Ilford XP2 (35mm, 400 iso) user-review

5

Two films in one! Firstly the bad news: This is not a black and white film for purists who love the deep black and the clean white. But there is also good news: it can be developed in C41-process! Therefore the development of this film is as affordable as the one of colour films!

You can have it developed either as “normal” black and white film or as sepia toned film. I put “normal” in quotation marks because there is still a tiny colour cast which can reach from a greenish to a slight sepia tone.

Although you won’t get strong and clear black and white contrasts with the Ilford XP2, these tones can be appealing for several motives too.

In both cases it often depends on the drugstore or photolab how deep the colour cast or the sepia tone will turn out.

As this film has a speed of 400 ISO, you can use it for bad weather conditions or indoor shoots (all my sample photos were taken on days with a cloudy sky). And in my opinion you shouldn’t overuse it on sunny days when you want to have them developed with sepia tone. Then sometimes the sepia tone can turn out with too much orange in it (still depends how this film is being handled and processed) which looks a bit artificial and unnatural to me.

written by annegreat on 2009-05-21 in #reviews

5 Comments

  1. cinzinc
    cinzinc ·

    nice gallery

  2. dogma
    dogma ·

    Love the second shot!

  3. eyecon
    eyecon ·

    The colors nearly turns out Sepia! In some cases you can nearly think it´s some kind of weird redscale....

  4. stouf
    stouf ·

    I adore this film ! Great gallery !

  5. -a-l-b-e-r-t-o-
    -a-l-b-e-r-t-o- ·

    i love the old photoautomat...it should be a rumble about this

More Interesting Articles

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-29 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    Classy, moody photographs in monochrome and with fine grain - what more could you ask for from one of Lomography's very own black and white emulsion for standard 35mm cameras, the Earl Grey? Find out how this film fared among six of our community members in this Reviews on Rewind installment!

  • Finding Humanity in the Streets with Soomin Yim

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-12 in #lifestyle
    Finding Humanity in the Streets with Soomin Yim

    Stop bath is a type of chemical used in the darkroom for processing black and white film, aptly named as such because it halts the development of the images. In this case, stop bath is also part of the title that Korean analogue street photographer <b><a href="http://instagram.com/sooeatsyourstreetforbreakfast">Soomin Yim</a></b> has given her body of work, "Stop Bath the City," to represent the forgotten faces of people in the city amid rapid modernization, captured and immortalized on black and white film.

  • Photo of the Day by mafiosa

    written by cheeo on 2014-05-14 in #news
    Photo of the Day by mafiosa

    Exposing the film sprockets is one of the best ways to add a funky touch to your photos. However, this black and white landscape snapshot by mafiosa proves that these sprockets can give an elegant and classy feel, too!

    3
  • Shop News

    the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

     the perfect surprise for every analogue loving enthusiast

    Let your loved one pick the gift of their dreams. Lomography Online Shop Gift Certificates are the perfect present for every analogue devotee on your gift list

  • A Salute to the Masters: Football (A Tribute to Lothar Rübelt)

    written by sirio174 on 2014-10-11 in #lifestyle
    A Salute to the Masters: Football (A Tribute to Lothar Rübelt)

    This is a tribute to a great Austrian sports photographer, Lothar Rübelt. In an era with no high speed films available, he was able to immortalize wonderful moments in sports - from diving to gymnastics and football. In creating this tribute, I took a series of photos of an amateur football match using expired black and white film developed using an uncommon chemical. Take a look after the jump!

  • A Political Rally in Como

    written by sirio174 on 2014-08-18 in #lifestyle
    A Political Rally in Como

    In the week preceding the elections for the European Parliament, several political rallies were held in Como. As with all other public events in my city I documented one of these rallies, this time using a Russian film camera Zorki 6 loaded with a black and white film roll. Take a look!

    1
  • My Year in Analogue: Something New, Something Old

    written by murdoc_niccals on 2014-12-15 in #lifestyle
    My Year in Analogue: Something New, Something Old

    Hi, everyone! I'd like to share with you my 2014 summary on analogue photography. Some things I did were completely new, while some were my good old habits. This year I learned how to develop black and white film, which I consider my greatest milestone. But the most important thing is that in 2014, I remain in love with Lomography! And the rest? Well, let's see...

    3
  • Shop News

    Take the Harpy on a ride!

    Take the Harpy on a ride!

    Take your camera on a safe ride with your bike. This sturdy ZKIN leather bag protects your Diana F+ sized cameras and Lens. Remove the loops and you have a stylish shoulder bag!

  • A Salute to the Masters: A Day at the Races (A Tribute to Bernard Cahier)

    written by sirio174 on 2014-07-26 in #lifestyle
    A Salute to the Masters: A Day at the Races (A Tribute to Bernard Cahier)

    This article is a tribute to the photojournalist Bernard Cahier, the greatest Formula 1 photographer known as the "Cartier-Bresson of Motor Racing" for his great ability in capturing the right moment. Here, I'll feature a series of photos that I took at the Monza Grand Prix with a timeless black and white film! Take a look after the jump!

  • Tinker on the fly: A color filter made from spoiled film

    written by dopa on 2014-05-25 in #gear #tipster
    Tinker on the fly: A color filter made from spoiled film

    Probably each one of you has been annoyed with failed film. This is particularly annoying when you get the developed film back from the lab, but you get blanks because the film was not exposed. It's either the film transport didn't work, or you have not taken the lens cap off, etc. Read on and I'll show you an alternative to just throwing away the film: Simply use it as a color filter for your camera, with the La Sardina for example.

    3
  • Meet the Innovators: Cat Ong

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-02-28 in #people #lifestyle
    Meet the Innovators: Cat Ong

    Coinciding with the relaunch of the Lomography community website is the debut of one of the Magazine's newest series, Meet the Innovators. Here, we'll be talking to some of the game changers in the field of photography to get a closer look on what they do as well as find out their personal insights. For our opening salvo we proudly introduce Cat Ong, Lomography's very own Head of Optic Product Development who counts the research and development of the LC-A family, Russar and Petzval Art Lenses, Diana F+, and Lomo'Instant, among many others, as some of his projects.

    6
  • Shop News

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Whatever kind of film development you're after, you'll find it here! Now you can confidently shoot from the hip without having to worry where to develop those film rolls!

  • 'Magnum - Contact Sheets' Opens in Istanbul

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-02-28 in #people #events
    'Magnum - Contact Sheets' Opens in Istanbul

    An ongoing exhibit in Istanbul, Turkey sheds light on the creative process behind some of the world's iconic photographs from the prestigious Magnum Photos.

    1
  • Photo of the Day by gaz

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-02-28 in #world #news
    Photo of the Day by gaz

    Have you ever dreamed of hugging a sky filled with fluffy clouds? Turn it into reality using double exposure!

  • Community Picks: LC-A Family

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-02-28 in #gear #news
    Community Picks: LC-A Family

    The people have spoken: the royal LC-A family continues to rule the Lomography community!