Agfa Optima (120, 400 iso) user-review

My choice for every condition: Agfa Optima 120, ISO 400, negative film. A dead stock film that is worth hunting for.

My choice for every condition: Agfa Optima 120, ISO 400, negative film. A dead stock film that is worth hunting for.

The Agfa Optima 120 (ISO 400) is the right choice especially for taking shots in winter or in any other dim light conditions. Despite of the high ISO the grain is still fine. In addition, with the help of a tripod you will get a wonderful copy of your world upon using the B-mode of your camera.

But this film won’t disappoint you for daylight shootings as well. I noticed that the sky is even bluer than in reality and not to mention the rendering of other colours are brilliant! Of course the corner-vignetting on your photographs won’t be missing when using this Agfa Optima 400.

For those of you who have never tried this film: imagine licking the final wrapping band of your favourite candy that still don’t taste like something disgusting, glue-like stuff. I can compare the wrapping band of this Agfa roll have somewhat a peppermint flavour into them that lingers on my shots. Why can’t other film producers adopt this gimmick?

If you haven’t tried this Agfa deadstock still, please don’t hesitate and treat yourself with at least one – or 10 rolls! – before it’s gone forever!

written by annegreat on 2008-12-10 in #reviews #120 #agfa #optima #colour-negative

More Interesting Articles

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • You Get More from Expired Lomography Color Negative 400 ISO 120 Film

    written by ncjom on 2014-11-05 in #reviews
    You Get More from Expired Lomography Color Negative 400 ISO 120 Film

    If you happen to come across an expired Lomography Color Negative 400 ISO 120 film pack, either in a store or on the Internet, get one and be ready for an exciting experience. You'll definitely get more from it!

  • My Review of the Lomography Color Negative 100

    written by simonesavo on 2014-12-27 in #reviews
    My Review of the Lomography Color Negative 100

    A bright day requires a film that highlights every color. The Lomography Color Negative 100 has fine grain and crazy tones that give your photos stunning color and exceptional sharpness.

    2
  • Shop News

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Whatever kind of film development you're after, you'll find it here! Now you can confidently shoot from the hip without having to worry where to develop those film rolls!

  • The Agfa Clack: Ye Olde Film Eater

    written by dermanu on 2014-08-09 in #reviews
    The Agfa Clack: Ye Olde Film Eater

    My passion for old and analogue cameras hadn't stayed unnoticed among my friends and acquaintances. Which is why I've received cameras as gifts for many times now. My Agfa Clack is an example. It's about 60 years old, fully functional, and a real film eater.

    1
  • Introducing The Brand New LC-A 120 - The Most Compact & Magical Fully Automatic 120 Film Camera Ever!

    written by shhquiet on 2014-09-08 in #news
    Introducing The Brand New LC-A 120 - The Most Compact & Magical Fully Automatic 120 Film Camera Ever!

    Get ready to think fast and shoot faster! Today, we are thrilled share with you news of the brand new LC-A 120 Camera. Load it with any 120 film roll and experience the thrill of medium format photography. You’re sure to soak up all the action in every square shot with its fantastic 38mm f/4.5 wide-angle lens (equivalent to a 21mm lens on a 35mm film camera). It's available for Pre-Order: Extremely limited first batch stock of only 500 cameras!

    35
  • Agfa CT Precisa 100: Simply Perfect For Street Photography

    written by abecd on 2014-08-28 in #reviews
    Agfa CT Precisa 100: Simply Perfect For Street Photography

    There are a lot of reviews about this film which mostly mention its blue hues, among other precious qualities. But do you know that it is also a perfect film for candid street photography?

    1
  • Shop News

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-04-06 in #gear #reviews
    Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    There are quite a few perks that come with working for a film photography company, and the best perk of all is testing out the latest cameras. I can remember buying my LC-A back in 2009 and being really inspired to shoot film again. When the LC-A 120 came along, I couldn't wait to try it out around London. Join me as I test out this super medium format beauty.

  • Review on the LOMO LC-A 120: A Real Lomography Camera? Yes!

    written by brettlaw on 2015-04-22 in #gear #reviews
    Review on the LOMO LC-A 120: A Real Lomography Camera? Yes!

    When I held the Lomo LC-A 120 in my hands for the first time, I immediately noticed its good feel and beautiful design. The LC-A 120 obviously, is truly, related to the queen of all Lomo cameras, the LC-A.

    1
  • Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    written by pripri2000 on 2015-04-22 in #gear #news
    Shooting Squares with the LC-A 120

    Capture the world and all its contours in vibrant, wide-angled photographs any time, any where! The LC-A 120 is an adventure of its own with lots of exciting functions to experiment with, like seamless long exposures or full ISO control. It's also super-fast and ultra-compact - perfect for your everyday. If you're worried about the Medium Format film, don't be! You are free to use any 120 Film you want and there are plenty to choose from. In fact, that's what makes this camera so versatile! Scroll through this gallery for a little taste of the glorious shots this nifty invention is capable of.

  • Shop News

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    Shoot recognizable images with the Petzval

    You want your subject be the center of attention? Petzval lens photos are recognizable for sharpness and crispness in the centre, strong color saturation, wonderful swirly bokeh effect, artful vignettes and narrow depth of field that will make your subjects stand out!

  • LomoChrome Purple XR 100-400

    written by simonesavo on 2014-06-17 in #reviews
    LomoChrome Purple XR 100-400

    The LomoChrome Purple XR 100-400 is a color negative film that uses false colors and gives your images an infrared effect. In fact, the greens turn to purple and yellows turn to pink. See how it fares on a photowalk after the jump.

    2
  • March Frenzy: Tottenham Takes Over the V&A

    written by vanfrancis on 2015-01-07 in #lifestyle
    March Frenzy: Tottenham Takes Over the V&A

    I went to the Victoria & Albert Museum's Friday Late, an event that takes place every last Friday evening of the month. For March 2014, the London borough of Tottenham was invited to curate an evening of creativity. There were a number of events that went on ranging from music and art to fashion and film. Accompanied by my LC-A+ and Fisheye No. 2, here are my highlights of that evening in photographs.

  • LomoAmigo: Paul Del Rosario Shoots with the Belair

    written by ciscoswank on 2015-05-11 in #people #lomoamigos
    LomoAmigo: Paul Del Rosario Shoots with the Belair

    Paul Del Rosario is a photographer who has been based in Japan for 24 years. Finding beauty in messy Tokyo streets , he captures the chaotic scenes in black and white. He also manages 120 love, a fashion and lifestyle brand that integrates film photography into popular urban street culture.