Ilford XP2 Super 400 35mm Review

2

Having never tried a black and white film before a friend recommended that I try the Ilford XP2 Super 400 film. Here is how I found it when I used it in my Diana Mini.

I’ve never been 100% sold on taking black and white photos. I love looking at other peoples photos but I was always convinced that I loved colour too much to use a black and white film, until I tried the Ilford XP2 Super 400. I know it sounds cliche but this film with my Diana Mini may the best combination of film and camera together I’ve ever tried (apart from the LC-A with X-Pro thinking about it….)

The soft tones of the film compliment the Diana’s use of light and the contrast looks amazing when you do double or triple exposures. It is definitely a film that you can build on.

With the high ISO (400) it is very easy to over expose the film, however I found that as long as you don’t look directly into the sun my photos turned out well and it was especially effective on cloudier days.

Perhaps my favourite part of this film is that it isn’t a true black and white film and if your lab accidentally scans it in colour then your photos actually have a slight purple tone to them which I’ve never seen before.

Overall I think this film is fantastic — its C41 which means its easy to get processed, the soft tones and grain look lovely and it has fast become my favourite film to use in my Diana Mini, in fact, I’m reluctant to try another black and white film with it..

written by easilydistracted on 2011-06-23 in #reviews

2 Comments

  1. cornborn
    cornborn ·

    great review and nice gallery!

  2. easilydistracted
    easilydistracted ·

    @cornborn thank you

More Interesting Articles

  • Ilford Black and White Film Development Experiment

    written by jaymeephotography on 2014-07-04 in #gear #tipster
    Ilford Black and White Film Development Experiment

    Here are some self portraits that I took using my Lubitel 2 and a roll of expired film. I used old chemicals, an incorrect ratio, and I under fixed the film during development and washed it in boiling hot water. See how it all turned out.

  • Simple Color Gels or Filters Holder for the Diana Mini's Flash

    written by grungyjodie on 2014-04-25 in #gear #tipster
    Simple Color Gels or Filters Holder for the Diana Mini's Flash

    I've always been looking for a really simple solution to hold my color gels of my Diana Mini's flash WITH the camera and make them easy to grab when I want to use them. I also wanted something to keep them from getting damaged. Let me show you how I found a simple way to make it.

  • Expired Earl Grey: Does It Taste Nice?

    written by Xiang Cong Tham on 2015-02-22 in #gear #reviews
    Expired Earl Grey: Does It Taste Nice?

    A lot of lomographers have experienced using and even writing about the greatness of the Lomography Earl Grey black and white 35mm ISO 100 film. However, no one has written about using an expired Earl Grey film yet. How does it fare when it is used expired? Read on to find out more.

    2
  • Shop News

    (Re)discover Photography with the Stenoflex Mini Labo

    (Re)discover Photography with the Stenoflex Mini Labo

    Stenoflex lets you reproduce the single steps of black and white photography, from taking photos to printing. It is a simple box pierced with a tiny pinhole to allow light to enter. Put a sheet of photosensitive paper (included) inside the darkroom and expose it to your subject.

  • Fantastic Doubles Taken with the Lomography Lady Grey B&W 400

    written by chooolss on 2014-03-20 in #lifestyle
    Fantastic Doubles Taken with the Lomography Lady Grey B&W 400

    We often use black and white film when shooting dramatic portraits, sweeping landscapes, and even in street photography. But did you know that it's just as effective in taking creative doubles, too? Take a look at this selection of lovely lomographs taken by some members of our community!

    2
  • Elitechrome 400 EL: Absolutely Retro

    written by wil6ka on 2014-03-14 in #reviews
    Elitechrome 400 EL: Absolutely Retro

    The entire Kodak Elitechrome series belong to my favorite films. From the EB, to the EBX, ED, and EL; they all have great features once you know how to use them well. The EL with its 400 ISO hardly gets any attention, which is also because of the fact that it is more uncommon. But that is about to change with this. Here's some e-love.

    4
  • The Magical Diana F+

    written by adi_totp on 2014-10-07 in #reviews
    The Magical Diana F+

    "Magical" here means that every time I use the Diana F+, the results are always beyond both my expectations and imagination. That's why I always use it when I feel like doing something different. It has never failed me since day one; I even always bring this camera during my trips!

    6
  • Shop News

    Instant Scanning, Instant Sharing

    Instant Scanning, Instant Sharing

    The Smartphone Film Scanner offers Lomographers and analog lovers a quick, easy and portable way to scan 35mm films. Simply turn on the Smartphone Film Scanner back-light, insert your film, take a photo of it using your Smartphone and use your phone's camera or the specially-developed App (iPhone and Android versions available) to edit and share.

  • Classic × Classic : Using a Leica M3 camera to shoot with the New Petzval Art lens

    written by shawnlin on 2014-05-07 in #gear #tipster
    Classic × Classic : Using a Leica M3 camera to shoot with the New Petzval Art lens

    I participated in the Kickstarter campaign and purchased my very own new Petzval lens. I can't wait to use with with my digital camera to experience its wonderful bokeh effect. I also wanted to try its effects when using a film camera but the lens has an EF mount. I didn't have a Canon camera. See what I did with it after the jump.

    8
  • Station Noir: Black and White Photography in the Summer

    written by melwyn on 2014-08-29 in #lifestyle
    Station Noir: Black and White Photography in the Summer

    Summer is full of color so using black and white film might not be the first thing that comes to mind. Yet the summer sun works out beautifully on black and white film. Like to give it a try? I've come across the best light at the train station during rush hour!

  • My New Point-and-Shoot Buddy: The Konica POP EF-7

    written by cheeo on 2014-08-01 in #lifestyle
    My New Point-and-Shoot Buddy: The Konica POP EF-7

    Any day becomes instantly better whenever someone hands you a film camera because they know you’ll put it to good use. So you can just imagine how giddy I was when a friend handed me a Konica POP EF-7 just last week.

  • Shop News

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Whatever kind of film development you're after, you'll find it here! Now you can confidently shoot from the hip without having to worry where to develop those film rolls!

  • On Using Color Filters to Tweak Hues in Black and White Photography

    written by chooolss on 2014-04-09 in #lifestyle
    On Using Color Filters to Tweak Hues in Black and White Photography

    While it might sound unusual for some right off the bat, black and white film photographers do use color filters to experiment with their shots without ever needing to do some post-processing. How to do that and which filters to use to capture specific scenes? Take a look at this short instructional YouTube video clip by LZ Film Productions!

  • A Political Rally in Como

    written by sirio174 on 2014-08-18 in #lifestyle
    A Political Rally in Como

    In the week preceding the elections for the European Parliament, several political rallies were held in Como. As with all other public events in my city I documented one of these rallies, this time using a Russian film camera Zorki 6 loaded with a black and white film roll. Take a look!

    1
  • Perfect Combination: Fuji Instax Mini Film and the Diana Instant Back

    written by dermanu on 2014-03-19 in #lifestyle
    Perfect Combination: Fuji Instax Mini Film and the Diana Instant Back

    Just recently I asked myself why I would want to write about a film like the Fuji Instax Mini, because usually this film is the only one available for Fuji Instax cameras. But then it hit me! It can be an alternative to many other instant films, since I can load almost any film into my Diana F+, other medium and 135 format cameras, and of course the Fuji Instax Mini.