The La Sardina Review

5

As an official Lomography tester I’ve been lucky enough to hold the new La Sardina camera in my hands and have been really surprised and pleased with the results so far! La Sardina is a lovely camera. Every time I go out with it, people start the strangest and funniest conversations I have ever had about it – Especially if I bring the spectacular flash with me, which is what really turns it into an object of desire.

I have travelled a lot with my La Sardina – I’ve brought it to Amsterdam, Vienna, Barcelona, Valencia, Granollers, Cádiz, Seville, Sitges, Murcia, Cartagena… Well, actually, I’ve almost been all over Spain with it…

La Sardina is lightweight, slender, quick, silent and easy to use. It uses 35mm film; it carries a quite angular and very funny lens, which gives it a personal style, different from other Lomography cameras. It has got its own personality, focus quality in the center of the frame and slight blurring of its vertex. It also gives well-saturated colors and the viewing angle is perfect to tell real stories. It obliges you to really get close in every scene and is easy to frame because of the viewfinder (which is very precise). It gives you two focus options and has a 1/125 second shutter speed with an F/11 diaphragm.

With La Sardina, very sharp pictures are obtained – they are very CRISP!!! And you can experiment too – You can make double and multiple exposures, you can work in B mode and unleash your creativity with its new and elegant flash, which to top it all off, gives you the option of establishing various powers, in distances from 1 to 5 meters, a real crazy thing. We only need to be careful about not leaving it switched on; the battery can be drained easily.

In short, a new and nice camera is born. It will give us the opportunity to enjoy analogue and to make friends with it. Every time I have approached someone I’ve met in order to make a portrait with La Sardina, we have ended up drinking beers and eating nice grilled sardines, proof is in the Sardina Photos!!!

Welcome to the big Lomographic family La Sardina, I am sure you will turn into a most wanted and desired camera! Long live La Sardina…and long live Lomography!

View the La Sardina cameras in the Online Shop
Head to the La Sardina Microsite

written by pasqualecaprile on 2011-06-16 in #reviews

5 Comments

  1. user575
    user575 ·

    very glad it wasn't a fish eye!

  2. jonasatarao
    jonasatarao ·

    Estou louco para colocar as mãos na minha!

  3. guinastrapazi
    guinastrapazi ·

    i really have to buy one! :D

  4. tobybates91
    tobybates91 ·

    What film did you use?:)

  5. selinawong6789
    selinawong6789 ·

    What film did you use! The photos look amazing! (:

More Interesting Articles

  • Simple Color Gels or Filters Holder for the Diana Mini's Flash

    written by grungyjodie on 2014-04-25 in #gear #tipster
    Simple Color Gels or Filters Holder for the Diana Mini's Flash

    I've always been looking for a really simple solution to hold my color gels of my Diana Mini's flash WITH the camera and make them easy to grab when I want to use them. I also wanted something to keep them from getting damaged. Let me show you how I found a simple way to make it.

  • La Sardina Dresses: Your Camera's New Clothes

    written by dopa on 2014-05-27 in #reviews
    La Sardina Dresses: Your Camera's New Clothes

    I love my La Sardina camera and it was my first Lomography camera. But as time goes by, I've seen how often it's been used and how much I've abused it. There is a simple solution for this: the La Sardina Dresses!

  • The Magic Yet To Come: Part 5

    written by Lomography on 2014-09-06 in #news
    The Magic Yet To Come: Part 5

    Last week, I received the strangest thing through my letterbox. It was a postcard with this photograph on 1 side. The photo is of me sitting by the sea whilst I was on vacation last year. But I have literally no idea who took this shot – That’s why I came here, to ask for your help on my search for my mysterious photographer and to try and get to bottom of the riddle they wrote me. Please help me if you can!

    10
  • Shop News

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Try the LomoLAB Development Service!

    Whatever kind of film development you're after, you'll find it here! Now you can confidently shoot from the hip without having to worry where to develop those film rolls!

  • My First Lomo Affair: Wesco and his La Sardina

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-07-17 in #lifestyle
    My First Lomo Affair: Wesco and his La Sardina

    It may take a while for some lomographers to figure out the perfect combination of camera, film, and accessory that suit their needs. But, Wessel de Haas, aka wesco, has been extremely lucky to find his early on his journey to Lomography. Find out what film and accessory he likes pairing his La Sardina 8Ball with in this edition of My First Lomo Affair!

    2
  • LomoKino: Life in Moving Pictures!

    written by adi_totp on 2014-08-21 in #reviews
    LomoKino: Life in Moving Pictures!

    I bought the LomoKino years ago, and since then I've been having great times with it. I will continue documenting my daily life with the LomoKino, which is Lomography in motion! You can see the movements and facial expressions of people - it’s priceless! Documenting life in moving pictures, the Lomokino can be used as a camera that not only shoots moving pictures but also works like the multi-frame wonder camera, Supersampler!

  • Tinker on the fly: A color filter made from spoiled film

    written by dopa on 2014-05-25 in #gear #tipster
    Tinker on the fly: A color filter made from spoiled film

    Probably each one of you has been annoyed with failed film. This is particularly annoying when you get the developed film back from the lab, but you get blanks because the film was not exposed. It's either the film transport didn't work, or you have not taken the lens cap off, etc. Read on and I'll show you an alternative to just throwing away the film: Simply use it as a color filter for your camera, with the La Sardina for example.

    3
  • Shop News

    Uncrate Long Lost Lomography Treasures - 30% Off in our Discount Section

    Uncrate Long Lost Lomography Treasures - 30% Off in our Discount Section

    Fly over to our 30% Discount Section to discover previously unavailable Editions & Clones! Be quick and make one yours before they are all gone again!

  • Bite-Size Fiction: Spectrophobia

    written by chooolss on 2015-01-10 in #lifestyle
    Bite-Size Fiction: Spectrophobia

    “Mommy, no!” Angela squealed as she tried to push the camera away from her face. Thankfully, Anita managed to take the shot and hold the gadget tightly, keeping it from harm’s way. It was already the third time her daughter reacted in such an averse manner at having her photograph taken, and by now she’s gotten really curious.

    2
  • Top Shoutbox Users of 2014

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-12-28 in #news
    Top Shoutbox Users of 2014

    The shoutbox is always open for the community's honest opinions, surprising suggestions, and sweetest greetings. It is also an avenue for members from across different countries to dicuss and interact with one another. We'd like to commend these lomographers for keeping this humble space booming with entertaining conversations all year long. Congratulations to our top shoutbox users of 2014.

    5
  • My Lomo’Instant Quick Tips

    written by tomas_bates on 2014-11-12 in #gear #tipster
    My Lomo’Instant Quick Tips

    I backed the Kickstarter project for the Lomo’Instant earlier this year and was thrilled to receive it last week. I love how the camera naturally encourages you to experiment with its different features, whether it’s through flashing your multiple exposures with different colors or trying different creative techniques after your shots has been ejected. Here are a few tips from what I’ve discovered from playing with the camera so far (and a couple of tips I want to try out in future)!

  • Shop News

    Wear lomo-love on your skin

    Wear lomo-love on your skin

    You’ve shouted your analogue love from the rooftops and worn your heart on your sleeve – Now it’s time to take it to the next level and wear it on your skin! Our new Lomography Tattoos are fun, easy to apply and come in five designs.

  • Fuji instax Wide: The Impressive Instant Film

    written by ichdaschaos on 2014-11-03 in #reviews
    Fuji instax Wide: The Impressive Instant Film

    I've always wanted to have an instant camera, but what put me off were the expensive price of the film and the transience of the photos. But then I wasn't able to fight it any longer and bought myself an Instax Wide 210 set. Now, here is a review of the Fuji Instax Wide film.

  • From Russia with Love: Motorama Shoots with the La Sardina Splendour

    written by zonderbar on 2014-08-04 in #people #lomoamigos
    From Russia with Love: Motorama Shoots with the La Sardina Splendour

    I don't know many bands from Russia but one that I've been admiring for years is Motorama from Rostov-on-Don. With catchy tunes and adorable videos, they took my heart by storm and that of fans from all over the world. Because of their Russian origin, Motorama is of course familiar with Lomo products. Reason enough to let them become our latest LomoAmigos! Enjoy the interview with singer Vlad and check out their B&W photos, taken with a La Sardina Splendour.

  • Classic × Classic : Using a Leica M3 camera to shoot with the New Petzval Art lens

    written by shawnlin on 2014-05-07 in #gear #tipster
    Classic × Classic : Using a Leica M3 camera to shoot with the New Petzval Art lens

    I participated in the Kickstarter campaign and purchased my very own new Petzval lens. I can't wait to use with with my digital camera to experience its wonderful bokeh effect. I also wanted to try its effects when using a film camera but the lens has an EF mount. I didn't have a Canon camera. See what I did with it after the jump.

    8