Ilford XP2 Super 400 35mm Review

2

Having never tried a black and white film before a friend recommended that I try the Ilford XP2 Super 400 film. Here is how I found it when I used it in my Diana Mini.

I’ve never been 100% sold on taking black and white photos. I love looking at other peoples photos but I was always convinced that I loved colour too much to use a black and white film, until I tried the Ilford XP2 Super 400. I know it sounds cliche but this film with my Diana Mini may the best combination of film and camera together I’ve ever tried (apart from the LC-A with X-Pro thinking about it….)

The soft tones of the film compliment the Diana’s use of light and the contrast looks amazing when you do double or triple exposures. It is definitely a film that you can build on.

With the high ISO (400) it is very easy to over expose the film, however I found that as long as you don’t look directly into the sun my photos turned out well and it was especially effective on cloudier days.

Perhaps my favourite part of this film is that it isn’t a true black and white film and if your lab accidentally scans it in colour then your photos actually have a slight purple tone to them which I’ve never seen before.

Overall I think this film is fantastic — its C41 which means its easy to get processed, the soft tones and grain look lovely and it has fast become my favourite film to use in my Diana Mini, in fact, I’m reluctant to try another black and white film with it..

written by easilydistracted on 2011-06-23 in #reviews #ilford-xp2 #35mm #film #requested #user-review #diana-mini #lomography

2 Comments

  1. cornborn
    cornborn ·

    great review and nice gallery!

  2. easilydistracted
    easilydistracted ·

    @cornborn thank you

More Interesting Articles

  • Ilford Black and White Film Development Experiment

    written by jaymeephotography on 2014-07-04 in #gear #tipster
    Ilford Black and White Film Development Experiment

    Here are some self portraits that I took using my Lubitel 2 and a roll of expired film. I used old chemicals, an incorrect ratio, and I under fixed the film during development and washed it in boiling hot water. See how it all turned out.

  • Expired Earl Grey: Does It Taste Nice?

    written by Xiang Cong Tham on 2015-02-22 in #gear #reviews
    Expired Earl Grey: Does It Taste Nice?

    A lot of lomographers have experienced using and even writing about the greatness of the Lomography Earl Grey black and white 35mm ISO 100 film. However, no one has written about using an expired Earl Grey film yet. How does it fare when it is used expired? Read on to find out more.

    2
  • Perfect Combination for a Hazy Day: Lomo LC-A and a Pushed Ilford HP5+

    written by sirio174 on 2015-05-06 in #gear #reviews
    Perfect Combination for a Hazy Day: Lomo LC-A and a Pushed Ilford HP5+

    In this article, I'll show you how the Lomo LC-A loaded with the versatile Ilford HP5+ can make the most out of a hazy morning. To capture the whirlwind of a bicycle race, I pushed the film to ISO 800. The legendary Minitar 1 lens and this classic Ilford film are a perfect combination if you love black and white photos.

    1
  • Shop News

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    You want your subject be the center of attention? Petzval lens photos are recognizable for sharpness and crispness in the centre, strong color saturation, wonderful swirly bokeh effect, artful vignettes and narrow depth of field that will make your subjects stand out!

  • The Magical Diana F+

    written by adi_totp on 2014-10-07 in #reviews
    The Magical Diana F+

    "Magical" here means that every time I use the Diana F+, the results are always beyond both my expectations and imagination. That's why I always use it when I feel like doing something different. It has never failed me since day one; I even always bring this camera during my trips!

    6
  • Reviving An Old Polaroid 1000 Camera

    written by Wessel de Haas on 2015-02-13 in #gear #reviews
    Reviving An Old Polaroid 1000 Camera

    Some time ago, my parents-in-law gave me an old Polaroid camera that they used during my wife's childhood. After some investigation, I found out that Polaroid had stopped making instant film. But the factory in Enschedé, the Netherlands had been taken over by The Impossible Project, so I bought a package of fresh film and gave it a try!

  • Station Noir: Black and White Photography in the Summer

    written by melwyn on 2014-08-29 in #lifestyle
    Station Noir: Black and White Photography in the Summer

    Summer is full of color so using black and white film might not be the first thing that comes to mind. Yet the summer sun works out beautifully on black and white film. Like to give it a try? I've come across the best light at the train station during rush hour!

  • Shop News

    Fuji Instax Mini Neo & 10x Fuji Instax Mini Film

    Fuji Instax Mini Neo & 10x Fuji Instax Mini Film

    Save 20% on Fuji Instax Mini Film with this bundle and get 100 sheets for pure Instant fun! Plus, get to choose which Fuji Instax Mini Camera fits your personality!

  • 12 Months, 12 Projects: March Of Caffenol

    written by Maaike van Stratum on 2015-04-12 in #world #lifestyle
    12 Months, 12 Projects: March Of Caffenol

    My list of resolutions for 2015 consists of 12 projects, one for every month. March was for caffenol. You have probably heard of the amazing fact that you can develop black and white photos with coffee, sodium, and vitamin C. I had tried this before but with less than stellar results. Somehow, there's always something going wrong. Time to devote a few rolls to caffenol to finally get the hang of it.

    1
  • Fun Times Trying Out Lomochrome Purple with Color Filters

    written by alienmeatsack on 2014-08-13 in #gear #tipster
    Fun Times Trying Out Lomochrome Purple with Color Filters

    Do you love Lomography's Lomochrome Purple XR 100-400 film? Me too! So let's see what it does when we shoot it through an assortment of color filters. I tried to document everything well enough that others could replicate and experiment on their own. I hope you find it useful.

    10
  • Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-04-06 in #gear #reviews
    Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    There are quite a few perks that come with working for a film photography company, and the best perk of all is testing out the latest cameras. I can remember buying my LC-A back in 2009 and being really inspired to shoot film again. When the LC-A 120 came along, I couldn't wait to try it out around London. Join me as I test out this super medium format beauty.

  • Shop News

    LC-A Iblazr Bundle

    LC-A Iblazr Bundle

    Start capturing images even in low-light conditions with this bundle you can create your own combination of LC-A camera and Iblazr flash. And save 20% off!

  • My New Point-and-Shoot Buddy: The Konica POP EF-7

    written by cheeo on 2014-08-01 in #lifestyle
    My New Point-and-Shoot Buddy: The Konica POP EF-7

    Any day becomes instantly better whenever someone hands you a film camera because they know you’ll put it to good use. So you can just imagine how giddy I was when a friend handed me a Konica POP EF-7 just last week.

  • Pixelstick + Lomo'Instant: Take Light Painting to the Next Level

    written by bgaluppo on 2015-04-20 in #gear #lifestyle
    Pixelstick + Lomo'Instant: Take Light Painting to the Next Level

    Ever since the Pixelstick came out, I've been dying to try it out. This past week, I finally got my chance! With one goal in mind — getting some super cool light-painting shots — I grabbed some friends for an amazing session with my Lomo'Instant and the Pixelstick. Take a moment and have a look at these priceless pics!

    4
  • A Salute to the Masters: Barkers (A Tribute to Jack Delano)

    written by sirio174 on 2015-05-02 in #world #lifestyle
    A Salute to the Masters: Barkers (A Tribute to Jack Delano)

    This is tribute to the Farm Security Administration photographer, Jack Delano, and his photographic series dedicated to barkers. For this article, I chose a series of photos I took this year at the traditional Easter Fair in my city, Como, using a classic rangefinder camera loaded with a roll of black and white film.

    2