Lucky SDH (120, 100 iso) user-review

8

Lucky is my brand new BFF (note: best film forever). Perfect with Holga, cider and crazy friends.

Lucky is my brand new BFF (note: best film forever). Perfect with Holga, cider and crazy friends.

I’m usually a colour film gal – xpro actually, thanks for asking – but this crappy, cheap Chinese film has captured my cold, dead heart.
Sure, its emulsion may scratch off and it’s results vary wildly without reason… but I’m not one for predictable results.

Helpful hints and tips for your Lucky taking pleasure:

  • Try cranking the contrast if you’re scanning yourself. I’ve done this in a few of my shots.
  • Awesome in low light without flash
  • Look very carefully at the counter window when winding your film on to avoid missing shots. The numbers are apparently printed in some kinda 10% ink solution.
  • I have the inside of my Holga taped up to avoid film scratches, so check out my results and increase or decrease tape to your liking.

written by rikkib on 2009-01-06 in #reviews #120 #b-w #lucky #holga

8 Comments

  1. mephisto19
    mephisto19 ·

    funny review and cool gallery

  2. reid
    reid ·

    your photos are amazing. Are they taken in California?

  3. breakphreak
    breakphreak ·

    you gals having some much fun there :)

  4. vicuna
    vicuna ·

    yeah, I really like this Lucky film as well! :))

  5. mattcharnock
    mattcharnock ·

    hmmm - i likey! shot number 4 is fantastic!

  6. rikkib
    rikkib ·

    Thanks guys :)
    Reid - Nope, they were taken in Australia.

    I just got some new Lucky and the backing paper is black... even MORE impossible to see the numbers!

  7. cyan-shine
    cyan-shine ·

    Awesome!

  8. redfactor
    redfactor ·

    good tip about taping the inside of the Holga up :-)

More Interesting Articles

  • Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-04-06 in #gear #reviews
    Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    There are quite a few perks that come with working for a film photography company, and the best perk of all is testing out the latest cameras. I can remember buying my LC-A back in 2009 and being really inspired to shoot film again. When the LC-A 120 came along, I couldn't wait to try it out around London. Join me as I test out this super medium format beauty.

  • My First Lomo Affair: Sonjay and her Holga 120 CFN

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-05-23 in #gear #lifestyle
    My First Lomo Affair: Sonjay and her Holga 120 CFN

    Sonja started her analog adventures during her teenage years. She took her first film photographs when she was 13 and has been in love with the magic of the process since. Her idea of a perfect day involves developing film rolls while listening to jazz and having a cup of tea in between. In this interview, she recalls about her experience with her first Lomography camera, a Holga 120 CFN.

    2
  • Solo Biking Routes: Exploring Jezersko and the Greenest Lake You'll Ever See

    written by lomofrue on 2014-07-23 in #world #locations
    Solo Biking Routes: Exploring Jezersko and the Greenest Lake You'll Ever See

    My bike is my best friend. It's not the best one you'll ever see but I love it anyway. It takes me to work and back, and it also takes me exploring new places. What more could I possibly want?

  • Shop News

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    At 25% off you can take dreamy 35mm images with this little black beauty. Beam coloured light into your shots with its accompanying Diana Flash Back accessory and be the analogue king of the night.

  • Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    written by pripri2000 on 2015-04-22 in #gear #news
    Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    Capture the world and all its contours in vibrant, wide-angled photographs any time, any where! The LC-A 120 is an adventure of its own with lots of exciting functions to experiment with, like seamless long exposures or full ISO control. It's also super-fast and ultra-compact - perfect for your everyday. If you're worried about the Medium Format film, don't be! You are free to use any 120 Film you want and there are plenty to choose from. In fact, that's what makes this camera so versatile! Scroll through this gallery for a little taste of the glorious shots this nifty invention is capable of.

    1
  • Pre-Order Your Very Own LC-A 120 - Very Limited Quantities Available!

    written by shhquiet on 2014-09-29 in #news
    Pre-Order Your Very Own LC-A 120 - Very Limited Quantities Available!

    Shoot exceptional medium-format photos whilst enjoying the convenience of the Lomo LC-A camera with the brand new LC-A 120. The first batch is selling out fast, so pre-order now and get yours in time for the holiday season*!

  • Lomography Redscale XR 50-200 120: Perfect for Endless Multiple Exposures!

    written by adi_totp on 2014-08-19 in #reviews
    Lomography Redscale XR 50-200 120: Perfect for Endless Multiple Exposures!

    About two years ago or so, I purchased the Lomography Redscale XR 50-200. I saved just one roll of this film and waited for the right moment to shoot with it. In April this year, I just wasn't able to take it anymore! I loaded this film into my Lubitel 166+, which I realized I hadn't used for maybe about six months. One idea came to mind: taking crazy multiple exposures!

    3
  • Shop News

    Horizon and DigitaLIZA Bundle

    Horizon and DigitaLIZA Bundle

    The Horizon and DigitaLIZA Bundle lets you mix and match your favorite Horizon Camera, Lomography 35mm film and DigitaLIZA 35mm

  • Introducing The Brand New LC-A 120 - The Most Compact & Magical Fully Automatic 120 Film Camera Ever!

    written by shhquiet on 2014-09-08 in #news
    Introducing The Brand New LC-A 120 - The Most Compact & Magical Fully Automatic 120 Film Camera Ever!

    Get ready to think fast and shoot faster! Today, we are thrilled share with you news of the brand new LC-A 120 Camera. Load it with any 120 film roll and experience the thrill of medium format photography. You’re sure to soak up all the action in every square shot with its fantastic 38mm f/4.5 wide-angle lens (equivalent to a 21mm lens on a 35mm film camera). It's available for Pre-Order: Extremely limited first batch stock of only 500 cameras!

    35
  • My First Lomo Affair: Wesco and his La Sardina

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-07-17 in #lifestyle
    My First Lomo Affair: Wesco and his La Sardina

    It may take a while for some lomographers to figure out the perfect combination of camera, film, and accessory that suit their needs. But, Wessel de Haas, aka wesco, has been extremely lucky to find his early on his journey to Lomography. Find out what film and accessory he likes pairing his La Sardina 8Ball with in this edition of My First Lomo Affair!

    2
  • The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    written by Lorraine Healy on 2015-03-23 in #gear #reviews
    The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    An Argentinean writer and photographer living in the Pacific Northwest, Lorraine Healy is a long-time fan of plastic cameras and is the author of "Tricks With A Plastic Wonder," a manual for achieving better results with a Holga camera, available in eBook form at Amazon.com. In this article, Healy explains how she fell hard in love with the Lomography XPro Slide 200 film and why she takes it on her many travels.

    3
  • Shop News

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • The Analogue Quiz: What Camera are you?

    written by andie_sollmer on 2014-09-09 in #news
    The Analogue Quiz: What Camera are you?

    Ever looked at your camera shelf and asked yourself the existential question: What Lomography Camera best fits my style? Well, here is a quick test to help you find the answer! Just go with your gut and note down the letter for each answer you pick. And try to go with one single answer for each question. So, let's get started!

    9
  • Thinking Out of the Box with the Holga Out of the Box Competition

    written by givesmehell on 2015-05-18 in #world #competitions
    Thinking Out of the Box with the Holga Out of the Box Competition

    One of the best things about film photography, especially with cameras like the Holga and Lomography cameras, is getting creative with it! TCC Photo is hosting a competition to stoke the creativity out of film photographers everywhere and urge participants to think out of the box!

  • American Southwest Landscapes in Turquoise XR

    written by austex on 2015-06-09 in #gear #reviews
    American Southwest Landscapes in Turquoise XR

    How do you bring a fresh perspective to a landscape that has been photographed from every possible angle? Using a brand-new film, of course! With this goal in mind, I loaded some LomoChrome Turquoise XR into my Nikon 35Ti and went on a major trip across southern Utah and northern Arizona.

    5