Review: Lomography X-Pro Chrome 100

11

Using this film is like adding an extra saturation layer, cranked to the max, in Photoshop!

The Lomography X-Pro Chrome 100 is one film that I hesitated to try — mainly due to it being the most pricey Lomo film available. I started out with the cheaper negatives while I get used to the operation of my cameras, and now that after shooting a few rolls of slide film, I decided to try out the Chrome.

On the website, the film is claimed to “intensify hues and makes everything more vibrant and vivid”, which is a perfect match for an impromptu trip to Sekinchan and Kuala Selangor. The fishing village and paddy field town provided enough colorful subjects to shoot, especially the huge containers, snack packaging, and rustic riverside homes.

The film did not disappoint at all! I am really happy with the way the colors turn out as claimed — bright, vivid and at some point, too good to be true. I think back at the time I used to shoot in digital and then tried to edit the photos to look like these, but none appear as naturally, strongly saturated like this film.

Not too sure if this is the camera or film, but I found out that the best saturated parts are in areas under a shade. In direct sunlight the colors tend to be overexposed a little. Perhaps it is best to notch up the ISO to 200 if shooting directly under strong sunlight.

Anyway, give this film a try – it’s fun!

The Lomography X-Pro Chrome 100 35mm is a showstopper of a slide. When cross processed, this film intensifies hues and makes everything more vibrant and vivid. See our selection of Lomography films here.

written by shuttersentinel17 on 2011-08-09 in #reviews #100 #x-pro #review #slide-film #lomo #colours #chrome #vivid #user-review #lomography

11 Comments

  1. simonh82
    simonh82 ·

    It's a great film. I got 15 rolls of it with piggies when i got my LCA+ and have used almost all of them. Great photos as well!

  2. nuhdos
    nuhdos ·

    I wanna try this film, I love the 200 asa one, but it has got a lot o grain when your cross it, specially if you've shooted under the sun... the 100 asa hasn't this problem I think !

  3. aroninvt
    aroninvt ·

    I just got a 3 pack of this and loaded a roll in my La Sardina today! I can't wait to finish it!

  4. houda21
    houda21 ·

    Great article and fantastic pictures. Just wanted to know what camera you used to shoot them?

  5. shuttersentinel17
    shuttersentinel17 ·

    @simonh82: wow 15 rolls? Thats alot, great film to stock up!

    @nuhdos: Yea I agree, this one looks a tad much "cleaner" haha!

    @aroninvt: Cool! hope your pictures turn out great! :D

    @houda21: Thanks! I used a Lomo LC-Wide.

  6. eva_eva
    eva_eva ·

    Love the colors! :)

  7. lihooi
    lihooi ·

    i have the overexposed problem too but still loving it! experimenting with iso200 too! :)

  8. lyndxe
    lyndxe ·

    awesome photos and article - i was curious about using this film with my LC-A+, so thanks for the great review + advice!

  9. shuttersentinel17
    shuttersentinel17 ·

    @eva_eva: Thanks! Me too!

    @lihooi: I tried ISO200 on a Provia 100F and it looked not so overexposed! But possibly my lab had already adjusted it haha..

    @lyndxe: No problem! Looking forward to seeing your shots too!

  10. nfxfsx
    nfxfsx ·

    @lihooi - I'm going to try that as well. The colors are amazing with the film.

  11. zulkhairikharuddin
    zulkhairikharuddin ·

    chrome 100 make blue colour turn to rich blue after cross process.

More Interesting Articles

  • Awesome Albums: x-pro colors of winter 2015 by fotobes

    written by Kwyn Kenaz Aquino on 2015-03-06 in #world #lifestyle
    Awesome Albums: x-pro colors of winter 2015 by fotobes

    Here is how saturated colors can speak of a certain kind of winter blues, much like gloomy lyrics sung in a happy tune.

    2
  • Reviews on Rewind: LomoChrome Purple (Part 2)

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-08-30 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: LomoChrome Purple (Part 2)

    With its surreal, psychedelic results that easily remind one of fairy tale-like wonderlands, the LomoChrome Purple has quickly grown to become one of the most popular emulsions in the community. We're giving you that extra push in the form of more community-penned reviews to finally try this film yourself, if you haven't.

  • Lomography x Tatty Devine Rumble

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-12-05 in #competitions
    Lomography x Tatty Devine Rumble

    Lomography has teamed up with UK-based, fun and distinctive jewellery maker Tatty Devine to bring you an extra special sparkly Christmas rumble. You can win a bespoke name necklace in any colour you like and a Sprocket Rocket POP camera to match. Find out how to enter this fabulous rumble.

    8
  • Shop News

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Done shooting and want your films to be processed? We can process your colour and black & white 35mm, 120 or 110 films! Development, prints and scans are also included. (Service availability depends on your markets)

  • A Review of the Nikon F2

    written by Alexandra Pillet on 2015-06-15 in #gear #reviews
    A Review of the Nikon F2

    Considered as one of the best 35mm SLR cameras, the Nikon F2 is indeed one of the best experiences on film I’ve ever had. Fully manual and almost impossible to break, this historic camera is really marvelous to use.

  • Taking a Picture of You Taking a Picture of Me with Lomography Belair X 6-12 City Slicker

    written by Kwyn Kenaz Aquino on 2015-06-01 in #gear #lifestyle
    Taking a Picture of You Taking a Picture of Me with Lomography Belair X 6-12 City Slicker

    Cue in the bridge of Roisin Murphy's song "Ramalama," the perfect soundtrack to photo walks. This Belair X 6-12 City Slicker gallery celebrates multi-layered portraits of photographers in action, plus friendships within the Lomography community.

  • R.E.M. X Lomography Photo Contest

    written by givesmehell on 2015-05-29 in #world #competitions
    R.E.M. X Lomography Photo Contest

    Lomography is proud to announce that we are teaming up with acclaimed rock band R.E.M. to host an exclusive one-of-a-kind photo competition! The prizes include a Lomography Diana F+ Special Edition Camera, the acclaimed new ‘R.E.M. By MTV’ DVD, R.E.M. vinyl and more! Read on to see how you can participate in this rumble.

    14
  • Shop News

    Fisheye One Pearl Blue

    Fisheye One Pearl Blue

    Snap dazzling 35mm fisheye shots at the push of a button with this shimmery blue lightweight beauty.

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-29 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    Classy, moody photographs in monochrome and with fine grain - what more could you ask for from one of Lomography's very own black and white emulsion for standard 35mm cameras, the Earl Grey? Find out how this film fared among six of our community members in this Reviews on Rewind installment!

  • Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-03-29 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    The Pop 9 is an analog multilens wonder that allows you to take a mosaic of nine images in one frame à la Andy Warhol's famous pop art. In this Reviews on Rewind installment, we dug through our archives and found these informative reviews of the Pop 9 - just in case you're looking into snagging a fun camera in your arsenal!

  • Lomography x FotoFilmic '14

    written by mindofmyra on 2014-10-03 in #events
    Lomography x FotoFilmic '14

    Lomography is proud to be a sponsor of Fotofilmic '14, a global film photography publication and curation platform dedicated to emerging and unknown photographic talents attached to film worldwide. Come celebrate with us at the opening reception in Vancouver! In the meantime, here's a sneak peek of the top winners of Fotofilmic '14!

  • Shop News

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    You want your subject be the center of attention? Petzval lens photos are recognizable for sharpness and crispness in the centre, strong color saturation, wonderful swirly bokeh effect, artful vignettes and narrow depth of field that will make your subjects stand out!

  • The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    written by Lorraine Healy on 2015-03-23 in #gear #reviews
    The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    An Argentinean writer and photographer living in the Pacific Northwest, Lorraine Healy is a long-time fan of plastic cameras and is the author of "Tricks With A Plastic Wonder," a manual for achieving better results with a Holga camera, available in eBook form at Amazon.com. In this article, Healy explains how she fell hard in love with the Lomography XPro Slide 200 film and why she takes it on her many travels.

    3
  • When Two Legends Meet: User Review of Leica M3 Camera with Petzval Art Lens

    written by candilsw on 2015-05-21 in #gear #lifestyle #reviews
    When Two Legends Meet: User Review of Leica M3 Camera with Petzval Art Lens

    With a love of antique cameras and analogue photography, Shawn Lin has long been an active member of the Lomography Community with dozens of his shots being featured. Shawn likes to explore the effects of double exposure on different themes and objects, with an emphasis on the presentation of colours. Come take a look of his work of using Petzval Art Lens on his antique camera and his thoughts about the two!

  • Lomography x Looper Rumble

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-05-11 in #world #competitions #videos
    Lomography x Looper Rumble

    Looper is a Scottish Indie/Electronic band fronted by former Belle and Sebastian bassist Stuart David. Lomography has teamed up with Looper and Mute, a UK-based record label, to bring you this special rumble where you can win a LomoKino, a Looper bundle which includes a 5-CD Box Set signed by the band, live cassette and badge. On top of this Looper will be selecting their favourite photos to be featured in their latest music video which is aptly called “I’m a Photograph”! You’d be mad not to enter! Read on for details.