Fuji Provia (35mm, 100 iso) user-review

5

Bold, green colours are everywhere! You might see some hints of yellow and blue but green is the king-colour of this film!

Fuji Provia 100F. ISO 100 creates a low contrast, sharp images. Colours are very realistic. Grain looks good in this film.

After finishing my first try with this film by mixing it over the Olympus XA2, I was surprised by how my shots looked like. They were all in green! Silhouettes are entirely dark with green skies all over. Buildings look good too with this film. The skin tones are good. The saturation is good too because it doesn’t go beyond the limit.

By the way, in some cases, it doesn’t only come in green but there are chances that slight blue may appear in the trash bin, the locker, the window and soft yellow hues that are kind on the skin. I got blue skies and yellow shades in some of my shots.

To sum it up, Fuji Provia 100 is a fantastic film! It yields yellow, blue, green colors. Soft yellows that touches the skin gently, or light negations of blue together with the skies and clouds, green buildings and flowers. This film will never let your shots look sad!

written by ethermoon on 2009-08-25 in #reviews #x-pro #fuji #provia #olympus-xa2 #35mm

5 Comments

  1. vtayeh
    vtayeh ·

    I love this film! Great review and such a wonderful variety of shots!

  2. cinzinc
    cinzinc ·

    this is another way to go green!hahaha

  3. stouf
    stouf ·

    Super review of a super film !!!

  4. panelomo
    panelomo ·

    one of my fave films!

  5. lomomanolo
    lomomanolo ·

    One of the best to get your hands on!!!

More Interesting Articles

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-29 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    Classy, moody photographs in monochrome and with fine grain - what more could you ask for from one of Lomography's very own black and white emulsion for standard 35mm cameras, the Earl Grey? Find out how this film fared among six of our community members in this Reviews on Rewind installment!

  • Agfa CT Precisa 100: Simply Perfect For Street Photography

    written by abecd on 2014-08-28 in #reviews
    Agfa CT Precisa 100: Simply Perfect For Street Photography

    There are a lot of reviews about this film which mostly mention its blue hues, among other precious qualities. But do you know that it is also a perfect film for candid street photography?

    1
  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • Shop News

    Sprocket Rocket Flash Bundle

    Sprocket Rocket Flash Bundle

    Sprocket Love: The Sprocket Rocket is the world’s first wide-angle camera dedicated to sprockets. It shoots 18 panoramas on a standard 35mm roll and exposes the whole width of film including sprocket holes. Use its dual winding knobs for easy multiple exposures and generate perfect nighttime shots with the bulb setting.

  • 10 Films We’d Like to See at Cannes 2015

    written by Jill Tan Radovan on 2015-05-13 in #world #news #lifestyle
    10 Films We’d Like to See at Cannes 2015

    The Cannes Film Festival showcases some of the world's best cinematographic masterpieces. It is an annual event that is highly anticipated by fans and connoisseurs of both mainstream and independent cinema. This year's festival has officially opened and film buffs everywhere are excited, at the same time curious, about which film will win the Palme d'Or. We are in no position to predict the winner, but we do have our favorites, from the ones in competition and otherwise. In no definitive order, here is a list of 10 films that we'd like to see.

  • Agfa Precisa CT 35mm: The Blues!

    written by adi_totp on 2014-08-12 in #reviews
    Agfa Precisa CT 35mm: The Blues!

    I don't care if this film has been reviewed a zillion times, that it has already been discontinued, or that there might be a Japanese version of it. The Agfa CT Precisa that I know gives me the blues. Oh, yes - not a Chelsea FC fan, but this film is all about the color blue. Say hello to the blues!

    7
  • Lomography LomoChrome Purple XR 100-400: My Take on Colors

    written by guanatos on 2014-11-14 in #reviews
    Lomography LomoChrome Purple XR 100-400: My Take on Colors

    The beauty of this film is in how it changes the colors we see. We all know that the big changes happen to the color green, but what about the other colors? Read on to see what I found out!

    2
  • Shop News

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Really want to bring your film photos to life? We’re now offering totally analogue fine art prints in a host of large sizes and formats! Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Submit your Lomographs to FotoFilmic'14!

    written by e_ercolini on 2014-06-03 in #competitions
    Submit your Lomographs to FotoFilmic'14!

    Are you passionate about film photography but capable of applying a contemporary spin to your work? Well FotoFilmic is too, and would love to see your work!

    4
  • Lucus Landers Talks About Building Handmade Cameras

    written by cheeo on 2014-07-31 in #lifestyle
    Lucus Landers Talks About Building Handmade Cameras

    Cameras are tools for documentation, creating art and expressing one’s self through photographs. But for some photographers, they are extensions of their own bodies. This is exactly how photographer Lucus Landers sees his handmade cameras.

    1
  • Lomography's Little Lessons: Film Speed

    written by jennifer_pos on 2015-05-19 in #gear #tipster
    Lomography's Little Lessons: Film Speed

    Sometime between 6,000 and 10,000 years ago, a boy in northern Afghanistan was born with a gene mutation that hindered his eyes from producing melanin and thus from turning brown. He had blue eyes. If you see someone with blue eyes today, he is a descendant of this unlucky fellow. I am one of those weird folks and apart from feeling like a mutant and being Angelina Jolie’s secret sister, I am sensitive to light like an ISO 6,400 film.

    5
  • Shop News

    Belair X 6-12 City Slicker Back to Back Bundle

    Belair X 6-12 City Slicker Back to Back Bundle

    With your overwhelming support, we have run out of Belair Instant Backs! We'll restock it in April, but don't worry because the Belair Instant Camera is readily available to satisfy your instant cravings!

  • I am a Mad Analogue Scientist: New Experiments with 35mm Films and Chemicals

    written by blackfairy on 2014-08-07 in #gear #tipster
    I am a Mad Analogue Scientist: New Experiments with 35mm Films and Chemicals

    Unfortunately, it happens sometimes that your resulting pictures are not what you expected - the image doesn't look that good, the colors are bland, and the subject is banal. Indeed, it couldn't be picture of the year! Herein I propose a second chance for your pictures by modifying your 35mm negatives. Just pick up some ideas from here, experiment, and scan your negatives with the Lomography Smartphone Scanner. Anything is possible: burning, scratching, putting on hydrochloric acid, balsamic vinegar, nail polish, bleach, or raspberry juice... use your imagination and write down your new film soup recipe! You can find a sample of the effects in this article.

    13
  • My Year in Analogue: Something New, Something Old

    written by murdoc_niccals on 2014-12-15 in #lifestyle
    My Year in Analogue: Something New, Something Old

    Hi, everyone! I'd like to share with you my 2014 summary on analogue photography. Some things I did were completely new, while some were my good old habits. This year I learned how to develop black and white film, which I consider my greatest milestone. But the most important thing is that in 2014, I remain in love with Lomography! And the rest? Well, let's see...

    3
  • Fresh and Crisp Square Lomographs from the US and UK Taken with the LC-A 120

    written by tomas_bates on 2014-10-31 in #lifestyle
    Fresh and Crisp Square Lomographs from the US and UK Taken with the LC-A 120

    The LC-A 120 is set to be shipped out to their lucky owners 'round the holidays. You're probably itching to see more from this camera, so here are some of the latest sample shots to help you guys tide over until then!