Fuji Press (35mm, 800 iso) user-review

4

These Blues Don't Lie! This film definitely is a great companion!

These Blues Don’t Lie! This film definitely is a great companion!

My main objective for purchasing this film was to use it for indoor-concert photography. Partly because it was cheaper than my favourite high speed color negative film (which is the Fuji Superia 1600), but also because I love trying out new films and I was hoping this would be a nice all around film. Where a 1600 ISO film is pretty tied up with its fast speed, i think a good 800 ISO film will be more versatile.

I had the perfect setup, a cool band playing at this underground club located in a cave. What could go wrong?
Well, for starters i must say the lighting was terrible. I snapped about 20 shots before calling it quits. The next day I went to my lab to leave the roll for processing but since I had still about 16 unexposed frames, I took a stroll around town and used up the rest of the roll.

My expectations was rather low to say the least. The concert shots was probably not gonna be anything worth saving and the rest of the roll was daylight shots which I feared would be over exposed.
My first assumption turned out to be correct (and I don’t blame the film here), but when it came to the daylight shots they turned out surprisingly nice! Just look at those blue skies, pretty amazing stuff if you ask me…

Indoors this film will produce a bit of grain, but nothing over the top that i won’t get in the way and not to mention its nice colour reproduction. Outdoors on the other hand, the colours start to come alive and almost look x-pro’ed.
This film definitely is a great companion and best of all is that you don’t have to worry whether it is night or day, indoors or outdoors, with flash or no flash. This delicious emulsion can handle them all. Simply plug it into your camera and shoot!

…and at two bucks a pop it sure is a helluva bargain!

written by anarchy on 2009-01-11 in #reviews #press #smena-8m #fuji #colour-negative #35mm

4 Comments

  1. lomosexual_manboy
    lomosexual_manboy ·

    Yes these outdoor shots have great color. I think I am going to get some of this for a photo surf session. Very flattering results for an 800 speed.

  2. oldskool_rider
    oldskool_rider ·

    what great shots, i bought soem of these films after the last review was dont, bus only used one of them since. now i've seen your shots, it has completely opened up the potential of this film. i'm going to take one out today and have some fun!

    thanks for inspiring me!

  3. maddyoulook
    maddyoulook ·

    yay! i just ordered this and was wondering what the shots would look like

  4. anarchy
    anarchy ·

    Thanks guys!! =)

More Interesting Articles

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-29 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    Classy, moody photographs in monochrome and with fine grain - what more could you ask for from one of Lomography's very own black and white emulsion for standard 35mm cameras, the Earl Grey? Find out how this film fared among six of our community members in this Reviews on Rewind installment!

  • A Review of the Nikon F2

    written by Alexandra Pillet on 2015-06-15 in #gear #reviews
    A Review of the Nikon F2

    Considered as one of the best 35mm SLR cameras, the Nikon F2 is indeed one of the best experiences on film I’ve ever had. Fully manual and almost impossible to break, this historic camera is really marvelous to use.

  • Shop News

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    Diana Mini and Flash Petite Noire at 25% off

    At 25% off you can take dreamy 35mm images with this little black beauty. Beam coloured light into your shots with its accompanying Diana Flash Back accessory and be the analogue king of the night.

  • Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-03-29 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    The Pop 9 is an analog multilens wonder that allows you to take a mosaic of nine images in one frame à la Andy Warhol's famous pop art. In this Reviews on Rewind installment, we dug through our archives and found these informative reviews of the Pop 9 - just in case you're looking into snagging a fun camera in your arsenal!

  • The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    written by Lorraine Healy on 2015-03-23 in #gear #reviews
    The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    An Argentinean writer and photographer living in the Pacific Northwest, Lorraine Healy is a long-time fan of plastic cameras and is the author of "Tricks With A Plastic Wonder," a manual for achieving better results with a Holga camera, available in eBook form at Amazon.com. In this article, Healy explains how she fell hard in love with the Lomography XPro Slide 200 film and why she takes it on her many travels.

    3
  • Phaidon x Lomography Hans Eijkelboom Rumble

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-10-07 in #competitions
    Phaidon x Lomography Hans Eijkelboom Rumble

    Hans Eijkelboom is a Dutch conceptual artist/street photographer who has just released a book titled Hans Eijkelboom: People of the Twenty-First Century published by Phaidon. We are love these photographs and are offereing you the chance to win a copy of this wonderful book and La Sardina Cubic to capture your very own amazing photos. Read on to enter this great competition!

    1
  • Shop News

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Whatever kind of film development you're after, you'll find it here! Now you can confidently shoot from the hip without having to worry where to develop those film rolls!

  • Expired Earl Grey: Does It Taste Nice?

    written by Xiang Cong Tham on 2015-02-22 in #gear #reviews
    Expired Earl Grey: Does It Taste Nice?

    A lot of lomographers have experienced using and even writing about the greatness of the Lomography Earl Grey black and white 35mm ISO 100 film. However, no one has written about using an expired Earl Grey film yet. How does it fare when it is used expired? Read on to find out more.

    2
  • Lomography's Little Lessons: Film Speed

    written by jennifer_pos on 2015-05-19 in #gear #tipster
    Lomography's Little Lessons: Film Speed

    Sometime between 6,000 and 10,000 years ago, a boy in northern Afghanistan was born with a gene mutation that hindered his eyes from producing melanin and thus from turning brown. He had blue eyes. If you see someone with blue eyes today, he is a descendant of this unlucky fellow. I am one of those weird folks and apart from feeling like a mutant and being Angelina Jolie’s secret sister, I am sensitive to light like an ISO 6,400 film.

    5
  • Vintage Gallery: Art School Classes

    written by kenaz on 2015-07-23 in #world #lifestyle
    Vintage Gallery: Art School Classes

    If formal training alone is not enough to make great art, then being in a room full of like-minded people might be another form of encouragement. To see fellow artists labor over the tiniest detail, to feel the depth of their ambition, to be part of this silent energy—these are priceless perks. The following photographs of University of Art and Design from the 1920s let us sit in on some of these busy classes.

  • Shop News

    Fisheye One Pearl Blue

    Fisheye One Pearl Blue

    Snap dazzling 35mm fisheye shots at the push of a button with this shimmery blue lightweight beauty.

  • How to Load and Unload Film with the Horizon Kompakt

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-16 in #lifestyle #videos
    How to Load and Unload Film with the Horizon Kompakt

    Due to its built, getting your film into the Horizon Kompakt is a little different than in your usual 35mm camera. Not that it's tricky - allow us to show you how in this tutorial!

  • 10 Films We’d Like to See at Cannes 2015

    written by Jill Tan Radovan on 2015-05-13 in #world #news #lifestyle #videos
    10 Films We’d Like to See at Cannes 2015

    The Cannes Film Festival showcases some of the world's best cinematographic masterpieces. It is an annual event that is highly anticipated by fans and connoisseurs of both mainstream and independent cinema. This year's festival has officially opened and film buffs everywhere are excited, at the same time curious, about which film will win the Palme d'Or. We are in no position to predict the winner, but we do have our favorites, from the ones in competition and otherwise. In no definitive order, here is a list of 10 films that we'd like to see.

  • Shooting Parades with a Sprocket Rocket and a Bunch of Holgas

    written by Lorraine Healy on 2015-07-20 in #world #lifestyle
    Shooting Parades with a Sprocket Rocket and a Bunch of Holgas

    An Argentinean writer and photographer living in the Pacific Northwest, Lorraine Healy is a long-time fan of plastic cameras and is the author of "Tricks With A Plastic Wonder," a manual for achieving better results with a Holga camera, available in eBook form on Amazon.com. In this article, Healy shares two recent photo outings where she used 35mm and medium format films.