Fuji Press (35mm, 800 iso) user-review

4

These Blues Don't Lie! This film definitely is a great companion!

These Blues Don’t Lie! This film definitely is a great companion!

My main objective for purchasing this film was to use it for indoor-concert photography. Partly because it was cheaper than my favourite high speed color negative film (which is the Fuji Superia 1600), but also because I love trying out new films and I was hoping this would be a nice all around film. Where a 1600 ISO film is pretty tied up with its fast speed, i think a good 800 ISO film will be more versatile.

I had the perfect setup, a cool band playing at this underground club located in a cave. What could go wrong?
Well, for starters i must say the lighting was terrible. I snapped about 20 shots before calling it quits. The next day I went to my lab to leave the roll for processing but since I had still about 16 unexposed frames, I took a stroll around town and used up the rest of the roll.

My expectations was rather low to say the least. The concert shots was probably not gonna be anything worth saving and the rest of the roll was daylight shots which I feared would be over exposed.
My first assumption turned out to be correct (and I don’t blame the film here), but when it came to the daylight shots they turned out surprisingly nice! Just look at those blue skies, pretty amazing stuff if you ask me…

Indoors this film will produce a bit of grain, but nothing over the top that i won’t get in the way and not to mention its nice colour reproduction. Outdoors on the other hand, the colours start to come alive and almost look x-pro’ed.
This film definitely is a great companion and best of all is that you don’t have to worry whether it is night or day, indoors or outdoors, with flash or no flash. This delicious emulsion can handle them all. Simply plug it into your camera and shoot!

…and at two bucks a pop it sure is a helluva bargain!

written by anarchy on 2009-01-11 in #reviews #35mm #colour-negative #press #smena-8m #fuji

4 Comments

  1. lomosexual_manboy
    lomosexual_manboy ·

    Yes these outdoor shots have great color. I think I am going to get some of this for a photo surf session. Very flattering results for an 800 speed.

  2. oldskool_rider
    oldskool_rider ·

    what great shots, i bought soem of these films after the last review was dont, bus only used one of them since. now i've seen your shots, it has completely opened up the potential of this film. i'm going to take one out today and have some fun!

    thanks for inspiring me!

  3. maddyoulook
    maddyoulook ·

    yay! i just ordered this and was wondering what the shots would look like

  4. anarchy
    anarchy ·

    Thanks guys!! =)

More Interesting Articles

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    written by chooolss on 2014-10-29 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Earl Grey B&W 100 ISO 35mm

    Classy, moody photographs in monochrome and with fine grain - what more could you ask for from one of Lomography's very own black and white emulsion for standard 35mm cameras, the Earl Grey? Find out how this film fared among six of our community members in this Reviews on Rewind installment!

  • Agfa Precisa CT 35mm: The Blues!

    written by adi_totp on 2014-08-12 in #reviews
    Agfa Precisa CT 35mm: The Blues!

    I don't care if this film has been reviewed a zillion times, that it has already been discontinued, or that there might be a Japanese version of it. The Agfa CT Precisa that I know gives me the blues. Oh, yes - not a Chelsea FC fan, but this film is all about the color blue. Say hello to the blues!

    7
  • Shop News

    LomoKino & LomoKinoscope Package

    LomoKino & LomoKinoscope Package

    Enjoy a truly analogue moviemaking experience with Lomography's 35mm movie camera and an accompanying accessory to watch your films with. View your masterpieces in the most analogue way possible with the LomoKinoscope. Get it now 20% off the regular price!

  • Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-03-29 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    The Pop 9 is an analog multilens wonder that allows you to take a mosaic of nine images in one frame à la Andy Warhol's famous pop art. In this Reviews on Rewind installment, we dug through our archives and found these informative reviews of the Pop 9 - just in case you're looking into snagging a fun camera in your arsenal!

  • Back from the dead: Hack your Polaroid 80-series camera to take Fuji FP film

    written by stratski on 2014-06-24 in #gear #tipster
    Back from the dead: Hack your Polaroid 80-series camera to take Fuji FP film

    It's a great feeling when you get a camera back to work even though you thought it was already unusable because its particular type of film is no longer in production. Here's how you can do it with a Polaroid camera from the 80-series.

  • A Day with the LC-A: From the Bus, Como (My Tribute to Robert Frank)

    written by sirio174 on 2014-06-06 in #lifestyle
    A Day with the LC-A: From the Bus, Como (My Tribute to Robert Frank)

    In 1958 the great photographer Robert Frank took a series of images of New York's street life with a Leica camera from a bus window, as in these series of photos that I took in my city Como with my trusty Lomo LC-A loaded with a Kodak Tri-X film. This is a tribute to a great camera and to a great photographer! Read more after the jump!

  • Shop News

    Fuji Instax Wide 300 & 10x Fuji Instax Wide Film

    Fuji Instax Wide 300 & 10x Fuji Instax Wide Film

    With this bundle you are ready to shoot with the Fuji Instax Wide 300 and dig in to the instax world – on top you save 20% on Fuji Wide film!

  • Agfa CT Precisa 100: Simply Perfect For Street Photography

    written by abecd on 2014-08-28 in #reviews
    Agfa CT Precisa 100: Simply Perfect For Street Photography

    There are a lot of reviews about this film which mostly mention its blue hues, among other precious qualities. But do you know that it is also a perfect film for candid street photography?

    1
  • The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    written by Lorraine Healy on 2015-03-23 in #gear #reviews
    The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    An Argentinean writer and photographer living in the Pacific Northwest, Lorraine Healy is a long-time fan of plastic cameras and is the author of "Tricks With A Plastic Wonder," a manual for achieving better results with a Holga camera, available in eBook form at Amazon.com. In this article, Healy explains how she fell hard in love with the Lomography XPro Slide 200 film and why she takes it on her many travels.

    3
  • Cinematic Combo with the Lomo LC-A and Cine200 Tungsten Film

    written by cheeo on 2014-07-25 in #lifestyle
    Cinematic Combo with the Lomo LC-A and Cine200 Tungsten Film

    The classic Lomo LC-A is a great camera that deserves equally astounding film. Load a roll of Cine200 Tungsten Film in your LC-A and fall in love with this lovely analogue combo!

  • Shop News

    Colorsplash your World!

    Colorsplash your World!

    At 30% off you can now color your analog images with 12 different color gels. Experiment with 35mm slide film and play with the built-in color flash for the most intense colors!

  • Phaidon x Lomography Hans Eijkelboom Rumble

    written by hannah_brown on 2014-10-07 in #competitions
    Phaidon x Lomography Hans Eijkelboom Rumble

    Hans Eijkelboom is a Dutch conceptual artist/street photographer who has just released a book titled Hans Eijkelboom: People of the Twenty-First Century published by Phaidon. We are love these photographs and are offereing you the chance to win a copy of this wonderful book and La Sardina Cubic to capture your very own amazing photos. Read on to enter this great competition!

    1
  • Expired Earl Grey: Does It Taste Nice?

    written by Xiang Cong Tham on 2015-02-22 in #gear #reviews
    Expired Earl Grey: Does It Taste Nice?

    A lot of lomographers have experienced using and even writing about the greatness of the Lomography Earl Grey black and white 35mm ISO 100 film. However, no one has written about using an expired Earl Grey film yet. How does it fare when it is used expired? Read on to find out more.

    2
  • Lomography's Little Lessons: Film Speed

    written by jennifer_pos on 2015-05-19 in #gear #tipster
    Lomography's Little Lessons: Film Speed

    Sometime between 6,000 and 10,000 years ago, a boy in northern Afghanistan was born with a gene mutation that hindered his eyes from producing melanin and thus from turning brown. He had blue eyes. If you see someone with blue eyes today, he is a descendant of this unlucky fellow. I am one of those weird folks and apart from feeling like a mutant and being Angelina Jolie’s secret sister, I am sensitive to light like an ISO 6,400 film.

    5