The La Sardina Review

5

As an official Lomography tester I’ve been lucky enough to hold the new La Sardina camera in my hands and have been really surprised and pleased with the results so far! La Sardina is a lovely camera. Every time I go out with it, people start the strangest and funniest conversations I have ever had about it – Especially if I bring the spectacular flash with me, which is what really turns it into an object of desire.

I have travelled a lot with my La Sardina – I’ve brought it to Amsterdam, Vienna, Barcelona, Valencia, Granollers, Cádiz, Seville, Sitges, Murcia, Cartagena… Well, actually, I’ve almost been all over Spain with it…

La Sardina is lightweight, slender, quick, silent and easy to use. It uses 35mm film; it carries a quite angular and very funny lens, which gives it a personal style, different from other Lomography cameras. It has got its own personality, focus quality in the center of the frame and slight blurring of its vertex. It also gives well-saturated colors and the viewing angle is perfect to tell real stories. It obliges you to really get close in every scene and is easy to frame because of the viewfinder (which is very precise). It gives you two focus options and has a 1/125 second shutter speed with an F/11 diaphragm.

With La Sardina, very sharp pictures are obtained – they are very CRISP!!! And you can experiment too – You can make double and multiple exposures, you can work in B mode and unleash your creativity with its new and elegant flash, which to top it all off, gives you the option of establishing various powers, in distances from 1 to 5 meters, a real crazy thing. We only need to be careful about not leaving it switched on; the battery can be drained easily.

In short, a new and nice camera is born. It will give us the opportunity to enjoy analogue and to make friends with it. Every time I have approached someone I’ve met in order to make a portrait with La Sardina, we have ended up drinking beers and eating nice grilled sardines, proof is in the Sardina Photos!!!

Welcome to the big Lomographic family La Sardina, I am sure you will turn into a most wanted and desired camera! Long live La Sardina…and long live Lomography!

View the La Sardina cameras in the Online Shop
Head to the La Sardina Microsite

written by pasqualecaprile on 2011-06-16 in #reviews #new-lomography #review #sardina #lasardina #sardine #camera #la-sardina

5 Comments

  1. user575
    user575 ·

    very glad it wasn't a fish eye!

  2. jonasatarao
    jonasatarao ·

    Estou louco para colocar as mãos na minha!

  3. guinastrapazi
    guinastrapazi ·

    i really have to buy one! :D

  4. tobybates91
    tobybates91 ·

    What film did you use?:)

  5. selinawong6789
    selinawong6789 ·

    What film did you use! The photos look amazing! (:

More Interesting Articles

  • The Magic Yet To Come: Part 5

    written by Lomography on 2014-09-06 in #news
    The Magic Yet To Come: Part 5

    Last week, I received the strangest thing through my letterbox. It was a postcard with this photograph on 1 side. The photo is of me sitting by the sea whilst I was on vacation last year. But I have literally no idea who took this shot – That’s why I came here, to ask for your help on my search for my mysterious photographer and to try and get to bottom of the riddle they wrote me. Please help me if you can!

    10
  • My Lomo’Instant Quick Tips

    written by tomas_bates on 2014-11-12 in #gear #tipster
    My Lomo’Instant Quick Tips

    I backed the Kickstarter project for the Lomo’Instant earlier this year and was thrilled to receive it last week. I love how the camera naturally encourages you to experiment with its different features, whether it’s through flashing your multiple exposures with different colors or trying different creative techniques after your shots has been ejected. Here are a few tips from what I’ve discovered from playing with the camera so far (and a couple of tips I want to try out in future)!

  • Bite-Size Fiction: Spectrophobia

    written by chooolss on 2015-01-10 in #lifestyle
    Bite-Size Fiction: Spectrophobia

    “Mommy, no!” Angela squealed as she tried to push the camera away from her face. Thankfully, Anita managed to take the shot and hold the gadget tightly, keeping it from harm’s way. It was already the third time her daughter reacted in such an averse manner at having her photograph taken, and by now she’s gotten really curious.

    2
  • Shop News

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Give your space a facelift with your own analogue print

    Really want to bring your film photos to life? We’re now offering totally analogue fine art prints in a host of large sizes and formats! Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • Top Shoutbox Users of 2014

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-12-28 in #news
    Top Shoutbox Users of 2014

    The shoutbox is always open for the community's honest opinions, surprising suggestions, and sweetest greetings. It is also an avenue for members from across different countries to dicuss and interact with one another. We'd like to commend these lomographers for keeping this humble space booming with entertaining conversations all year long. Congratulations to our top shoutbox users of 2014.

    5
  • Pushing Boundaries: So I Heard You Like Multiple Exposures

    written by Amber Valentine on 2015-04-11 in #world #tipster
    Pushing Boundaries: So I Heard You Like Multiple Exposures

    My name is Amber Valentine and I have a confession to make: I’m not really a photographer. I have a website full of photographs, a bookshelf full of cameras, film waiting to be developed, and a wall full of framed pictures I’ve taken. Even so, I don’t really consider myself a photographer per se. I think that Lomography is more about the experimentation and the fun of film than it is about the photography, and that experimentation is part of the reason I have embraced Lomography so.

    3
  • The World According to Herr Willie: Gardens by the Bay, Singapore

    written by wil6ka on 2015-07-03 in #world #locations
    The World According to Herr Willie: Gardens by the Bay, Singapore

    Singapore, like Kuala Lumpur and Hong Kong, is a likely stopover when you fly far. The city is a tiny urbanized hub but it's very favorable if you know some high-spirited locals. I was lucky to hook up with king kimbo (@hakimbo), who showed me around. He took my lame limbs to the Gardens by the Bay, an amazing place which was visually striking. I was hugging some artificial trees there when I found a baby—a very big baby.

    2
  • Shop News

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Immortalize your best shot on Aluminium!

    Carefully enlarged from your negatives onto premium photographic paper by lab professionals, each picture is a unique piece of craftsmanship.

  • The World According to Herr Willie: The Amazon

    written by wil6ka on 2015-04-09 in #world #locations
    The World According to Herr Willie: The Amazon

    It was the Amazon which I had longed for my whole life. And when it was finally a set deal that I will travel to Brazil with two of my best friends for the Copa do Mundo (World Cup), we really had to start our adventure in the Amazon. I had known about this magical place deep in the rainforest. There was a lodge run by local people of indigenous background, with wooden houses that float on the water and a limited number of visitors. It was eco-tourism as how it should be. To preserve and to celebrate one of the most impressive locations I have seen so far.

    9
  • Sumptuous New Squares: Take a Peek at these Latest LC-A 120 Snaps!

    written by tomas_bates on 2014-09-26 in #lifestyle
    Sumptuous New Squares: Take a Peek at these Latest LC-A 120 Snaps!

    It's been a little while since we've shared the latest shots taken with the brand new LC-A 120 with you. But that just means we have a fantastic collection to show you today! Our testers from around the world have been shooting from the hip and with the heart to capture their daily lives with this medium format master. Skip past the jump to spy into some Lomographic lives!

    1
  • The Magic Yet To Come: Part 4

    written by Lomography on 2014-09-05 in #news
    The Magic Yet To Come: Part 4

    Read on dear friend and I will weave a story for you. There may be more questions than answers raised by this peculiar tale. But if it’s clarity you seek, have no fear, things will become clear in time (they always do, don’t they?). So rub the Sandman’s dust from your sleepy eyes and take a journey with me. If you think you have an answer when we reach the end, please do share it in the comments!

    8
  • Shop News

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Standard Photo Development Services

    Done shooting and want your films to be processed? We can process your colour and black & white 35mm, 120 or 110 films! Development, prints and scans are also included. (Service availability depends on your markets)

  • When Two Legends Meet: User Review of Leica M3 Camera with Petzval Art Lens

    written by candilsw on 2015-05-21 in #gear #lifestyle #reviews
    When Two Legends Meet: User Review of Leica M3 Camera with Petzval Art Lens

    With a love of antique cameras and analogue photography, Shawn Lin has long been an active member of the Lomography Community with dozens of his shots being featured. Shawn likes to explore the effects of double exposure on different themes and objects, with an emphasis on the presentation of colours. Come take a look of his work of using Petzval Art Lens on his antique camera and his thoughts about the two!

  • Petzval Lens and Adaptor with Olympus OM-D E-M5 Micro 4/3 Camera

    written by blackfairy on 2015-05-15 in #gear #reviews
    Petzval Lens and Adaptor with Olympus OM-D E-M5 Micro 4/3 Camera

    Using my Canon EOS 20D, I already discovered the amazing bokeh effect of the Petzval Lens. So I was really excited to try it with my favorite digital hybrid camera, Olympus OM-D E-M5. Just attach an adaptor and off you go!

    2
  • Pixelstick + Lomo'Instant: Take Light Painting to the Next Level

    written by bgaluppo on 2015-04-20 in #gear #lifestyle
    Pixelstick + Lomo'Instant: Take Light Painting to the Next Level

    Ever since the Pixelstick came out, I've been dying to try it out. This past week, I finally got my chance! With one goal in mind — getting some super cool light-painting shots — I grabbed some friends for an amazing session with my Lomo'Instant and the Pixelstick. Take a moment and have a look at these priceless pics!

    4