pictures and its best used during the day and could easily be converted into a nocturnal with a PC flash adaptor and a flash.

I love taking my Lubitel out and have “Lubitel days out” people stare but I have the patience to explain :)

Check out the Lubitel microsite

written by callumbum on 2009-08-07 in #reviews #lubitel-166-u #day-time-camera

8 Comments

  1. lomosexual_manboy
    lomosexual_manboy ·

    This is my fav model of all the Lubitels. I simply love it. Your gallery shows why.

  2. breakphreak
    breakphreak ·

    like that camera a lot. have you managed to load 35mm film into it somehow?

  3. eyecon
    eyecon ·

    THat´s a great gallery - especially the B/W stuff and I realy like # 8

  4. stouf
    stouf ·

    3 and 8 rock !!!

  5. zark
    zark ·

    Love No. 8!

  6. sibu_sen
    sibu_sen ·

    I love this camera too! I just wish I used it more… Just afraid to break it so am not carrying it everyday… I love shot 8 and 12.

  7. sublimation440
    sublimation440 ·

    Just got an original in mint, can't wait to actually get this baby going, currently have infrared film in it, but it expired in '92, so we'll see how it comes out :P This camera does have amazing colour from what I can see here, I can't wait :)

  8. pink1212
    pink1212 ·

    Great pics. That camera looks like it would be a lot of fun.

More Interesting Articles

  • A Review of the Lubitel 166 Universal

    written by Rafaello Palandri on 2015-07-09 in #gear #reviews
    A Review of the Lubitel 166 Universal

    Where do I begin talking about film cameras on the Lomography Magazine? Yes, you guessed right. I will begin with a LOMO, of course, a very special one: the Lubitel 166 Universal (Lubitel 166U). It’s a camera that has almost everything you might need from a camera. Plus, it’s a LOMO!

  • Lomography X FOTO HITS Medium Format Rumble

    written by Lomography on 2015-11-26 in #world #news #competitions
    Lomography X FOTO HITS Medium Format Rumble

    With an expanded field of view and its ability to produce high quality images and capture minute detail, medium format photography has become the top choice of many photographers. Lomography is working hard to make sure that it keeps going with the continued production of medium format film and cameras. The current issue of German magazine FOTO HITS focuses on medium format photography. And with this rumble, we want to prove why medium format photography is king. Take your Diana F+, Holga 120, Lubitel 166+ or the new Lomo LC-A 120 and show us your best square shots!

    2
  • Fresh Belair Photographs from the Community Rumble Winners

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-04-13 in #world #news #competitions
    Fresh Belair Photographs from the Community Rumble Winners

    Are you a fan of medium format cameras? Then, you should definitely give Lomography's Belair X 6-12 camera a try!

    4
  • Shop News

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Really want to bring your film photos to life? We’re now offering totally analogue fine art prints in a host of large sizes and formats! Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Something New: Use 35mm Film in Your LC-A 120

    written by efrost on 2015-02-25 in #gear #lifestyle #tipster
    Something New: Use 35mm Film in Your LC-A 120

    What’s something you have to try right away with a new medium format camera? Exactly - put 35mm film in it and take some awesome shots with sprockets on them!

    9
  • Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    written by pripri2000 on 2015-04-22 in #gear #news
    Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    Capture the world and all its contours in vibrant, wide-angled photographs any time, any where! The LC-A 120 is an adventure of its own with lots of exciting functions to experiment with, like seamless long exposures or full ISO control. It's also super-fast and ultra-compact - perfect for your everyday. If you're worried about the Medium Format film, don't be! You are free to use any 120 Film you want and there are plenty to choose from. In fact, that's what makes this camera so versatile! Scroll through this gallery for a little taste of the glorious shots this nifty invention is capable of.

    1
  • Lubitel 166+ Is Back In Stock!

    written by shhquiet on 2015-07-14 in #gear #news
    Lubitel 166+ Is Back In Stock!

    Are you ready for a twin-lensed whirlwind romance? Do you want to find love from waist level? A timeless analogue heartthrob has returned, and we bet you won’t be able to resist its charms. Friends and lovers, the Lubitel 166+ is back in stock!

  • Shop News

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Done shooting and want your films to be processed? We can process your colour and black & white 35mm, 120 or 110 films! Development, prints and scans are also included. (Service availability depends on your markets)

  • Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-03-29 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    The Pop 9 is an analog multilens wonder that allows you to take a mosaic of nine images in one frame à la Andy Warhol's famous pop art. In this Reviews on Rewind installment, we dug through our archives and found these informative reviews of the Pop 9 - just in case you're looking into snagging a fun camera in your arsenal!

  • 18 Awesome Belair X 6-12 Squares

    written by shhquiet on 2015-03-13 in #gear #news
    18 Awesome Belair X 6-12 Squares

    Having a Belair X 6-12 feels like owning more than just one camera. It's a medium-format camera, but paired with its special accessories you can shoot 35mm or instant photos with it, too! The versatility of its 3 photo formats also offers more options to suit your shooting needs. Here, we present to you some of the most gorgeous Belair X 6-12 photos in classic 6x6 format. Enjoy!

    11
  • The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    written by Lorraine Healy on 2015-03-23 in #gear #reviews
    The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    An Argentinean writer and photographer living in the Pacific Northwest, Lorraine Healy is a long-time fan of plastic cameras and is the author of "Tricks With A Plastic Wonder," a manual for achieving better results with a Holga camera, available in eBook form at Amazon.com. In this article, Healy explains how she fell hard in love with the Lomography XPro Slide 200 film and why she takes it on her many travels.

    3
  • Shop News

    the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

     the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

    Let your loved one pick the gift of their dreams. Lomography Online Shop Gift Certificates are the perfect present for every analogue devotee on your gift list

  • 18 Brilliant Belair X 6-12 Shots In 6x9 Format

    written by shhquiet on 2015-03-13 in #gear
    18 Brilliant Belair X 6-12 Shots In 6x9 Format

    The Belair X 6-12 is not an ordinary medium format camera. Besides classic square shots, it's also capable of shooting outstanding photos in 6x9 format! Have a look at some stunning examples below.

    6
  • Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-04-06 in #gear #reviews
    Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    There are quite a few perks that come with working for a film photography company, and the best perk of all is testing out the latest cameras. I can remember buying my LC-A back in 2009 and being really inspired to shoot film again. When the LC-A 120 came along, I couldn't wait to try it out around London. Join me as I test out this super medium format beauty.

  • Lovely Squares Courtesy of the Lomography Color Negative 400 (120)

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-08-02 in #gear #news
    Lovely Squares Courtesy of the Lomography Color Negative 400 (120)

    Have a look at these bright and beautiful medium format photographs from the community shot with the Lomography Color Negative 400 for 120 cameras. While you're at it, find out how you can earn piggies and have your own CN 400 (120) snaps be featured on the Online Shop!