Ilford XP2 (35mm, 400 iso) user-review

5

Two films in one! Firstly the bad news: This is not a black and white film for purists who love the deep black and the clean white. But there is also good news: it can be developed in C41-process! Therefore the development of this film is as affordable as the one of colour films!

You can have it developed either as “normal” black and white film or as sepia toned film. I put “normal” in quotation marks because there is still a tiny colour cast which can reach from a greenish to a slight sepia tone.

Although you won’t get strong and clear black and white contrasts with the Ilford XP2, these tones can be appealing for several motives too.

In both cases it often depends on the drugstore or photolab how deep the colour cast or the sepia tone will turn out.

As this film has a speed of 400 ISO, you can use it for bad weather conditions or indoor shoots (all my sample photos were taken on days with a cloudy sky). And in my opinion you shouldn’t overuse it on sunny days when you want to have them developed with sepia tone. Then sometimes the sepia tone can turn out with too much orange in it (still depends how this film is being handled and processed) which looks a bit artificial and unnatural to me.

written by annegreat on 2009-05-21 in #reviews #lc-a #ilford #iso-400 #color-cast #b-w #35mm #sepia

5 Comments

  1. cinzinc
    cinzinc ·

    nice gallery

  2. dogma
    dogma ·

    Love the second shot!

  3. eyecon
    eyecon ·

    The colors nearly turns out Sepia! In some cases you can nearly think it´s some kind of weird redscale....

  4. stouf
    stouf ·

    I adore this film ! Great gallery !

  5. -a-l-b-e-r-t-o-
    -a-l-b-e-r-t-o- ·

    i love the old photoautomat...it should be a rumble about this

More Interesting Articles

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-29 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    Classy, moody photographs in monochrome and with fine grain - what more could you ask for from one of Lomography's very own black and white emulsion for standard 35mm cameras, the Earl Grey? Find out how this film fared among six of our community members in this Reviews on Rewind installment!

  • Finding Humanity in the Streets with Soomin Yim

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-12 in #lifestyle
    Finding Humanity in the Streets with Soomin Yim

    Stop bath is a type of chemical used in the darkroom for processing black and white film, aptly named as such because it halts the development of the images. In this case, stop bath is also part of the title that Korean analogue street photographer <b><a href="http://instagram.com/sooeatsyourstreetforbreakfast">Soomin Yim</a></b> has given her body of work, "Stop Bath the City," to represent the forgotten faces of people in the city amid rapid modernization, captured and immortalized on black and white film.

  • A Political Rally in Como

    written by sirio174 on 2014-08-18 in #lifestyle
    A Political Rally in Como

    In the week preceding the elections for the European Parliament, several political rallies were held in Como. As with all other public events in my city I documented one of these rallies, this time using a Russian film camera Zorki 6 loaded with a black and white film roll. Take a look!

    1
  • Shop News

    LomoKino & LomoKinoscope Package

    LomoKino & LomoKinoscope Package

    Enjoy a truly analogue moviemaking experience with Lomography's 35mm movie camera and an accompanying accessory to watch your films with. View your masterpieces in the most analogue way possible with the LomoKinoscope. Get it now 20% off the regular price!

  • A Salute to the Masters: Football (A Tribute to Lothar Rübelt)

    written by sirio174 on 2014-10-11 in #lifestyle
    A Salute to the Masters: Football (A Tribute to Lothar Rübelt)

    This is a tribute to a great Austrian sports photographer, Lothar Rübelt. In an era with no high speed films available, he was able to immortalize wonderful moments in sports - from diving to gymnastics and football. In creating this tribute, I took a series of photos of an amateur football match using expired black and white film developed using an uncommon chemical. Take a look after the jump!

  • My Year in Analogue: Something New, Something Old

    written by murdoc_niccals on 2014-12-15 in #lifestyle
    My Year in Analogue: Something New, Something Old

    Hi, everyone! I'd like to share with you my 2014 summary on analogue photography. Some things I did were completely new, while some were my good old habits. This year I learned how to develop black and white film, which I consider my greatest milestone. But the most important thing is that in 2014, I remain in love with Lomography! And the rest? Well, let's see...

    3
  • A Salute to the Masters: A Day at the Races (A Tribute to Bernard Cahier)

    written by sirio174 on 2014-07-26 in #lifestyle
    A Salute to the Masters: A Day at the Races (A Tribute to Bernard Cahier)

    This article is a tribute to the photojournalist Bernard Cahier, the greatest Formula 1 photographer known as the "Cartier-Bresson of Motor Racing" for his great ability in capturing the right moment. Here, I'll feature a series of photos that I took at the Monza Grand Prix with a timeless black and white film! Take a look after the jump!

  • Shop News

    Diana F+ Premium Glass Bundle

    Diana F+ Premium Glass Bundle

    Diana F+ and Diana+ 75mm Premium Glass Lens are now ready to give you the best shots with vignetting effects, crisp quality shots together with the signature dreamy appeal of the Diana! Save 15% on the Glass Lens in this Bundle!

  • Markus Andersen Talks 'At the Edge of the Earth'

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-04-08 in #people #lifestyle
    Markus Andersen Talks 'At the Edge of the Earth'

    "At the edge of the Earth" is an ongoing yearlong project by documentary photographer Markus Andersen in which he captures the coastline of Sydney, Australia on black and white film with the Diana and Lomo LC-A cameras. In this interview, the Sydney-based photographer opens up to Lomography about his latest endeavor as well as on shooting on the streets of his city and the importance of photographing in analog.

    3
  • Trending LomoHomes of May 2015

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-05-29 in #world #news
    Trending LomoHomes of May 2015

    With all the fantastic lomographs they shared the entire month, it's no wonder these lomographers won our hearts and eyes over!

    3
  • Awesome Albums: Polar Coordinates by Buckshot

    written by kenaz on 2015-05-29 in #world #lifestyle
    Awesome Albums: Polar Coordinates by Buckshot

    Twist your world into kaleidoscopic planets using this nifty visual trick.

  • Shop News

    LC-A+ Starter Pack

    LC-A+ Starter Pack

    With the LC-A+ Starter Pack, Pair the LC-A+ with a 35mm; whatever combo you end up selecting, they're sure to be mindblowing!

  • Friday Movie Flashback: Blue Valentine

    written by Kwyn Kenaz Aquino on 2015-05-29 in #world #lifestyle
    Friday Movie Flashback: Blue Valentine

    To show, not just tell, how love withers is Derek Cianfrance and Andrij Parekh's poetic mission in Blue Valentine.

    1
  • Top Shoutbox Users of May 2015

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-05-29 in #world #news
    Top Shoutbox Users of May 2015

    Are you new to the community? Or are you looking for a new place to explore aside from the photographs and articles? Head to the shoutbox and meet the friendliest bunch of lomographers!

    10
  • Top Photo Likers of May 2015

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-05-29 in #world #news
    Top Photo Likers of May 2015

    Guess who had been bitten hard by the "I like this photo" bug.

    7