Lomography X-Pro 100 Review

3

In sunlight, you must have this film. It thrives in the right conditions!

I got this pack for free when I bought my LC-A+ and what an amazing combination the 2 are!

I didn’t really know what to expect from this roll, my only previous encounter was with a roll of Provia in my Diana Mini and I loved the result. After starting tentatively in Holland I really got into the swing of it in Spain with the sun beating down!

I got my film back from the Lomo store in Barcelona and was blown away! The sky was a beautiful blue, and all the colours jumped out from the photos! Every colour became much more vivid, true cross processing results!

Near the end of the roll, I took a few shots in low light, one in particular of bottles of cava stacked up was taken in properly dark conditions, and yet the photo looks awesome! I wasn’t expecting much but it shifted very yellow. Love it!

I love the results! Even the few photos in Holland came out nice, with the overcast sky the blue shift wasn’t as dramatic but the colours still have an added punch!

I can’t wait to use the next 2 rolls!

written by pim_g on 2011-07-27 in #reviews #cross-process #lomography #user-review #x-pro #slide-film

3 Comments

  1. pim_g
    pim_g ·

    Damned mistakes, this was written before you could check your article haha.
    *Only previous encounter with X-pro

  2. blinghaha
    blinghaha ·

    Love this photos. Great contrast!

  3. sammy_a
    sammy_a ·

    i think it was the third time i had x-pro'd and was the second film i put through my lc-a! i found my results disappointing, most of the photos showed no sign of being cross-processed at all, they were no where near as successful as yours.. i think i will get my next roll developed in E6 (if i can afford it!) and see how they compare.
    by the way here is a link to my disapointing album www.lomography.com/homes/sammy_a/albums/1723907-lomo-lc-a-r…

More Interesting Articles

  • Tipster: DIY X-Pro Redscale

    written by rancliffhasenza on 2015-09-27 in #gear #tipster
    Tipster: DIY X-Pro Redscale

    Browsing through the Lomography website, you can find a lot of redscale shots, which are all done on color negative films. I asked myself if it’s possible to redscale a slide or chrome film and then cross process it. (And yes, it is.) In this tipster I’m going to teach you how to create the bloodiest homemade redscale film I've ever come across.

    10
  • Five Films for Low Light Conditions

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-11-25 in #gear #tipster
    Five Films for Low Light Conditions

    As many of you would already know, shooting under low light conditions requires more than a steady grip (or a tripod) if you're aiming for outstanding results. You must also have the proper gear, and that, of course, includes film. In this post, we list down five fast films that work their best under such conditions.

    4
  • A Review of the Lubitel 166 Universal

    written by Rafaello Palandri on 2015-07-09 in #gear #reviews
    A Review of the Lubitel 166 Universal

    Where do I begin talking about film cameras on the Lomography Magazine? Yes, you guessed right. I will begin with a LOMO, of course, a very special one: the Lubitel 166 Universal (Lubitel 166U). It’s a camera that has almost everything you might need from a camera. Plus, it’s a LOMO!

  • Shop News

    Start to Get Wide with Horizon Kompakt

    Start to Get Wide with Horizon Kompakt

    Prepare your overwhelming panoramic views and capture them with this ultra-wide panoramic 35mm gear. Start sharing your great memories with family and friends the analog way!

  • Reviews on Rewind: LomoChrome Purple (Part 2)

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-08-30 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: LomoChrome Purple (Part 2)

    With its surreal, psychedelic results that easily remind one of fairy tale-like wonderlands, the LomoChrome Purple has quickly grown to become one of the most popular emulsions in the community. We're giving you that extra push in the form of more community-penned reviews to finally try this film yourself, if you haven't.

  • Lomography X Carol Rumble

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-11-20 in #world #competitions #videos
    Lomography X Carol Rumble

    Starring Academy Award-winner Cate Blanchett and Academy Award-nominee Rooney Mara, CAROL is the beautiful new movie by acclaimed director Todd Haynes. To celebrate its release in cinemas on November 27 we have some great prizes to be won including our Lomo’instant Sanremo camera, 5 x copies of Vivian Maier’s Street Photography book, 10 x pairs of cinema tickets to see this fantastic film and x 10 Carol posters!

    4
  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Lady Grey 400 (35mm)

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-09-27 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Lady Grey 400 (35mm)

    Its stunning tones, smooth grain, and overall elegant monochrome look have inspired fellow lomographers to pen odes of praise—well, reviews, actually. Find out how the Lomography Lady Grey 400 (35mm) fared right here.

  • Shop News

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Done shooting and want your films to be processed? We can process your colour and black & white 35mm, 120 or 110 films! Development, prints and scans are also included. (Service availability depends on your markets)

  • Creative Ways to Shoot the Lomography LomoChrome Purple Film

    written by Robn Kester on 2015-03-03 in #gear #tipster
    Creative Ways to Shoot the Lomography LomoChrome Purple Film

    The LomoChrome Purple is easily one of the coolest films to come out in a very long time. The amazing colors and vibe it gives each shot and its wide range of exposures make it a must-have and must-shoot film. Here are some cool ways to help you get the most out of your LCP.

    7
  • My First Time with the LC-Wide: nural

    written by Lomography on 2015-10-24 in #gear #news #lifestyle
    My First Time with the LC-Wide: nural

    The LC-Wide is definitely a must-have, especially for someone who lives and breathes Lomography. In this case it's nural, Lomography Turkey's General Manager, who candidly shares her first meeting with the LC-Wide in this short interview.

    2
  • Lomography X FOTO HITS - Winner Announcement

    written by Lomography on 2016-01-03 in #world #news #competitions
    Lomography X FOTO HITS - Winner Announcement

    Popular German photography magazine FOTO HITS' focus in its December issue was medium format photography. In line with this, five lucky Lomographers with the best square photos have been selected to win annual FOTO HITS subscriptions. Find out if you are among the lucky winners.

  • Shop News

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Reviews on Rewind: The New Petzval Lens 85

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-05-30 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: The New Petzval Lens 85

    The New Petzval Lens 85 continues to captivate the hearts of many photographers from its debut a couple of years back. A perfect balance between form and function, this lens closely mimics the look of the legendary Petzval lens of the 19th century and delivers eye-catching images with its signature tack sharp center and swirly bokeh background. Many photographers from both outside and inside the Lomography community have raved about the New Petzval 85. In this recap, we look back at four community-written reviews.

  • Lomography x CLUB PETANQUE Rumble

    written by Lomography France on 2015-11-16 in #world #news #lifestyle #competitions
    Lomography x CLUB PETANQUE Rumble

    Lomography and CLUB PETANQUE gives you the opportunity to spend winter in comfort and style! Join this rumble for the chance to win special prizes!

    2
  • An Instant Review: Pixelstick Shots from Lomography Hong Kong!

    written by candilsw on 2015-05-21 in #gear #lifestyle
    An Instant Review: Pixelstick Shots from Lomography Hong Kong!

    Pixelstick is exactly the must-get tool to create mind-blowing light paintings with different colours and patterns: 1.8 meter long, 200 full colour and high fidelity LEDs! Grab your camera with long exposure mode and a tripod, and you can create dozens of dreamy pictures just by moving your Pixelstick in the dark. Take a peep at our friends from Lomography Hong Kong’s shots with the Pixelstick!