Fuji Press (35mm, 800 iso) user-review

4

These Blues Don't Lie! This film definitely is a great companion!

These Blues Don’t Lie! This film definitely is a great companion!

My main objective for purchasing this film was to use it for indoor-concert photography. Partly because it was cheaper than my favourite high speed color negative film (which is the Fuji Superia 1600), but also because I love trying out new films and I was hoping this would be a nice all around film. Where a 1600 ISO film is pretty tied up with its fast speed, i think a good 800 ISO film will be more versatile.

I had the perfect setup, a cool band playing at this underground club located in a cave. What could go wrong?
Well, for starters i must say the lighting was terrible. I snapped about 20 shots before calling it quits. The next day I went to my lab to leave the roll for processing but since I had still about 16 unexposed frames, I took a stroll around town and used up the rest of the roll.

My expectations was rather low to say the least. The concert shots was probably not gonna be anything worth saving and the rest of the roll was daylight shots which I feared would be over exposed.
My first assumption turned out to be correct (and I don’t blame the film here), but when it came to the daylight shots they turned out surprisingly nice! Just look at those blue skies, pretty amazing stuff if you ask me…

Indoors this film will produce a bit of grain, but nothing over the top that i won’t get in the way and not to mention its nice colour reproduction. Outdoors on the other hand, the colours start to come alive and almost look x-pro’ed.
This film definitely is a great companion and best of all is that you don’t have to worry whether it is night or day, indoors or outdoors, with flash or no flash. This delicious emulsion can handle them all. Simply plug it into your camera and shoot!

…and at two bucks a pop it sure is a helluva bargain!

written by anarchy on 2009-01-11 in #reviews #colour-negative #35mm #smena-8m #fuji #press

4 Comments

  1. lomosexual_manboy
    lomosexual_manboy ·

    Yes these outdoor shots have great color. I think I am going to get some of this for a photo surf session. Very flattering results for an 800 speed.

  2. oldskool_rider
    oldskool_rider ·

    what great shots, i bought soem of these films after the last review was dont, bus only used one of them since. now i've seen your shots, it has completely opened up the potential of this film. i'm going to take one out today and have some fun!

    thanks for inspiring me!

  3. maddyoulook
    maddyoulook ·

    yay! i just ordered this and was wondering what the shots would look like

  4. anarchy
    anarchy ·

    Thanks guys!! =)

More Interesting Articles

  • Awe-Inspiring Lomographs Courtesy of the Lomography XPro 200 ISO (35mm) Rumble Winners

    written by lomography on 2015-10-26 in #world #news #competitions
    Awe-Inspiring Lomographs Courtesy of the Lomography XPro 200 ISO (35mm) Rumble Winners

    New to shooting with a slide film? The intense, citrusy palette of these photographs is good enough reason to place the Lomography Xpro 200 ISO (35mm) film on your list of slide films to try!

    7
  • Top Shoutbox Users of September 2015

    written by Eunice Abique on 2015-10-02 in #world #news
    Top Shoutbox Users of September 2015

    Aside from the Magazine, the shoutbox is a great place to explore if you want to be updated on the latest happening in the film photography world.

    3
  • A Review of the Nikon F2

    written by Alexandra Pillet on 2015-06-15 in #gear #reviews
    A Review of the Nikon F2

    Considered as one of the best 35mm SLR cameras, the Nikon F2 is indeed one of the best experiences on film I’ve ever had. Fully manual and almost impossible to break, this historic camera is really marvelous to use.

  • Shop News

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Whatever kind of film development you're after, you'll find it here! Now you can confidently shoot from the hip without having to worry where to develop those film rolls!

  • Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-03-29 in #gear #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Pop 9

    The Pop 9 is an analog multilens wonder that allows you to take a mosaic of nine images in one frame à la Andy Warhol's famous pop art. In this Reviews on Rewind installment, we dug through our archives and found these informative reviews of the Pop 9 - just in case you're looking into snagging a fun camera in your arsenal!

  • From Gloomy to Glowing: Shooting with the Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 Art Lens

    written by azinteimoori on 2016-01-28 in #world #news
    From Gloomy to Glowing: Shooting with the Lomo LC-A Minitar-1 Art Lens

    Don't let your beloved camera slip into hibernation this season. All you need to beat those winter blues is a little inspiration from the Minitar-1!

  • Blue for Hue: Day and Night Visions on Kono! Donau Film

    written by Lomography on 2015-10-19 in #gear #news
    Blue for Hue: Day and Night Visions on Kono! Donau Film

    Not all photographs are meant to be seen in vibrant, saturated colors, and neither are they always suitable for in black and white. Lomography welcomes yet another innovation from KONO! The Reanimated Film. Without diminishing the aesthetic value of images, KONO! Donau 35mm Film casts a distinct blue tone to photos. It is ultra-low ISO film that is best used for long exposure shots. Check out this fine selection of uniquely tinted images.

  • Shop News

    Check the New Super Sampler Black Panther!

    Check the New Super Sampler Black Panther!

    The ultra-lightweight, low-maintenance 35mm camera that fits perfectly in your hand for some wild and spontaneous shooting!

  • Stalking the City: Ricardo Lozano

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-10-20 in #people #lifestyle
    Stalking the City: Ricardo Lozano

    New York is an infinitely photographable city in spite—or because—of its innate chaos. And even when the medium is film, praised nowadays for the virtue of slowness, the photographer must keep up with the city’s pace. Ricardo Lozano, 35mm photographer and Lomography community member, managed to do it for the series OK Commuter, now a book by A Love Token Press.

  • Trending LomoHomes of January 2016

    written by lomography on 2016-01-30 in #world
    Trending LomoHomes of January 2016

    These lomographers are definitely off to a great start this year. They didn't simply maintain an active LomoHome. Each of the captivating snapshots they uploaded serves as a reminder of how talented and passionate they are. Congratulations to our most popular lomographers of January 2016!

    8
  • The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    written by Lorraine Healy on 2015-03-23 in #gear #reviews
    The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    An Argentinean writer and photographer living in the Pacific Northwest, Lorraine Healy is a long-time fan of plastic cameras and is the author of "Tricks With A Plastic Wonder," a manual for achieving better results with a Holga camera, available in eBook form at Amazon.com. In this article, Healy explains how she fell hard in love with the Lomography XPro Slide 200 film and why she takes it on her many travels.

    3
  • Shop News

    Explore the New Jupiter 3+

    Explore the New Jupiter 3+

    A resurrection from the zenith of Russian premium optics, get the same elegance and classic compact design as its predecessor. — available in small quantities on a first-come, first-served basis.

  • Lomography's Little Lessons: Film Speed

    written by jennifer_pos on 2015-05-19 in #gear #tipster
    Lomography's Little Lessons: Film Speed

    Sometime between 6,000 and 10,000 years ago, a boy in northern Afghanistan was born with a gene mutation that hindered his eyes from producing melanin and thus from turning brown. He had blue eyes. If you see someone with blue eyes today, he is a descendant of this unlucky fellow. I am one of those weird folks and apart from feeling like a mutant and being Angelina Jolie’s secret sister, I am sensitive to light like an ISO 6,400 film.

    6
  • Expired Earl Grey: Does It Taste Nice?

    written by Xiang Cong Tham on 2015-02-22 in #gear #reviews
    Expired Earl Grey: Does It Taste Nice?

    A lot of lomographers have experienced using and even writing about the greatness of the Lomography Earl Grey black and white 35mm ISO 100 film. However, no one has written about using an expired Earl Grey film yet. How does it fare when it is used expired? Read on to find out more.

    2
  • Vintage Gallery: Art School Classes

    written by lomographymagazine on 2015-07-23 in #world #lifestyle
    Vintage Gallery: Art School Classes

    If formal training alone is not enough to make great art, then being in a room full of like-minded people might be another form of encouragement. To see fellow artists labor over the tiniest detail, to feel the depth of their ambition, to be part of this silent energy—these are priceless perks. The following photographs of University of Art and Design from the 1920s let us sit in on some of these busy classes.