Kodak T-max (35mm, 100 iso) user-review

7

This was my first encounter with T-max 100, and what a happy one it was!

This was my first encounter with T-max 100, and what a happy one it was!

I came across T-max during a period of crazy film-hopping, just trying everything out I could get my hands on. I popped it in my Supersampler one morning on my way to work, shot away during the day (lots of trains and train stations), and finally developed it at home in my kitchen sink. So much fun!

Because I’m lazy, I like to use stand development when I develop my own film, and this is probably the most pleasing result I’ve had so far. The vignettes look absolutely stunning!
This is supposed to be the world’s finest grained 100 ISO black and white film, which I totally believe and because it’s extremely sharp it makes great enlargements.

Try it out – and don’t be afraid of those home development kits, either!

http://www.kodak.com/global/en/professional/products/films/bw/tMax100.jhtml

http://www.flickr.com/groups/rodinal/discuss/72057594127302566/

written by eggzakly on 2009-01-31 in #reviews #100-iso #b-w #t-max #35mm #kodak

7 Comments

  1. vstephanie
    vstephanie ·

    yes.. t-max is the bomb diggity! and so are your shots!

  2. kirri-joy
    kirri-joy ·

    great review and nice shots! supersampler looks fun.

  3. anelfandhiszippo
    anelfandhiszippo ·

    I love t-max but I use the iso 400 and its great also and now I want to try a supersampler to after seeing these shots!

  4. zulupt
    zulupt ·

    Very nice review, congrats!
    I have a T-max 100iso film and I haven´t tried it, thanks to your review I will load my LC with it as soon as possible.
    What a fine grain!!! Amazing pics!

  5. grenoouille
    grenoouille ·

    woww! I wouldn't have imagined such great results in a supersampler!!!
    Good to know!
    Well done!

  6. fabyen
    fabyen ·

    I'm surprised byt he results you got, especially with the supersampler... and only 100 asa !
    I'll try the tmax in it now ! ;-)

  7. anelfandhiszippo
    anelfandhiszippo ·

    A supersampler are on the way to me now :)

More Interesting Articles

  • Album Review: Without My Enemy What Would I Do

    written by mindofmyra on 2015-07-16 in #people #lifestyle #locations #events
    Album Review: Without My Enemy What Would I Do

    Made in Heights is at it again. In May 2015, Alexei Saba Mohajerjasbi and Kelsey Bulkin released their album "Without My Enemy What Would I Do." This album tests the boundaries of genre by pulling from all forms of music to create a paradigm shift of preconceived notions.

  • Two Days and One Night in Vibrant Sapa

    written by choidaehan on 2015-05-13 in #world #lifestyle #locations
    Two Days and One Night in Vibrant Sapa

    For three months last year, I traveled to 11 cities of eight Southeast Asian countries. My first destination from my hometown of Seoul was Vietnam. After 10 days in Hanoi, I joined a group tour to Sapa, an area known for its hill tribes. This is a photo story of my two days and one night in this remote but vibrant place.

    1
  • Analog By Nature

    written by Cameron Jean-laing on 2015-04-17 in #world #lifestyle #videos
    Analog By Nature

    It's late October in Copenhagen and summer was well and truly behind us. With the nights drawing in, the chances of going out with one of my cameras was slim. All was not lost at this time of year, however, as it allowed me time to focus on my own personal music projects—I am a professional composer/musician and audio engineer at my own studio by day.

    1
  • Shop News

    Lomo LC-A+ Russian Lens

    Lomo LC-A+ Russian Lens

    A true Lomographic gem, the Lomo LC-A+ RL is blessed with good looks and bursting with experimental potential. Get ready to shoot amazing Lomographic photos by experimenting with MX shots, long exposures and a whole range of accessories!

  • The World According to Herr Willie: The Amazon

    written by wil6ka on 2015-04-09 in #world #locations
    The World According to Herr Willie: The Amazon

    It was the Amazon which I had longed for my whole life. And when it was finally a set deal that I will travel to Brazil with two of my best friends for the Copa do Mundo (World Cup), we really had to start our adventure in the Amazon. I had known about this magical place deep in the rainforest. There was a lodge run by local people of indigenous background, with wooden houses that float on the water and a limited number of visitors. It was eco-tourism as how it should be. To preserve and to celebrate one of the most impressive locations I have seen so far.

    9
  • Review on the LOMO LC-A 120: A Real Lomography Camera? Yes!

    written by brettlaw on 2015-04-22 in #gear #reviews #videos
    Review on the LOMO LC-A 120: A Real Lomography Camera? Yes!

    When I held the Lomo LC-A 120 in my hands for the first time, I immediately noticed its good feel and beautiful design. The LC-A 120 obviously, is truly, related to the queen of all Lomo cameras, the LC-A.

    2
  • Fresh Lomo LC-A 120 Picks From the Community

    written by lomography on 2015-12-07 in #gear #lifestyle
    Fresh Lomo LC-A 120 Picks From the Community

    A year and a few months since it was introduced, the Lomo LC-A 120 continues its exciting journey around the world—from busy streets to scenic far-flung places and everywhere else in between. Here are just some of the many places and faces encountered by this trusty, compact medium format camera (and their adventurous owners, of course!) in recent months, in photographs.

    3
  • Shop News

    Check the New Super Sampler Black Panther!

    Check the New Super Sampler Black Panther!

    The ultra-lightweight, low-maintenance 35mm camera that fits perfectly in your hand for some wild and spontaneous shooting!

  • My Best LC-A and LC-A+ Photos Ever

    written by sirio174 on 2015-06-15 in #gear #reviews
    My Best LC-A and LC-A+ Photos Ever

    Happy Birthday, Lomo LC-A! This little camera and I are almost inseparable. As a tribute, I'll show you my ten favorite photos taken with this little jewel. Take a look!

    9
  • Reviews on Rewind: The New Petzval Lens 85

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-05-30 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: The New Petzval Lens 85

    The New Petzval Lens 85 continues to captivate the hearts of many photographers from its debut a couple of years back. A perfect balance between form and function, this lens closely mimics the look of the legendary Petzval lens of the 19th century and delivers eye-catching images with its signature tack sharp center and swirly bokeh background. Many photographers from both outside and inside the Lomography community have raved about the New Petzval 85. In this recap, we look back at four community-written reviews.

  • Photo of the Day by kangiha

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-07-29 in #world #news
    Photo of the Day by kangiha

    With its unusual color and dreamy atmosphere, one might think that this photograph was taken on another planet.

    5
  • Shop News

    Be Sharp and Get Accurate Shots!

    Be Sharp and Get Accurate Shots!

    Never go wrong with amount of light entering your lenses. Perfect for any photo shoots, very handy, lightweight and extremely versatile!

  • 5 Analog Tricks For An Aged Photo Look

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-05-06 in #world #lifestyle
    5 Analog Tricks For An Aged Photo Look

    Film has soul, that second layer of grain and haze. It is a time capsule if we're sentimental, a happy pill if nostalgic. But what if we exaggerate this time-worn look? Imperfection becomes a creative element.

    3
  • William Helburn's Sexy and Glamorous Ads from the 1950s-1960s

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-04-15 in #world #lifestyle
    William Helburn's Sexy and Glamorous Ads from the 1950s-1960s

    William Helburn was one of the greatest ad photographers never quite known. His name remained anonymous behind famous ads for Coca-Cola, Buick, Revlon and Max Factor. He brought out the plush side of Kodachrome and surprised the American public with sexy humor. The credit is long overdue, but a recent book pays tribute to Helburn's vibrant career.

  • Happenings on Film: The Lake Como Expo Night 2015

    written by sirio174 on 2015-06-22 in #world #events
    Happenings on Film: The Lake Como Expo Night 2015

    This article is the first one that I want to dedicate to the Expo 2015. A month ago, my city Como hosted a night spectacular preceding the opening of the Universal Exposition in Milan. With my Praktica and color film, I documented this joyful, artistic event.

    1