Spector Color (35mm, 200 iso) user-review

3

While everybody knows the big brands such as Fuji, Kodak and Agfa, I tried something different this time.

While everybody knows the big brands such as Fuji, Kodak and Agfa, I tried something different this time.

Spector is a local photography company in Belgium, most likely our biggest one. They have shops in the whole country, selling photography gear and developing film. Their main facility is in my hometown, Wetteren. When you take your film to one of their shops for development, they give you a free roll of their own film in return.

Since my girlfriend had a whole bunch of these ‘Spector Color’ 35mm films in the fridge, I decided to load one into my LC-A to see if it was any good. The roll I used was expired however, I believe a year or longer.

The results were pretty good, though the grain looked much stronger than ISO 200 grain. I suppose this is because the film was expired. While most of the shots turned out a bit pale (certainly the ones during cloudy days), the colours were good in some of them. Low light conditions, using fluorescent light, resulted in a typical green hue you often find in cheap films. Though I think it was not as bad as some of the Fuji Superia I’ve used.

If you live in Belgium, or you stop by on your way through, look for a Spector shop and ask for their film. I’m not sure if they still hand out free samples when you get your film developed, but I suppose they still sell it. Shouldn’t be to expensive and the results are pretty good for a cheap film!

written by ukaaa on 2009-01-03 in #reviews #expired #lc-a #spector-color #35mm

3 Comments

  1. lomosexual_manboy
    lomosexual_manboy ·

    I've definitely seen worse shots on nicer film. I'd say it was very well worth it and if I lived in Belgium I would likely keep this stocked as a go to cheap film...or likely just my go to film. Shot 4 is superb.

    I didn't see it mentioned, I'm guessing this is a color neg?

  2. maddyoulook
    maddyoulook ·

    sneaker shot=awesome

  3. dictaphone
    dictaphone ·

    I've just got one of those processed and I was really surprised by the vivid colours. I really like it. Unfortunately, they're not suitable for sprockets, they have those awful bright green triangles along the sprocket lines that totally ruin the picture I think.

More Interesting Articles

  • Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    written by chooolss on 2014-11-30 in #reviews
    Reviews on Rewind: Lomography Color Negative 35mm 800 ISO

    If you'd be shooting in low light, at night, or in any other situation that would require a high speed film for best results, why don't you try the Lomography Color Negative 800 for 35mm cameras? Allow five of our community members to convince you with their respective reviews in this installment of Reviews on Rewind.

  • Agfa Precisa CT 35mm: The Blues!

    written by adi_totp on 2014-08-12 in #reviews
    Agfa Precisa CT 35mm: The Blues!

    I don't care if this film has been reviewed a zillion times, that it has already been discontinued, or that there might be a Japanese version of it. The Agfa CT Precisa that I know gives me the blues. Oh, yes - not a Chelsea FC fan, but this film is all about the color blue. Say hello to the blues!

    7
  • Review: Lomography Color Tiger 200 110mm Film Really Roars!

    written by gothcupcake on 2014-07-07 in #reviews
    Review: Lomography Color Tiger 200 110mm Film Really Roars!

    Mary had the opportunity to take a ride in a hot air balloon and thought it was the perfect time to try out some Lomography Color Tiger 200 film!

    1
  • Shop News

    110 Experiment Kit

    110 Experiment Kit

    With this bundle, you can choose a camera, film and accessories to spice up your 110 shooting experience!

  • Registering Moments With the Lomo'Instant

    written by bgaluppo on 2015-05-02 in #gear #lifestyle
    Registering Moments With the Lomo'Instant

    Some people say instant photos bring about a feeling of nostalgia. Although I often use the Lomo'Instant Camera with different crazy accessories such as the Splitzer and color gels, I have to agree there is something about it — dreamy vignettes maybe? — that always makes me want to go back in time and experience it all over again. In the name of analogue photography and good old memories, we passed by some classic spots in Vienna and took one shot after the other. Take a closer look at our gallery.

  • Flashy Color Photographs Taken with the Lomo LC-A+ and Filters

    written by cheeo on 2014-06-26 in #lifestyle
    Flashy Color Photographs Taken with the Lomo LC-A+ and Filters

    Keep experimenting with your analogue shots and try out many different styles. This time, let these filter photographs from the community show you how easy it is to create images that are popping with effects and color!

  • My Lomo’Instant Quick Tips

    written by tomas_bates on 2014-11-12 in #gear #tipster
    My Lomo’Instant Quick Tips

    I backed the Kickstarter project for the Lomo’Instant earlier this year and was thrilled to receive it last week. I love how the camera naturally encourages you to experiment with its different features, whether it’s through flashing your multiple exposures with different colors or trying different creative techniques after your shots has been ejected. Here are a few tips from what I’ve discovered from playing with the camera so far (and a couple of tips I want to try out in future)!

  • Shop News

    Belair X 6-12 City Slicker Back to Back Bundle

    Belair X 6-12 City Slicker Back to Back Bundle

    With your overwhelming support, we have run out of Belair Instant Backs! We'll restock it in April, but don't worry because the Belair Instant Camera is readily available to satisfy your instant cravings!

  • Fresh From the Lab: The Lomography Redscale XR 50-200, My First Medium Format Film

    written by sinema on 2014-07-07 in #lifestyle
    Fresh From the Lab: The Lomography Redscale XR 50-200, My First Medium Format Film

    This is my experience with the Lomography Redscale XR 50-200 (120), my first medium format film. It's an adventure that started when I got a Lubitel 2, to finally shoot with it. In this article, you'll find detailed information about color schemes, the advantages of shooting in medium format, and the differences between standard redscale films. Here are the results of a day of shooting outside, which I recently got back from the lab.

  • The Magical Diana F+

    written by adi_totp on 2014-10-07 in #reviews
    The Magical Diana F+

    "Magical" here means that every time I use the Diana F+, the results are always beyond both my expectations and imagination. That's why I always use it when I feel like doing something different. It has never failed me since day one; I even always bring this camera during my trips!

    6
  • Skate Photographer Joe Brook Shoots with the Petzval Lens

    written by antoniocastello on 2015-02-06 in #people #lomoamigos
    Skate Photographer Joe Brook Shoots with the Petzval Lens

    Joe Brook is one of the most popular photographers in the West Coast skate scene, shooting for magazines like Trasher, Juxtapoz, Rolling Stone, and different outlets such as PDN and Kodak. Having previous experience with an old Petzval lens mounted on a 4x5 camera, it was but natural for him to try the new one. Brook talks about finding himself, his work, and shooting with the Lomograhy Petzval Lens in this exclusive interview.

    2
  • Shop News

    Diana F+ Premium Glass Bundle

    Diana F+ Premium Glass Bundle

    Diana F+ and Diana+ 75mm Premium Glass Lens are now ready to give you the best shots with vignetting effects, crisp quality shots together with the signature dreamy appeal of the Diana! Save 15% on the Glass Lens in this Bundle!

  • My First Lomo Affair: Waggrad00 and the Diana Mini

    written by icequeenubia on 2014-10-02 in #lifestyle
    My First Lomo Affair: Waggrad00 and the Diana Mini

    Who would've thought that a camera as petite as the Diana Mini can make such a big impact on Julia's life? This sweet camera helped rekindle her love for photography and paved the way for her to meet new friends. Read on to know more about waggrad00's first lomo affair with the Diana Mini!

    5
  • Alfred Stieglitz's Autochrome Portraits from the 1910s

    written by Julien Matabuena on 2015-05-21 in #world #lifestyle
    Alfred Stieglitz's Autochrome Portraits from the 1910s

    As you may already know, the Autochrome Lumière first hit the market in 1907. Shortly after this, influential American photographer and gallery owner Alfred Stieglitz began experimenting with this new color photography himself after witnessing its first commercial demonstration while on a trip to Europe.

  • My Day in Analogue As a Prop Maker: A Visit to Sham Shui Po

    written by ccding on 2014-09-03 in #lifestyle
    My Day in Analogue As a Prop Maker: A Visit to Sham Shui Po

    In this article, I'll show you the usual route I take whenever I walk through the streets of Sham Shui Po, Hong Kong, this time in preparation for making a puppet called Mr. Golden. Sham Shui Po is famous for its stores selling fabrics and other clothing supplies, as well as electronic accessories. It is also full of different places to explore.

    4