Kodak T400 CN (35mm, 400 iso) User-Review

7

This is the ancestor of Kodak BW 400CN. This film is black and white, process-ready for C-41 chemicals but is already discontinued around 2003-2004. Perhaps having them are films already expired or used (good for doubles). One of my favorite B/W film!

This is the ancestor of Kodak BW 400CN. This film is black and white, process-ready for C-41 chemicals but is already discontinued around 2003-2004. Perhaps having them are films already expired or used (good for doubles). One of my favorite B/W film!

Delving up something from a film-turned-digital photographer friend of mine, she gave out some Kodak T400CN out from her stash for me to endeavor noir-et-blanc photography. The film indeed is sharp. ISO400 never misses much details and the contrast balance are purely a chic to the eyes. Underexposed shots produce grainy motions (if you are the type who love this).

I love the look of this film because of the “not-so-black” and white. The colours are true to your eyes. Shooting outdoors or indoors, I place in my mind to follow Lomography Rule#10 whatever the results are. I loaded most of my Kodak T400CN in my Zorki4K. Rangefinders aren’t as easy as “shoot from the hip” but I adore the outcome. I love this film since it is C-41 washable; less hassle in the labs or anything. Just shoot and process them in your most wanted photo-lab center.

Many love retro, black and white shots. I am sure this Kodak T400CN can bestow all your needs.

written by ethermoon on 2009-08-24 in #reviews

7 Comments

  1. northwardnimbus
    northwardnimbus ·

    i love the b/w ethermoon. great feel.

  2. photodisturbia
    photodisturbia ·

    these pictures of yours are impressing. keep it coming.

  3. stouf
    stouf ·

    Waoaoaoooo this gallery is perfect !

  4. panelomo
    panelomo ·

    classic mono shots - very nice photos!

    cool review, ethermoon. thanks for letting us know more about the Kodak T400 CN. will definitely try this next time.

  5. ethermoon
    ethermoon ·

    hello F! yeah, maganda talaga ang b/w... rakenrol!

    photodisturbia and stouf: thanks so much!!! i don't know if this was discontinued. hope to get some of it again!

    panelomo: yeah! thanks love mono shots too! :)

  6. haferfloh
    haferfloh ·

    Maybe one of you can answer my question. SO it is a C-41 black and white film that means you could xpro a film. Has anyone tried to xpro one? What are the results? Just Wondering

    BTW Great Gallary

  7. emma_voodoo
    emma_voodoo ·

    I love that film too.
    however..it is discontinued

More Interesting Articles

  • Tutorial: Tetenal Colortec E6 3-bath Kit - Develop your own color slides

    written by sandravo on 2014-05-29 in #gear #tipster
    Tutorial: Tetenal Colortec E6 3-bath Kit - Develop your own color slides

    This is a tutorial for the adventurous Lomographers, for those brave enough to do their own B&W and C-41 work but lacking the confidence to move onto E6. Fear no more! I am an enthusiastic home developer, just like the rest of you, I am not a chemical lab wizard! So if I can pull this off, so can the rest of you. Take a deep breath, relax, and read on. By the end of this article I hope you'll have mustered the courage to give it a go yourselves!

    5
  • Finding Humanity in the Streets with Soomin Yim

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-12 in #lifestyle
    Finding Humanity in the Streets with Soomin Yim

    Stop bath is a type of chemical used in the darkroom for processing black and white film, aptly named as such because it halts the development of the images. In this case, stop bath is also part of the title that Korean analogue street photographer <b><a href="http://instagram.com/sooeatsyourstreetforbreakfast">Soomin Yim</a></b> has given her body of work, "Stop Bath the City," to represent the forgotten faces of people in the city amid rapid modernization, captured and immortalized on black and white film.

  • At the Funfair with my Horizon Perfekt

    written by sirio174 on 2014-04-12 in #reviews
    At the Funfair with my Horizon Perfekt

    Every year my city Como hosts, for the Easter period, a great fun fair. This is a great occasion to test a camera, to make experiments with films, to have fun and to photograph people while also having fun! This year, I used my gem, the wonderful Horizon Perfekt (that I bought from the Lomography Online Shop) loaded with a timeless film, a Kodak Tri-X 400 developed, as usually for b/w, by myself. Read more after the jump!

  • Shop News

    Get 20% off on the Lomography Experimental Lens Kit

    Get 20% off on the Lomography Experimental Lens Kit

    Satisfy your hunger for creative snap-shooting with this lens package made especially for Micro 4/3 digital cameras.

  • Awesome Albums: #197 by miket

    written by chooolss on 2014-06-15 in #news
    Awesome Albums: #197 by miket

    Creating doubles is a challenge and a bit experimental already in itself, but what do you get when you throw in an expired redscaled slide film, two different city scenes, and the LC-A in the mix? Check out this series by miket and see the results for yourself!

  • LC-A 120 and I: chappelow

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-03-03 in #people #lifestyle
    LC-A 120 and I: chappelow

    For chappelow, 2015 is all about pushing the limits and improving his photographic style. To reach this resolution, he adds the LC-A 120 to his arsenal and set off on his analog adventure.

  • Huge Vintage Camera Lot for Sale on eBay

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-03-03 in #world #news
    Huge Vintage Camera Lot for Sale on eBay

    Fancy building a camera museum or, well, simply have hundreds of cameras at your disposal? You might want to take a look at this newest camera lot to show up on eBay, which includes 600 cameras by various makers and carries a "Buy It Now" price tag of $34,900.00.

  • Shop News

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Creative Ways to Shoot the Lomography LomoChrome Purple Film

    written by Robn Kester on 2015-03-03 in #gear #tipster
    Creative Ways to Shoot the Lomography LomoChrome Purple Film

    The LomoChrome Purple is easily one of the coolest films to come out in a very long time. The amazing colors and vibe it gives each shot and its wide range of exposures make it a must-have and must-shoot film. Here are some cool ways to help you get the most out of your LCP.

    3
  • To Russia with Love (Part 3)

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-03-03 in #people #lifestyle #locations
    To Russia with Love (Part 3)

    In the third and final installment of his Russian love story, Herr Willie recalls some of the most memorable experiences from his trips to post-Soviet Russia, including traveling aboard the Trans-Siberian Railway and shooting with the La Sardina for Lomography on assignment, and waxes nostalgic about all the amazing people he had met.

    6
  • Sizer77 is our LomoHome of the Day!

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-03-03 in #world #news
    Sizer77 is our LomoHome of the Day!

    From everyone here in Lomography, congratulations to sizer77 for winning Home of the Day!

    1
  • Shop News

    Lomo Temporary Tattoos

    Lomo Temporary Tattoos

    You’ve shouted your analogue love from the rooftops and worn your heart on your sleeve – Now it’s time to take it to the next level and wear it on your skin! Lomo Temporary Tattoos contains 5 tattoos you can treasure 3 designs of black and white cameras and 2 colored designs. Go ahead, stick it on and show it off!

  • Snap Up This Brand New Instant Grand Slam Package - Lomo’Instant Boston Edition

    written by shhquiet on 2015-03-03 in #gear #news
    Snap Up This Brand New Instant Grand Slam Package - Lomo’Instant Boston Edition

    We are very excited to introduce the latest addition to the Lomo’Instant family, the Lomo’Instant Boston Edition. The Boston only made it to first base when it appeared in our Kickstarter campaign but by the raucous applause we got from you guys, it’s in it for the homerun!

    4
  • Photo of the Day by zorki

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-03-03 in #world #news
    Photo of the Day by zorki

    With its vivid colors and dramatic lighting, this photograph of a lone deer is definitely one for the books.

  • Lomo'Instant Boston Competition

    written by jacobs on 2015-03-03 in #gear #news #competitions
    Lomo'Instant Boston Competition

    What comes to mind when you think of Boston? Maybe it's the Red Sox, or maybe it's Baked Beans? With our newest competition to celebrate the release of the Lomo'Instant Boston Edition, we want to know what Boston means to you. Even if you've never been to Boston — no problem! We want to see your best shots that represent Boston to you!

    1