Review: Lomography X-Pro Chrome 100

11

Using this film is like adding an extra saturation layer, cranked to the max, in Photoshop!

The Lomography X-Pro Chrome 100 is one film that I hesitated to try — mainly due to it being the most pricey Lomo film available. I started out with the cheaper negatives while I get used to the operation of my cameras, and now that after shooting a few rolls of slide film, I decided to try out the Chrome.

On the website, the film is claimed to “intensify hues and makes everything more vibrant and vivid”, which is a perfect match for an impromptu trip to Sekinchan and Kuala Selangor. The fishing village and paddy field town provided enough colorful subjects to shoot, especially the huge containers, snack packaging, and rustic riverside homes.

The film did not disappoint at all! I am really happy with the way the colors turn out as claimed — bright, vivid and at some point, too good to be true. I think back at the time I used to shoot in digital and then tried to edit the photos to look like these, but none appear as naturally, strongly saturated like this film.

Not too sure if this is the camera or film, but I found out that the best saturated parts are in areas under a shade. In direct sunlight the colors tend to be overexposed a little. Perhaps it is best to notch up the ISO to 200 if shooting directly under strong sunlight.

Anyway, give this film a try – it’s fun!

The Lomography X-Pro Chrome 100 35mm is a showstopper of a slide. When cross processed, this film intensifies hues and makes everything more vibrant and vivid. See our selection of Lomography films here.

written by shuttersentinel17 on 2011-08-09 in #reviews #colours #lomo #chrome #slide-film #lomography #100 #review #vivid #user-review #x-pro

11 Comments

  1. simonh82
    simonh82 ·

    It's a great film. I got 15 rolls of it with piggies when i got my LCA+ and have used almost all of them. Great photos as well!

  2. nuhdos
    nuhdos ·

    I wanna try this film, I love the 200 asa one, but it has got a lot o grain when your cross it, specially if you've shooted under the sun... the 100 asa hasn't this problem I think !

  3. aroninvt
    aroninvt ·

    I just got a 3 pack of this and loaded a roll in my La Sardina today! I can't wait to finish it!

  4. houda21
    houda21 ·

    Great article and fantastic pictures. Just wanted to know what camera you used to shoot them?

  5. shuttersentinel17
    shuttersentinel17 ·

    @simonh82: wow 15 rolls? Thats alot, great film to stock up!

    @nuhdos: Yea I agree, this one looks a tad much "cleaner" haha!

    @aroninvt: Cool! hope your pictures turn out great! :D

    @houda21: Thanks! I used a Lomo LC-Wide.

  6. eva_eva
    eva_eva ·

    Love the colors! :)

  7. lihooi
    lihooi ·

    i have the overexposed problem too but still loving it! experimenting with iso200 too! :)

  8. lyndxe
    lyndxe ·

    awesome photos and article - i was curious about using this film with my LC-A+, so thanks for the great review + advice!

  9. shuttersentinel17
    shuttersentinel17 ·

    @eva_eva: Thanks! Me too!

    @lihooi: I tried ISO200 on a Provia 100F and it looked not so overexposed! But possibly my lab had already adjusted it haha..

    @lyndxe: No problem! Looking forward to seeing your shots too!

  10. nfxfsx
    nfxfsx ·

    @lihooi - I'm going to try that as well. The colors are amazing with the film.

  11. zulkhairikharuddin
    zulkhairikharuddin ·

    chrome 100 make blue colour turn to rich blue after cross process.

More Interesting Articles

  • Awesome Accidental Light Leaks on Lomography X-Pro Chrome Film

    written by cheeo on 2014-07-14 in #lifestyle
    Awesome Accidental Light Leaks on Lomography X-Pro Chrome Film

    Get wonderful color shifts, knockout saturation and more analogue effects with Lomography X-Pro Chrome film!

  • Awesome Albums: x-pro colors of winter 2015 by fotobes

    written by Kwyn Kenaz Aquino on 2015-03-06 in #world #lifestyle
    Awesome Albums: x-pro colors of winter 2015 by fotobes

    Here is how saturated colors can speak of a certain kind of winter blues, much like gloomy lyrics sung in a happy tune.

    2
  • Lomography x Tatty Devine Rumble

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-12-05 in #competitions
    Lomography x Tatty Devine Rumble

    Lomography has teamed up with UK-based, fun and distinctive jewellery maker Tatty Devine to bring you an extra special sparkly Christmas rumble. You can win a bespoke name necklace in any colour you like and a Sprocket Rocket POP camera to match. Find out how to enter this fabulous rumble.

    8
  • Shop News

    Petzval Buddies

    Petzval Buddies

    Petzval lens are designed for a Canon or Nikon SLR mounts and a selection of brass or black for each camera brand is available in our stores. And start shooting with images full of sharpness, crispness and bokeh effects!

  • The Phoblographer Gives a Stellar Review of the Lomography Petzval Lens

    written by shhquiet on 2014-06-16 in #news
    The Phoblographer Gives a Stellar Review of the Lomography Petzval Lens

    We're ecstatic to read an in-depth review of the Lomography Petzval Lens, from the cool folks over at The Phoblographer. It's exciting to find out that, like us, they are in-love with the Petzval Lens too, so much that they gave it an impressive 4/5 rating! If you're thinking of getting a Petzval Lens, you'll find this featured review very useful. Check out an excerpt and the link to the full article after the jump!

  • LomoChrome Purple XR 100-400

    written by simonesavo on 2014-06-17 in #reviews
    LomoChrome Purple XR 100-400

    The LomoChrome Purple XR 100-400 is a color negative film that uses false colors and gives your images an infrared effect. In fact, the greens turn to purple and yellows turn to pink. See how it fares on a photowalk after the jump.

    2
  • Dashing X-Pro Colors in Sprocket Photos Taken with the Sprocket Rocket

    written by cheeo on 2014-07-03 in #lifestyle
    Dashing X-Pro Colors in Sprocket Photos Taken with the Sprocket Rocket

    X-pro film photos never cease to amaze us with majestic colors and saturation, and they're made even more beautiful with sprocket holes in them!

  • Shop News

    LC-A Instant Back+ at Lesser Price!

    LC-A Instant Back+ at Lesser Price!

    Grab this lovely accessory at discounted price! LC-A instant Back is iideal for your summer getaways to capture memories instantly with your LC-A cameras in hand!

  • Lomography x Nixon Petzval Video

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-08-13 in #lifestyle
    Lomography x Nixon Petzval Video

    Last month, Lomography Gallery Store Soho held an exhibition of photographs taken at the Nixon Surf Challenge in Russia. Free drinks and live music from Swim Mountain overflowed at the opening party. Using the Petzval lens and a star-shaped aperture plate to give a beautifully soft, dreamy effect, the folks at the Soho Gallery Store created a video of the event. Watch this video after the jump.

  • Italian food by Lomography X-Pro Slide 200

    written by sirio174 on 2014-04-26 in #reviews
    Italian food by Lomography X-Pro Slide 200

    On a sunny April Sunday, I decided to load a Lomography X-Pro Slide 200 on my new Lomo LC-A+; both bought few weeks ago from the Lomography Online Shop to take some photos of some Italian food stalls in the center of my city, Como. Here my first impressions about this interesting film.

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-29 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    Classy, moody photographs in monochrome and with fine grain - what more could you ask for from one of Lomography's very own black and white emulsion for standard 35mm cameras, the Earl Grey? Find out how this film fared among six of our community members in this Reviews on Rewind installment!

  • Shop News

    LCA-120 Film Bundle

    LCA-120 Film Bundle

    Shoot more with LC-A 120 without breaking your budget! The Phoblographer Editor’s Choice Award Winner now comes with a 120 format film at 15% off!

  • Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-03-29 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    The Pop 9 is an analog multilens wonder that allows you to take a mosaic of nine images in one frame à la Andy Warhol's famous pop art. In this Reviews on Rewind installment, we dug through our archives and found these informative reviews of the Pop 9 - just in case you're looking into snagging a fun camera in your arsenal!

  • Lomography x FotoFilmic '14

    written by mindofmyra on 2014-10-03 in #events
    Lomography x FotoFilmic '14

    Lomography is proud to be a sponsor of Fotofilmic '14, a global film photography publication and curation platform dedicated to emerging and unknown photographic talents attached to film worldwide. Come celebrate with us at the opening reception in Vancouver! In the meantime, here's a sneak peek of the top winners of Fotofilmic '14!

  • The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    written by Lorraine Healy on 2015-03-23 in #gear #reviews
    The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    An Argentinean writer and photographer living in the Pacific Northwest, Lorraine Healy is a long-time fan of plastic cameras and is the author of "Tricks With A Plastic Wonder," a manual for achieving better results with a Holga camera, available in eBook form at Amazon.com. In this article, Healy explains how she fell hard in love with the Lomography XPro Slide 200 film and why she takes it on her many travels.

    3