Ilford XP2 (35mm, 400 iso) user-review

5

Two films in one! Firstly the bad news: This is not a black and white film for purists who love the deep black and the clean white. But there is also good news: it can be developed in C41-process! Therefore the development of this film is as affordable as the one of colour films!

You can have it developed either as “normal” black and white film or as sepia toned film. I put “normal” in quotation marks because there is still a tiny colour cast which can reach from a greenish to a slight sepia tone.

Although you won’t get strong and clear black and white contrasts with the Ilford XP2, these tones can be appealing for several motives too.

In both cases it often depends on the drugstore or photolab how deep the colour cast or the sepia tone will turn out.

As this film has a speed of 400 ISO, you can use it for bad weather conditions or indoor shoots (all my sample photos were taken on days with a cloudy sky). And in my opinion you shouldn’t overuse it on sunny days when you want to have them developed with sepia tone. Then sometimes the sepia tone can turn out with too much orange in it (still depends how this film is being handled and processed) which looks a bit artificial and unnatural to me.

written by annegreat on 2009-05-21 in #reviews #ilford #iso-400 #sepia #color-cast #b-w #35mm #lc-a

5 Comments

  1. cinzinc
    cinzinc ·

    nice gallery

  2. dogma
    dogma ·

    Love the second shot!

  3. eyecon
    eyecon ·

    The colors nearly turns out Sepia! In some cases you can nearly think it´s some kind of weird redscale....

  4. stouf
    stouf ·

    I adore this film ! Great gallery !

  5. -a-l-b-e-r-t-o-
    -a-l-b-e-r-t-o- ·

    i love the old photoautomat...it should be a rumble about this

More Interesting Articles

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-29 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    Classy, moody photographs in monochrome and with fine grain - what more could you ask for from one of Lomography's very own black and white emulsion for standard 35mm cameras, the Earl Grey? Find out how this film fared among six of our community members in this Reviews on Rewind installment!

  • Finding Humanity in the Streets with Soomin Yim

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-12 in #lifestyle
    Finding Humanity in the Streets with Soomin Yim

    Stop bath is a type of chemical used in the darkroom for processing black and white film, aptly named as such because it halts the development of the images. In this case, stop bath is also part of the title that Korean analogue street photographer <b><a href="http://instagram.com/sooeatsyourstreetforbreakfast">Soomin Yim</a></b> has given her body of work, "Stop Bath the City," to represent the forgotten faces of people in the city amid rapid modernization, captured and immortalized on black and white film.

  • Photo of the Day by mafiosa

    written by cheeo on 2014-05-14 in #news
    Photo of the Day by mafiosa

    Exposing the film sprockets is one of the best ways to add a funky touch to your photos. However, this black and white landscape snapshot by mafiosa proves that these sprockets can give an elegant and classy feel, too!

    3
  • Shop News

    LC-A Instant Back+ at Lesser Price!

    LC-A Instant Back+ at Lesser Price!

    Grab this lovely accessory at discounted price! LC-A instant Back is iideal for your summer getaways to capture memories instantly with your LC-A cameras in hand!

  • A Salute to the Masters: Football (A Tribute to Lothar Rübelt)

    written by sirio174 on 2014-10-11 in #lifestyle
    A Salute to the Masters: Football (A Tribute to Lothar Rübelt)

    This is a tribute to a great Austrian sports photographer, Lothar Rübelt. In an era with no high speed films available, he was able to immortalize wonderful moments in sports - from diving to gymnastics and football. In creating this tribute, I took a series of photos of an amateur football match using expired black and white film developed using an uncommon chemical. Take a look after the jump!

  • A Political Rally in Como

    written by sirio174 on 2014-08-18 in #lifestyle
    A Political Rally in Como

    In the week preceding the elections for the European Parliament, several political rallies were held in Como. As with all other public events in my city I documented one of these rallies, this time using a Russian film camera Zorki 6 loaded with a black and white film roll. Take a look!

    1
  • My Year in Analogue: Something New, Something Old

    written by murdoc_niccals on 2014-12-15 in #lifestyle
    My Year in Analogue: Something New, Something Old

    Hi, everyone! I'd like to share with you my 2014 summary on analogue photography. Some things I did were completely new, while some were my good old habits. This year I learned how to develop black and white film, which I consider my greatest milestone. But the most important thing is that in 2014, I remain in love with Lomography! And the rest? Well, let's see...

    3
  • Shop News

    Lomography Diana Mini Double Rainbow

    Lomography Diana Mini Double Rainbow

    An analogue camera inspired by Tara Mcpherson, A highly recommended gear for Lomography beginners and visual art lovers! With this edition see how Tara Mcpherson’s art joins the world of analogue cameras. Get it now for a special price!

  • A Salute to the Masters: A Day at the Races (A Tribute to Bernard Cahier)

    written by sirio174 on 2014-07-26 in #lifestyle
    A Salute to the Masters: A Day at the Races (A Tribute to Bernard Cahier)

    This article is a tribute to the photojournalist Bernard Cahier, the greatest Formula 1 photographer known as the "Cartier-Bresson of Motor Racing" for his great ability in capturing the right moment. Here, I'll feature a series of photos that I took at the Monza Grand Prix with a timeless black and white film! Take a look after the jump!

  • Tinker on the fly: A color filter made from spoiled film

    written by dopa on 2014-05-25 in #gear #tipster
    Tinker on the fly: A color filter made from spoiled film

    Probably each one of you has been annoyed with failed film. This is particularly annoying when you get the developed film back from the lab, but you get blanks because the film was not exposed. It's either the film transport didn't work, or you have not taken the lens cap off, etc. Read on and I'll show you an alternative to just throwing away the film: Simply use it as a color filter for your camera, with the La Sardina for example.

    3
  • Россия в картинках (Russia in Pictures): Siberian Delight

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-03-31 in #world #locations
    Россия в картинках (Russia in Pictures): Siberian Delight

    In his latest travel series, Herr Willie shares a selection of fine photographs from his Russian adventures and tells the stories behind them.

  • Shop News

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    At 25% off you can take dreamy 35mm images with this little black beauty. Beam coloured light into your shots with its accompanying Diana Flash Back accessory and be the analogue king of the night.

  • What Art Can Learn from the Banal

    written by Kwyn Kenaz Aquino on 2015-03-30 in #world #lifestyle
    What Art Can Learn from the Banal

    Stephen Shore introduced to the 70s art world an unadorned image of American life. He captured littered restaurant tables as other photographers would immaculate vistas. For the opening of “American Surfaces”, he even taped unframed snapshots on gallery walls. In these videos, Shore talks about objects that have “no pretention to art” and the things he learned from Andy Warhol.

    2
  • Perfect Panoramas Captured with the Sprocket Rocket Winners

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-03-30 in #world #news #competitions
    Perfect Panoramas Captured with the Sprocket Rocket Winners

    Marvel at these retro panoramas taken with the Sprocket Rocket!

    2
  • The Geography of an Art Gallery

    written by Kwyn Kenaz Aquino on 2015-03-30 in #world #lifestyle
    The Geography of an Art Gallery

    What photo goes on which wall? What adjacent prints relay a theme? In this video, Alec Soth gives a lesson on how to arrange a large body of work on exhibit.