Agfa Optima (120, 400 iso) user-review

My choice for every condition: Agfa Optima 120, ISO 400, negative film. A dead stock film that is worth hunting for.

My choice for every condition: Agfa Optima 120, ISO 400, negative film. A dead stock film that is worth hunting for.

The Agfa Optima 120 (ISO 400) is the right choice especially for taking shots in winter or in any other dim light conditions. Despite of the high ISO the grain is still fine. In addition, with the help of a tripod you will get a wonderful copy of your world upon using the B-mode of your camera.

But this film won’t disappoint you for daylight shootings as well. I noticed that the sky is even bluer than in reality and not to mention the rendering of other colours are brilliant! Of course the corner-vignetting on your photographs won’t be missing when using this Agfa Optima 400.

For those of you who have never tried this film: imagine licking the final wrapping band of your favourite candy that still don’t taste like something disgusting, glue-like stuff. I can compare the wrapping band of this Agfa roll have somewhat a peppermint flavour into them that lingers on my shots. Why can’t other film producers adopt this gimmick?

If you haven’t tried this Agfa deadstock still, please don’t hesitate and treat yourself with at least one – or 10 rolls! – before it’s gone forever!

written by annegreat on 2008-12-10 in #reviews #agfa #colour-negative #optima #120

More Interesting Articles

  • Lovely Squares Courtesy of the Lomography Color Negative 400 (120) Rumble Winners

    written by icequeenubia on 2015-08-10 in #people
    Lovely Squares Courtesy of the Lomography Color Negative 400 (120) Rumble Winners

    Looking for a versatile film that's suitable for all lighting condition? A roll of Lomography CN 400 (120) is all you need!

    6
  • Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-04-06 in #gear #reviews
    Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    There are quite a few perks that come with working for a film photography company, and the best perk of all is testing out the latest cameras. I can remember buying my LC-A back in 2009 and being really inspired to shoot film again. When the LC-A 120 came along, I couldn't wait to try it out around London. Join me as I test out this super medium format beauty.

  • Review on the LOMO LC-A 120: A Real Lomography Camera? Yes!

    written by brettlaw on 2015-04-22 in #gear #reviews #videos
    Review on the LOMO LC-A 120: A Real Lomography Camera? Yes!

    When I held the Lomo LC-A 120 in my hands for the first time, I immediately noticed its good feel and beautiful design. The LC-A 120 obviously, is truly, related to the queen of all Lomo cameras, the LC-A.

    2
  • Shop News

    Check the New Super Sampler Black Panther!

    Check the New Super Sampler Black Panther!

    The ultra-lightweight, low-maintenance 35mm camera that fits perfectly in your hand for some wild and spontaneous shooting!

  • Testing a Roll of Found Film

    written by billseye on 2015-07-20 in #gear #lifestyle
    Testing a Roll of Found Film

    In one of my vintage hunts, I bought a camera for $2. It came with an unexposed roll of film. After using up the last frames, I discovered that this old camera has Lomographic qualities.

    2
  • Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    written by pripri2000 on 2015-04-22 in #gear #news
    Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    Capture the world and all its contours in vibrant, wide-angled photographs any time, any where! The LC-A 120 is an adventure of its own with lots of exciting functions to experiment with, like seamless long exposures or full ISO control. It's also super-fast and ultra-compact - perfect for your everyday. If you're worried about the Medium Format film, don't be! You are free to use any 120 Film you want and there are plenty to choose from. In fact, that's what makes this camera so versatile! Scroll through this gallery for a little taste of the glorious shots this nifty invention is capable of.

    1
  • Winner of the German Lomography X LIFE Rumble

    written by chvo on 2015-10-06 in #world #news #competitions
    Winner of the German Lomography X LIFE Rumble

    LIFE is a film that tells the story Dennis Stock, who photographed James Dean and inadvertently produced some of the most iconic images of the star. In line the film's much anticipated release, we asked for your best "friendship" shots for a competition.Here are the winners.

    1
  • Shop News

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Special Friendships: The Lomography X LIFE Competition

    written by petit_loir on 2015-09-10 in #world #competitions
    Special Friendships: The Lomography X LIFE Competition

    September marks the 60th anniversary of James Dean's death. Dean is remembered not only for his roles in American films, but also for his iconic image associated with teenage rebellion. Filmmaker Anton Corbijn honors James Dean in "LIFE," a new film that showcases the special friendship between the young actor and photographer Dennis Stock who made Dean immortal through his pictures. Take part in our new competition and win movie tickets, James Dean posters, an illustrated book and a Diana F+ camera.

    3
  • Newcomer of the Week: johannb

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-08-30 in #world #lifestyle
    Newcomer of the Week: johannb

    Graphic designer Johann Bottos caught the community's attention with his striking black and white landscape photographs. Previsualization is central to his photographic style. Before clicking the shutter, he tends to "wait for a particular moment or weather condition" that fits the image he has in mind. In this interview, he shares more about his passion for shooting on film as well as some of his favorite landscape images.

    4
  • LomoAmigo: Paul Del Rosario Shoots with the Belair

    written by ciscoswank on 2015-05-11 in #people #lomoamigos
    LomoAmigo: Paul Del Rosario Shoots with the Belair

    Paul Del Rosario is a photographer who has been based in Japan for 24 years. Finding beauty in messy Tokyo streets , he captures the chaotic scenes in black and white. He also manages 120 love, a fashion and lifestyle brand that integrates film photography into popular urban street culture.

  • Shop News

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Whatever kind of film development you're after, you'll find it here! Now you can confidently shoot from the hip without having to worry where to develop those film rolls!

  • Germany in Analog - Show fotoforum and Lomography your Hometown on Film

    written by zonderbar on 2015-12-18 in #world #competitions
    Germany in Analog - Show fotoforum and Lomography your Hometown on Film

    North or South, East or West - in every corner of Germany you can find analog photography lovers. Lomography brings them together and shows their pictures to a worldwide community. With this rumble we want to get to know you a little better. Show Lomography and fotoforum where you come from, capture your hometown on film and win a one-year subscription of fotoforum magazine as well as a Lomo LC-A 120 camera. Please note: This competition is only for users from Germany, Austria or Switzerland.

  • Photo of the Day by _baunovart_

    written by lomography on 2016-02-06 in #world #news
    Photo of the Day by _baunovart_

    It took nearly 20 years for this work of art to be completed.

    1
  • Landei and her Weapon of Choice: Sprocket Rocket

    written by lomography on 2016-02-06 in #world
    Landei and her Weapon of Choice: Sprocket Rocket

    Lomographer Carina, or landei in the community, regards the Sprocket Rocket as a "versatile plastic camera." For her, it doesn't only take great travel snapshots but makes an interesting conversation starter as well. In this interview, Carina expounds more on what makes the Sprocket Rocket her go-to camera.

    2