My First Roll on the LC-Wide!

Everytime there is a new Lomography camera launch, I am very excited to find out about it. But excitement turned to disbelief when I discovered the price of the LC-Wide. It seems to be an overpriced piece of toy...

However, things took another turn when I saw those lovely LC-Wide photos posted on Lomography online. As I read on, I get more tempted to buy it. When I felt ready to take the plunge, it was sold out on Lomography Asia!!!

Now I have no choice but to pre-order and wait for the next shipment. Fortunately, I don’t have to wait long and about 1 week later, I took delivery of the LC-Wide.

First impressions are that the construction and workmanship are more or less the same as the LC-A+ and I wonder why I am paying so much more? The black wooden box’s contents are also very familiar to me: cable release, 2 rolls of negatives, manual, photo book, strap and 2 film masks. Fortunately, the next day is a Saturday and I immediately took the LC-Wide for a test shoot. I didn’t fix the supplied mask as I wanted to have the flexibility to switch between Full frame (FF) & Half frame (HF) mode.

After taking a few standard FF shots, I began to remember what I read on the Lomography website and started experimenting with a mixture of FF & HF shots. Along the way, I took a few MX shots.

Here’s my totally unscientific and personal pros & cons after collecting the results:

Pros:
1. Shorter minimum focusing distance of 0.4m as compared to LC-A+.
2. Able to easily switch between FF & HF mode if you don’t fix the supplied masks.
3. Ultra wide angle enables you to get up close and personal with the subject. Good for street shooting.
4. Able to get seamless panoramic by shooting in HF mode without using the mask.
5. I can mix FF & HF on the same exposure.

Cons:
1. It cannot fit the Splitzer (which is my favorite LC-A+ accessory). However, you can mitigate this somewhat by setting the lens cover to HF mode and take a shot. For the next shot, open the lens cover to the FF mode.
2. Expensive. However, I don’t see this as a deterrent as it is sold out the second time on Lomo Asia.

In summary, I can foresee that this camera will being me endless fun in the days to come. A lot of people still think that this camera is overpriced but now I think it is worth every cent as the possibilities are infinite! Go grab one and Lomo on!

written by coolsigg on 2011-06-23 in #reviews

More Interesting Articles

  • My Analogue Bucket List: Faster Than a Speeding Cannonball

    written by bloomchen on 2015-01-22 in #lifestyle
    My Analogue Bucket List: Faster Than a Speeding Cannonball

    The new year is still young, but it seems as if it'll be over quickly. My organizer is already filled with entries until June. 2015 will probably be worse than 2014 when it comes to having time off so I could take some analogue shots. Anyway, there are some photography-related things that I really want to get done. It is probably best to set some goals if I only have very limited time.

  • Something New: Cutting my Analogue Teeth with the La Sardina in Vietnam

    written by _analogue on 2015-01-22 in #lifestyle
    Something New: Cutting my Analogue Teeth with the La Sardina in Vietnam

    I began 2015 with my first foray into the exciting world of analogue photography. With La Sardina in hand, I flew to Hanoi, Vietnam tentative, insecure, yet excited beyond words. How did I fare for my very first roll of film?

    7
  • What Tech Websites Are Saying About the Lomo'Instant Camera

    written by chooolss on 2014-05-29 in #news
    What Tech Websites Are Saying About the Lomo'Instant Camera

    It's only been a couple of days since Lomography launched its first dedicated instant camera via Kickstarter, but it seems to have already caused quite a stir not only here in the community but in other websites as well. See what the press is saying about the new Lomo'Instant camera in this first of two parts of our press recaps!

  • Shop News

    Wear lomo-love on your skin

    Wear lomo-love on your skin

    You’ve shouted your analogue love from the rooftops and worn your heart on your sleeve – Now it’s time to take it to the next level and wear it on your skin! Our new Lomography Tattoos are fun, easy to apply and come in five designs.

  • Object of My Affection: Power Pylons

    written by pearlgirl77 on 2014-03-17 in #lifestyle
    Object of My Affection: Power Pylons

    I have to admit: I would gladly take pictures of electricity pylons time and time again. It doesn't even matter that they all look relatively the same. The surroundings do vary, though, and I find the experience refreshing and exciting every time.

  • The New Petzval Lens Is Now Available For Regular Purchase!

    written by tomas_bates on 2014-08-14 in #news
    The New Petzval Lens Is Now Available For Regular Purchase!

    The day has finally come! We are very excited to tell you that you can now order the Lomography New Petzval Lens for immediate delivery from the Online Shop or purchase it in your hands at Gallery Stores. To put full focus on our favorite portrait lens, soon we will be hosting special launch parties in our Gallery stores all over the globe! So do not miss an opportunity to become part of the sensational New Petzval Lens family today.

    1
  • The LomoChrome Purple and How Its Colors Convinced Me in the End

    written by pearlgirl77 on 2014-07-29 in #reviews
    The LomoChrome Purple and How Its Colors Convinced Me in the End

    I wasn't very impressed when the LomoChrome Purple was first released. At least not so much that I wanted to get my hands on it at once. Of course I liked some pictures but eventually, I wanted to test it and what can I say? It was love at first sight!

    8
  • Shop News

    Change the View in an Instant

    Change the View in an Instant

    Extend the Borders of Instant Photography with the World’s Most Creative Instant Camera System Packed With Fun Features and say hello to the Lomo'Instant Camera! The Lomo'Instant is the perfectly sized Instant Camera to take wherever you go! It’s the most creative way to shoot fantastic photos which you can share anywhere and with everyone in an instant.

  • Spinner 360: Pull the Cord and Let the Magic Happen!

    written by adi_totp on 2014-09-09 in #reviews
    Spinner 360: Pull the Cord and Let the Magic Happen!

    The story between the Spinner 360 and I goes way back to the year 2010, when Lomography decided to send me a beta model of the Spinner 360 to test. It was a complete surprise! I thought, "What the hell is that?" as I first took this camera out of the package. Then, when my little brother grabbed it from me and pulled the cord, it buzzed and turned 360°! We all had the same expression: "Whoa..."

    4
  • The New Petzval Lens: For Portraits with Swirly Bokeh

    written by wesco on 2014-11-27 in #reviews
    The New Petzval Lens: For Portraits with Swirly Bokeh

    My brother purchased the new Petzal lens by Lomography and Zenit through the Kickstarter campaign. Last spring, I was able to borrow it for a few weeks. Read on to find out my first impressions of this portrait lens!

    1
  • Perfect Combination: Yashica Electro 35 GSN & Kodak BW400 CN

    written by roxyvonschlotterstein on 2014-03-17 in #lifestyle
    Perfect Combination: Yashica Electro 35 GSN & Kodak BW400 CN

    Let it be known: this pairing has to do with love at first click, at the first roll of film, at the first prints. My newest toy, the Yashica Electro 35 GSN, combined with my favorite black and white film, Kodak BW400 CN: this is definitely going to be a long-lasting love.

    2
  • Shop News

    Order this five star Medium Master today and receive it straight away!

    Order this five star Medium Master today and receive it straight away!

    The Phoblographer Editor's Choice Award Winner "The best street photography camera: film or digital. Pretty much nothing will beat this." Order this five star Medium Master today and receive it straight away!

  • Fresh from the Lab: 1990

    written by adi_totp on 2014-08-08 in #lifestyle
    Fresh from the Lab: 1990

    A weekend without a lomowalk seems bad, at least for me. One Saturday morning, I decided to join my friends in their lomowalk. It was all cloudy at first but it didn't stop me from going out and walking. I brought my new Nikon FM2 and some expired rolls, just to test my camera. Was it just me being sleepy, or was my Nikon FM2 acting up? My photos turned out grainy, pale, and, in my opinion, looking so 1990s?

    1
  • Our Surprise LC-A 120 Photo Discovery – Dopic’s Fantastic Japan Snapshots

    written by tomas_bates on 2014-10-16 in #news
    Our Surprise LC-A 120 Photo Discovery – Dopic’s Fantastic Japan Snapshots

    Recently, we’ve been digging through all our LC-A 120 negatives from when we first started testing the new camera. During this search, we had our very own finding Vivian Maier moment when we unearthed a bunch of photos shot by the super-talented dopic whilst he was on vacation in Japan last year. We totally love these shots and couldn’t resist sharing them with you!

    2
  • The Kwanon, Canon's First Camera, Turns 80

    written by chooolss on 2014-09-04 in #lifestyle
    The Kwanon, Canon's First Camera, Turns 80

    Canon has risen to the ranks of the biggest and most influential camera manufacturers in the world, and it all started 80 years ago when the company produced its very first camera, The Kwanon. Find out all about this historic shooter after the jump!

    1