The Fed Experience - A Fed 3 Review

3

I ordered the Fed 3 without much thinking. Its looks had me at hello. I wanted a rangefinder camera for quite some time and only when the little guy was already on its way I started to really pay attention to reviews written on Lomography. And what I saw kind of scared me. I was in for a heavy old camera with a mind of its own.

Load it!
Don’t be fooled by the pictures of the camera online. The Fed 3 is huge and incredibly heavy. You will feel it when you have carried it around for the day. When purchased through Lomography it comes with a nice leather case. To load it simply screw off the case and open the back by turning the two rotating latches. Loading the film is how you are use to do it with 35mm film. The only difference is that the take up spool pulls the film under the spool. So you’ll have to make sure the film passes over the sprockets and then under the take up spool. Now make sure you switch you camera to C. Cock the shutter an release a few times an you are good to go. Fed 3 manuals can be found in different languages online.

Shoot it!
Don’t get confused by all the things you can adjust and turn on the camera. The Fed 3 is pretty easy to shoot with when you want. Since I was a pretty new to camera’s that need manual adjustments I started easy. I shot most pictures with F11/F16 and shutter speed on 250.

Very important is to remember to cock the shutter first before changing the shutter speed. Apparently it messes up your camera. If you don’t mind I skipped the part where I test this myself. Also the film counter doesn’t jump to 0 at a fresh role. You will have to put it back on 0 at the beginning of your roll or guess how far along you are with the film.

Now using a range finder was very easy. When you look through the view finder you will see a circle in the middle. In this circle you will either see the object you wish to shoot blurry as a spit image when you need to adjust, or sharp when your camera is properly adjusted. To focus simply turn your focus ring till it completely overlaps creating a single image. The original lens isn’t great for close ups. You will find that you are unable to focus properly when you are too close.

Verdict
I was kind of worried that this camera would be a huge disappointment compared to my big love; the lomo LC-A+. But I love this camera! It looks great, gives you sharp pictures and is surprisingly easy to handle. If you off doing something hectic or sporty I would recommend a lighter and easier to focus camera. But if you have time and a little patience this camera will be your trusted companion for the ages to come.

written by achocolatemoose on 2011-06-07 in #reviews #russian #old #lomography #range-finder #vintage #fed-3 #ussr #user-review

3 Comments

  1. lomodesbro
    lomodesbro ·

    A heavy camera reduces likelihood of camera shake. Image stabilisation is here

  2. herbert-4
    herbert-4 ·

    FED 3 is a good camera. Other lenses are available. Check out eBay and, also www.fedka.com Fedka Store. Yuri there gives guarantees. The ideal FED 3 is a FED 3a type 1. Handier shape, and some of these have a better shutter.

  3. molivche
    molivche ·

    Nice review and even nicer photos.This camera got in my arms some 2 years ago (it was my grandpa's, just sitting in a box for some 15-20 yrs). This past months i ve been trying to study it more, and to understand analog photography. And while googling all over, i found out that actually my camera is FED 3a, type 1 :) Which, i didnt know before, and was confused about some things i read. And for sure i didnt know that it is a copy of Leica. I saw it looked quite similar, but ..ok. The first try i had with this camera was some year ago, not knowing ANY, doing totally random stuff, i was closest thing to disaster. I never gave up, i just can't wait for tomorrow to go out and shoot (with some basic knowledge)^^ The camera is a pearl. ( ive seen some photos from my grandpa :D )

More Interesting Articles

  • Fed 5 - My First Analogue Camera in 2015

    written by whimsicalgrid on 2015-01-23 in #reviews
    Fed 5 - My First Analogue Camera in 2015

    Before the end of 2014, my girlfriend took the plunge of purchasing a rangefinder camera from eBay as a late Christmas gift for me. Let me present to you: the Fed 5. The Fed 5 has been known as a copy of the Leica M3 rangefinder camera. It is inexpensive compared to Leica models. So what are my experiences of using the Fed 5? Read on to find out more.

    6
  • LomoChrome Purple 120 and 35mm: Expect the Radical!

    written by myahcat on 2014-08-01 in #reviews
    LomoChrome Purple 120 and 35mm: Expect the Radical!

    I was given a roll of LomoChrome Purple 120 by a friend who was keen for me to try it out since he didn't have a medium format camera. I really didn't expect the results I got when I took it out for a test run on a bright winter's day in London.

  • Lomography's Little Lessons: Depth of Field

    written by jennifer_pos on 2015-04-10 in #gear #lifestyle #tipster
    Lomography's Little Lessons: Depth of Field

    Have you ever wondered why those nerdy camera constructors formulate complicated terms that baffle most normal citizens? Trust me, I know it all too well; Physics was the first subject to go when I had to choose between studying and spending yet another night pursuing youthful adventures. But don't worry — the remedy for all of the gaps in your knowledge is right here: Lomography’s Little Lessons on Photography. Follow this series and in no time you'll catch up on everything your curious mind desires!

    2
  • Shop News

    Lubi Scooby Doo! Save 15% on Lomography film in the Bundle with the Lubitel!

    Lubi Scooby Doo! Save 15% on Lomography film in the Bundle with the Lubitel!

    This beautiful camera features such ability to let users choose and switch between 35mm or 120 formats! Shoot more, save more! Get this Lubitel camera and get 15% discounts with Lomography Films!

  • Lomography's Little Lessons: Aperture

    written by jennifer_pos on 2015-03-14 in #gear #lifestyle #tipster
    Lomography's Little Lessons: Aperture

    Have you ever wondered why those nerdy camera constructors formulate complicated terms that baffle most normal citizens? Trust me, I know it all too well; Physics was the first subject to go when I had to choose between studying and spending yet another night pursuing youthful adventures. But don't worry — the remedy for all of the gaps in your knowledge is right here: Lomography’s Little Lessons on Photography. Follow this series and in no time you'll catch up on everything your curious mind desires!

  • The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    written by Lorraine Healy on 2015-03-23 in #gear #reviews
    The Lomography XPro Slide 200 Film and My Holga: An In-Depth Review

    An Argentinean writer and photographer living in the Pacific Northwest, Lorraine Healy is a long-time fan of plastic cameras and is the author of "Tricks With A Plastic Wonder," a manual for achieving better results with a Holga camera, available in eBook form at Amazon.com. In this article, Healy explains how she fell hard in love with the Lomography XPro Slide 200 film and why she takes it on her many travels.

    3
  • Fresh from the Lab: 1990

    written by adi_totp on 2014-08-08 in #lifestyle
    Fresh from the Lab: 1990

    A weekend without a lomowalk seems bad, at least for me. One Saturday morning, I decided to join my friends in their lomowalk. It was all cloudy at first but it didn't stop me from going out and walking. I brought my new Nikon FM2 and some expired rolls, just to test my camera. Was it just me being sleepy, or was my Nikon FM2 acting up? My photos turned out grainy, pale, and, in my opinion, looking so 1990s?

    1
  • Shop News

    LC-A Iblazr Bundle

    LC-A Iblazr Bundle

    Start capturing images even in low-light conditions with this bundle you can create your own combination of LC-A camera and Iblazr flash. And save 20% off!

  • The Magic Yet To Come: Part 5

    written by Lomography on 2014-09-06 in #news
    The Magic Yet To Come: Part 5

    Last week, I received the strangest thing through my letterbox. It was a postcard with this photograph on 1 side. The photo is of me sitting by the sea whilst I was on vacation last year. But I have literally no idea who took this shot – That’s why I came here, to ask for your help on my search for my mysterious photographer and to try and get to bottom of the riddle they wrote me. Please help me if you can!

    10
  • Analog By Nature

    written by Cameron Jean-laing on 2015-04-17 in #world #lifestyle
    Analog By Nature

    It's late October in Copenhagen and summer was well and truly behind us. With the nights drawing in, the chances of going out with one of my cameras was slim. All was not lost at this time of year, however, as it allowed me time to focus on my own personal music projects—I am a professional composer/musician and audio engineer at my own studio by day.

    1
  • Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    written by hannah_brown on 2015-04-06 in #gear #reviews
    Falling In Love With The LC-A 120

    There are quite a few perks that come with working for a film photography company, and the best perk of all is testing out the latest cameras. I can remember buying my LC-A back in 2009 and being really inspired to shoot film again. When the LC-A 120 came along, I couldn't wait to try it out around London. Join me as I test out this super medium format beauty.

  • Shop News

    Fuji Instax Mini Neo & 10x Fuji Instax Mini Film

    Fuji Instax Mini Neo & 10x Fuji Instax Mini Film

    Save 20% on Fuji Instax Mini Film with this bundle and get 100 sheets for pure Instant fun! Plus, get to choose which Fuji Instax Mini Camera fits your personality!

  • Lomography Fisheye No.2: Seven Years of Wonder

    written by adi_totp on 2014-09-15 in #reviews
    Lomography Fisheye No.2: Seven Years of Wonder

    Exactly seven years ago, I bought this camera from Indonesia's local Lomography community. I remember having some savings in my bank account and just spending it all on this camera. At that time, I browsed the microsite for the Lomography Fisheye No.2 and immediately fell in love with it! Coincidentally, my friend who introduced me to Lomography just bought this same camera for his birthday. My life has changed ever since I had the Fisheye, my first lomographic camera.

    3
  • Finally, My Own Petzval Lens

    written by pearlgirl77 on 2014-11-20 in #reviews
    Finally, My Own Petzval Lens

    In April of this year I had the chance to test the Petzval Lens and to write a review on it for the German photography forum Kwerfeldein. The lens excited me from the very beginning, at the time it was introduced on Kickstarter. I was afraid that once I had tested the lens, I would want to have one of my own! Well, that’s what happened; a year later, I finally bought my very own Petzval lens.

    1
  • Photo Stories: Police on My Back by bloomchen

    written by bloomchen on 2015-02-26 in #world #lifestyle
    Photo Stories: Police on My Back by bloomchen

    Sometimes when taking pictures I get addressed by strangers either because of my cameras or because they don't want me to shoot something they claim they have responsibility for. But having the police on my back was a new experience.

    4