Ilford XP2 (35mm, 400 iso) user-review

5

Two films in one! Firstly the bad news: This is not a black and white film for purists who love the deep black and the clean white. But there is also good news: it can be developed in C41-process! Therefore the development of this film is as affordable as the one of colour films!

You can have it developed either as “normal” black and white film or as sepia toned film. I put “normal” in quotation marks because there is still a tiny colour cast which can reach from a greenish to a slight sepia tone.

Although you won’t get strong and clear black and white contrasts with the Ilford XP2, these tones can be appealing for several motives too.

In both cases it often depends on the drugstore or photolab how deep the colour cast or the sepia tone will turn out.

As this film has a speed of 400 ISO, you can use it for bad weather conditions or indoor shoots (all my sample photos were taken on days with a cloudy sky). And in my opinion you shouldn’t overuse it on sunny days when you want to have them developed with sepia tone. Then sometimes the sepia tone can turn out with too much orange in it (still depends how this film is being handled and processed) which looks a bit artificial and unnatural to me.

written by annegreat on 2009-05-21 in #reviews #lc-a #35mm #iso-400 #ilford #color-cast #sepia #b-w

5 Comments

  1. cinzinc
    cinzinc ·

    nice gallery

  2. dogma
    dogma ·

    Love the second shot!

  3. eyecon
    eyecon ·

    The colors nearly turns out Sepia! In some cases you can nearly think it´s some kind of weird redscale....

  4. stouf
    stouf ·

    I adore this film ! Great gallery !

  5. -a-l-b-e-r-t-o-
    -a-l-b-e-r-t-o- ·

    i love the old photoautomat...it should be a rumble about this

More Interesting Articles

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-29 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    Classy, moody photographs in monochrome and with fine grain - what more could you ask for from one of Lomography's very own black and white emulsion for standard 35mm cameras, the Earl Grey? Find out how this film fared among six of our community members in this Reviews on Rewind installment!

  • Finding Humanity in the Streets with Soomin Yim

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-12 in #lifestyle
    Finding Humanity in the Streets with Soomin Yim

    Stop bath is a type of chemical used in the darkroom for processing black and white film, aptly named as such because it halts the development of the images. In this case, stop bath is also part of the title that Korean analogue street photographer <b><a href="http://instagram.com/sooeatsyourstreetforbreakfast">Soomin Yim</a></b> has given her body of work, "Stop Bath the City," to represent the forgotten faces of people in the city amid rapid modernization, captured and immortalized on black and white film.

  • A Review of the Nikon F2

    written by Alexandra Pillet on 2015-06-15 in #gear #reviews
    A Review of the Nikon F2

    Considered as one of the best 35mm SLR cameras, the Nikon F2 is indeed one of the best experiences on film I’ve ever had. Fully manual and almost impossible to break, this historic camera is really marvelous to use.

  • Shop News

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    You want your subject be the center of attention? Petzval lens photos are recognizable for sharpness and crispness in the centre, strong color saturation, wonderful swirly bokeh effect, artful vignettes and narrow depth of field that will make your subjects stand out!

  • Seeing Manila in a Whole New Light

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-06-01 in #world #lifestyle
    Seeing Manila in a Whole New Light

    I've photographed this city many times in the past—in color, black and white, and even in redscale. One day in March, the streets of Manila once again became my subject. Only this time, they turned into otherworldly places as the LomoChrome Turquoise drastically shifted its colors...at least on film.

  • A Salute to the Masters: Football (A Tribute to Lothar Rübelt)

    written by sirio174 on 2014-10-11 in #lifestyle
    A Salute to the Masters: Football (A Tribute to Lothar Rübelt)

    This is a tribute to a great Austrian sports photographer, Lothar Rübelt. In an era with no high speed films available, he was able to immortalize wonderful moments in sports - from diving to gymnastics and football. In creating this tribute, I took a series of photos of an amateur football match using expired black and white film developed using an uncommon chemical. Take a look after the jump!

  • My Year in Analogue: Something New, Something Old

    written by murdoc_niccals on 2014-12-15 in #lifestyle
    My Year in Analogue: Something New, Something Old

    Hi, everyone! I'd like to share with you my 2014 summary on analogue photography. Some things I did were completely new, while some were my good old habits. This year I learned how to develop black and white film, which I consider my greatest milestone. But the most important thing is that in 2014, I remain in love with Lomography! And the rest? Well, let's see...

    3
  • Shop News

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Whatever kind of film development you're after, you'll find it here! Now you can confidently shoot from the hip without having to worry where to develop those film rolls!

  • Markus Andersen Talks 'At the Edge of the Earth'

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-04-08 in #people #lifestyle #videos
    Markus Andersen Talks 'At the Edge of the Earth'

    "At the edge of the Earth" is an ongoing yearlong project by documentary photographer Markus Andersen in which he captures the coastline of Sydney, Australia on black and white film with the Diana and Lomo LC-A cameras. In this interview, the Sydney-based photographer opens up to Lomography about his latest endeavor as well as on shooting on the streets of his city and the importance of photographing in analog.

    3
  • Newcomer of the Week: johannb

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-08-30 in #world #lifestyle
    Newcomer of the Week: johannb

    Graphic designer Johann Bottos caught the community's attention with his striking black and white landscape photographs. Previsualization is central to his photographic style. Before clicking the shutter, he tends to "wait for a particular moment or weather condition" that fits the image he has in mind. In this interview, he shares more about his passion for shooting on film as well as some of his favorite landscape images.

    4
  • Photo of the Day by waggrad00

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-09-01 in #world #news
    Photo of the Day by waggrad00

    After a long walk, bonding over music seems like a lovely way to relax.

    3
  • Shop News

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Done shooting and want your films to be processed? We can process your colour and black & white 35mm, 120 or 110 films! Development, prints and scans are also included. (Service availability depends on your markets)

  • La Habana, Cuba, and Holgas

    written by Lorraine Healy on 2015-09-01 in #world #locations
    La Habana, Cuba, and Holgas

    An Argentinean writer and photographer living in the Pacific Northwest, Lorraine Healy is a long-time fan of plastic cameras and is the author of "Tricks With A Plastic Wonder," a manual for achieving better results with a Holga camera, available as an eBook from Amazon.com. In this article, Healy shares her experiences photographing in Cuba in early 2013.

    1
  • La_niko is our LomoHome of the Day!

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-09-01 in #world #news
    La_niko is our LomoHome of the Day!

    From everyone here in Lomography, congratulations to la_niko for winning Home of the Day!

  • Photo Agenda: September 2015

    written by kenaz on 2015-09-01 in #world #lifestyle
    Photo Agenda: September 2015

    Like a writer who benefits from reading, a photographer learns from what has been done before. These September exhibits offer a bounty of lessons on composition.