Lucky SDH (120, 100 iso) user-review

8

Lucky is my brand new BFF (note: best film forever). Perfect with Holga, cider and crazy friends.

Lucky is my brand new BFF (note: best film forever). Perfect with Holga, cider and crazy friends.

I’m usually a colour film gal – xpro actually, thanks for asking – but this crappy, cheap Chinese film has captured my cold, dead heart.
Sure, its emulsion may scratch off and it’s results vary wildly without reason… but I’m not one for predictable results.

Helpful hints and tips for your Lucky taking pleasure:

  • Try cranking the contrast if you’re scanning yourself. I’ve done this in a few of my shots.
  • Awesome in low light without flash
  • Look very carefully at the counter window when winding your film on to avoid missing shots. The numbers are apparently printed in some kinda 10% ink solution.
  • I have the inside of my Holga taped up to avoid film scratches, so check out my results and increase or decrease tape to your liking.

written by rikkib on 2009-01-06 in #reviews #holga #lucky #120 #b-w

8 Comments

  1. mephisto19
    mephisto19 ·

    funny review and cool gallery

  2. reid
    reid ·

    your photos are amazing. Are they taken in California?

  3. breakphreak
    breakphreak ·

    you gals having some much fun there :)

  4. vicuna
    vicuna ·

    yeah, I really like this Lucky film as well! :))

  5. mattcharnock
    mattcharnock ·

    hmmm - i likey! shot number 4 is fantastic!

  6. rikkib
    rikkib ·

    Thanks guys :)
    Reid - Nope, they were taken in Australia.

    I just got some new Lucky and the backing paper is black... even MORE impossible to see the numbers!

  7. cyan-shine
    cyan-shine ·

    Awesome!

  8. redfactor
    redfactor ·

    good tip about taping the inside of the Holga up :-)

More Interesting Articles

  • Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-04-06 in #gear #reviews
    Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    There are quite a few perks that come with working for a film photography company, and the best perk of all is testing out the latest cameras. I can remember buying my LC-A back in 2009 and being really inspired to shoot film again. When the LC-A 120 came along, I couldn't wait to try it out around London. Join me as I test out this super medium format beauty.

  • My First Lomo Affair: Sonjay and her Holga 120 CFN

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-05-23 in #gear #lifestyle
    My First Lomo Affair: Sonjay and her Holga 120 CFN

    Sonja started her analog adventures during her teenage years. She took her first film photographs when she was 13 and has been in love with the magic of the process since. Her idea of a perfect day involves developing film rolls while listening to jazz and having a cup of tea in between. In this interview, she recalls about her experience with her first Lomography camera, a Holga 120 CFN.

    2
  • Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    written by pripri2000 on 2015-04-22 in #gear #news
    Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    Capture the world and all its contours in vibrant, wide-angled photographs any time, any where! The LC-A 120 is an adventure of its own with lots of exciting functions to experiment with, like seamless long exposures or full ISO control. It's also super-fast and ultra-compact - perfect for your everyday. If you're worried about the Medium Format film, don't be! You are free to use any 120 Film you want and there are plenty to choose from. In fact, that's what makes this camera so versatile! Scroll through this gallery for a little taste of the glorious shots this nifty invention is capable of.

    1
  • Shop News

    Lomo'Instant Reykjavik Edition

    Lomo'Instant Reykjavik Edition

    The latest addition to the Lomo’Instant family! Inspired by the Icelandic midnight sky, Get endless creativity, take multiple exposed instant snapshots, experiment with long exposure and light painting shots!

  • The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    written by Lorraine Healy on 2015-03-23 in #gear #reviews
    The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    An Argentinean writer and photographer living in the Pacific Northwest, Lorraine Healy is a long-time fan of plastic cameras and is the author of "Tricks With A Plastic Wonder," a manual for achieving better results with a Holga camera, available in eBook form at Amazon.com. In this article, Healy explains how she fell hard in love with the Lomography XPro Slide 200 film and why she takes it on her many travels.

    3
  • Lomography X FOTO HITS Medium Format Rumble

    written by Lomography on 2015-11-26 in #world #news #competitions
    Lomography X FOTO HITS Medium Format Rumble

    With an expanded field of view and its ability to produce high quality images and capture minute detail, medium format photography has become the top choice of many photographers. Lomography is working hard to make sure that it keeps going with the continued production of medium format film and cameras. The current issue of German magazine FOTO HITS focuses on medium format photography. And with this rumble, we want to prove why medium format photography is king. Take your Diana F+, Holga 120, Lubitel 166+ or the new Lomo LC-A 120 and show us your best square shots!

    2
  • Thinking Out of the Box with the Holga Out of the Box Competition

    written by givesmehell on 2015-05-18 in #world #competitions
    Thinking Out of the Box with the Holga Out of the Box Competition

    One of the best things about film photography, especially with cameras like the Holga and Lomography cameras, is getting creative with it! TCC Photo is hosting a competition to stoke the creativity out of film photographers everywhere and urge participants to think out of the box!

  • Shop News

    Start to Get Wide with Horizon Kompakt

    Start to Get Wide with Horizon Kompakt

    Prepare your overwhelming panoramic views and capture them with this ultra-wide panoramic 35mm gear. Start sharing your great memories with family and friends the analog way!

  • American Southwest Landscapes in Turquoise XR

    written by austex on 2015-06-09 in #gear #reviews
    American Southwest Landscapes in Turquoise XR

    How do you bring a fresh perspective to a landscape that has been photographed from every possible angle? Using a brand-new film, of course! With this goal in mind, I loaded some LomoChrome Turquoise XR into my Nikon 35Ti and went on a major trip across southern Utah and northern Arizona.

    5
  • Painting Delights: Going Wild with the Pixelstick

    written by jennifer_pos on 2015-03-17 in #gear #news #lifestyle #tipster
    Painting Delights: Going Wild with the Pixelstick

    Ever since light painting was invented, it inspired artists from all around the globe to magical creations that capture hidden movements and reinvent the world we live in. "Life is a fairy tale, stay wild little child!" is what they want to tell us. Bringing light to life became the next challenge for anyone rigged with a film camera and a creative mind. Now, how can you take your analogue light paintings from the ordinary to the outstanding? After the carriage came the car, so we definitely need some spacy inventions to follow the old school light pen. So here it is, our new best friend: The Pixelstick!

    8
  • KONO! Donau 35mm Film: Another Exceptional Film Exclusively Available From Lomography

    written by Lomography on 2015-10-19 in #gear #news
    KONO! Donau 35mm Film: Another Exceptional Film Exclusively Available From Lomography

    Lomography is always on the lookout for experimental and creative film, because we want to keep the love for analogue alive! We’re devoted to continually adding new and exciting films to our ever-expanding collection of photography products, both from our own production line and partnering together with likeminded companies. So in our ongoing quest to do so, we have teamed up with our friends at KONO! The Reanimated Film to share a totally new and exciting film with you — KONO! Donau 35mm Film!

  • Shop News

    Be Sharp and Get Accurate Shots!

    Be Sharp and Get Accurate Shots!

    Never go wrong with amount of light entering your lenses. Perfect for any photo shoots, very handy, lightweight and extremely versatile!

  • Kamal Tung's Magnificent Black and White Portraits Shot with the Petzval Art Lens

    written by candilsw on 2015-03-06 in #people #lomoamigos
    Kamal Tung's Magnificent Black and White Portraits Shot with the Petzval Art Lens

    Kamal, a die-hard film photography fan, is a young, Singapore-based photographer. He is now working on a project, traveling around and shooting portraits for his friends. In this feature, he talks about how he works perfectly with the Lomography Petzval Art Lens and his passion for photography.

    1
  • Robin Rimbaud Shoots with the LC-A 120

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-10-05 in #people #lomoamigos
    Robin Rimbaud Shoots with the LC-A 120

    Robin Rimbaud is a UK based artist, record producer, and composer who works under the name "Scanner" in reference to his use of mobile phone signals and police scanners in his early performances. He has worked on soundtracks for films, sound installations, radio, dance and theater. Robin also has a passion for medium format photography, owns a Holga camera and has a unique photographic style. Get to know him in this interview, where he talks about his personal work as well as his experience with the Lomo LC-A 120.

  • Germany in Analog - Show fotoforum and Lomography your Hometown on Film

    written by zonderbar on 2015-12-18 in #world #competitions
    Germany in Analog - Show fotoforum and Lomography your Hometown on Film

    North or South, East or West - in every corner of Germany you can find analog photography lovers. Lomography brings them together and shows their pictures to a worldwide community. With this rumble we want to get to know you a little better. Show Lomography and fotoforum where you come from, capture your hometown on film and win a one-year subscription of fotoforum magazine as well as a Lomo LC-A 120 camera. Please note: This competition is only for users from Germany, Austria or Switzerland.